just share if you are taking MBBS in russia or you once stayed in russia for a period of time.
thanks guys your replies will be very much appreciated
This post has been edited by x|aofiish: Mar 15 2011, 07:29 PM
University MBBS in russia, URGENTLYseriouslyyyy neeeed heeelp!!! :(
Mar 15 2011, 07:22 PM, updated 15y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
82 posts Joined: Nov 2009 |
just wanna ask you guys is there anyone whos taking MBBS in russia? because my parents are going to send me there by this september, going to Moscow Medical University. I hope to know more about the lifestyle there, how high is the level of competition, is the living standard high etc..
just share if you are taking MBBS in russia or you once stayed in russia for a period of time. thanks guys your replies will be very much appreciated This post has been edited by x|aofiish: Mar 15 2011, 07:29 PM |
Mar 15 2011, 08:09 PM
12,290 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
there are many threads already........
search for them lah..... eg: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...sian+med+school http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...sian+med+school http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...sian+med+school |
Mar 15 2011, 08:14 PM
oh my god thank you very much my friend, appreciate very much!
Mar 15 2011, 11:30 PM
1,299 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
it's already flooding with doctors now, u sure u still wanna do mbbs?
Mar 16 2011, 12:01 AM
mbbs is just a basic for me, i have bigger dreams than being a doctor
Mar 16 2011, 12:07 AM
4,541 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
Mar 16 2011, 12:26 AM
nola bro, i want to be a doctor, but besides being a doctor i have my aims of life for being a doctor, not just sitting in the clinic waiting patients
Mar 16 2011, 12:28 AM
15,856 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: Zion |
unfortunately what you aim for might not materialise all the time. good luck on your journey.
Mar 16 2011, 12:36 AM
QUOTE(zstan @ Mar 16 2011, 12:28 AM) do u know even know what's my aim? it's not hard actually, but im sure in the end i'll feel the satisfaction and able to contribute to the community. of course im not a dreamer, i will take action and step out to materialise it. |
Mar 16 2011, 12:47 AM
15,856 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: Zion |
QUOTE(x|aofiish @ Mar 16 2011, 12:36 AM) do u know even know what's my aim? it's not hard actually, but im sure in the end i'll feel the satisfaction and able to contribute to the community. of course im not a dreamer, i will take action and step out to materialise it. don't tell me now. tell me after 5 years. good luck!! |
Mar 16 2011, 01:12 AM
Mar 16 2011, 01:21 AM
if one has no intention of continuing practising medicine, even BEFORE starting, one should not start........
what's the point?.......just for the glamour of having the dr in front of name?....... training of doctors should NEVER be like other courses, where people often just do, just to do something........all civilised countries aims to select the best students, give them the best training, and facilitate them to contribute a lifetime of medical service to the community......any doctor who stops practice is wasted resource, and wasted money used in training him........ unfortunately, in msia, it looks like medicine has become a commodity like any other course.........became so easy and cheap, it becomes the means to another end, instead of the end itself...... |
Mar 16 2011, 02:04 AM
QUOTE(limeuu @ Mar 16 2011, 01:21 AM) if one has no intention of continuing practising medicine, even BEFORE starting, one should not start........ i agree with you, im just going to start MBBS by this sept, however, i know clearly what i want and what im capable of, i don't know whats the intention of zstan saying stuff like that, just to get his own self satisfaction by making others suffer. Diff ppl will have diff preference, some might say A is good, B is not, some will say the otherwise. but i believe that it's still depends on the individual's attitude, if he or she has the right attitude, no matter where he or she studies, still will be able to excel putting aside which Uni he or she graduated from.what's the point?.......just for the glamour of having the dr in front of name?....... training of doctors should NEVER be like other courses, where people often just do, just to do something........all civilised countries aims to select the best students, give them the best training, and facilitate them to contribute a lifetime of medical service to the community......any doctor who stops practice is wasted resource, and wasted money used in training him........ unfortunately, in msia, it looks like medicine has become a commodity like any other course.........became so easy and cheap, it becomes the means to another end, instead of the end itself...... ps: sry if im not replying based on what you replied, coz im very tired now and plus what i saw u wrote 4 years ago, back in 2007 lol this is what i can conclude after reading 9 pages of previous thread that you showed me. it's just my 2 cents. oh ya ill be doing it in MMA, so limeuu i suppose u're experienced in this, as my senior do u hav any suggestions or advices for me? This post has been edited by x|aofiish: Mar 16 2011, 02:18 AM |
Mar 16 2011, 10:36 AM
4,514 posts Joined: Apr 2010 |
Not merely practising in clinic.
