4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATION?, V10, SandyBridge 2nd batch had arrived!! ^^

AlexLai
post Apr 15 2011, 10:02 AM

5,531 posts

QUOTE(blackcsc @ Apr 15 2011, 12:41 AM)
wow a headphone worth RM 899 ?? @.@ Lee, will the model be available in PC fair ?? do u recommend that for 15.6" ? other than N53SN ?
RM899 for a pair of headphones that compensates for its lack of competency in other fields with humongous bass and a nice design. tongue.gif
AlexLai
post Apr 15 2011, 07:45 PM

5,531 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 15 2011, 10:04 AM)
LOL  laugh.gif
Yeah, whether to buy a Dv6 or not depends on whether you want to buy the headphones or not  rclxm9.gif
Anyway, I really wanna kaypoh in your new thread leh  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
Not til I'm done with everything and giving it a thumbnail pic. tongue.gif
AlexLai
post Apr 16 2011, 10:12 PM

5,531 posts

QUOTE(simon82 @ Apr 16 2011, 10:08 PM)
Went to pc fair yesterday..
the salesgirl quoted me for 3.2k for Asus N53SV (the higher spec 1) - no gift whatsoever..

or you pay 3.4k can get those chapalang thingy + lucky draw (she said 100% will get the vacation package just dont know which 1)..

I think it's in the exhibition after the speakers hall..

hmmmm.... tempted..

what u guys think?
I checked out the lucky draw (it's more like spin and win). The wheel is next to the entrance. Not bad locations.
AlexLai
post Apr 16 2011, 10:42 PM

5,531 posts

They didn't have the 1215B so I didn't get anything at all.
AlexLai
post Apr 17 2011, 12:09 AM

5,531 posts

QUOTE(simon82 @ Apr 16 2011, 11:41 PM)
Is the keyboard flex really bad in nv53 series??
I tried it.. not bad actually..
Though I "didnt really press that hard"..........
Some units are affected differently from others. I was pressing keyboards like a loon this afternoon. The promoters there looked at me but didn't comment. laugh.gif
AlexLai
post Apr 17 2011, 12:29 AM

5,531 posts

Normally they will go, "Mr looking for laptop? This one very good. Got i7 and 1GB video RAM."

AlexLai
post Apr 30 2011, 04:34 PM

5,531 posts

QUOTE(JYong @ Apr 30 2011, 04:08 PM)
Asus Eee PC VX6 + 120GB SSD =RM3000 but don't know VX6 still got or not tongue.gif
Still very much around.

QUOTE(fJok3R @ Apr 30 2011, 04:16 PM)
now im getting confused after scrolling through all these pages, lol but here NVIDIA GeForce GT 540M - Notebookcheck.net Tech says it got optimus? or what i miss?

thanks in advance
Optimus is up to the manufacturer to implement.
AlexLai
post Apr 30 2011, 04:42 PM

5,531 posts

It does come with the HD3000, it's integrated into the CPU die. However, the HD3000 and GT540M aren't linked via Optimus and usually the HD3000 is disabled.
AlexLai
post Apr 30 2011, 05:03 PM

5,531 posts

That I am not sure. I always thought the A43SV had Optimus since it was becoming a trend lately. Turns out I was wrong.
AlexLai
post Apr 30 2011, 05:15 PM

5,531 posts

What are your needs actually?
AlexLai
post Apr 30 2011, 08:36 PM

5,531 posts

QUOTE(fJok3R @ Apr 30 2011, 05:41 PM)
since im not buying soon, maybe by latest in early july. i might even continue using my desktop until the end of the year
so im not rushing this. just think i might as well follow this thread for now.

since u're asking, basically:

brand : dell, asus (any other brand that you guys think is good, i will considered it)
budget :around 3.5k (maybe can top up a bit to max 4k)
spec: i7 sb, 2630qm should be more than enough
         any decent gpu (preferred nvidia but since no support for optimus in linux yet, will be a waste to pay something that you cant use)
         should be able for mild gaming in windows (borderlands, pes2011 and stuff) and good enough to run photoshop cs5
         got freedos better, backlit keyboard is a bonus

what i don't really care : webcam, hdd size, battery life, weight
screen size: nothing more than 15", the smaller the better, a higher resolution is preferred however.

since im going to leave this desktop at home, so need a laptop to bring to my college
that can do most of what my desktop can do.

came across quite a few model but maybe i'm just picky,  laugh.gif
never mind, still a long way to go
Well the i7 SB would limit your choices. Otherwise I can give my favorite recommendation of the Asus U41SV. brows.gif That only has an i5-2410M with GT540M coupled with a huge battery while maintaining a slim and light form factor.

