Kitchen Sink, which one

blancpain4470
post Jan 7 2021, 10:04 AM

1,063 posts

QUOTE(wira1979 @ Jan 7 2021, 09:41 AM)
Dang, I was just looking for a mixer that matches the colour of the sink since the Blanco drop-in one has quite a big lip that 'joins' the tap. Being OCD, my blood pressure will probably go through the roof if the colours don't match. Looks like I'll have to do more research.

Anyways, what is everyone's thoughts on a tap with a pull-out spout/hand spray function? Are they actually durable since you're always pulling on the mixer to use the extendable/spray function?

As you can tell, I'm pretty paranoid as this will be the first ever time that I'm renovating a home in my life. Am really grateful for everyone's input smile.gif
Relax lah bro ... chrome or silver tap will go with any sink. My Blanco is black anthracite and chrome tap looks ok. What you should be concerned with is the size of your tap and sink. A commercial type tap on a small sink will look ugly or vice versa.

Swivel tap is a must for kitchen but pull out type you should get a reputable brand. If not the working of counter-weight to put back the head unit is not smooth. Another issue could be the alignment of the head unit after frequent uses.

Again more moving parts means you should get a better made tap.
blancpain4470
post Jan 7 2021, 03:38 PM

1,063 posts

QUOTE(wira1979 @ Jan 7 2021, 01:52 PM)
Hahaha. Just need some time to come around to a mix and match combo.

I'll be moving on to countertops next. Quartz, marble, Kompacplus, Dekton, etc. Why lah so many choices?
Essentially the “best” countertop material is composite quartz. It is tough, stain and scratch and heat resistant. Most kitchens in Malaysia are going for this. Dekton is similar to quartz just different forming process. It is actually more stain and UV resistance. The famous Michelin starred French Laundry kitchen is using Dekton for its kitchen so you know it must be good.

Solid surface used to be popular before quartz. Laminate or Kompacplus are cheaper alternatives but long term durability is not there plus colors are more dull.

If u find hard to decide just buy the most expensive you can afford. Silestone and Dekton are expensive because of lifetime reliability and warranty. Decision is actually not hard. Just wallet limitation is harder!
blancpain4470
post Jan 7 2021, 06:02 PM

1,063 posts

QUOTE(wira1979 @ Jan 7 2021, 05:00 PM)
Read about getting the most expensive option as well. Based on my 12 hours of research, I'm quite interested on either Silestone or Caeserstone. Was interested in Dekton but found the price prohibitive.

I noticed that say for Silestone, there are many suppliers out there. Will the prices vary greatly from one supplier to the other? I mean, if the prices are similar, then might as well just go for Cosentino (the most prominent supplier).
We are screwed in MY. In US, Silestone and Dekton price ranges are similar and overlapping.

You can approach Cosentino to see the products and get them to recommend reasonably good installer. I don’t think they do installations themselves but I could be wrong.

Almost all reasonable big ones like Signature Kitchen, Unity can do them. But they tend to be more pricey. Smaller installers will be cheaper but Cosentino is the one that will decide which of its products will be on sale. Typically older ranges are cheaper. Those newer N Boost models will be expensive.
blancpain4470
post Jan 13 2021, 10:20 AM

1,063 posts

QUOTE(wira1979 @ Jan 13 2021, 09:15 AM)
Wondering if anyone is using mixer taps that can also output filtered water?

https://www.haustern.com/prodetails.php?pro...=HT-XE-316/FUCR

Will be good as then don't need to have a bloody big Coway on the countertop.
Depending on your requirements ... The big Coway or other above the counter machines typically provide hot, cold and room temperature water.

This will work with undercounter water filter but then if the tap has problem you won't have drinking water. Anyway a separate filter tap is not expensive. Well you need to decide between cleaner look and single point of failure.
blancpain4470
post Jan 13 2021, 12:07 PM

1,063 posts

QUOTE(wira1979 @ Jan 13 2021, 11:18 AM)
That's always the concern isn't it when you divert everything into 1 point.

I'm planning a minimalist home reno and am trying to figure out a way to get filtered water without adding too much 'bulk' to the kitchen. So far my options are below (welcome any other ideas as well):

1. Under counter filter through a mixer tap that can accept filtered water source / not many mixer choices & single failure point
2. Under counter filter through a dedicated faucet / most straightforward option but 'messy' counter top
3. Go for LG water filter (those without backwash) and hide behind kitchen cabinet / most expensive option
For option 2, some sinks such as Blanco can accept 2 to 3 "holes" for tap, soap dispenser, air switch and of course separate water filter.
blancpain4470
post Jan 13 2021, 03:58 PM

1,063 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Jan 13 2021, 03:37 PM)
I just use hot water inlet as filtered water channel since I don't have hot water in my kitchen sink.
Not very wise as you may accidentally mix drinking water with normal tap water. In addition if the final part of the tap "shares" the same outlet, part of your tap water may be trapped inside the tap before you switch to drinking water. I know Malaysian tap water can be consumed directly (theoretically) but keeping a separate water filter outlet is a cleaner solution. If I have garbage disposal switch, filtered water tap and soap dispenser and I can only install 2 of the 3 on the sink, I will take out soap dispenser since it is nice to have
blancpain4470
post Jan 13 2021, 04:13 PM

1,063 posts

QUOTE(simon4924 @ Jan 13 2021, 01:25 PM)
teka sink some model is made in china .. and some model is fully imported from Europe

sorento totally is china made same as HCE germany kitchen sink

rubine sink also is made made in china

if you wan looking for good kitchen sink u can consider this brand FOSTER is fully imported from Italy but the price is 1000++ only for one single bowl
First, the cheap Foster sinks (<1k) are butt ugly. The decent ones are more expensive than Blanco. Second, country of origin does not tell you a sink is good or bad. If this is the case you need to throw away your iPhone. Kraus is a US brand but solely made in China. Problem with China made products are just that the quality variations are great depending on the brand and quality control. One just have to be more careful when buying products made in China.

