Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Thread V15, Galaxy S, live on a smart life

TSgmhafiz
post Mar 28 2011, 12:25 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(zumapuma @ Mar 27 2011, 09:50 PM)
http://www.theandroidsoul.com/

this site gives a pretty good step-by-step to flashing to the newer ROMS and has links to direct download the stuff that u need..pretty good for newbies like me smile.gif
Nice website smile.gif From the members list, looks like it is made by indians.

do we have android website made by malaysian sifus?
TSgmhafiz
post Mar 28 2011, 03:01 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(pcboy @ Mar 28 2011, 12:10 AM)
yea you're right. he sent me a message in my Youtube inbox few days ago saying him from India

That's a funny response biggrin.gif . You are in italy?

QUOTE(CrossX @ Mar 28 2011, 12:22 AM)
gonna try MIUI beta8r2

anybody tried MIUI b4? any feedbacks and comments?
Don't worry about imei because you can always restore efs folder. Beta 8 was really buggy. Maybe beta 8r2 is better. Please share your experience!

Added on March 28, 2011, 3:04 am
QUOTE(CrossX @ Mar 28 2011, 12:30 AM)
imei problem? meaning it will change the phone's imei???

if so then how do i change it back to the original imei?
There's efs backup cwm package. To restore in case of changed imei number, just copy paste the content of backed up efs folder in your internal sdcard into /efs folder using rootexplorer

This post has been edited by gmhafiz: Mar 28 2011, 03:04 AM
TSgmhafiz
post Mar 28 2011, 03:21 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(pcboy @ Mar 28 2011, 12:34 AM)
LoL that really makes me laugh.. i dunno how he made wild guess i'm from italy.. btw gmhafiz, maybe u can setup a TTS with him since both of u in India biggrin.gif i'm in Dublin, anyway
haha, some indian do speak like that biggrin.gif I bet they are a bunch of nice people.

Forgive me but what is TTS?

QUOTE(CrossX @ Mar 28 2011, 12:38 AM)
but where do i get that efs backup cwm package??

is there a way to use ZSJPE modem with MIUI firmware???
Galaxy-efsbackup.zip at the miui xda-dev thread. That's the easiest way. That script copies your /efs folder into internal sdcard

From first page http://insanity.rollus.net/index.php?dir=rom/modems/

Modem should be compatible. Correct me if i'm wrong. Not entirely sure because this miui beta8r2 is based on the official miui, not cm7.

This post has been edited by gmhafiz: Mar 28 2011, 03:26 AM
TSgmhafiz
post Mar 28 2011, 03:33 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(CrossX @ Mar 28 2011, 12:57 AM)
i'm on MIUI now... how do i check imei?? weirdly i cant seem to connect to the telco... no service... is that the baseband problem?
Our sifu freakfingers should be able to answer that.

- try lock and unlock screen
- check imei by dialing *#06# if it is changed, copy the content of backed up efs folder into /efs folder
TSgmhafiz
post Mar 28 2011, 03:52 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(CrossX @ Mar 28 2011, 01:17 AM)
lol IMEI gone...

i kinda love this rom for all the added features and it really looks nice... problem now is i cant call out becoz i cant get any telco signals and overall the transitions and so on are a bit choppy... some apps are slow when its launched... do we need a lagfix for this?
Do you have a backed up /efs folder? Maybe long time ago before flashing custom rom? The instruction explicitly says to flash the efsbackup.zip
TSgmhafiz
post Mar 28 2011, 03:56 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(pcboy @ Mar 28 2011, 01:23 AM)
TTS = teh tarik session or in LYN term is GG
Ic. But GG = good game?? Man, I feel old.
TSgmhafiz
post Mar 28 2011, 04:07 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(freakfingers12 @ Mar 28 2011, 01:32 AM)
You're on B8r2? A lot of ppl get this cos the script doesn't restore efs. Since you have efs in backup/efs, then flash to Beta 7 then flash to Beta 8r2. Remember to wipe at least /system and /cache before flashing each Beta.
Lock and unlock everytime you boot, or else you most probably have choppy animation and no signal. It's a CM7 bug.
Does copying the backed up content of efs folder into /efs work too?

