Discussion about watercooling and the results, Version 2

hollowbean
post Sep 12 2005, 03:40 AM

102 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Sep 4 2005, 02:39 PM)
to those who might be interested.... uglyvamp is starting to bring in some H2o stuff....

sneak peek: http://www.vampzone.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=181
i think this is the 1 which i bought from HK.
Coolwave 120.2
hollowbean
post Sep 14 2005, 08:52 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(amok @ Sep 14 2005, 08:48 PM)
wadda i missed?  biggrin.gif

@HolyAk:  Quite an OK result on your w/cooling. thumbup.gif, pump up the Vcore somemore brows.gif .. more interested in All'n'gap dual 12cm rad you've got there, are those flat tubes one or normal copper cylinder type?

Just a question to avoid spam warning, does anyone got a clue what is the tubing size for those TT BigWafer kit?

O.T. Yup it's good to be back. thumbup.gif
OD 8mm x ID 6mm.

hollowbean
post Sep 17 2005, 12:42 AM

102 posts

QUOTE(mhn21 @ Sep 17 2005, 12:24 AM)
guys where can i get a storm g4 waterblock?
i think i'm too late for dins bluk! cry.gif
anywhere else i can source one?
thanks.
http://www.nextbyte.com.sg
try here.
I think they have stock currently, they just sent me the pricelist lastmonth
SGD155.
hollowbean
post Sep 17 2005, 02:30 AM

102 posts

QUOTE(TJye @ Sep 17 2005, 02:25 AM)
Do you still have the pricelist with you?
can send it to my email?
yup.. i still have it here.
what is ur email adres?
hollowbean
post Sep 28 2005, 11:02 AM

102 posts

head is a measurement of the height of the water that the pump could create from the kinetic energy to the water. Actually there's no such term 'Head pressure' Head is a term that has units of a length or feet and pressure has units of force per unit area or pound per square inch. Usually centrifugal's pump measure by head instead of pressure because the pressure will change if weight of the liquid change, but head will not change.
hollowbean
post Oct 13 2005, 12:49 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(AllnGap @ Oct 10 2005, 01:41 PM)
i wanna ask something

for those who used acrylic reservoirs, do u have to clean in very often ?
are u okay with a totall sealed acrylic reservoir ?
hmm... i do have a acrylic reservoir.. smile.gif
but after using for a long time..there will got stain.
total sealed not very convenience for ppl who often clean up the system and fill in the water.
hollowbean
post Oct 27 2005, 11:56 AM

102 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 27 2005, 11:42 AM)
At the moment, I'm split between ordering a BIX from US ($$$$$$$$) and Thermochill locally (lagi $$$$$$$) and this "a la thermochill".

http://www.kp-xpcmods.com/osc/product_info...&products_id=31

Actually I'm curious also, what would be the performance delta for a really teruk rad and a really good rad of the same size?
i heard that KP using their own custom fitting thread is it?

hollowbean
post Oct 27 2005, 09:13 PM

102 posts

KP site already stated there. (KP Custom fittings for rad)
BSP thread couldnt fit in. but polypro fittings mayb can fit in because the material soft enough.
hollowbean
post Nov 11 2005, 01:12 AM

102 posts

QUOTE(TJye @ Nov 10 2005, 06:13 PM)
I think something bad has happened to my g4
the base copper plate is somehow......corroded
I don't know is it that I touch it with my sweaty palms or when I leak test the whole system, I accidently sprinkle some water onto it....
Its got darken marks over it and a darken fingerprint of mine on its base.
What should I do?
u can try soak it with citric acid.
hollowbean
post Jan 16 2006, 07:25 PM

102 posts

biggrin.gif just got these babies today.. KP-DDC mod top + Laing D5

hollowbean
post Feb 16 2006, 04:11 PM

102 posts

Now i almost able to gather all my wc stuff, and currently running a leak test for 24hrs.
The DDC pump which i already installed KP top, i dont see any aparent improvement.
Can i use a pressure gauge to measure to collect some data?

hollowbean
post Feb 16 2006, 05:14 PM

102 posts

The res last time grab from ray99mond, its a review set.

if u guys want a res similiar to this, a HK site is selling around rm100.

This post has been edited by hollowbean: Feb 16 2006, 05:14 PM
hollowbean
post Feb 21 2006, 07:42 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(almostthere @ Feb 21 2006, 07:11 PM)
Official announcement of Storm rev. 2 at Swiftnet's site

http://www.swiftnets.com/products/storm-r2.asp

Looks like a G7 top
Great! thumbup.gif

finally, finished setup for my first loop.