This post has been edited by blancpain4470: Jan 13 2021, 04:14 PM
blancpain4470
post Jan 14 2021, 10:57 PM

1,063 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Jan 13 2021, 05:24 PM)
I was thinking to install 3 way faucet too last time. But then I couldn’t find any decent brand that sells the faucet within my budget. So, i end up continuing with boiling route.

Maybe in 3-4 years time I will upgrade my faucet to Grohe Blue Pure which have the dedicated line for filtered water.

I think you think almost like me when comes to design, so my advice is to avoid separate filter tap as once you install that on your sink, there is no turning back when you realized that it is an eyesore sweat.gif
Beauty is in the eye of beholder. I happen to think it is ok. Anyway I always preach function follow form/look. This is especially true for kitchen or any high traffic areas!
blancpain4470
post Jan 14 2021, 11:09 PM

1,063 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Jan 14 2021, 11:02 PM)
True.

But reading through the concept he was trying to realize, I know that he would hate the look of out of place protruding thing on his kitchen sink just like me.

He is probably looking for a way to hide the dish drainer too (if he don't plan to install a dishwasher) laugh.gif.

I also agree on functional kitchen. I myself always do extensive research to make my kitchen functional, without compromising the looks, vice versa.
Lol. You have something protruding too but you don’t chop it off just because it is ugly 🤣. Similarly it serves a certain function!
blancpain4470
post Jan 17 2021, 07:59 AM

1,063 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Jan 16 2021, 11:36 PM)
What do you think of the s/s sinks from Franke?
Many Franke ss sinks are made in China but some expensive ones are Swiss made. Personally I like some of the Franke modern design types China made or otherwise. It is a good reputable brand. I would put them in my kitchen.
blancpain4470
post Feb 8 2021, 08:12 PM

1,063 posts

QUOTE(tony_mw @ Feb 8 2021, 06:52 AM)
Any idea what's the month for Blanco to having sales? Been eyeing on Blanco Pleon from TopIdea & lazada seller the past year but no luck on getting it cheaper. icon_question.gif
Usually Blanco has some promotions during festive holidays and home furnishing event such as Homedec. Unfortunately Homedec is delayed to end of Apr due to pandemic (and may be further delayed again). Look out for these type of events and they may have sales.
blancpain4470
post Feb 9 2021, 06:21 AM

1,063 posts

QUOTE(tony_mw @ Feb 8 2021, 09:02 PM)
Will wait for that then.
Thank you the blanco sensei! 🤣
Another way is go to Lazada or Shopee and select any Blanco item to monitor (as “likes”). Then you can regularly monitor if the prices have reduced due to sales.

I used to go around shopping and developed contact with some sales people at the shop. I left my contact info for them to call me when there is a sale. I didn’t have luck with Topidea (may be they are too busy) even I ended up buying from them at Homedec! Xammax guy were more attentive and they will call if there is a sale.
blancpain4470
post Mar 28 2021, 08:32 AM

1,063 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Mar 28 2021, 12:07 AM)
I think for RM500-600 there are better choices. 0.8mm material for a RM500 sink is not worth.
The problem with buying no name sink.. after a while even without using - it rust by itself just by looking at it.
This will be nice, 18/10 and 1.2mm thick - https://www.lazada.com.my/products/teka-arq...2875204518.html

This is 1.5mm 18/8 https://www.lazada.com.my/products/bareno-s...1889130726.html

This is 1.2mm 18/8 for RM499 https://www.lazada.com.my/products/mocha-mk...s972448479.html

18/8 =~ 304
18/10 =~ 316
18/10 is not approximately 316. They are different in price by a bit. There is no molybdenum in 18/10

blancpain4470
post Apr 4 2021, 10:07 PM

1,063 posts

QUOTE(wira1979 @ Mar 30 2021, 09:39 AM)
I guess this is the best place as any to ask.

Anyone here using/used Kraus kitchen mixer taps before? Is there a problem during installation i.e. different tubing size, etc.

Some decent prices on Amazon so am planning to order but a bit wary of things coming from the USA, what with them using different measuring system and what now.

Thanks in advance for any feedback.
I didn't get kraus mixer but I bought hansgrohe from Amazon. The tubing is standard and same as ours. As long as you don't go too fancy with those sensor type they should be ok
blancpain4470
post Apr 4 2021, 10:12 PM

1,063 posts

QUOTE(kelvin_ck1 @ Apr 4 2021, 09:27 PM)
Dear sifu,

I wish to buy a kitchen sink. After reading so much info about granite sink that it will lose its attractiveness by hot oil, hot wok and hot water then i started considering Nano tech sink but some told me the coating will run off eventually. Some claimed SS sink is noisy and the level of noise with scratches easily. Have anyone tried solid surface sink before? Can sifu please advise me which kitchen sink is more durable, anti scratches / cracks with lesser noise?
It is incredible how much misinformation and stupidity out there. Hot oil? It won't damage a good sink whether granite or ss. But you won't want to pour hot oil into your sink because it will clog in up. Hot water? It won't damage a good sink but it may create problem for plastic joints. I have poured hot water into my sink before and add long as you don't do it frequently there is no problem.

Nobody selling so called solid surface sink. The choice is granite and SS. There are numerous discussions on this before. In the end it is down to individual preference.

This post has been edited by blancpain4470: Apr 4 2021, 10:13 PM

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0501sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 10:07 PM