4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Official Microsoft Windows Vista Discussion Thread, Strictly NO warez discussion

dattebayo
post Mar 4 2007, 04:00 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(ruffstuff @ Mar 4 2007, 01:15 PM)
Link edited and replace with news standpoint.  But still it won't create any harm since the keyfinder seems to be unpractical which is later admitted by the creator himself.
I see sweat.gif
current hardwares are pretty impossible to crack in a 25 characters without leaving it for weeks.
dattebayo
post Mar 5 2007, 03:42 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Mar 5 2007, 03:07 PM)
It will load this screen first. After this screen there be another Window Vista logo screen  biggrin.gif
Something like that. Btw, this one is a fake. The ori one got a little shinny thing one tongue.gif

I have never see the windows logo in vista boot screen
is this the usual tweak in XP? whistling.gif
ok, heres the way to enable the eye candy during the bootscreen
http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/windows-vis...-windows-vista/

This post has been edited by dattebayo: Mar 5 2007, 03:47 PM
dattebayo
post Mar 7 2007, 02:31 AM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(mzaidi @ Mar 6 2007, 03:30 PM)
I have 2 HDD partition on my PC, C & D. I installed Windows XP on partition C, and Windows Vista on partition D.

After using Vista for a week and testing all my favorite apps to make sure they work on Vista, I want to uninstall XP and use Vista solely, but I can't find any option to uninstall Vista (either from Vista itself or from XP). The only solution I can think of is to delete the Vista's folder in partition D, tried that, and it won't work. I can't delete that folder at all. I was prompted with this error:

Tried deleting the folder in Safe mode and even using Unlocker and I got the same error.

Is there any way I can uninstall Vista / delete Vista folder without reformatting partition D? I have lots of other files in that partition and there's no easy way for me to backup them other than burning them all in DVDs which will cost me lots of time & money.
sol.1
boot vista installer from DVD, reinstall vista by clean install into the empty C: partition. Dont touch the D: in the setup procedure. And if it boot correctly, then you can move the files from drive D, then delete the vista files in drive D.

sol.2
format ur XP partition, and move ur file from D to C after that. Boot from vista DVD, clean install into the either partition, (do not choose to format)

btw, if you CLEAN install Vista after XP, you can just format the XP partition, it will automatically boot into vista, if its not, just insert vista DVD and ask for automatic error recovery

QUOTE(jinaun @ Mar 6 2007, 10:50 PM)
i have vista 32bit OEM, can i request for the 64bit version cd from MS?
OEM cannot, have to buy again
dattebayo
post Mar 8 2007, 12:14 AM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(milky @ Mar 7 2007, 09:49 PM)
guys wat does x86 x32 x64 meaning?
i mean that x32 is 32bit x64 is 64bit..
but 86 leh?
really 86bit?
coz as wat i noe is the combination is 32-64-128-256-512 mar.. rite?
theres no such thing as 86 bit in computing doh.gif
you should spend some time in reading these

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/X86-64
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/X86_architecture

x86 and x86-64 are the currently most popular processor architecture, even apple is now using it, the x86-64 simply means that its in 64 bit mode, and it can access memory beyond 4GB
dattebayo
post Mar 8 2007, 12:32 AM

5,366 posts

why the mp3 always will be choked for 1-2 seconds whenever I open an application, or running certain task that requires CPU and HDD works in Vista? I am using WMP11 to play...

other players have no problem though

I am sure its not because of insufficient RAM, I have 2 GB, and 15 GB left in C drive, or is it my processor isnt powerful enough?

This post has been edited by dattebayo: Mar 8 2007, 12:38 AM
dattebayo
post Mar 10 2007, 12:09 AM

5,366 posts

nvidia still hasnt include OC ability and temperature monitoring for Vista
dattebayo
post Mar 10 2007, 01:18 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Mar 10 2007, 01:12 PM)
So far, max of utilising ram of 85% only. Using 1GB of ram. I wonder if i were to purchase another 1GB of ram, will it cut it to half? Say like now idle mode is 45%, will adding another 1GB becomes 20%+? Still considering to change as my Notebook consist of 512mb + 512mb liau. So if wan 2GB must sell off 512+ 512 ram first lah..Hai..  shakehead.gif
i have 2GB ram now, and the most minimum I ever seen is 40+ % utilization, just after startup, it alrdy consumed more than 40% of memory.
dattebayo
post Mar 10 2007, 02:03 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Mar 10 2007, 01:44 PM)
Hmm, then t's same at 1GB too? R u utilising dual channel memory? hmm.gif
yup.. dual channel too, i think it should be the same for 1 GB of RAM under normal usage (without games and photoshop ... )
dattebayo
post Mar 10 2007, 10:17 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(woopypooky @ Mar 10 2007, 07:50 PM)
what is wrong with VISTA actually?
plus everytime i wan move files to recycle bin, install tiny puny programs in VISTA...a confirmation screen will come out.

