5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Android Phone Recommendation thread v2, Confused? Torn between two phones?

salimbest83
post Aug 2 2011, 07:49 AM

♥PMS on certain day♥
8,639 posts

QUOTE(nghj @ Aug 2 2011, 07:43 AM)
xplay is only good if u r serious serious want hard core gaming and with buttons (want phone 101% for games only).
other than that, no point getting the play.
but its spec is just below market lvl la..
only that hardware key is different
not to mention not ergonomic to hold on one hand..
(from review)
salimbest83
post Aug 2 2011, 08:09 AM

♥PMS on certain day♥
8,639 posts

QUOTE(RobustRobot @ Aug 2 2011, 08:00 AM)
guys, within 1.3k budget
would u guys opted for Samsung or HTC?  *i thought htc were below samsung.

i need a good gps and quality screen with a decent camera. some games would be nice.

and could you please specify which model?
thank you wink.gif
i think i still chose incredible S.
hard to beat for now. biggrin.gif
nice all round phone around that price

This post has been edited by salimbest83: Aug 2 2011, 08:09 AM
salimbest83
post Aug 2 2011, 08:54 AM

♥PMS on certain day♥
8,639 posts

QUOTE(nghj @ Aug 2 2011, 08:17 AM)
i see that the htc inc s is highly recommended around here smile.gif
correct me if i'm wrong, but isnt it priced around rm1.5k (ap) instead of rm1.3k?
em..yup maybe north of 1.4-1.5k
but if u planning on using it for quite sometime.
it should be worthy.

Added on August 2, 2011, 9:08 ammaybe this is worthy
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...1&hl=incredible

This post has been edited by salimbest83: Aug 2 2011, 09:08 AM
salimbest83
post Aug 2 2011, 09:14 AM

♥PMS on certain day♥
8,639 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Aug 2 2011, 09:09 AM)
Currently using Gingerbreaded X10.  Planning to give wife.  Looking for a replacement.  Won't be flashing custom ROM, but will root.

Screen:  the bigger the better (can't get used to 3.2" after using 4")
Resolution:  480x800 and above
Budget:  around 1k (of cos, the cheaper the better)

I can only think of the Ideos X5 for sub-1k.  How does it stand up against the X10?
X5 is better than x10. smoothness. faster GPU, big 2GB internal memory , no laggy UI
just its screen is smaller @ 3.8"
not bad for @RM820 phone

This post has been edited by salimbest83: Aug 2 2011, 09:15 AM
salimbest83
post Aug 2 2011, 09:22 AM

♥PMS on certain day♥
8,639 posts

QUOTE(salimbest83 @ Aug 2 2011, 08:54 AM)
em..yup maybe north of 1.4-1.5k
but if u planning on using it for quite sometime.
it should be worthy.

Added on August 2, 2011, 9:08 ammaybe this is worthy
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...1&hl=incredible
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1746278&hl=
salimbest83
post Aug 2 2011, 09:32 AM

♥PMS on certain day♥
8,639 posts

QUOTE(RobustRobot @ Aug 2 2011, 09:24 AM)
arghh.. according to this comparison

http://www.compare-cellphones.org/HTC-Incr...amsung-Galaxy-S

the galaxy s seems to be a better prospect no..?
nice tool.
SGS is cheaper btw and for Incredible S, u need at least 1.4k to get one.
but i still prefer Incredible S for all round performance.

salimbest83
post Aug 2 2011, 12:14 PM

♥PMS on certain day♥
8,639 posts

QUOTE(HitTheLights @ Aug 2 2011, 12:00 PM)
Hi, I currently have a budget of rm700 only, am I'm looking at the zte blade, I saw a lot of good reviews for the huawei x5 but I don't have the budget for it, I just want an android phone for surfing and customizing, any reviews for this phone? Or is there any other alternative? Thanks..
yup.. as ts suggested..
wait until u can at least afford an Ideos X5.
well worth it.

salimbest83
post Aug 3 2011, 05:28 PM

♥PMS on certain day♥
8,639 posts

QUOTE(lohmaikai @ Aug 3 2011, 03:50 PM)
Can please recommend something below 1k
With good battery life, mainly use as wifi hotspot which can set security.
Any brand doesn't matter.
better go for ideos X5.
RM830 24month warranty.
build quality is superb. big internal memory, big and sharp 3.8" LCD

this might help u make your choice.

http://www.brighthub.com/mobile/manufactur...ews/104361.aspx
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1961442&hl=

Added on August 3, 2011, 5:29 pm
QUOTE(syarif @ Aug 3 2011, 04:55 PM)
Hai,

I need to consider between two phone.