Also, I thought beta 8r2 is based on official miui, not cm7.

This post has been edited by gmhafiz: Mar 28 2011, 04:08 AM
TSgmhafiz
post Mar 28 2011, 11:04 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

since recent spike in miui interest, cm7 thread was pushed back to second and now third page in xda-dev dev section!

I can't wait till tomorrow to flash jvk and miui biggrin.gif

Interestingly stock JPJ rom is still snappy after 4-5 days of use. Looks like samsung did a lot of things right since then.
TSgmhafiz
post Mar 28 2011, 11:18 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(silentser @ Mar 28 2011, 08:37 PM)
from reading galaxy ace review, some say samsung improve the task management, no more needing task killer. maybe they also push to us the new memory?
maybe they saw how custom rom builders' modified the minimum free ram and followed it.

QUOTE(neo0915 @ Mar 28 2011, 08:40 PM)
1 thing i found out in JPJ rom is that there is a huge improvement on battery life~  biggrin.gif
i will test this for the last time tonight.
TSgmhafiz
post Mar 28 2011, 11:40 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(lch78 @ Mar 28 2011, 09:00 PM)
TS, which ROM you are going to flash? JVK or MIUI?
will test out both as I'll finish my exams tomorrow. yay!

then I'll revert to insanity for stability. or any other rom you guys can recommend?

Added on March 28, 2011, 11:42 pm
QUOTE(mousepad87 @ Mar 28 2011, 09:10 PM)
argh.... cant get into download mode...

pressing all 3 button in one..still cant... try do when phone is off or on... how to do it? i should hold volume down(left), home key(front center) and power button(right) rite?

please tell me im wrong... ;(
do it when the phone is switched off, not connected to power cable.
hold till you see samsung logo appears. sometimes it takes a certain angle in pressing the power button. try taking off the back cover and retry.

Added on March 28, 2011, 11:49 pmrom review: http://www.talkandroid.com/34785-rom-review-miui-build-3-25/

This post has been edited by gmhafiz: Mar 28 2011, 11:49 PM
TSgmhafiz
post Mar 28 2011, 11:58 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

I've been using antispam sms app to block unwanted sms spams and in-built call block in touchwiz. problem is antispam sms only block sms but not calls. call blocking lists will disappear when I flash a new rom.

I just stumbled upon this app https://market.android.com/details?id=com.m...yfilter.android
TSgmhafiz
post Mar 28 2011, 11:59 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(gajahwhite @ Mar 28 2011, 09:28 PM)
i always interested and keep waiting for stable MIUI..
anyone know MIUI created for what phone actually?
i think meizu
TSgmhafiz
post Mar 29 2011, 12:08 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(ijat91 @ Mar 28 2011, 09:36 PM)
meizu use android---> example, meizu m9  smile.gif
yup, starting from m9. m8 uses windows ce 6.0

http://www.meizume.com/general-meizu-m9/12...ifications.html
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Meizu_M8

This post has been edited by gmhafiz: Mar 29 2011, 12:10 AM
TSgmhafiz
post Mar 29 2011, 12:17 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(zumapuma @ Mar 28 2011, 09:42 PM)
i have alot of bad experience with Kies..bricked my Samsung Wave and then almost bricked my SGS..zzz
only good thing about Kies is it can save my contacts easily with the contact picture attached
Is it? my contact photo is still retained even after flashing custom rom. I sync contacts with the cloud. I've never used kies before.

