Discussion about watercooling and the results, Version 2

irenic
post Aug 14 2005, 04:51 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(almostthere @ Aug 11 2005, 10:03 PM)
Not to mention all these custom made systems are of 1/2 OD/ID which is still the recommended size compared to Tt's 3/8"
QUOTE(ianho @ Aug 13 2005, 05:24 PM)
The TT Airbesar is not even running 3/8 ID hose man. The hose is thin like a pencil.
dont kutuk 3/8" tubing size la.. laugh.gif my asetek waterchill also use that size but perform better than some pre made wc kit with 1/2" tube tongue.gif

tt airbesar use 1/4" if i not mistaken...

This post has been edited by irenic: Aug 14 2005, 04:53 PM
irenic
post Aug 14 2005, 07:59 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(almostthere @ Aug 14 2005, 06:00 PM)
Ok, I'm corrected over that matter. And yes, 3/8" not bad also. In fact the Europeans prefer to use that as it's a good compromise between flow rate restriction and airflow restriction if based on what I've seen so far actually. However, Cathar in Xtreme has recommended a new type of tubing which I'm not pretty clear about which is about 3/8" ID but has some property's similiar to TYgon's and has rather a smooth inner wall surface. But I'd bet that sort of tubing would cost a bomb

And ianho, I'd suggest you have a look at these charts

thx for da info.. how bout hydor L35? i just thinking to buy that pump to replace my hydor L20..
irenic
post Aug 15 2005, 01:29 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(almostthere @ Aug 14 2005, 08:26 PM)
Hydor L35? Hmmm....I'd be very careful in choosing that as the heat dump from the pump itself (Going by the known feedback of the Nirox P5800..I think cos allngap used it to test his WC kit) is quite a fair amount and would be of major consideration before trying it

For a second opinion, have a look at this topic at xtreme by Maxxracer about pumps

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=41495
how bout if i blow a fan direct to the pump?
irenic
post Aug 15 2005, 02:18 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(almostthere @ Aug 15 2005, 01:51 AM)
The question is how much the water is heated up by the pump when at normal operation speeds. The pump's heat as in physically can be solved but as to the introduction of that heat into the loop is another.
owh ic.. hmm

btw i cant open the link u gave above..

and i have a problem which is totally out of topic, but i hope i can asked from help from any of u guys here since this is one the 'still' active topic for tonite..

i just bought a thermaltake aquabay mr1 coz i like it looks, so after installing the tube, i decided to run a leak test for several hours. since all the waterblock is inside the pc, and i was lazy to remove them, i short my psu 24pin cable (pin 13 n 14) but i forgot to unplug molex for other hardware. then i ran it and after an hour no problem occurred. so i switch off my psu then a 'pop' sound heard.. i feel worried so i switched on my psu again n my psu kaboom and smoke came out from it cry.gif
then i went to see dinster to borrow his psu (thx alot to him), and i quickly connect ONLY gfx, harddisk, watercooling pump and motherboard to the psu. all other things (ccfl, casing fan, optical drive) are still connected to my kaboom psu.

then i switch on my using dinster's psu and everything runs fine.. but the weird thing is, the ccfl, casing fan, optical drive, all run like usual.. like there is power connect to them unsure.gif sweat.gif why ek? huhu
irenic
post Oct 3 2005, 07:42 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(moderno @ Oct 3 2005, 02:17 AM)
mind to share how much u oc ur proc and the vcore dude?... smile.gif
QUOTE(otherwise @ Oct 3 2005, 02:24 AM)
im not oc my proc yet and im using dfi lanparty nf3 250gb
hehe dont worry..problem solved. now ur temp is 35C.. it is just a simple bios update biggrin.gif

irenic
post Dec 6 2005, 10:53 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

just bought another watercooling set.. The coolermaster Aquagate Mini R120 .. although this one is for newbie, but still manage to cool down my amd64 x2 to max at 40C during load and 29-30C at idle. Room temp at 33C.