Sony Ericson Xperia X8 vs Samsung Galaxy Mini

i tried both of them. I figured out something between them.

Galaxy Mini are more touch sensitive than Xperia X8 (need little touch only)
Xperia X8 have higher resolution than Galaxy Mini.

I need a phone that support:

1. GPS(without Internet Connection).
2. Longer battery life
i would like to use my phone to remote control my laptop to transfer file. (LogMeIn) and some office task.

which one should i grab? Budget below RM750.
x8 is better overall.
but i really suggest topup abit and get X5.
its really rewarding in the long run

This post has been edited by salimbest83: Aug 3 2011, 05:29 PM
salimbest83
post Aug 4 2011, 11:15 AM

♥PMS on certain day♥
8,639 posts

QUOTE(syarif @ Aug 3 2011, 06:00 PM)

Added on August 3, 2011, 5:29 pm
What is the advantage of x8 than galaxy mini?
or did you have any suggestion that price range below RM750?
bigger screen and resolution.
view picture on mini is like a c**p ( no offense mini user ya)
and typing on small touch screen is pain in the a**

Added on August 4, 2011, 11:18 am
QUOTE(Dannyl @ Aug 3 2011, 05:42 PM)
But iPhone4 black new is around 2k only, yes?

Ideos X5 is pretty good and cheap too, RM8xx.
iPlayed is two iPhong already.
3gs and 4
experience wise...
its like we as normal android user,
when use iPhong its like booth our hand is tied at the back
or the least, one of our hand is amputated.

sory iPhong, thats how i feel when play with u..
bye2

Added on August 4, 2011, 11:22 am
QUOTE(hitsugaya2010 @ Aug 4 2011, 08:33 AM)
hi all,

Thanks for those who replied my questions. many of them recommended Huawei x5. i would like to ask about the sustainability of the phone. i want to get a realiable phone. Is this phone reliable? due to his price and its from China, i am kinda skeptical about it. any drawbacks for this phone from the phone users?
try it. with 24month warranty. and quite sturdy build quality.
faster GPU than my Defy® also.

u wont feel it cheap. just its sell cheap price only..
im play with it quite often biggrin.gif (my workmate's)
just cant find enough time (and courage ) to put custom ROM in it.

Added on August 4, 2011, 11:23 am
QUOTE(panglimanadzri @ Aug 4 2011, 09:10 AM)
samsung galaxy ace v motorola MOTO ME525, which one is better?

specification comparison

http://www.gsmarena.com/compare.php3?idPho...4&idPhone2=3912

there's some clarification need to be done.

does moto has gpu in it?

i'm inclined to galaxy ace because it has gpu.

however if MOTO got gpu in it i would probably grab MOTO because it's screen has higher resolution than ace (480 x 854 pixels, 3.7 inches V. 320 x 480 pixels, 3.5 inches),

what i'm afraid is the MOTO couldn't handle the resolution due to lack of gpu.

the price i expect around 750~850 for both phones in Malaysia (lawyat).

thanks in advance. cheers.

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1984266 ---my thread.
Go for DEfy® ( or X5 ) for ur budget.
u wil really hit disappointed felling fast enuf with Ace

Added on August 4, 2011, 11:31 am
QUOTE(Asica @ Aug 4 2011, 10:33 AM)
Hey guys,

Thinking about a phone for my wife. She mainly uses facebook, surfs the web and plays Angry Birds. Oh, battery life is kind of important because she never remembers to charge her phone -.-

I have an Incredible S for awhile now which I'm happy with. Was considering getting one for her as well. Is the price around RM 1500 now at LowYat? Also what about other cheaper options like Optimus One P500? How much are these worth and would it do the above functions?

Open to any other sub-1500 priced phones with solid battery.

Cheers!
erm.. Incredible S is incredible.
optimus one emm...emm..emmm..
try higher spec phone pls.
dun want laggy phone when post stuff at facebook man.. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by salimbest83: Aug 4 2011, 11:31 AM
salimbest83
post Aug 5 2011, 03:10 PM

♥PMS on certain day♥
8,639 posts

QUOTE(justme @ Aug 5 2011, 01:30 PM)
To choose a phone you must also take into consideration after sales support. All new electronic products usually have implementation problems (rom, firmware, etc). Some manufacturers are quick to respond, while some just drags their feet. The rom upgrade from Eclair 2.1 to Froyo 2.2 is an example.

