Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Thread V15, Galaxy S, live on a smart life

Harddisk
post Apr 1 2011, 03:42 PM

2,959 posts

QUOTE(zharyn @ Apr 1 2011, 03:39 PM)
Hi...just a quick question since I too lazy to search the forum for my question...is mobile tracker by samsung disabled for Malaysia?...thanks guys!
A certain features not available, such as location tracking. Not sure if the remote wipe still works, I didn't try or too reluctant to try. biggrin.gif
Harddisk
post Apr 1 2011, 04:29 PM

2,959 posts

QUOTE(Captain'z @ Apr 1 2011, 04:09 PM)
V9.5 = Froyo
v10.0 = GB
Makes me itchy. Now still reluctant to install stuff, cause I m expecting official GB to come in.

Where's the announcement by Samsung? Has it appear on Kies (I know what some of you gonna say, lol)?
Harddisk
post Apr 1 2011, 05:47 PM

2,959 posts

QUOTE(CrossX @ Apr 1 2011, 05:17 PM)
i just wanna know whether it supports 720p 30fps... websites advertise it that way but whether its true or not i dont know... bad exp with DHD
Another joke by HTC? Can record but cannot playback? rclxms.gif

Hardware spec seems the same... hmm...
Harddisk
post Apr 1 2011, 11:07 PM

2,959 posts

QUOTE(Bugeca @ Apr 1 2011, 08:16 PM)
Is it true that it can't do 3G video call? What a waste.
It comes with FroYo first, meaning it can't do 3G video call by its nature.

If upgraded to Gingerbread, the kernel has support for video call. So I think natively (AOSP), the phone can make video call utilizing the front camera, by right. (by right la)
Harddisk
post Apr 1 2011, 11:54 PM

2,959 posts

Something to share with fellow SGS users.

Was playing with Google Track app and these are the comparison between internal GPS and external GPS. Those that are serious about GPS, should buy 1 bluetooth external unit. Now can pair with "Bluetooth GPS" app. Will auto lock and enable bluetooth from the app itself. Very good!

SGS GPS:
http://goo.gl/UF0kf

Ext GPS:
http://goo.gl/aplVI

Oh ya, ext GPS got accuracy up to 2metres as viewed from Maps app. thumbup.gif

Added on April 2, 2011, 12:20 amAiya, no SGS Tools for GB. Reluctant to upgrade stock Camera app. Lightsensor reader not working.

This post has been edited by Harddisk: Apr 2 2011, 12:20 AM
Harddisk
post Apr 2 2011, 12:58 AM

2,959 posts

QUOTE(yuktsi14 @ Apr 2 2011, 12:47 AM)
Do I have fix GPS in the latest xxjvk?
Didn't do any fix, managed to get locking within 30 seconds. Doesn't feel as fast as back in FroYo though.
Harddisk
post Apr 2 2011, 02:50 PM

2,959 posts

QUOTE(Bugeca @ Apr 2 2011, 11:07 AM)
SGS can do 3G viceo call even on eclair.  smile.gif
Obviously Samsung did something to the original ROM. Do note that there are variants of SGS don't come with 3G video call capability.

Added on April 2, 2011, 2:52 pmgmhafiz for new TS. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Harddisk: Apr 2 2011, 02:52 PM
Harddisk
post Apr 2 2011, 11:10 PM

2,959 posts

QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Apr 2 2011, 09:58 PM)
really? I thought voodoo lagfix is quite reliable? don't worry, still got speedmod  rclxms.gif
Doesn't Hardcore's Speedmod incorporates Voodoo's ext4 implementation?

QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Apr 2 2011, 09:58 PM)
It is somewhat stable, but the minimum free ram setting is too high. I'll wait for gingerbread source release.
I would love to have more and more RAM on my device.

As I was using it on Friday evening, tracking my journey home using Google Track. Then I had my browser opened with 4 pages. 2 Lowyat pages, 1 page was a photo and another was to another forum, with plenty of photos in it. Then I had the Maps application opened while watching my progress on the journey.

So what I did was, I tried to set my destination, hoping to get an ETA and distant to travel. When I tried to do a search and typed in the destination name, the phone jammed. Waited 5 mins, Android asked me if I would like to FC the Maps. So I clicked No. In a short while, I gained control of my Maps again. This time, I hand itchy. I clicked on the dropdown item of the search list. The phone jammed again for another 5 minutes or so... finally, it rebooted itself. doh.gif

Yup, I lost all the webpages. Luckily Google Track reinitiated itself and track recording mode was retained. Unfortunately, part of the track has missing info due to the hanging of the phone earlier. So I had to quickly re-establish BT connection back to my ext GPS device.

This post has been edited by Harddisk: Apr 2 2011, 11:11 PM
Harddisk
post Apr 3 2011, 06:34 AM

2,959 posts

QUOTE(Bap3 @ Apr 2 2011, 11:19 PM)
what brand did you use ext gps?..i would like to buy one..
Holux.
Harddisk
post Apr 4 2011, 01:35 AM

2,959 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Apr 3 2011, 05:30 PM)
I couldn't get ADB to work on my SGS with XXJVK. ADB either shows device offline or device not found.

When I plug in the phone using USB debugging mode, I also realise that there is no longer USB debugging message on the notifications (when you pull down the status bar)
Try installing the latest Kies from Samsung website.

Just reinstalled my Windows XP and it works on first try.

