▐▐ ★HTC Desire Official Thread V10 ★▐▐, Tranquillement Brillante
astria
Mar 29 2011, 11:32 AM
so yeah, back to my qn... anyone can explain to me the instructions on flashing the partition tables? QUOTE 1) Nandroid backup in recovery. 2) Verify the MD5SUM of the file you downloaded against the one in the table. 3) Flash HBOOT with your phone in fastboot mode (Back+POWER) -> 'fastboot flash hboot bravo_alphaspl.img' (change into the correct filename for the HBOOT you downloaded) 4) 'fastboot reboot-bootloader' 5) 'fastboot erase cache' 6) Boot recovery, wipe everything and restore. i get blur starting from step 3...
astria
Mar 29 2011, 12:13 PM
QUOTE(iceman31 @ Mar 29 2011, 11:34 AM) er u need to use fastboot command or thisi ve got the Fasboot Commander... do i flash the partition table as Hboot/spl?
astria
Mar 29 2011, 01:16 PM
QUOTE(iceman31 @ Mar 29 2011, 12:14 PM) yes . press hboot . and set ur img . and recovery is for clockwork or amon ra . thx for the help mate... now i regret not S-off my Desire earlier...
astria
Mar 29 2011, 01:42 PM
QUOTE(highwind85 @ Mar 29 2011, 01:21 PM) so s-off your Desire already? yup, S-offed plus new partition table... now with 50MB more space... should can last me quite a while...
astria
Mar 29 2011, 02:26 PM
QUOTE(highwind85 @ Mar 29 2011, 02:20 PM) i wonder why mine S-Off but has only 148MB of storage... s-off only means the security flag is off only, u'll need to flash one of the partition table from here: http://alpharev.nl/also, if u ve got CM7 RC3, dun go with the CM7 partition table... RC3 is 133MB...
astria
Mar 29 2011, 02:38 PM
QUOTE(highwind85 @ Mar 29 2011, 02:35 PM) so how do you know which table to flash? follow the rom we're using? quoted from the site: QUOTE Please read the entire table and pick the partition table with the correct sizes for your ROM. One easy way to switch partition tables, is to nandroid backup, and verify that the sizes of your backup are indeed the ones listed in the table (or smaller), and restore after flashing hboot. Nandroid backup, check the size of the system.img, and pick the table with a "/system" partition that can fit... i went with the N1Table...
astria
Mar 29 2011, 03:09 PM
QUOTE(LuffyPSP @ Mar 29 2011, 03:04 PM) eh 133? i got mine 80mb only. and i deleted some stuff and its 70mb. huhu... well, the zip file is 80MB... but once i nandroid backup it after flashing, /system = 120.27MB (my bad, not 133MB as previously stated, it was my /data  ) This post has been edited by astria: Mar 29 2011, 03:15 PM
astria
Mar 29 2011, 10:53 PM
QUOTE(ShinnKQ @ Mar 29 2011, 10:38 PM) HIGH 5 BRUDDA. I thought so, too. Oh well. I want to wait for Nexus dual-core Anyway Root is a must for Desire. 137mb of storage is unacceptable anyway. i think HTC's pov is that they juz do a generic ROM upgrade for all the Desires across the world... honestly with my SG set, i ve no problem with Market at all... Added on March 29, 2011, 10:55 pmQUOTE(reminder072000 @ Mar 29 2011, 10:47 PM) if only theres anyone who willing to guide me with the rooting steps from a to z.....hahahaaaha.besides im still under warranty tho still can unroot but i just wait til the warranty "dies" first la. rooting nowadays is juz like strolling in a park compared to last time... still remember need to go thru goldcard and ADB juz to root my Hero back then...  anyway, i rooted my Desire the very next day i bought it... that was in Dec 2010... This post has been edited by astria: Mar 29 2011, 10:55 PM
astria
Mar 30 2011, 10:43 AM
QUOTE(Tonyy @ Mar 30 2011, 01:46 AM) Any news about when we can get gingerbread version from HTC? A non rooted phone over here anyway... i doubt HTC will give us GBread... right now all the phones come with 1.1GB ROM and Sense 3.0... the 512MB ROM on our phones will not fit the new Sense...
astria
Mar 30 2011, 12:22 PM
or PenPower IME if u prefer writing to hanyupinyin...
astria
Mar 30 2011, 02:14 PM
QUOTE(phantomash @ Mar 30 2011, 02:07 PM) you haven't heard of the news from last month? HTC has announced that GB is coming to a few devices including Desire one of the many sourcesmeaning we will get it 2days later?
astria
Mar 30 2011, 04:57 PM
well, considering Incredible S is abt rm1.7k in garage sales (Singapore sets), y not juz top up a bit for Desire S?
astria
Mar 30 2011, 06:27 PM
QUOTE(danieloo @ Mar 30 2011, 05:51 PM) Since re-instate everything, thinking mind as well do the S-Off thingy. Took me almost hour, but still can't do it. I can't get to install USB thumb drive properly... I've downloaded everything needed. But when choosing Linux Distribution drop menu (any of the list in menu), I can't find alpharev.iso (or even any .iso) file on the next choosing drop menu. Anyone can help please.... try this...
in step 2 browse to and select alpharev.iso...
astria
Mar 30 2011, 08:09 PM
juz in... Telstra Australia said they'll be releasing Gingerbread for Desire in June...
astria
Mar 30 2011, 08:53 PM
lol, i always do that... though i charge from USB...
astria
Mar 30 2011, 09:27 PM
QUOTE(ShinnKQ @ Mar 30 2011, 08:59 PM) USB not so bad, lower current. AC adapter...2.5x so....:| but still it will electric shock me sometimes...
astria
Mar 30 2011, 10:15 PM
hmm... i get CM7 mainly cuz i want GBread...  if HTC indeed release a GBread Sense i would most probably jump back...
astria
Mar 30 2011, 11:25 PM
QUOTE(reminder072000 @ Mar 30 2011, 11:20 PM) hi forums, few questions: is it possible to manually install any apk files outside the market for non-rooted phone? if it is possible, how can i know that the file hasnt been infected with trojan or spyware? can you guys share some reliable source for apk file? thanks much. 1) yes 2) pretty hard... since the app is not checked by Google... that's how DroidDream spread in the first place, black market... 3) erm... Android Market?  and Amazon Appstore... i only trust apps downloaded from them... This post has been edited by astria: Mar 30 2011, 11:26 PM
astria
Mar 31 2011, 10:50 AM
QUOTE(alvin8866 @ Mar 31 2011, 10:45 AM) Wah. This thread is very informative and moving as fast as Desire HD. I plan to buy an Android phone. I am considering to buy either a Desire or a Desire HD. Which one I should buy? Thanks in advance. no to DHD for short battery life... y not Incredible S?
astria
Mar 31 2011, 12:50 PM
DHD suffers from short battery life issue... as a comparison, it has a 1250mAH battery while Desire's is 1300mAH (or was it 1350mAH), even though DHD has a much larger monitor... Incredible S' battery is 1400mAH iirc... and also, y go for the old when there's the new?  Added on March 31, 2011, 12:52 pmQUOTE(ShinnKQ @ Mar 31 2011, 10:55 AM) Buy the newer models. Worth it. Esp Incredible S Added on March 31, 2011, 11:26 amwdh so fast got CM 7 RC 4 Added on March 31, 2011, 11:58 amSPB Shell 3D@@! So nice lookign but for speed it's dirt laggy so.. xD yeah, but US$15... whoever buys it must be crazy, when others like LauncherPro Plus is US$3... This post has been edited by astria: Mar 31 2011, 12:52 PM