irenic
post Dec 7 2005, 12:21 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(uzairi @ Dec 7 2005, 12:16 AM)
Nice temp u have there irenic. Im waiting my new toys to arrive, itchy to play with water again. *BIGGRIN*
thx .. just testing with 1.45vcore with closed casing. after 30mins, temp max at 43C with dual stressprime large fft tests.
irenic
post Dec 7 2005, 04:18 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(uzairi @ Dec 7 2005, 01:56 AM)
How much can ur X2 baby go at 1.45v ? 43c can be considered a nice load temp.
around 2.45ghz..
irenic
post Dec 17 2005, 11:16 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(moderno @ Dec 17 2005, 07:55 PM)
just finished installing my asetek waterchill here...huhu it takes me 3 days + 1 died gcard...uhuk uhuk uhuk
aiyaks why so long.. and how can the gcard dead? sweat.gif
huhuhu nape x msg aku tanye pape tongue.gif
irenic
post Dec 18 2005, 03:03 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(moderno @ Dec 18 2005, 12:46 AM)
bro.....i want refund for my died gcard  vmad.gif .... hahahahhaha..... sajer jer maleh nak kaco ko... tongue.gif

the connector for the CPU waterblock got some leaking then menitik on top of my gcard there...uhuk uhuk.....took the 6200tc off (i know it's a lame card  sweat.gif )  and jemur atas monitor for a night still got artifacts and after that kaput cannot be detected oledi  cry.gif ....

i thought that the more shorter the loop...the more 'cun' the result will be....but when do some little bend on the tubing at connector there...there will be some leakage upfront between the connector and the tubes... sweat.gif

now running smoothly but i've to take off the vga waterblock there coz cannot fit my x600pro replacement.. rugi plak buat tukun waterblock tu...

p/s @irenic : memang tubing ori lagi best.... wub.gif

here's the result tada  laugh.gif  notworthy.gif  :

AMD 3000++ Winnie
CPU Core Speed : 2.448 Ghz
Vcore : 1.584v

close ur eyes for the chipset temp there ya  whistling.gif
nice temp~!! neway so sad to see that asetek went off my hands!! vmad.gif mad.gif cry.gif
irenic
post Dec 18 2005, 03:34 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(moderno @ Dec 18 2005, 03:20 AM)
it'll be taken care off in good hands  rolleyes.gif  rolleyes.gif ...ehehe....

thanks bro laugh.gif  notworthy.gif

p/s : got quite a bubles inside the reservoir and cpu waterblock there.... how to minimize this ek?.... open the top screw a while on the reservoir to let the air goes from the inside?..
hehe thx to u too~! notworthy.gif

erm if u ask me (newbie biggrin.gif ) i just leave it for some time until all the bubble disappear biggrin.gif open the reservoir caps will faster the process but ur coolant will decrease..

maybe there are better ways from all expert here biggrin.gif
irenic
post Dec 18 2005, 01:07 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Dec 18 2005, 11:44 AM)
Moderno, u shud get a spare PSU n turn on the WC without booting the PC mah. Then let the WC run for few hours with tissue paper put at all the joints to look for leaks. If everything's good then only boot up the PC.
good idea.. last time i just put plastic all over my grafik kad and around the waterblock. if there is any leaking, the water will drop on the plastic..
irenic
post Dec 18 2005, 03:13 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

[quote=ianho,Dec 18 2005, 01:39 PM]
So what WC u gonna buy now that u've sold ure Asetek?

[/quote]

irenic nak angkat aper plak lepas nih eh?.... rolleyes.gif

[/quote]

currently using stock heatsink biggrin.gif or i might temporarily using my aquagate mini from my p4 rig..

i sold the asetek bcoz need some money so i dont think i'll be using any wc in 2-3 months .. that asetek was so far the best + easiest wc i ever had. sad.gif
irenic
post Dec 18 2005, 08:48 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

the asetek waterblock fit nicely in my x850xt pe and 7800gtx.. smile.gif
irenic
post May 13 2006, 03:11 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

my gigabyte galaxy 3d cooling with opty 170 @ 1.475vcore full load is 39C with ambient temp of 30C. Idle is 32C.

Well my dual core is so hot.. now planning to buy 1) new pump 2) new radiator 3) new gfx waterblocks biggrin.gif
irenic
post May 21 2006, 10:08 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

wow very nice~! biggrin.gif i wonder what u use to make sure water cant go through the joint biggrin.gif
irenic
post Jun 12 2006, 09:22 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

eh i thought battery water does have some chemical inside...

btw here is some test i did last nite biggrin.gif

gigabyte coolant + distilled water = 30C idle, 38c full load

gigabyte coolant + distilled water + anti algae (from asetek) = 31c idle, 40c full load biggrin.gif
irenic
post Oct 22 2006, 03:16 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

i'm back to wc! after few months using air cooling, i feel great to see water inside my case laugh.gif

0.0188sec    0.18    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 01:52 AM