Maybe getting emotional over the sufferings from the recent earthquakes in NZ and Japan and would like to lend a hand in future in disaster stricken areas. In that case, I dont think your Russian degree will give you the necessary skills. |
Mar 16 2011, 11:34 AM
QUOTE(x|aofiish @ Mar 16 2011, 02:04 AM) Diff ppl will have diff preference, some might say A is good, B is not, some will say the otherwise. but i believe that it's still depends on the individual's attitude, if he or she has the right attitude, no matter where he or she studies, still will be able to excel putting aside which Uni he or she graduated from. it does not work this way, as far as healthcare and training of doctors are concerned......it's NOT up to an individual's opinion..............good med schools are universally good, and bad ones bad........through objective measurements......there are so many ranking lists, the good ones consistently rank high.......bad ones never appear in any lists.........and while attitude is important, more important is the innate capability of the student, and the actual training he receives.........all components must be there.....why should there be any compromise?......... |
Mar 16 2011, 12:05 PM
Medic is different from ACCA Or Law, where you stay at home with self-study and you can pass.
Mar 16 2011, 02:04 PM
QUOTE(cckkpr @ Mar 16 2011, 10:36 AM) Not merely practising in clinic. yes my friend, my aim is smth like that..Maybe getting emotional over the sufferings from the recent earthquakes in NZ and Japan and would like to lend a hand in future in disaster stricken areas. In that case, I dont think your Russian degree will give you the necessary skills. but i dare not tell anyone as it's still too early to talk about it, ppl will just critisise u like what zstan did above. btw what makes u say russian degree will NOT give the necessary skills? mind to elaborate? Added on March 16, 2011, 2:06 pm QUOTE(limeuu @ Mar 16 2011, 11:34 AM) it does not work this way, as far as healthcare and training of doctors are concerned......it's NOT up to an individual's opinion..............good med schools are universally good, and bad ones bad........through objective measurements......there are so many ranking lists, the good ones consistently rank high.......bad ones never appear in any lists......... well u're experience in this i won't say anything on ur comment as u have ur point there also.and while attitude is important, more important is the innate capability of the student, and the actual training he receives.........all components must be there.....why should there be any compromise?......... but back to the topic, what do u think of doing med in russia? if u were to choose doing med course in russia compared to doing it in local private u, which one will u go for? considering all factors, security,living standard,standard of the uni and etc... This post has been edited by x|aofiish: Mar 16 2011, 02:06 PM |
Mar 16 2011, 02:10 PM
2,527 posts Joined: Feb 2007 From: Im a Medical Officer in /K. I'm here to lepak. |
QUOTE(x|aofiish @ Mar 16 2011, 02:04 PM) yes my friend, my aim is smth like that.. Unless you haven't read the first THREE links provided to you early in this topic - you MUST READ THE ENTIRE THING BELOW ONE BY ONE -but i dare not tell anyone as it's still too early to talk about it, ppl will just critisise u like what zstan did above. btw what makes u say russian degree will NOT give the necessary skills? mind to elaborate? Added on March 16, 2011, 2:06 pm well u're experience in this i won't say anything on ur comment as u have ur point there also. but back to the topic, what do u think of doing med in russia? if u were to choose doing med course in russia compared to doing it in local private u, which one will u go for? considering all factors, security,living standard,standard of the uni and etc... My post taken from some other thread: QUOTE(mines786 @ Dec 15 2010, 04:48 PM) Why need to stop these universities? They are cheap because sponsored by their government and their studies are one of the best and very strict. You obviously have not been following the developments/news/situations regarding medical education in Malaysia.Do read the following, some of them I have put in a chronological order: In the beginning..... QUOTE Sunday May 16, 2004 Russian medical options BY KAREN CHAPMAN WHEN it comes to studying medicine, Russia is probably not the first destination that comes to mind. Most students would cite the United Kingdom or even Australia as their top choice. But before you dismiss Russia on grounds that you simply couldn't possibly master the Russian language or withstand those absolutely freezing temperatures, think again! Studying medicine in Russia might just turn out to be the best option for