Credit Cards OCBC Titanium Mastercard Cash-Back Rebates, 5% or 1% Cash-back rebates ??

Gen-X
post Mar 14 2011, 08:14 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

This is great, we now have a dedicated thread for OCBC Titanium MasterCard and all can update ronnie on the cash back %.

Click here to read my article on the OCBC Titanium MasterCard at my blog on Malaysia issued credit cards.

Please note that OCBC no longer accept application with pledging of Fixed Deposit Account.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Feb 18 2012, 10:50 AM
Gen-X
post Mar 23 2011, 04:31 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

To update all: OCBC no longer allow us to pledge FD to get their CC with same credit limit.
Gen-X
post Mar 23 2011, 04:49 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Mar 23 2011, 04:46 PM)
So basically it means they have tighten the rules to get their credit card ... damn. Where did you hear this anyway ?
Was at a OCBC branch and took the opportunity to confirm that one can pledge FD to get OCBC TMC. She said previously can, now no more.
Gen-X
post Mar 25 2011, 11:44 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(simplesmile @ Mar 25 2011, 11:40 PM)
How come other banks offering 5% rebate can earn money while SCB loses money?
others cap it at RM50/month whereas SCB capped it at RM600 per year. So if you just swipe a big amount on a single Friday i.e. RM12,000, you will have reached the cap and after that the card put in drawer.
Gen-X
post Apr 2 2011, 05:50 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Apr 2 2011, 01:45 AM)
For overseas spending under 5% rebate category, I think we still "earn" after offsetting conversion rate and admin charges right?
yup, that's correct. with the 5% definitely earns you more.
Gen-X
post Apr 12 2011, 09:20 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(prempenang @ Apr 12 2011, 09:11 PM)
damnn i tot was yrly cap rm600

wasted last month spend 7k wasted
why you never read my articles in my blog. I keep repeating that OCBC cash back capped at RM50 month.

If you spend so much in a month, read my article on Maybankard 2 cards below where I did a comparison vs OCBC Titanium Master Card.

http://creditcardsmalaysia.blogspot.com/20...an-express.html
Gen-X
post Apr 13 2011, 04:00 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Apr 13 2011, 03:09 PM)
www.tmonline.com.my
A few thousands only.
A few thousand can be 3K to 100K tongue.gif
Gen-X
post Apr 14 2011, 03:23 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

got my OCBC TMC statement today, overspent by RM115 with the card on 5% because my ASTRO billed quarterly doh.gif
Gen-X
post Apr 14 2011, 09:34 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Apr 14 2011, 05:27 PM)
If you received RM50 cash back by spending a cumulative amount of RM1115, the effective cash rebate rate is 4.48%. It is still much better than other cards.
you are absolutely right.

It is kind of impossible to spent exactly RM1000 every statement month. Well, actually it is kind of easy to keep track if I were to write in down but to me that is like the card dictating my life. Now waiting for the next issuer to come out with 5% cash back every day with cap RM50 also okay but we get points too like MBB 2 AMEX. If got this card, sure everyone will want it.
Gen-X
post May 5 2011, 08:32 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

I just called CS to reduce my CL to RMX8, however according to her, the Statement will still reflect my current CL even though it has been reduced. This is because should I want back my original CL, it will be reinstated.
Gen-X
post May 14 2011, 06:55 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(turion64 @ May 14 2011, 02:58 AM)
how about Harvey Norman ?
OCBC TMB 1%. FYI, UOB can get 2% SMART$ cash at Harvey Norman.
Gen-X
post May 23 2011, 08:51 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(DM3 @ May 23 2011, 08:50 AM)
interbank giro means frm 1 bank to another rite?
i tried frm rhb to ocbc, and was charged 1.50.
Yes there are charges, go to Pin Thread and read Ways To Pay Your Credit Card thread.

Gen-X
post May 30 2011, 03:28 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ May 29 2011, 07:05 PM)
to keep their mouth shut.
when there is no answer, they keep asking and asking.
when there is finally an answer, they ask why did u do that.
Who is the freak by the way?
normal lah, many people come here to ask when they can easily find the answers to their questions themselves. Must be something to do with our Education system where the students over rely on guidance and not taught to take initiative.

So, we are lucky to have a person like you who takes the trouble and initiative to find the answers for them tongue.gif

aeiou228, i don't think chem meant want he posted with the choice of words used by him, I read "to keep their mouth shut" as "to assist in answering questions raised by others"

Gen-X
post Sep 14 2011, 08:11 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

Wow, 1 year already since I got my OCBC TMC. Just got my this month statement showing GST and Annual Fee waiver.
Gen-X
post Oct 27 2011, 12:59 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(tifosi @ Oct 27 2011, 12:38 PM)
Few weeks back I made a complaint to OCBC regarding my Jusco grocery transaction did not get the 5% as expected.

Finally, after some investigation they had credited my additional 4% back to me but they had confirmed that the MCC for all Jusco in Malaysia is under department store regardless if you use it at the supermarket section or not.

No more Jusco on weekdays for me. smile.gif
Must take note of this. Thanks.
Gen-X
post Nov 15 2011, 11:52 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

did you guys receive pamphlet informing that OCBC cards get extra 2% rebate for overseas? Promotion starts on21st Nov to8 January 2012. However, only RM8K per week is allocated for this promo! On top of that, max rebate per cardholder limited to RM100 through out the promotion period!!!
Gen-X
post Nov 16 2011, 12:21 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Nov 16 2011, 12:00 AM)
Let me check my Paper Statement when it arrives in the next few days....
Is the 2% on top of the existing monthly cash-back quota of RM50 ?
it is stated "Enjoy additional 2% Cash Rebate when you spend overseas with your OCBC Credit Cards".
Gen-X
post Nov 30 2011, 06:25 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(tifosi @ Nov 30 2011, 06:12 PM)
Even when I pumped 2 times within 15 minutes, the system already trigger Public Bank to call me.
yah, there was once I pumped twice with the same card (can't remeber which card) and the call centre called me.
Gen-X
post Dec 23 2011, 09:38 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Xai-V-iaX @ Dec 23 2011, 09:00 PM)
M2 AMEX is 7.5% CB during weekends at JUSCO?  hmm.gif
5% cash back and 5X Treats Points every Saturdays and Sundays at any merchant as long as they accept AMEX.
Gen-X
post Dec 27 2011, 10:46 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(NewGUY @ Dec 27 2011, 10:27 PM)
BTW, my insurance is great eastern will I get 2% ? anyone get 2% for autodebit great eastern insurance?

I saw like OCBC like got link with great eastern, any idea??
Only the OCBC Great Eastern CC earns you 2% or 3% cash back. Posted that here.

0.0470sec    0.12    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 12:49 PM