Discussion about watercooling and the results, Version 2

QUDERN
post Jul 27 2005, 03:43 AM

68 posts

I would like to know what you water-cooling veterans think of me teaming up a Zalman Reserator with a Storm CPU block ? ( standard Reserator pump )

Performance wise ? I've been reading alot about the Storm needing a powerful pump. Do you guys think my standard Reserator pump would do the job ?

This post has been edited by QUDERN: Jul 27 2005, 03:52 AM
QUDERN
post Jul 27 2005, 03:07 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(almostthere @ Jul 27 2005, 02:13 PM)
If you still wanna use the Reserator, I'd suggest finding a way to lose the pump and use a better specced pump cos you'll seriously choke the poor block of sufficient water. A low flow based block like MCW6000 series would suit better if you plan to keep everything stock instead
I've got a Reserator and I've just purchased the Storm. What if the loop is very short ( Reserator -> CPU -> Reserator ) I'm all for the aesthetics of my workstation, that's why I went for the Reserator cause I do not like see tubes and pump all over the place. What pump would be suitable to be placed inside the Reserator ? I want a pump that's small enough to fit inside the Reserator like the original pump inside.

Have anyone of you tried the standard Reserator with a Storm ?

Anyway, thanks for all the input. Cheers biggrin.gif
QUDERN
post Jul 27 2005, 09:19 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Jul 27 2005, 04:48 PM)
Man. That has got to b the biggest rad around. N it looks damn good too. Imagine that rad with a big pump n the Storm block.
I think the best small pump to fit ure reserator yet with adequate specs for the Storm wud b the MCP350 with 4m head n 350lph flow. This is the minimum that Swiftech specs for the Storm. This is the pump in my Corsair Cool kit too. It's very small n quiet. I can't even hear the pump. What r the specs of ure reserator pump though?
The MCP350(tm) 12 VDC Pump is rated at 350L/h
Maximum Integrated Water Pump for Reserator : 5 W, Qmax 300L/h
Maximum Lift : 0.5m dammit mad.gif

Mind borrowing me for a day to see if it fits my Reserator laugh.gif

QUOTE(babyelf @ Jul 27 2005, 07:15 PM)
i think u'll benefit more from the architecture of the storm G4 block with a more powerful pump... for a reserator it's better if u have some of the previous swiftech non restrictive blocks.. the G4s uses jet impingement design and are unlike previous MCW waterblocks..

it will work.. but not at full potential.. and maybe getting a MCW6000 block will yield better results instead
I guess you didn't read about the aesthetics part whistling.gif I'm all for looks. Having some Rad and 5 fans coupled with some huge pump sitting on my table just isn't my style for the minimalis in me tongue.gif

This post has been edited by QUDERN: Jul 27 2005, 09:45 PM
QUDERN
post Jul 27 2005, 09:47 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(AllnGap @ Jul 27 2005, 09:45 PM)
OMG this design is so stupid, waste so much of the pressure on goin against the gravity.
But if the inflow to the rad is from the top, wouldn't that create high pressure outflow at the bottom ? unsure.gif
QUDERN
post Jul 28 2005, 12:39 AM

68 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Jul 27 2005, 11:16 PM)
0.5m lift? Phuiyoh, that really sux man. We swap lah. I pinjam u the pump, u pinjam me ure 20" ACD.  thumbup.gif

The Reserator uses submerged pump kah? Didn't know that.  Ooooooops.
If only I didn't love my ACD so much, I would be happy to laugh.gif
I guess I'll go get the Swiftech one and mount it on my butt so there'll be less clutter on the table doh.gif

Yes, like those aquarium filter pumps. Got diving licience, open water 50 meters laugh.gif

This post has been edited by QUDERN: Jul 28 2005, 12:41 AM
QUDERN
post Oct 11 2005, 12:44 PM

68 posts

Idle:

Load:

Long story short. Reserator sucks. Air-conditioned is on whenever computer is on.
QUDERN
post Oct 11 2005, 08:15 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(AllnGap @ Oct 11 2005, 07:55 PM)
who said reserator is good at the first place ?

the surface area is even smaller than a 120mm rad i think
The rad is not the problem with the Reserator, it's the pump. The worst pump one can ever find. Don't really care about my CPU now anyway. The temps are within peaceful levels. I'm just pissed at my mosfets and chipset vmad.gif

0.0413sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 11:23 AM