This post has been edited by gmhafiz: Mar 29 2011, 12:18 AM
TSgmhafiz
post Mar 29 2011, 12:19 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(gajahwhite @ Mar 28 2011, 09:48 PM)
wondering why i never know about meizu.. never enter malaysia market eh?
chinese only language.
TSgmhafiz
post Mar 29 2011, 12:49 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(nasrulbond @ Mar 28 2011, 10:14 PM)
oh i see. thanks guys. if im not mistaken, in darkyy 10.0 beta, he already got the tv-off animation. looks cool oh.  nod.gif
sweethoney also has this, but not as smooth as gingerbread's tv-off animation.
TSgmhafiz
post Mar 29 2011, 07:48 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(lOrDjAbU @ Mar 29 2011, 08:06 AM)
Bootloader or no bootloader? Hmm.. What is it actually?

Antivirus for Android. Do we need it? Isn't Linux supposed to be really SAFE, because it's open source? I scanned using Lookout: nothing, with AVG Free: OMG!
- linux is inherently safe because of it separates admin from users. and of course, permission stuffs. moreover, installing softwares in linux is usually done through a software repository - can guarantee security.
- in windows, everything is given admin access and you download virus-infected softwares on the internet.
- android, although is built on top of linux, still has its flaws. you can easily get hacked by installing rogue apps because installing android market is not curated. having an android anti-virus should help. although I don't know how high is its efficacy.

QUOTE(lch78 @ Mar 29 2011, 08:14 AM)
Linux was safe because it is not popular last time compare to windows, now that it is popular due to Android, different story lor.  brows.gif
Linux is safe not because it is not popular. It is used in stock exchanges, internet servers, businesses, etc due to its stability, features and security. It is just not popular in desktop market.

QUOTE(neo0915 @ Mar 29 2011, 02:35 PM)
Jz found out 1 thing in JPJ rom~
the camera sounds when i took a picture although im in silent mode~
ish... cannot capture pretty girls alrdy~ tongue.gif
I can confirm this.

QUOTE(Harddisk @ Mar 29 2011, 03:46 PM)
Was fortunate enough to play with Nexus S on Ginger for a while just now.

Impression: very good.

The response and smoothness was beyond comprehension compared to my Speedmod patched SGS1. Looking forward to Gingerbread. biggrin.gif

BTW, Nexus S' FS is EXT4?

On a 2nd note, it no longer sync FB calendar on Gingerbread. Seems like everyone waiting for the upgrade.
yup, probably google coaxed samsung into using superior ext4 fle system. fb contact sync is actually breaking android terms of usage. thus, it is disabled. not sure about calendar sync.

QUOTE(mousepad87 @ Mar 29 2011, 05:05 PM)
tq mate. i have another question before i give up....

when i tried to connect my phone to Pc in samsung kies or usb debugging mode...Windows tried to find driver for my device(but couldn't find any).... i tried to link to kies folder...but not driver found also.

i would appreciate if u guys let me know where i can download this driver. notworthy.gif

p/s : i sent my device to upgrade to 2.2... and he already root.... currently i tried to upgrade to 2.3.1.... smile.gif
See first page for usb driver download
TSgmhafiz
post Mar 29 2011, 08:34 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

RC2 is out: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showpost.p...&postcount=2490

This post has been edited by gmhafiz: Mar 29 2011, 08:34 PM
TSgmhafiz
post Mar 29 2011, 08:57 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(mousepad87 @ Mar 29 2011, 06:24 PM)
guys thanks for the help....

i manage to run odin...

after download mode is done....

appear

"Android system recovery <3e>
reboot system now
apply update from sd card
wipe data/factory reset
wipe cache partition?

which one i should chose ?
that's recovery mode. download mode is using down volume instead of up volume. try again.
TSgmhafiz
post Mar 29 2011, 09:07 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(mousepad87 @ Mar 29 2011, 06:33 PM)
im in download mode... after flashing this mode appear....i tired to flash again but the same thing happen....
erm, which rom are you from and which rom are you trying to flash?

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0411sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 01:24 AM