18 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Samsung Galaxy 5 v4(GT-i5503), A Galaxy series budget model!

alexysc
post May 30 2011, 06:20 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(servant_fox @ May 30 2011, 06:14 PM)
when i switch on bluetooth.. my phone restarted

Added on May 30, 2011, 6:18 pmand.. i cannot turn off my bluetooth
i test the radio, and the bluetooth was enabled, and then phone restarted also. then bluetooth not working liao.... em....
alexysc
post Jun 2 2011, 05:36 PM

60 posts

Hi Guys, I've revert back to Dashblack's 2.3 Extreme App2SD Edition Rom from Cyanogen 7.0.3 (Android 2.3.3) v.3.1 and v.3.4 + hotfix.

I've tried all of Cyanogen 7.0.3 roms (from v. * test2.99 to the latest, v.3.4 + hotfix and also MADTEAMS, Motafoca and Blackdash's ROMS)

My reviews of the roms :

1) Cyanogen 7.0.3 :

a) advantages :

i) More apps to use.
ii) GPS (satellite) locking very fast and strong.
iii) More user's personalizations and tweaks.
iv) More advanced apps

b) disadvantages :

i) lags
ii) some apps still not working like radio and papago freezes, some videos and audio files cannot play.
iii) battery drains very fast even with sensor off
iv) more wake ups
v) frequently auto boot
vi) unstable (as it is still in development

2) Motafoca's 2.0.9 Final is stable, more functionality although not as advanced as Cyanogen Gingerbread.

3) Dashblack's 2.3 Extreme App2SD Edition Rom is stable too, but not as stable as Motafoca's 2.0.9 Final. But its Extreme App2SD works well and have lots of memory.

Dashblack is in the process of developing of a new rom, 2.4 which he says will be the best and fastest of all the froyo roms.

If you wants functionality with most apps , at the moment, Dashblack's 2.3 Extreme App2SD Edition is suitable.

But if you are not particular about some apps, Cyanogen Gingerbread should be nice. But you must be prepared to face frustrations as you won't know when the phone will reboot itself, especially when making a call as I have experienced this a few times.

Hope this will provide you guys some ideas about the roms.

alexysc
post Jun 2 2011, 11:03 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(curiouso9 @ Jun 2 2011, 10:32 PM)
i tried 2 days ago. the latest one.. lol. dont. its "claro" thingy and i thinks it was their carrier.. the icon and label misplaced.  better dont.
~ tried it because froyo 2.2.1. i thought ui like galaxy mini..  really disappoint because just tried it. hahaha.
Hi curiouso,

Just curious, what rom are you using now? and how do you find Cyanogen Gingerbread?
alexysc
post Jun 3 2011, 11:01 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(curiouso9 @ Jun 3 2011, 12:33 AM)
hi happy.gif im still stick with cyanogen mod 3.31,. em i find it not stable but still good for me as for now im not using my g5 for navigation, bluetooth and other bugged thing that been fill on cyanogen thread. haha. by the way im not using app2sd, i pick link2sd for its stability, and the wakeup bug never occur on me after 3.31. .. no lag, smooth in help of autostart program, only about rm4 on android market.
when i was on this rom, i got the wakeup bug with wifi on, and lag too. the battery was draining quite fast too even with auto sensors off.
alexysc
post Jun 3 2011, 11:45 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(amedeto8 @ Jun 3 2011, 11:34 AM)
waiting for dashblack 2.4 hehhehhe..
never try cynogen (no idea what izzit) n it seem for pros  brows.gif
normal usage call msg games.. most suitable rite??
cyanogen is gingerbread 2.3, but it's still in development stages and only for testing purposes. it isn't recommended for normal usage unless you don't need the standard functionality for froyo.

but if you are using your phone only for calls, sms, games, social networking, cyanogen rom is good.
alexysc
post Jun 3 2011, 01:29 PM

60 posts

Dashblack's 2.4 beta is out, but wifi and bluetooth does not turn on.

http://www.madteam.co/forum/index.php?/top...sed-mad-rom-24/
alexysc
post Jun 5 2011, 12:15 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(zam_changloon @ Jun 5 2011, 09:19 AM)
I've tried Cyanogen 7.0.3 roms v.3.1 and v.3.4 + hotfix. Reading ur review i'd like to test dashblack rom coz not so satisfied with cyanogen's rom. Eventhough our device on 3rd ranking (quadrant standard) I'm more satisfied with metafoca's 2.0.9. Since using it, never face any problems. Belows are the problems appeared during my test using cynogen.