DDC pump---> Coolwave 120.2 rad---> Alphacool NexXxos XP--->Reservoir

Opty 170 2.8g@1.35v
Idle: 37'C
Load:46'C (stressPrime)
room:32'C
hollowbean
post May 21 2006, 01:53 AM

102 posts

5mm thick enough for a bay res.

here's a pic of mine. ^^

hollowbean
post May 21 2006, 03:29 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(Shah81 @ May 21 2006, 02:01 AM)
@hollowbean
wow thumbup.gif ...did you made that yourself??? and where did you buy that nice looking barbs?? blink.gif
yup. i made it myself. icon_rolleyes.gif
those bards bought from HK

QUOTE(zahri @ May 21 2006, 09:32 AM)
Sweet .... drool.gif

Nice looking bay reservoir....

Nice Finishes too....

How much did it cost you to make that  DIY RESERVOIR ? thumbup.gif
acrylic wont cost over 30bucks. cuz it used a small lil piece only.

QUOTE(irenic @ May 21 2006, 10:08 AM)
wow very nice~! biggrin.gif i wonder what u use to make sure water cant go through the joint biggrin.gif
PVC joint glue

QUOTE(LittleLinnet @ May 21 2006, 12:04 PM)
maybe that is not a DIY one and a premade? sweat.gif
check out his sig
doh.gif dude... i did it maself for this 1.
hollowbean
post May 22 2006, 10:52 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(MetalZone @ May 21 2006, 03:58 PM)
hollowbean,
those barbs are NPT or NPSM or G BSPP threading?
How did u tap the threads on the acrylic?
Got anymore of those barbs? I would like some  tongue.gif  Serious. 1/2" barb, 1/4" threading issit?
those barbds are BSPP. hmm.. i think left 1 or 2 piece(s) only.
if u guys intrested i can order together with my watercooling set in bulk section.
yup . its 1/2"barb 1/4"thread.

about threads on the acrylic... i bought 1 set of hand tapping tool for 1/4" BSPT Thread and 11.8mm drill bit.
it looks like this

hollowbean
post Jun 29 2006, 04:22 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Jun 28 2006, 10:46 PM)
My damn MCP350 pump is acting up again. Blardy hell. Stupid Laing says it's an industrial grade pump n blah blah blah with a MTBF of 50000 hours. BOLLOCKS to that!

I use my rig for about 10 hours a day for the past 8 months with the new pump that Corsair sent back to me after the 1st died. That's 240 days x 10 hours a day which comes to only 2400 hours usage time n it's already giving me startup probs.  vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif

Sumtimes when I boot up the pump doesn't startup n I hafta gif it a few taps from under my case n then only the pump starts up. Really fed up lar.
yeah! i had the same prob with urs. sigh

bcuz of the early version DDCs will have serious startup problem. rclxub.gif
the only way is to send back to switftech/Laing.....
hollowbean
post Jul 21 2006, 05:11 PM

102 posts

shocking.gif Waterblock for 7950GX2 from Aqua-Computer
But the price sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif
119EUR

AquagraFX 7950GX2

This post has been edited by hollowbean: Jul 22 2006, 03:38 AM
hollowbean
post Sep 4 2006, 09:37 PM

102 posts

Laing DDC got a high failing rate. Unfortunately i'm one of the victim as well, DDC failed to work suddenly, but after the DDC been thru some torture done by me. it's revived! haha.

But i heard that the new Laing DDC ultra(18w) works pretty well. that the performance par with D5 isnt it true? and the noise still lower than D5
hollowbean
post Oct 10 2006, 12:54 AM

102 posts

QUOTE(ddww @ Oct 10 2006, 12:18 AM)
YES!!! BIG QUESTION HERE!!!

tongue.gif sorry for shouting tongue.gif ... wat pump fits me the most? the pump had to be at least 3/8" (better if original 1/2") budget RM200 (aquarium pump also can). these few days had been searching through soooo many aquarium shop for a decent and cheap pump. but the head/connector does not seem to fit lah... had to mod... already mod one last week, but not satisfied with my job. currently using Big Water SE (mod pump). hope can get one powerful pump which does not need any mod one. also i need advise on CPU and CHIPSET block (LGA 775). hope can get one with 3/8" or 1/2" connector. budget not more than 150/ea. any reconmend?
i got 2 suggestions for the pump that meet ur requirement.
1. DangerDEn MAG II LE

This pump originally come with 1/2" connectors, it delivery about 2.5m headmax and still within ur budget cost <200.

2. OEM pump for Gigabyte

Connection fittings is G1/4" BSP as well so u can fit in any 3/8" or 1/2" barb. headmax is about 2.0m and still cost less than 200

thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by hollowbean: Oct 10 2006, 12:56 AM

0.0216sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 06:33 AM