anyone knows how to disable all this shit?
disable UAC in "Security Center" in control panel
dattebayo
post Mar 10 2007, 11:12 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(Joey-kun @ Mar 10 2007, 10:54 PM)
zomg. I'm staying away from vista until they fixed the memory problem.
its absolutely normal, nth to be shocked. Dont ever believe that those cheap laptops with 512 DDR2, running vista home basic can perform as good as XP Pro running on the same laptop. At least 1 GB is needed for all editions, and 2 GB is currently the affordable performance solution.
dattebayo
post Mar 10 2007, 11:25 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(dualshock @ Mar 10 2007, 11:18 PM)
hearing u guys have mem problems, i feel abit weird...

looking at the screenshot i posted, i have 64 processes running and my ram still below 40%...did you all check that all your processes are clean?

[attachmentid=202911]
it means windows has just utilized 35% of RAM, not left with 35% of ram
dattebayo
post Mar 11 2007, 02:16 PM

5,366 posts

vista makes use of its priorities in background and foreground tasks. I remember back in XP, if i were to add in MSN, YM, utorrent, Norton, etc in the startup program list, I ll have to wait all of them completely loaded into the system tray then only i can start using, else, the pc will become sluggish.

But in vista, while waiting for the antivirus, MSN, YM loading to the system tray, you still can start another program at relatively faster speed, and have a much more responsive system compare to XP.

This post has been edited by dattebayo: Mar 11 2007, 02:17 PM
dattebayo
post Mar 12 2007, 04:32 PM

5,366 posts

i think it would not pose too much of a danger to normal user, if he wants to disable UAC. As long as he has updated AV, Windows Defender, firewall, that should do the job quite well in safeguarding the pc

but dont use IE7 when u turn off UAC, no UAC = unprotected IE7
dattebayo
post Mar 13 2007, 11:30 AM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(Kclee2002 @ Mar 13 2007, 10:27 AM)
3.5 overall

4.1,4.5,4.4,3.9,3.5 accordingly nod.gif

and and say hello to my new friend.

photochopped image? laugh.gif
dattebayo
post Mar 14 2007, 09:20 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Mar 14 2007, 06:32 PM)
I remember there was a solution posted here some time ago to fix the "calculating time remaining" but I couldn't find it in this long thread.

Anyone knows a fix to it? I hate waiting for minutes to transfer a few MB of files.
even though it will show the calculating time remaining, but I never encountered that it will take up for minutes then only start transferring, all I see is just wait for few seconds before copying one full DVD. So i just ignore the problem...

try to download some updates from MS might help
dattebayo
post Mar 15 2007, 02:10 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Mar 14 2007, 10:55 PM)
MS have not provided appropriate update. However, a hotfix which serves as a temporary solution is available. The hotfix is can be obtained by contacting them through phone/support. doh.gif

I couldn't get the link where i can download directly. Lol..
i thought it can be obtained via automatic updates? unsure.gif
dattebayo
post Mar 18 2007, 05:14 PM

5,366 posts

if you have good anti virus and firewall with windows defender actively ON, there's no need to have UAC. Unless you re a noob, or there's some other people using your computer.
dattebayo
post Mar 18 2007, 07:40 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(hardyboyz888 @ Mar 18 2007, 06:16 PM)
Anyone with a similar specs as my PC can tell how is the Vista experience ? How much hard disk space does Vista takes for you all ?
should be quite fine. I can guess your WEI score will be around 3.8-4.3, the lowest subscore might come from your GC.
dattebayo
post Mar 19 2007, 10:23 PM

5,366 posts

i hope in SP1 they will include more flip3D style biggrin.gif
coz its dull and boring to bring just that one stacking effect, i heard that MacOS having more than that.
dattebayo
post Mar 22 2007, 09:24 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(billytong @ Mar 22 2007, 07:12 PM)
Is it ok to run Vista with just 512MB RAM only using surf net(firefox+IE), run online java (JVM) application(launch from browser), MSword, utorrent, 1 antivirus+ zonealarm, listen song & watch movie all together?
it will be of great laggy, and firefox, java applet, movies all are memory sucker... and you say you want to run them all at once? I think without 1 GB, dont even think of trying it wink.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0405sec    1.11    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 02:33 PM