[User Review]Sager NP8130

TScarbonytte
post Mar 28 2011, 02:19 PM, updated 15y ago

659 posts

Overview

This is my first review of any kind of laptop. I've been using several laptops for over several years now, but never wrote any review (So, sorry for the lack of information I have right now, but I'll update the first post from time to time).

This Sager NP8130 (aka Clevo P151HM1) is a younger sibling of Sager NP8150 (aka Clevo P150HM). The term younger basically means that the technical specifications is lowered compared to its brother.

*Added : Bought through LPC-Digital with Credit Card for 1209 USD (excluding 139 USD for shipping) Note : They give you 3% discount if you pay cash/e-cheque/cheque/money order*

For more info on Sager's dicussion in LYN forum, refer : http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1755925

The hardware information is as follows:

Intel Core i7-2630QM 2.0 GHz with 6MB L3 Cache.
2x 4GB 1333MHz DDR3 So-DIMM RAM (4 SoDIMM slots,configurable up to 16GB with 2 SoDIMM slots capable of running 1600MHz SoDIMMs, all slots support dual channel configuration)
500GB 7200rpm
15.6" Full HD Matte display
nVidia GeForce GTX 460M
2.1 Sound System with Earphone/Microphone/S/DPIF for 5.1 and 7.1 Audio System/Line-In jacks with THX TruStudio Pro
2 USB 3.0 ports
2 USB 2.0 ports
1 IEEE1394/Firewire port
1 RJ-45 LAN port (10/100/1000MBps)
1 802.11 b/g/n with Bluetooth combo mini half card
8x DVD+-RW ODD
1 eSATA port
1 HDMI port
1 DVI-I port
2.0 Digital Video Camera
3.75/HSPA USIM slot (To access this, you need to open up the battery, I'll put a picture of this later).
Size = 37.59cm (w) x 25.6cm (d) x 3.5 - 4.29 cm (h)
.:Unpacking review :.
To be updated
.:Picture review :.
First impression picture

Picture taken from certain angle while doing video playback

Adapter is damn big, refer image below compared with my typical Asian-size hand

.:Benchmark reviews:.
World Of Warcraft
Ultra Video Quality
VSync enabled with Triple Buffering
1920x1080 resolution full screen mode

Transformers : War For Cybertron
1920x1080 resolution full screen mode
Texture Quality = High

Metro 2033
1680x1050 resolution full screen mode
Quality : Very High
DirectX 11
Antialiasing =AAA
Texture Filtering = AF16X

This post has been edited by carbonytte: Mar 29 2011, 02:05 AM
kahjye
post Mar 28 2011, 02:34 PM

4,494 posts

wah....how do u feel?

is it powerful enuf? biggrin.gif
Pewufod
post Mar 28 2011, 04:27 PM

1,536 posts

LOL wut 7 FPS
your settings for metro a ittle too high
[PF] T.J.
post Mar 28 2011, 04:56 PM

24,193 posts

Grats TS on purchase notworthy.gif
Damn the specs are simply awesome thumbup.gif
kahjye
post Mar 28 2011, 05:15 PM

4,494 posts

QUOTE(Pewufod @ Mar 28 2011, 04:27 PM)
LOL wut 7 FPS
your settings for metro a ittle too high
lol 7 fps , like a p4 playing cod black ops :S

oh well...
AlexLai
post Mar 28 2011, 06:28 PM

5,531 posts

I was looking at getting an NP8130 before this. But budget constraints at the moment... sweat.gif

Anyways, congrats on your purchase. biggrin.gif
Riddhy
post Mar 28 2011, 06:52 PM

1,956 posts

plz show me pics of thickness if possible by a measuring tape or can we meet up somewhere/or i drop by house i really want to see the laptop live face to face
ineser
post Mar 28 2011, 08:22 PM

1,068 posts

Looks good but you cant really play games in High/Very high mode
[PF] T.J.
post Mar 28 2011, 08:23 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(ineser @ Mar 28 2011, 08:22 PM)
Looks good but you cant really play games in High/Very high mode
Most of us can't even play some of the games in medium mode laugh.gif
Hell some of us can't even play the game sad.gif
This is a Lamp
post Mar 28 2011, 08:38 PM

189 posts

Oh, typo on:

"This Sager NP8130 (aka Clevo P151HM1) is a younger sibling of Sager NP8150 (aka Clevo P150HM). The term younger basically means that the technical specifications is lowered compared to its brother."