you if your financial resources are limited. More and more Malaysians today are looking at Russia for a medical degree. Abdullah Mohd Salleh will tell you that studying medicine in Russia is not without its advantages His daughter, a fourth year medical student in Moscow Medical Academy, is not only under the tutelage of some of the finest doctors in the world but has also picked up the Russian language and is actively involved in student life.... Full Text: http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=...5&sec=education (From May 2004) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Then... QUOTE Sunday November 9, 2008 From Russia with love Story and photos by JACKSON CHUNG A student gives his take on the “highs” and “lows” of studying and living in Russia. IN the last couple of years, Russia has become a hotbed for young Malaysians who wish to pursue a career in medicine. Why? Plain and simple — its tuition fees are particularly low. Four years ago, I was among 180 Malaysian students who entered the Russian State Medical University (RSMU) in Moscow, referred to as the Second Medical University by the locals. Although I was a freshman in a foreign university surrounded by people who spoke a language I’d only heard in movies, I was still excited to be here. Full Text: http://thestar.com.my/education/story.asp?...4&sec=education (From Nov 2008) Then comes.... Product of the System (POTS) Blog : Ukrainian CPR, Russian Life Support and the Boris Yeltsin Classification of Heart Failure QUOTE resuscitated a corpse today. Needless to say, I failed. I pumped air and fluids and drugs into a man who was already dead. Ahmad (not his real name) was stiff as a log by the time I was referred to him, more of a cadaver than a human being in distress. It was not difficult to see why. The first house officer was breaking his ribs instead of pumping his heart. His counterpart had no experience in setting an intravenous cannula ever before. The third of the trio simply stood by – an idle spectator in the midst of chaos. He should have brought some popcorn with him instead of a stethoscope. The three had one thing in common – they graduated from medical schools in Ukraine and Russia. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « For full text - click the links below PART- 1 : http://unwantedcitizen.blogspot.com/2009/0...upport-and.html PART- 2 : http://unwantedcitizen.blogspot.com/2009/0...ort-and_24.html PART- 3 : http://unwantedcitizen.blogspot.com/2009/0...ort-and_27.html PART- 4: http://unwantedcitizen.blogspot.com/2009/0...upport-and.html PART- 5: http://unwantedcitizen.blogspot.com/2009/0...upport-and.html ...and from the Malaysian Medical Resources: QUOTE Concern over Russia and Ukraine Med Schools » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « and very recently: QUOTE Sunday December 12, 2010 Cleaning house By RICHARD LIM and LOH FOON FONG educate@thestar.com.my Concerns persist regarding the quality of medical graduates and the Government is preparing a number of initiatives to finetune the system. HOW hard is it to tell the difference between a sleeping patient and a cyanosed one who is on course to meet his maker? Observing the simple rise and fall of one’s chest would be a good start. Checking for a pulse would be another and observing that the patient has turned blue is an absolute must. However, the obvious did not happen in the case of one Pak Abu, who was deemed to be sleeping by house officers. Fortunately, an observant doctor on his last rounds came into the picture and Pak Abu was resuscitated. The three house officers in charge, who graduated from Russian and Ukrainian universities, were reprimanded for negligence, and things went from bad to worse when it was discovered that they did not know the basics of resuscitation or what an oxygen face mask was. Full Text: http://thestar.com.my/education/story.asp?...4&sec=education You see the development over the years...? This post has been edited by CyberSetan: Mar 16 2011, 02:15 PM |
Mar 16 2011, 02:14 PM
8,023 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: :: Cheras :: |
If you're really into going to disaster areas, a nursing degree will do just fine too
Male nurses are in high demand. |
Mar 16 2011, 02:30 PM
QUOTE(Syd G @ Mar 16 2011, 02:14 PM) If you're really into going to disaster areas, a nursing degree will do just fine too He wants to be DOCTOR lah! Maybe too many shows on TV depicting them as the ultimate hero.Male nurses are in high demand. Anyway, I do support his aim but I think he should make a wiser choice. Just too many adverse comments on medic education in Russia. "Cybersetan" has laid out all that he need to know. |
| Change to: | 0.0244sec
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 08:53 AM |