Also, check out their web site - some sites only seems to welcome users who have bought and are using their hand phone otherwise you can seem to get support or check out faq and email their marketing for information.

Their web site should have full specs and even a simple writeup of that model - otherwise be careful of that model. Usually, a manufacturer will be very proud to display pictures and high-tech specs of their latest phone. And if that phone has been launched for more that 1week or 1 month and there is still not product info or its not listed as a product then you should ask questions.

For example I bought a galaxy 5 and until now that product still does not exists on the manufacturer's web site of android phones. They decided to list it as GTI-5503 now. But in their initial sales it was marketed as Galaxy 5. Maybe its been discontinued after a few months but no statement to that effect. The Galaxy 5 have hardware problems.

When phones have similar model names like "5" and "S" you got to be careful. Make sure you check out the specs carefully oterwise you can end up buying the wrong phone.
Can we pls exclude these model. Call spice mi300,410, and that awesomely made ideos x5

Added on August 5, 2011, 3:17 pmI already put all model from samsung and lg and htc and SE from my list. Recommend only few model that really worth my friends money and good user experience. Named spice, mi300, ideos x5, defy. All is win in their price point. But once their budget above 1.2k, that's harder to choice

This post has been edited by salimbest83: Aug 5 2011, 03:17 PM
salimbest83
post Aug 6 2011, 02:25 AM

♥PMS on certain day♥
8,639 posts

QUOTE(profdrahhen @ Aug 5 2011, 09:04 PM)
which mean samsung no good??
not not good. its just their entry lvl android is built to f***up and pricey.
u can get better/cheaper/good quality phone for ur money from other brand.
READ: Huawei, CSL
salimbest83
post Aug 6 2011, 12:20 PM

♥PMS on certain day♥
8,639 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Aug 6 2011, 07:46 AM)
So a re-branded X6 is cheaper than X5?  This is interesting.  Now waiting for some guinea pigs pioneers to try it out.  Can easily replace X5 as best-bang-for-the-buck sub-1k Android phone.
already got official mi410 topic here nod.gif
salimbest83
post Aug 6 2011, 06:23 PM

♥PMS on certain day♥
8,639 posts

QUOTE(xDarkKnightx @ Aug 6 2011, 06:01 PM)
You also have to bring in consideration what the buyer's budget.
so my vote stil goes to Spice Mi300 for any budget around 4xx-6xx
salimbest83
post Aug 6 2011, 07:14 PM

♥PMS on certain day♥
8,639 posts

QUOTE(fcuk90 @ Aug 6 2011, 07:04 PM)
around 650 - zte blade  brows.gif
spec not much diff.
stil low internal memory, same res, no flash..
sad.gif
salimbest83
post Aug 7 2011, 02:25 AM

♥PMS on certain day♥
8,639 posts

QUOTE(darkz88 @ Aug 6 2011, 10:08 PM)
Guys just a quick choice. Which phone is better to grab? Prefer BIG font and wide screen.

1) Ideos X5
2) Mi-410
3) SE x10
4) Any phone that around that budget
if in the same price ballpark i suggest mi410
but since its 4" and 1Ghz CPu.. battery life in the bad side of android..
x5 more battery saver if u care bout battery life.
icon_idea.gif
salimbest83
post Aug 7 2011, 12:21 PM

♥PMS on certain day♥
8,639 posts

QUOTE(creative zn @ Aug 7 2011, 02:47 AM)
err.. but mi410 kinda pricey @ rm999. topup rm100 can get galaxy SL ady.  sweat.gif

x5 same like galaxy ace rite, 800mhz? price also x5 RM850 while galaxy ace just RM795. hmm...
erm.. lols.
cannot compare like that la.
not just CPU speed is important.
its like u compare 800Mhz P4 with 800Mhz C2D
worlds of different bro.
and many thing that ace dont have compared to X5.

and for SL, suggest try other model. not really syok when no custom ROM (still less developer support )
battery life in stock rom is damm power hungry if compared to my Oced 1Ghz Defy.
play game side by side.
mine still 70%, my fren SL down to 50% doh.gif

salimbest83
post Aug 7 2011, 02:49 PM

♥PMS on certain day♥
8,639 posts

QUOTE(ogiveyakuza @ Aug 7 2011, 12:10 PM)
i dunno which one shuld i buy....sgs2 or atrix...i need powerful fon with gud build quality..sometimes i do my work on fon...my previous fon is e72...n how bout nexus s...
if u resolution junkie i suggest go for Sensation.
and for SGS2 its 480x800 dun really do justice.
and not to mention, SGS2 feel awkward to hold and "showof"
its thin flat bar feel and look "cheap" if compare to sturdy Sensation. thumbup.gif
Atrix also not bad coz u can get it quite cheaper than both two,
but since its battle of the best.. Atrix is out of equation

and if u willing to wait a bit, theres many qHD phone just on the way to our shore biggrin.gif

and for LCD junkie.. this might say something
http://www.anandtech.com/show/4483/motorol...-with-tegra-2/5

