Pumping Petrol with your Credit Cards, What cards reward you?

cempedaklife
post Oct 26 2011, 02:20 PM

Master Decoy
4,350 posts

QUOTE(erry- @ Oct 25 2011, 12:34 AM)
i dont know why u guys need exact amount.

me myself, i prefer not exact amount, easy to track the record.

besides, like esso/mobile smiles card, if u stop at >0.05, will get points rounded up to 0.1

example stop at 90.36 then will get 90.40 points brows.gif

notworthy.gif
Perhaps they can claim from company up to a certain amount only? Same like me.
cempedaklife
post Oct 27 2011, 12:03 AM

Master Decoy
4,350 posts

QUOTE(anangryorc @ Oct 26 2011, 06:02 PM)
Hi TS,

Need advice here on getting Petrol Cash back cards.

1. I spend ~RM250 on petrol each month (Petronas)
2. I spend ~RM250 on toll fees each month
3. I spend RM0(nil) on groceries/movies/dining each month.

So my rebates will be mainly on petrol alone.
So Mesra Card is a must. How about CC? (My earning per month including allowance is more than 3k). Thanks.
I would suggest ocbc titanium card. My fave.
5% on petrol, groceries, bills and dining. 1% on everything else. No points though. Capped at rm50. Go to the thread for more info.

Btw, ur toll is a bit high. Do use tngo and register it. U get some discount, forget how much if u swipe 80 times a month solely on tolls.

This post has been edited by cempedaklife: Oct 27 2011, 12:03 AM
cempedaklife
post Dec 14 2011, 09:25 AM

Master Decoy
4,350 posts

QUOTE(ck23 @ Dec 5 2011, 06:02 PM)
overall, i think MBB2 wins OCBC Titanium.
Can't say so. Ocbc titanium is used more on bills. While for mbb2, Amex is not widely accepted and the MasterCard/visa is basically useless.

Having said that, what I do is:
- use ocbc for bills. Almost 100% 5% rebate
- dining, if weekends and accept amex, swipe Amex, else ocbc
- petrol, fill in on weekends, use Amex. Always can time it to weekends coz I dun drive frequent
- on weekends, if it's accepted, always try to Max out Amex rebate, since it's harder to find outlet that accept Amex.
- on weekdays, if it's accepted, use Amex for those spending not under dining, bills, groceries and petrol that can get ocbc 5%, since Amex 5x points is equivalent to 2.5%

In short, always try to max out 5% rebate (additional 5x points) from Amex first. It feels good when u can get 5% from ur normal shopping from Amex.

Last weekends, bought cosmetic for my gf, rm260 from parkson, swipe Amex, 7.5% is rm19, parkson give rm30 voucher for spending over rm250. So I got rm50 "rebate" for rm260. Good feeling! Not to brag, but its a good feel too when ur gf timed buying of cosmetic to this festive season since parkson always give away vouchers like that on such occasion
cempedaklife
post Feb 17 2012, 03:37 PM

Master Decoy
4,350 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Feb 17 2012, 02:37 PM)
nonsense, tell them to cancel the card if cannot allow  laugh.gif
as annoying as it sound in normal times, it's actually a "life saver" if you happen to lost your card, especially in petrol station.
cempedaklife
post Mar 10 2012, 09:00 AM

Master Decoy
4,350 posts

QUOTE(cenkudu @ Mar 7 2012, 01:16 PM)
i just wondering whether petronas station will print their receipt with the full number of our credit card or just few numbers at the back (for credit card)
if not mistaken, full number.

even shell print full number, but petronas abit lebih. print ur full name as well...lol

This post has been edited by cempedaklife: Mar 10 2012, 09:01 AM
cempedaklife
post Mar 10 2012, 10:32 AM

Master Decoy
4,350 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Mar 10 2012, 10:28 AM)
Full name? Or the display name on the card?
To be precise, name on card.
cempedaklife
post Mar 10 2012, 11:59 AM

Master Decoy
4,350 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Mar 10 2012, 11:38 AM)
one correction, shell only prints out the last 3 digits. one strange thing is, i have seen a shell receipt (left at the pump) that prints out the full name of the card holder (not mine) but never for mine, not even surname.
yeap..sorry...double checked my shell receipt..only 4 last digit is printed..

but for petronas printing name on receipt, i'm sure...
cempedaklife
post Mar 10 2012, 06:29 PM

Master Decoy
4,350 posts

QUOTE(koh_424 @ Mar 10 2012, 06:16 PM)
But i really got RM20+- rebate every month wo.  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
maybe u got other expenses >1k swipe using that card?

cempedaklife
post Mar 10 2012, 06:35 PM

Master Decoy
4,350 posts

QUOTE(koh_424 @ Mar 10 2012, 06:31 PM)
Nope. Mainly is fuel only & 1 installment cost RM 150 only. Dunno how they calculate also.
just realized we were talking to each other in another thread rclxub.gif

anyway, i'm not sure about any other cards, but i think u should get ocbc titanium.