- Sim Toolkit > Cannot check balance. When sending request it will appear a message "Could not send sms. Plz try again"

- Camera Advance lite > when snapping, no picture appeared. Then open stock camera > force closed

- The code *#*#3214789650#*#* - GPS Test not functioning. I can't set up my GPS as page 1 instruction

- Battery drain faster
If I'm not wrong, Gingerbread 2.3 doesn't need GPS code and it locks satellite very fast. But using Papago on Cyanogen's rom is extremely lag and almost cannot be used.

BTW, I'm currently using Dashblack's 2.3 Extreme Apps2Sd. By far, (according to my experience), it's the best of all the roms. The other is Motafoca's 2.0.9 final. I choose Dashblack's because of its theme and memory. Stability wise, it's almost like 2.0.9 final.

I'm waiting for Blackdash's 2.4 stable version.
alexysc
post Jun 5 2011, 04:08 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(zam_changloon @ Jun 5 2011, 02:21 PM)
OIC.. that's y la the GPS code not functioning.. My papago also not functioning... But the background awesome...

To flash to Dashblack's 2.3 Extreme Apps2Sd, just flash like usual or need to flash to 2.0.9.2 1st then flash to 2.3?

http://www.madteam.co/forum/index.php?/top...flashing-guide/
Just flash with SDcard inserted in the phone. After flashing do datawipe and root your phone. Done. But you must have partitioned your SD card first.
alexysc
post Jun 7 2011, 11:16 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(LawSinYu @ Jun 7 2011, 10:37 AM)
Hi all,

Can any one help me on:
1. What GPS software best for G5?
2. Is it free?
3. Any guide on installation and setting?

1. Use Papago.
2. Yes, it's free. GPS uses satellite and doesn't involve mobile data, therefore it's free and won't incur any charges from your mobile carrier.

3. Guide and setup :

a. Download link (Papago) : http://www.multiupload.com/TPFO9D5ZE6

b. Extract the file.

c. Insert the folder, NAVISEA, to your SDcard.

d. Install the apk file, PAPAGO_X5SEA to your phone.

4. Maps are already included.

5. If you want the latest maps, you can download here : http://www.sendspace.com/file/ge2rso

6. After downloaded the file, extract it and insert the file to your NAVISEA folder in you SDcard.

7. Instal from market :

a. GPS Test

b. GPS booster

8. Enable GPS One Xtra by typing this code : *#*#3214789650#*#* ( > gpsOneXTRA > Xtra Enable > Enable )

9. Every week, trigger download from satellites using the same code as above >Trigger Download X 3 times.

Done, enjoy your GPS!

alexysc
post Jun 7 2011, 01:59 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(servant_fox @ Jun 7 2011, 01:31 PM)
what abot Gingerbread? i cannot use that code to enable GPS one xtra
Gingerbread doesn't require code to enable OneEXTRA. Just start Papago and use.
alexysc
post Jun 8 2011, 12:17 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(curiouso9 @ Jun 7 2011, 11:47 PM)
applanet having internal affair. seem like someone take over his apps. reading the applanet dev story sound a bit tragic. now he trying to fight way out of it.
- long but quite interesting.. http://pastebin.com/npVXL3LV
Hi Curiouso,