QUOTE(kien23 @ Apr 30 2011, 07:44 PM)
hehe, can can =) any nice laptop advise a?
thanks thanks

Asus U41SV or Acer 4830TG?

This post has been edited by AlexLai: Apr 30 2011, 08:42 PM
AlexLai
post Apr 30 2011, 09:05 PM

5,531 posts

QUOTE(JYong @ Apr 30 2011, 08:45 PM)
Use U41SV for gaming? wink.gif
Why not? It's thin, light and powerful. Very drool worthy if you ask me.

Added on April 30, 2011, 9:06 pm
QUOTE(Chelsease @ Apr 30 2011, 08:49 PM)
What laptop brand would you recommend if I am looking for something that has long lifespan?
Long lifespan? Something that will last you 5 years or so?

This post has been edited by AlexLai: Apr 30 2011, 09:06 PM
AlexLai
post Apr 30 2011, 09:12 PM

5,531 posts

Hard to say, sometimes even the larger chassis have bad heat management because of poor heatpipe design.
AlexLai
post Apr 30 2011, 09:29 PM

5,531 posts

I'm more concerned about my HDD sometimes. The temps are hotter than other brands of the same size.
AlexLai
post Apr 30 2011, 09:38 PM

5,531 posts

QUOTE(JYong @ Apr 30 2011, 09:33 PM)
What model HDD hotter? But if change to SSD the problem solved right?
All the A42 series report high temperatures from the HDD. Problem is bad ventilation. SSD should bring the temp down. I never measured the temps with my SSD yet though.
AlexLai
post Apr 30 2011, 09:44 PM

5,531 posts

QUOTE(fJok3R @ Apr 30 2011, 09:37 PM)
hmm.gif don't really dig the slim design, plus already stated that weight and battery life is not really my concern. nvm tho,
not really going to buy a laptop soon, might just as well following this thread first

i'm eyeing m14x, too bad not in my budget range  cry.gif
M14x would fit right into your avenue except for the price. Perhaps wait til July, we would see some newer models come in at that time wit ha cheaper price.

Only other alternative which I can think of with the quad core SB is the A43SV.
AlexLai
post Apr 30 2011, 09:46 PM

5,531 posts

QUOTE(JYong @ Apr 30 2011, 09:40 PM)
I thinking to buy A-series laptop with SSD icon_rolleyes.gif but the SSD price sweat.gif
But my brother A42 still got no problem although high temperature of HDD, high temperature but still can operate well, not malfunction yet. tongue.gif
SSD price is dropping lately. Can get a good sized one for quite a low price now. But still when it comes to your data, high heat is bad.

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 30 2011, 09:41 PM)
Well, the new A series is different from the previous batch... so the cooling may be different liao  nod.gif
Will test it out on my friend's new A43SJ.

Added on April 30, 2011, 9:47 pm
QUOTE(alucard1412 @ Apr 30 2011, 09:45 PM)
my a43sv is about high 40s to mid 50s degrees in my room, drops another 5 in my living room, and another 5 in an aircon room  nod.gif
Which is still pretty high. Najmods' Acer averages in the mid 30's.

This post has been edited by AlexLai: Apr 30 2011, 09:47 PM
AlexLai
post Apr 30 2011, 09:53 PM

5,531 posts

QUOTE(limmunjoeadam @ Apr 30 2011, 09:48 PM)
Any1 interested in buying my toshiba laptop satellite m500. If do pls find me. Thank you
You should make a thread and try your luck here instead. sweat.gif

http://forum.lowyat.net/Notebooks&PDAs
AlexLai
post Apr 30 2011, 09:58 PM

5,531 posts

QUOTE(alucard1412 @ Apr 30 2011, 09:52 PM)
hm..he's using quad core?
A Pentium P6200 iirc.

QUOTE(JYong @ Apr 30 2011, 09:55 PM)
Thinking of 60GB SSD, OCZ is the best brand right? hmm.gif the price about 439~ask you something, if i buy SSD to replace the HDD, how about the HDD and the OS installed in the HDD? icon_question.gif
OCZ is good, but not the best if you ask me. You need to completely reinstall the OS into the SSD using the Windows ISO either thru the DVD or pendrive.
AlexLai
post Apr 30 2011, 10:06 PM

5,531 posts

QUOTE(alucard1412 @ Apr 30 2011, 10:01 PM)
dual core isn't it? can't compare ma  biggrin.gif  but since he's a sifu, maybe he did some uber upgrades to make it behave like quad or something haha...
Normally, how powerful the processor is doesn't have anything to do with the HDD temps. His older A42JE (at least I think it was a JE) had the same processor but the HDD temps were averaging mid 40's.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0460sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 09:51 AM