This post has been edited by salimbest83: Aug 7 2011, 02:51 PM
salimbest83
post Aug 7 2011, 02:52 PM

♥PMS on certain day♥
8,639 posts

and this latest Motorola Droid 3
http://www.anandtech.com/show/4551/motorol...d-times-a-charm
salimbest83
post Aug 7 2011, 03:59 PM

♥PMS on certain day♥
8,639 posts

QUOTE(ogiveyakuza @ Aug 7 2011, 03:19 PM)
i'm not resolution junkie...haha... icon_rolleyes.gif
juz searching a powerful smartfon coz i always do my work on fon rather than a laptop...
played with sensation...dun like it though... blush.gif
u use defy rite....
is there any apps like quickoffice...
coz before this, defy was in my list... laugh.gif
haha..
owh..
Sensation not nice eh?
hmm.gif

but since u do more work on phone bigger resolution sure help more.
and for me the plus side on SGS2 is its super amoled plus ony.
others is 1GB ram. else not much to talk about.

yup. im Defy® Sect tongue.gif
stock defy rom got full office apps from factory ( PAID)
but cant remember lah.. only use stock for 3hour plus only.. blush.gif
salimbest83
post Aug 7 2011, 07:28 PM

♥PMS on certain day♥
8,639 posts

QUOTE(mimigou @ Aug 7 2011, 06:30 PM)
1. Brand.

Any, prefer HTC as they have HTC sense wink.gif

2. Budget.

Around RM1K

3. Specs. (Processor / RAM / OS Version / screen size)

Android latest version perhaps?

4. What you need in the phone (Sense UI ? Touch Witz ? Battery life? Form factor?)

1.Fine Speakers, like Sony Ericsson W-series. i dont like Nokia speakers that when u play songs loud, they seem cracking the quality of the song

2.Battery Life that can satisfy 1 day usage?

3.sensitive touch screen.I've tried my friend's Iphone & SE X10 before. seriously I feel Iphone screen sensitivity is better than SE X10, so i would prefer phone that have a sensitive screen like Iphone or better than it wink.gif
btw, i have some questions about android
1. is it difficult for me to adapt the new screen keypad. because im using SE W5800 which it has own keypad, I''ve tried on my friend's Iphone and i realise that I've a problem with screen keypad because it's so tiny and hard to type.i always type the wrong word sad.gif so i wonder would android be better? or should I just choose a android smartphone with a keypad?

2. does Android contains those apps like in Iphone? because I've been addicted to many games in Iphone such as Diner Dash,Hotel Dash etc.
and I heard that some Android apps you have to purchase to use it, is it true? which I wonder is there any jailbreak for Android ;p

thx
1k HTC..
nope. nothing to suggest.
1.4 might have Incredible S or Desire S ( only this 2 model worth suggestion for HTC )

Latest android is no big deal.. HTC is quick to release latest one esp for latest model.
not to mention superbly active developers for HTC custom ROMs

Speaker.. cant fight W series la.. but Incredible S can handle it quite nice.

TOuch Screen.. Yup.. i admit Sony really screwed up X10 coz of its laggy nature UI
so far, most phone midrange android i try is smooth as butter not laggy as X10
u should be fine with emm

Keyboard. thats coz iPhone just have that tiny 3.5" LCD. try 4" one.. u wont have that trouble anymore.
and many2 superbly nice keyboard to try on android..
my fav is Swype®, Swiftkey X®

Apps. got wat.. angrybird for one. as others. got many2 clone one la.
just try and i dare say u wont have enuff time to play emm all tongue.gif

Jailbreak is for iPhone
Rooting is or android
u mean ahem stuff on android...
of coz got many2.. biggrin.gif

Added on August 7, 2011, 7:30 pmBattery life on android.. not much too say.
u cant last one day on it.
maybe Motorola Atrix nearly do it.

This post has been edited by salimbest83: Aug 7 2011, 07:30 PM

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0211sec    0.21    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 03:34 PM