Discussion about watercooling and the results, Version 2

PeowYong
post Aug 4 2005, 06:08 PM

PeowYong
2,263 posts

QUOTE(snake_eater @ Aug 4 2005, 04:28 AM)
hey ppl.. i just intall new wc.. but then i noticed tht theres is no much diffrence in temp. currently it is about 40. is this normal ? or did i messed up when i was installing it ?? sorry guys.. newb with wc here
what water cooling kit r u using??
PeowYong
post Aug 4 2005, 09:37 PM

PeowYong
2,263 posts

wuts the temp before u install for idle and full load??
wuts the temp after u install it for idle and full load?
PeowYong
post Aug 5 2005, 04:27 PM

PeowYong
2,263 posts

how do u know theres not much difference since u dunno ur temp b4 installation??

u can try to change the fan, use shorter loop....
PeowYong
post Aug 13 2005, 11:43 PM

PeowYong
2,263 posts

QUOTE(ernie ball @ Aug 11 2005, 09:10 AM)
Em, i'm new to water cooling, so i really need something simple,and works well. Recently i have a bit of extra cash to spare, so i contemplated to buy either a CoolerMaster Mini Aquagate or Bigwater 12cm (i can only find non-SE model atm). Or i could also choose a Tt Big Typhoon (read about the great performance).

But i found one disturbing news from lyn, the Tt bigwater non-SE had a high RMA rate because of pump failure. The contrasting fact is many Bigwater users swear by bigwater. May i have a confirmation on this?

About Mini Aquagate 12cm model, i did google around, but all i could find is  very biased reviews, most of which compares the performance of Aquagate to very outdated heatsinks or even stock heatsinks (who use stock anyway). The same case applies to Bigwater. And most importantly, i didn't find a review done by the more reputable websites (overclockers.com or tomshardware.com)

What is better, aquagate or bigwater? Since the price is so similar. Or should i not get a water cooling at all? I'm currently using CAK4-88t, i swapped the fan  for 3 bladed Tt at very low fan speed for quieter pc. The temp i got is mere 37c web surfing and 42-43c full load. Before you complain my temp is inaccurate, please take note, i heavily underclocked my processor and it only throttle to full speed in heavy load conditions. Even at full speed the Vcore is only 1.375v-~40w max heat dissipation. Even the passively cooled CM NB cooler (Zalman clone) and my fancooled WD hdd  is much hotter than the heatsink.

I really need a honest review, aside from the fanboyish review and the biased review of the unreputable websites. I'm sorry if i threaded on anyone's foot.

Please advise.
Bigwater non-se have pump failure problem??
is it true?? luckily i have no problem with it... sweat.gif

if u r free enough to change water regularly, u may try using a watercooling kit... if not, u better stick with air cooling....
PeowYong
post Aug 23 2005, 11:57 AM

PeowYong
2,263 posts

interesting....
thought about that before(without pump) but without the tec...
PeowYong
post Aug 24 2005, 01:24 AM

PeowYong
2,263 posts

hm.... seems like have to soak the whole unit into a big pail of coolant and run the pump and everything inside the coolant then remove the pump and connect back the tube after all the air is gone

sounds silly but thats wut i think how it will work....

PeowYong
post Sep 1 2005, 08:10 PM

PeowYong
2,263 posts

hm.... where did u get the TEC and how much does it cost??
i m planning to play with TEC also....

PeowYong
post Sep 4 2005, 12:03 AM

PeowYong
2,263 posts

QUOTE(moderno @ Sep 3 2005, 11:08 PM)
hi guys...wanna ask... if i put my radiator inside an icebox full of ice, can or not eh?...does it do any harms there?....coz wanna try it for sometimes oledi until saw this pic biggrin.gif

u have to becareful if u r going to do this....
condensation will occur if the temp of the water goes few degree below ambient temp....
PeowYong
post Sep 14 2005, 08:43 PM

PeowYong
2,263 posts

i wanna know if the water still flowing or not if the pump is switched off?
PeowYong
post Sep 27 2005, 09:21 PM

PeowYong
2,263 posts

r u using all the tubing that come with the kit?
try to cut the tube shorter so that its just long enough to connect to waterblock, pump and radiator...
no need to lap the waterblock as the waterblock is quite nicely lapped...
lapping it would help but i dont think u will earn another couple of celsius....

1 more thing, installing the rad inside the casing will be better cause the tube can be shorten more...
PeowYong
post Sep 28 2005, 04:09 PM

PeowYong
2,263 posts

erm... antonio_zth, u might wanna try arrange ur cable nicely... the air cant seem to ventilate or move well inside...
PeowYong
post Oct 3 2005, 07:14 PM

PeowYong
2,263 posts

QUOTE(ah_fong @ Oct 3 2005, 04:13 PM)
i'm using thermaltake bigwater !!
i just bought it !!
question : my cpu water block got some water vapor inside the acrylic !! the water is ouside the water passage !!
how??
got ur 2nd hand thermaltake bigwater already???
how much did u buy it for??
u mean theres water in between the arcylic and the block other than the water passage?

try tightening the 4 screw on the arcylic and see if the washer(the black rubber) is placed properly or not .....

PeowYong
post Oct 4 2005, 02:10 AM

PeowYong
2,263 posts

QUOTE(ah_fong @ Oct 3 2005, 10:21 PM)
erm... !! how to take out the water from the radiator cpu black and the pump without pouring out the coolant???

i refer to the manual doesnt's teach to take out the water punya!!

anyone use big water?
wut do u mean??
u wanna pour out the water but dont wanna pour out the coolant???
its impossible to do that as the water and coolant is mixed....

if u wanna take out water, u really have to pour it out...
but its gonna be hard to pour out all water if u didnt take off any tubing unless u disconnect the tubing at the pump intake then it will be easier to pour out...

my suggestion is this:

if u wanna disconnect tubing and change water, then just disconnect it and pour it out the plug back the tubing and refill....

if u dont wanna disconnect the tubing but wanna change water, u can just pour out the water stored in the pump, refill it to its full, run it for a while, then pour the water out again and repeat the same thing several time, then most water will be changed.... after that just refill it and add in some coolant....

PeowYong
post Oct 4 2005, 02:01 PM

PeowYong
2,263 posts

if u r free then u can take out alll the water....
if not just pour in a capful of the coolant then can liau

PeowYong
post Oct 8 2005, 04:17 AM

PeowYong
2,263 posts

wuts ur rig spec?
do u oc it?
is it idle or full load when u take the screenshot?
whats the reading before u using watercooler??
PeowYong
post Oct 12 2005, 12:00 AM

PeowYong
2,263 posts

the temp for ur pwm is good enough inmy opinion....
some ppl might even get 60-70°c or even more...
u may add some small heatsink to cool it down

0.0451sec    0.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:36 AM