Are you still using Cyanogen mod? It seemed that its development for a stable and workable rom is still far away.
alexysc
post Jun 8 2011, 11:29 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(curiouso9 @ Jun 8 2011, 12:27 AM)
hi  smile.gif  , yes. now testing nightly build. cm 7.1 (gingerbread 2.3.4) about couple of hours testing. found wake up bug.. only once. em. app2sd now smooth, gps work great, bluetooth problem a bit. video ok.  game sound now playing smooth. you on dashblack 2.4? it is ok?
i'm still on dashblack's 2.3 extreme app2sd. to me so far it's the best of froyo roms other than motafoca's 2.0.9 final. i didn't flash to dashblack's 2.4 yet as it's not stable yet.

it's good to know that cyanogen has some progress (from your feedback).

Added on June 8, 2011, 11:32 am
QUOTE(shadow111 @ Jun 8 2011, 10:25 AM)
i m using the official froyo, and seem like i'm missing the "Enable always-on mobile" option under the mobile network setting.
anyone know where this function has been moved to?
>wireless & networks > Mobile network - Connect to the internet : tick /untick this box.

another method is install Quick Setting app from the market and use it to set.

This post has been edited by alexysc: Jun 8 2011, 11:32 AM
alexysc
post Jun 8 2011, 02:18 PM

60 posts

[quote=shadow111,Jun 8 2011, 02:06 PM]
problem is, there is no "connect to the internet" under mobile network for froyo... rclxub.gif

but there is this option when i long press the "power button".. hmm.gif

Added on June 8, 2011, 2:06 pm

how come no? is yours on official froyo rom? if yes, you should have that "MOBILE NETWORK connect to the internet" ...with a tick box beside it.

alexysc
post Jun 8 2011, 02:45 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(shadow111 @ Jun 8 2011, 02:27 PM)
should be official rom coz i use the one attached earlier in this thread..

My phone info
Android version: 2.2
Baseband version: I5503DXJP6
Kernel version: 2.6.32.9-perf root@SE-S604 #1
Build number : FROYO.DXJP6
yup, yours is official rom. but strange that you don't have that connect to internet tick box...? rclxub.gif
alexysc
post Jun 8 2011, 02:48 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(shadow111 @ Jun 8 2011, 02:46 PM)
hmmm... u using same rom but hv the same function? guess i'm screw.. hahaha
yup, i've got that selection,,, Mobile Network - connect to the internet tick box
alexysc
post Jun 8 2011, 03:57 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(shadow111 @ Jun 8 2011, 03:41 PM)
btw.. how did u upgrade yrs? from kies?
yup, from kies. if not mistaken, on the 2nd day when it was officially available. my other G5 I used it to play around with other roms... motafoca, dashblack, cyanogen.... tongue.gif
alexysc
post Jun 9 2011, 07:00 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(curiouso9 @ Jun 9 2011, 06:34 PM)
huhu...i bet it'll cost a fortune..!
alexysc
post Jun 9 2011, 09:02 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(shadow111 @ Jun 9 2011, 08:32 PM)
wonder whether this phone will really get into the market or stay as concept phone
this phone uses amoled techology. at the moment this technology is very expensive unless they mass-produce it. but it'll take time and definitely in the beginning it'll be very very expensive. if they can't lower the cost, then i think it'll stay as a concept phone because of the question of affordability.
alexysc
post Jun 14 2011, 06:56 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(curiouso9 @ Jun 14 2011, 01:51 PM)
rom? im using cyanogen v0.4 hotfix 4, ticked use static ip, but all value are empty.
when you type any input. it saved, if want to overwrite, you need to input new value. cant empty it.
i dont have use_default_ip_address , just some number ip that i typed.
consider hard reset?  hmm.gif but it up to you.
hi curiouso,

i only can see v3.41 - includes v3.4+hotfix2 in the madteam's forum. where did u get this version.. cyanogen v0.4 hotfix 4 ?
alexysc
post Jun 14 2011, 09:35 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(wheeqo @ Jun 14 2011, 09:17 PM)
in second post
i don't get it. do you mind to give me the link? thanks bro.

18 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0290sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 10:49 PM