This post has been edited by Harddisk: Apr 4 2011, 01:49 AM
Harddisk
post Apr 4 2011, 01:44 AM

2,959 posts

QUOTE(nasrulbond @ Apr 4 2011, 12:29 AM)
anyone here facing problem with mobile network for stock XXJVK? i always have to activate and off my mobile network to get my 3g data to work somehow. grr

edit : seems like after unlock/lock the device seems to solve the problem. aiyohh bila la official GB nak keluar ni.. sweat.gif
After how many hours of using the data network without locking the phone (auto screen off)?
Harddisk
post Apr 4 2011, 07:13 AM

2,959 posts

QUOTE(nasrulbond @ Apr 4 2011, 02:56 AM)
i have to activate data ntwork, then turn off the screen for awhile. then bru lah dapat internet. u're not having the same problem?
I never turn off my data network, at most set to Flight mode during sleep.

Maybe there's a bug in XXJVK's off data network. I'll give it a try someday.

BTW, tested this and it works! Now I can Check-In using Latitude. biggrin.gif
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showpost.p...1&postcount=104

This post has been edited by Harddisk: Apr 4 2011, 07:13 AM
Harddisk
post Apr 4 2011, 08:34 AM

2,959 posts

QUOTE(nasrulbond @ Apr 4 2011, 08:24 AM)
oh okay. thanks for the tips. i'll try to flight mode la everytime after this, can pissed off juga when smetimes the data network have to be turn on banyak kali. btw, how do u get the map working? i try to push it to system/app after installing the latest map 5.2 from market, but cannot oh.
Dont use adb push, cause I cant get it to work as well.

Copy the signed apk into your int sdcard first. Then follow the steps until uninstall Streetview. After that, use root explorer/terminal emulator to COPY the apk file into /system/app/. Restart phone. Then you'll have Maps working again. biggrin.gif

Dont bother with Street view. Doesnt seem to work for me.
Harddisk
post Apr 4 2011, 08:56 AM

2,959 posts

QUOTE(nasrulbond @ Apr 4 2011, 08:24 AM)
oh okay. thanks for the tips. i'll try to flight mode la everytime after this, can pissed off juga when smetimes the data network have to be turn on banyak kali. btw, how do u get the map working? i try to push it to system/app after installing the latest map 5.2 from market, but cannot oh.
Hi bro, I just tried and tested the disable data network thingy. I disabled it for about 1 minute, then re enable it back. No problem with connection. Could it be your network area?
Harddisk
post Apr 4 2011, 09:18 AM

2,959 posts

QUOTE(lch78 @ Apr 4 2011, 08:41 AM)
I check there are 2 apk files. Which one you use?

Many reported not working on SGS running 2.3.3...  sad.gif
Take the signed file. You can try the unsigned one. But since the signed one works for me, I didn't bother to verify if the unsigned one works.

I'm on XXJVK ROM, that's 2.3.3, right? smile.gif

Added on April 4, 2011, 9:19 am
QUOTE(nasrulbond @ Apr 4 2011, 08:50 AM)
ohh i see. thanks.  smile.gif  so you finally got Navigation working?
Yup, tested Navigation to office this morning. Unfortunately, it keeps asking me to enable GPS even when I am already connected to ext GPS unit. If only I can disable the message box to ask me to enable GPS, then it would be perfect. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Harddisk: Apr 4 2011, 09:19 AM
Harddisk
post Apr 4 2011, 02:32 PM

2,959 posts

QUOTE(jujx @ Apr 4 2011, 09:43 AM)
If without ext GPS should work fine i guess
Yes, of course it will work. smile.gif

If you run Google Track, you'll know how accurate your internal GPS is. The lines looked like dancing. lol.

Dunno about yours, but mine definitely very bad. Was inside a car, sitting by the window though, when the line dances.
Harddisk
post Apr 4 2011, 02:35 PM

2,959 posts

QUOTE(Star_knight79 @ Apr 4 2011, 02:21 PM)
Hi, there. I'm on Damianto v1.2 gold.
By Damianto default the files system is EXT2.
However, I heard somewhere (may be from speedmod or ..I can't really remember) that EXT 2 is more prone to DATA corruption. Is it true?
Anyone who use damianto kernel with EXT 2 can advise on this?
Any corruption happen before this?
That's depending on pure EXT2 or EXT2 loopback (running on top of RFS).
Harddisk
post Apr 4 2011, 10:49 PM

2,959 posts

Just encountered my first glitch on XXJVK after few days of using it. And it's quite obvious it was caused by the music player, cause last few days never kena this. Only just now I decided to try the music player.

What happened was, the screen went into sleep mode but can't came back on, no matter which buttons I pressed. So I tried to call myself, the call can get through, no display also. Had to press and hold power button to force reboot.
Harddisk
post Apr 4 2011, 10:55 PM

2,959 posts

QUOTE(lch78 @ Apr 4 2011, 02:35 PM)
Now I got no maps.. sad.gif

I copy in the resign.apk to /system/app folder and rename to maps.apk. Reboot and the maps app is not showing in my appdrawer list..
Have you got it right?

Don't need to rename to anything actually. After copied into /system/app/, just reboot right after.

If still cannot, delete the apk from /system/data/. Download the latest Maps 5.2.1 from Market (or some other sources, cause I think can't download from Market also, not sure). After installed it. Then go back to TB, clear data & uninstall.

Then repeat the step of coping the resign file into /system/app/, then reboot.

This time should work. smile.gif
Harddisk
post Apr 4 2011, 11:08 PM

2,959 posts

QUOTE(jujx @ Apr 4 2011, 10:56 PM)
if resigned can't then try the other 1. For me the non resigned works
Somehow I got the resign one worked. After soooooo many tries.

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0220sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 07:24 AM