for 5%, with rm50 per month cap on:
dining
petrol
bills/utilities
groceries
cempedaklife
post Mar 10 2012, 06:47 PM

Master Decoy
4,350 posts

QUOTE(koh_424 @ Mar 10 2012, 06:44 PM)
Yup. OCBC is kinda good in cash rebate.

thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
and 1% for everything else....
but 1% and 5% have a combined rm50 per month cap
cempedaklife
post Mar 26 2012, 09:08 PM

Master Decoy
4,350 posts

QUOTE(aeronic @ Mar 10 2012, 09:53 PM)
just like we thought. yeah you don't know how they calculate, but me and some of the forumers do.
the fact that you do not know how citibank comes up with the figure also tells me a lot about you smile.gif you are quite easy going with the banks one right?
people well versed with cards such as gen-x can count up to ¢level one
ocbc in my opinion is also not one of the better cards
because it is 1% for everything else
it makes a big difference unless you hit the RM50 every month
well....it depends on what ur usage/habit..

for me ocbc is good enuf smile.gif
cempedaklife
post Aug 17 2012, 05:17 PM

Master Decoy
4,350 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Aug 17 2012, 04:04 PM)
Not sure about it. I don't think I got pump RM 200 in a single receipt.
in a month la..he said
cempedaklife
post Aug 23 2012, 05:43 PM

Master Decoy
4,350 posts

QUOTE(felicious @ Aug 22 2012, 02:10 PM)
My petrol consumption is not that much. Around RM250/month only.

As my character, I won't be using CC for petrols ONLY, as I will tend to spend more on others when there is promotions tongue.gif
erm...so what's ur issue now?

dun have a cc and planning to get one to enjoy rebates?
cempedaklife
post Aug 23 2012, 06:12 PM

Master Decoy
4,350 posts

QUOTE(felicious @ Aug 23 2012, 06:06 PM)
Checking on the benefit on Public Bank debit card whether does it worth for me to get a card or not. smile.gif
get a credit card my dear blush.gif

more benefits/rebates
cempedaklife
post Aug 23 2012, 06:22 PM

Master Decoy
4,350 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Aug 23 2012, 06:18 PM)
She already say no to CC
i know, i'm trying to convince her to get one blush.gif
cempedaklife
post Aug 23 2012, 06:26 PM

Master Decoy
4,350 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Aug 23 2012, 06:24 PM)
Haha, better dont la. We dont want people to get carried away with CC and get into problems.
nowadays CC is diff, or perhaps the user of CC is more clever now...

we use CC to get more benefits instead of letting them charge us...

i saw ur name quite frequent in this side of the forum, i'm sure u know brows.gif
cempedaklife
post Aug 24 2012, 12:31 AM

Master Decoy
4,350 posts

QUOTE(janson_kaniaz @ Aug 23 2012, 09:51 PM)
and blame us for not smart in spending  blush.gif
well, i believe most of us here in this section is spending smart...

increase in number of credit cards being own is not synonymous with not smart in spending brows.gif

btw, we are more and more sign0006.gif
cempedaklife
post Oct 23 2012, 02:24 PM

Master Decoy
4,350 posts

QUOTE(lonely143 @ Oct 3 2012, 09:50 PM)
TY very much both of you !
and be sure when u put in the bonuslink card, after u take it out, make sure that the screen ask u to insert ur credit card instead of asking u to insert credit card or bonuslink card.

that means ur bonuslink card was not read properly before this..

i kena a few times before i got clever laugh.gif
cempedaklife
post Jan 2 2013, 05:40 PM

Master Decoy
4,350 posts

QUOTE(suadrif @ Jan 2 2013, 11:59 AM)
Hi guys, i am looking for new credit card to apply.
As this is my first credit card, i wonder if its really beneficial for me if i use it rarely. let say, once per month?

1. Annual Income: RM3k per month = RM36k per annum.

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: Preferably yes.

3. Card required for: Most of it for petrol and bill payment, sometimes movies and sometimes grocerries.

4. Existing credit cards if any: Nil.

5. Looking at CC from: Any

6. Others: Currently i only have two debit card which is Maybank and CIMB. mainly used for petrol and grocerries but no discount +_+
ocbc titanium, head over to take thread to know more
cempedaklife
post Nov 13 2016, 12:50 PM

Master Decoy
4,350 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Oct 27 2016, 01:47 PM)
i just did KRR b1f1 yesterday dinner  brows.gif

suprisingly, this promo started since Sep, and not printed on the receipt. only know this when the staff asked whether i want to eat KRR hmm.gif
Izzit buy one quarter chicken set, free one quarter chicken set?

0.0490sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 07:18 PM