This post has been edited by This is a Lamp: Mar 28 2011, 08:39 PM
TScarbonytte
post Mar 28 2011, 08:49 PM

659 posts

Answering question first

@Pewufod : I'm practically just trying on the highest resolution possible and see how bad will it go. I do expect the FPS though, based on review at notebookcheck.net

@ineser & [PF]T.J. : It would depend on what game you are playing. For Metro, even with GTX 485 you'll still get a bad FPS
You can check for other cards and games matrix at : http://www.notebookcheck.net/Computer-Game...ds.13849.0.html

@This Is A Lamp : Edited the typo~

@Ridhhy : Edited in the 1st post. Hey, didn't I put the same thing yesterday at LYN Sager's official forum?

and now, some picture taken from up/side/back

This post has been edited by carbonytte: Mar 28 2011, 08:58 PM
Pewufod
post Mar 28 2011, 09:05 PM

1,536 posts

looks so much like the 8150
and the razer sticker seems a bit odd lol
anyway thx for the screenies
kahjye
post Mar 28 2011, 09:47 PM

4,494 posts

QUOTE(Pewufod @ Mar 28 2011, 09:05 PM)
looks so much like the 8150
and the razer sticker seems a bit odd lol
anyway thx for the screenies
ya ah ? looks kinda cool to me lol , but the sticker is like...abit not sticky? :S
TScarbonytte
post Mar 28 2011, 10:12 PM

659 posts

the razer one is very old, i cilok from old laptop to my Sager smile.gif
kahjye
post Mar 28 2011, 10:32 PM

4,494 posts

QUOTE(carbonytte @ Mar 28 2011, 10:12 PM)
the razer one is very old, i cilok from old laptop to my Sager smile.gif
lol no wonder lor bro , mind to post up how the carrying bag provided looks like a? smile.gif
amduser
post Mar 28 2011, 11:17 PM

5,542 posts

if you dont mind, can post up the price tag for this machine and how you order it?
kahjye
post Mar 28 2011, 11:38 PM

4,494 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Mar 28 2011, 11:17 PM)
if you dont mind, can post up the price tag for this machine and how you order it?
i believe its around 4k and..erh dunno where he got that from xD
TScarbonytte
post Mar 29 2011, 02:04 AM

659 posts

@kahjye : I bought the laptop without any bags. LPC gave you two choices, no bags or pay extra for Targus. However, I am using a Deuter Giga Office Pro.

@amduser : price updated at 1st post. refer our Sager's topic on other resellers http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1755925

@pewufod : Yep, 8130 and 8150 are very lookalike, physically the difference should be that 8150 surface is made of rubber (although some argue that it doesn't really feel like rubber), while 8130 feels more towards plastic polished with sandpaper.

This post has been edited by carbonytte: Mar 29 2011, 02:08 AM
kahjye
post Mar 29 2011, 02:18 AM

4,494 posts

QUOTE(carbonytte @ Mar 29 2011, 02:04 AM)
@kahjye : I bought the laptop without any bags. LPC gave you two choices, no bags or pay extra for Targus. However, I am using a Deuter Giga Office Pro.

@amduser : price updated at 1st post. refer our Sager's topic on other resellers http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1755925

@pewufod : Yep, 8130 and 8150 are very lookalike, physically the difference should be that 8150 surface is made of rubber (although some argue that it doesn't really feel like rubber), while 8130 feels more towards plastic polished with sandpaper.
O.o LPC?

where is that?

however mucro asia offers free bag...i think lol
kpchoo29
post Mar 29 2011, 02:21 AM

Validating
220 posts

What is your rating for the screen's color and viewing angle?

0.0195sec    0.45    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 01:58 PM