What will happen if i dont activate my credit card
bookstore
Mar 30 2011, 02:14 PM

Normally, bank charge GST at the moment they issue it, no matter you activate it or not.
If you ignore the card, not activate it, not calling the issuer to waive the GST or whatever. You might get into the bank internal blacklist, but not into CCRIS CTOS. I would not want my name to get internal blacklist just bcoz of RM 50.
asil66
Jul 30 2012, 11:42 AM
Need help urgently...
When I applied for my car loan in January this year, MBB gave me a credit card as well without me applying for it. Since I got the card, I have never activated it. I have just activated the card last week and to my horror, I see that there are some late charges of RM5 per month since the card is being issued. The late charges is for the GST which I was not informed of. There were no correspondence whatsoever to inform me of the GST or late payments.
Now, before I call n make noise with their customer service, is it fair for me to ask for waiver of those late charges? The amount is not much but still, I don't think they should charge me for it.
Sifus please advise.
patrickthissen
Dec 11 2013, 06:55 PM
In this case, can we call to bank to cancel application before they issue us the card + charge us GST??
blibala
Dec 12 2013, 11:02 PM
Same thing happened to me. Recently i applied housing loan from cxmb bank. The salesman told me credit card is bundled in the loan package. And if i dont need it, i can cancel it wihout having to pay single cent upon received the card. Eventually my loan got approved but i rejected tehir offer. Two weeks later a platinum card sent to me. I did not activate the card and i call customer careline to cancel since i dont need it. They allow me to cancel it but insist i need to pay for gst.. Wtf. I applied housing loan and i got credit card and i cant cancel it without paying gst. I also dont want to get blacklisted due to rm50.
Ok. Can i complain to bank negara because the salesman gave me wrong info or misled me? I dont want to pay gst
alexwsk
Dec 13 2013, 11:21 AM
QUOTE(blibala @ Dec 12 2013, 11:02 PM) Same thing happened to me. Recently i applied housing loan from cxmb bank. The salesman told me credit card is bundled in the loan package. And if i dont need it, i can cancel it wihout having to pay single cent upon received the card. Eventually my loan got approved but i rejected tehir offer. Two weeks later a platinum card sent to me. I did not activate the card and i call customer careline to cancel since i dont need it. They allow me to cancel it but insist i need to pay for gst.. Wtf. I applied housing loan and i got credit card and i cant cancel it without paying gst. I also dont want to get blacklisted due to rm50. Ok. Can i complain to bank negara because the salesman gave me wrong info or misled me? I dont want to pay gst same old tactic lodge a complain to bnm, said salesperson misled u the cc is bundled with the loan most likely cimb will let u cancel without paying RM50
blibala
Dec 13 2013, 12:32 PM
QUOTE(alexwsk @ Dec 13 2013, 11:21 AM) same old tactic lodge a complain to bnm, said salesperson misled u the cc is bundled with the loan most likely cimb will let u cancel without paying RM50 No. They insist they cannot waive the RM50 GST. If they want to bundle the credit card into the housing loan, they should only issue the card if the applicant already signed their housing loan offer letter. Else it is unfair and forcing people taking their card. Other banks said credit card is optional and never forced me to apply for it during loan application. Only CIMB did. Now give me so many problem..
Human Nature
Dec 13 2013, 12:43 PM
QUOTE(blibala @ Dec 13 2013, 12:32 PM) No. They insist they cannot waive the RM50 GST. If they want to bundle the credit card into the housing loan, they should only issue the card if the applicant already signed their housing loan offer letter. Else it is unfair and forcing people taking their card. Other banks said credit card is optional and never forced me to apply for it during loan application. Only CIMB did. Now give me so many problem..  Just send an email to Bank Negara.
brightjoey
Dec 14 2013, 12:19 AM

I too signed up for 3 credit cards. But they assured me that no annual fee will be paid on the 1st year and so I won't have to pay a cent.
Now there with GST, I really hoped I won't have to pay at all. If it cost me GST I rather not have many credit cards unless I'm sure I want it.
alexwsk
Dec 14 2013, 01:53 AM
QUOTE(brightjoey @ Dec 14 2013, 12:19 AM) I too signed up for 3 credit cards. But they assured me that no annual fee will be paid on the 1st year and so I won't have to pay a cent. Now there with GST, I really hoped I won't have to pay at all. If it cost me GST I rather not have many credit cards unless I'm sure I want it. annual fees and GST are different matters try to call and check whether you can cancel without paying the GST, else keep it with you for a year