Credit Cards OCBC Titanium Mastercard Cash-Back Rebates, 5% or 1% Cash-back rebates ??

Gen-X
post Feb 26 2012, 11:13 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(ckweng @ Feb 26 2012, 12:56 PM)
Hi guys, my application was rejected. I've been working for 5 months already and do not have any debt/installment/financing. Annual income is slightly above the min requirement. However, i do have a MBB2 credit card and have been using it for close to 2 months.

Can i know how to submit an appeal? I asked CS officer how to appeal and he told me to resubmit application 3 months later..
Did you not read unknowmaster's post just 2 post above yours? You have to submit it in black and white and justify why you should be awarded the card.

Aiyah, 3 months not very long. By then at least your CCRIS report has something positive in it for the OCBC Officer to consider r when evaluating your application. Just make sure you pay up your MBB 2 Cards bill prior to Due Date.
Gen-X
post Feb 29 2012, 06:12 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Feb 29 2012, 05:58 PM)
better to see the t&c 1st...
website is not updated yet
yah, sure got a cap or a certain amount allocated for the promo.
Gen-X
post Mar 18 2012, 12:34 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(ahpoh @ Mar 18 2012, 12:28 PM)
how about insurance will be getting any cash back?

by the way how are we able to check do they give us the cash back
1% for insurance. You got to check it yourself after you get your statement.
Gen-X
post Apr 9 2012, 10:48 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(bryan_x00 @ Apr 8 2012, 12:26 PM)
I beg to differ. At least 1% cash back is better than other cards. So smart spenders will be using which card for other purchases that do not accept amex?
Is not smart spenders but based on spending pattern. If you dont utilize the 5% fully then yah, use OCBC and get 1%. But you have Alliance Plat, better still, you get minimum1% to up to 2%.
Gen-X
post May 6 2012, 09:54 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Steven83 @ May 5 2012, 01:27 PM)
Well....just 2 days ago...OCBC stuff contacted me and tell me to reapply for it again after the previous stuff rude to me. Do you think I will reapply again, I'm going to check whether my emotion and pride will do that or not? Its not about the quanlity stuff, is something wrong inside the OCBC system. I have enough cash in hand to ensure I can survive 3 years without work. Even my friend with lower pay and have debts still get the OCBC cards.

Added on May 5, 2012, 1:38 pm

Ya, you are right on this. But its like an insult to good potential customer like said I don't care you are customer or not  even you are quanlify, I can reject you all I want. Best to mention in another way is "LANSI" in hokken. vmad.gif
Is that what the CS said (in bold)? If yes, I am surprised that the CS spoke to you in that manner, something you said must have triggered that tone of reply.

As you can observed in the case of fruitie, the CS rep reply and tone was appropriate when she explained her predicament and dissatisfaction.

Once a while I will get a CS at HLB who knows next to nuts, what I do is just say hang up and call again to CS and usually the next person can be of help.

As for OCBC CS, I am very happy with them so far. As for your claim that there is something wrong with OCBC system, I doubt it. According to Bloomberg, it is the strongest bank in the world for the second consecutive year!

And you know what, if you go apply the card again after "taruking" them here, the joke is on you.
Gen-X
post May 6 2012, 03:44 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Steven83 @ May 6 2012, 02:51 PM)
No, I will not be apply for OCBC again so there will no joke on myself. 1st of all, I didn't not contact cs. 2nd they contacted me and told me that I'm not quanlify and my application been rejected. So, here is my response:
me - may I know what are the reason I been rejected?
(male)cs reply- this is company confidental, therefore please reapply in another 3 months.
me - Why my friend with lower pay and more debt still able to get the cards, I need a explain on this. I don't think I will have issue applying other CC with my quanlification.
(male)cs reply- your friend were getting it or not is not my business, if you not happy please apply other CC.

Close my phone after that.

So, don't you think that sounds like "we OCBC CS are not interested and don't care to have you as our customer at all"? I do admit that I not a very rich guy and don't own million of dollars and OCBC has any right to reject me as they are free to do business with me or not. But still do you think some proper NLP training is needed for that CS?

I don't care they are in 1st, 2nd or 3rd. Any bank also can be on top as long as their investment are going fine. All I care is CS.

Added on May 6, 2012, 2:55 pm

Yes. I have no credit card history, but how you can explain this? My friend don't have any credit card history too, but he have housing loan. Maybe OCBC will go for anyone with debt history?
haha, banks love people with debts and make repayments on time. That's how they make money smile.gif

Anyway, in my opinion, based on above, what the CS mentioned is a fact, nothing to be pissed about. Banks are not required to disclose why an application is approved or rejected. And you mentioning about your friend was out of line because it has no bearing on your application and the bank do not need to provide you an explanation. Somemore the CS was courteous, he said "please apply other CC" tongue.gif

The thing is, the guy actually called you up to inform you your application is rejected, that's pretty good service if you ask me as compared to fruitie's case where she is still in the dark.

And for your information, your friend got credit history because he has a housing loan.

Don't be so senso lah, when I first apply for credit cards many years back in US, I was rejected numerous time until I got my first card and with few months credit history, got no problems getting more cards.

Gen-X
post May 7 2012, 12:09 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ May 7 2012, 11:54 AM)
So if I have no credit card previously no point I apply for this card?
Not necessary, when evaluating a credit card application, besides CCRIS report, many things are being considered (e.g. employment, nature of work, age, home - rent or own, and of course if you are a Malaysian, etc). I believe they should have a score system - if you don't meet the required points, than you may not qualify for the card.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: May 7 2012, 03:21 PM
Gen-X
post May 8 2012, 10:16 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ May 8 2012, 10:01 AM)
Finally OCBC people called me and said it is already approved. Phew. sweat.gif Already sent out yesterday.

So, calling to CS makes a difference. My agent is basically useless and asked me to keep waiting. I should have talked to the CS earlier. shakehead.gif

Surprisingly, the CL is slightly higher than my Maybank2Gold. biggrin.gif
Congrats!!! Now your headache starts on tracking your spending.

Yah, apply directly with the banks, no need agents. Just fax/email in application to the bank the fastest but not all banks allow this e.g. Alliance.

Gen-X
post May 8 2012, 10:32 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ May 8 2012, 10:25 AM)
The problem is the card was sent to my house address, I'm sure my parents can't sign on my behalf. doh.gif
I can't go back this week due to job commitment. Haiz. Another headache. I couldn't stop them as they already sent it out yesterday... sad.gif I mentioned to the agent to get it sent to my office actually...

Yes, no more agents. I nearly vomit blood due to the waiting time.
If I recall correctly, OCBC TMC by normal mail, not registered mail. Anyway, if you for whatever reason don't or can't get the card after a week. Call CS and ask them to reissue and this time tell them you will collect from the branch nearest to you.

0.0450sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:15 AM