So you're interested in ARCHITECTURE? Version 3, A guide to becoming an Architect

metaloid
post Mar 28 2012, 10:38 AM

konpeko~
1,972 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Mar 27 2012, 03:09 PM)
common misconceptions.

the power of workstation graphics are tuned for refresh rates, meaning any 2D jobs will be extremely fast and stable. 3D refresh rates is considerably better, especially openGL based software like sketchup. rendering wise has nothing to do with graphics card, it's all about processor and ram, which is what the workstation is built around for.

trust me, if u're not going down the workstation path with RM7k, u're building a gaming machine. kan kan kan?
Getting a 12k workstation smile.gif ...cant wait to see how fast it works compared to ordinary pc's which im using now (core i7) that isnt sufficient enough.
metaloid
post Mar 28 2012, 12:35 PM

konpeko~
1,972 posts

I read an official announcement regarding Taylor's Part 1 degree being the first accredited IPTS by LAM. Congrats! I'm stoked.
metaloid
post Mar 29 2012, 10:49 AM

konpeko~
1,972 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Mar 28 2012, 09:27 PM)
do share the specs.

but those graduating between 2011 and 2013 are all accredited with LAM part 1!
If im not mistaken, Xeon E5620, Quadro 5000, 24gb ram.

looks like i finished at the right time. cool2.gif

Added on March 29, 2012, 11:01 am
QUOTE(cend @ Mar 28 2012, 10:41 PM)
Okay...I'm getting pissed by my relatives now...they tell me to take Mechanical Engineering rather than architecture.

They said architecture gradutes will face a hard time to get job nowadays. Please tell me that is only rumors...
take it. then they would be surprised after u graduate. they have no idea...

This post has been edited by metaloid: Mar 29 2012, 11:01 AM
metaloid
post Mar 29 2012, 01:44 PM

konpeko~
1,972 posts

QUOTE(Bonetoad @ Mar 29 2012, 12:28 PM)
Quick question..

Is 3k salary a lot to ask for for part 1 grad from Australia with 2 years working experience?

Without any other information/portfolio, does this sounds a lot?

Applying for a firm in Subang Jaya
Should be ok imho..just say negotiable biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by metaloid: Mar 29 2012, 01:45 PM
metaloid
post Mar 29 2012, 03:36 PM

konpeko~
1,972 posts

QUOTE(yuvanraj @ Mar 29 2012, 02:46 PM)
yeaps...i wonder myself what kinda noob lecturer is that...but she's good considering she's just teaching introduction to architecture for dip.... wink.gif dean is part3 though

Added on March 29, 2012, 2:47 pm
reasonable enough but not having a portfolio is a big bump i guess  whistling.gif

Added on March 29, 2012, 2:51 pm
hopefully by the time i finish my dip they can get accredited for part 2 as well...in case ipta is a no go...taylor's mah.... icon_idea.gif  icon_idea.gif  i can just wonder what will happen to the fees if part 2 get accredited as well  shocking.gif
I dont think a dean has to have a part 3... as long as he has at least a masters. Quite alot of lecturers have masters or phd but they did not sit for the LAM exam so no Ar status.

It'll take ages for them to get part 2...they dont even offer 2nd degree or masters yet. Who knows, after 2013 they might not have part 1 anymore..
metaloid
post Mar 30 2012, 01:54 PM

konpeko~
1,972 posts

QUOTE(finger_waverz @ Mar 30 2012, 12:49 PM)
woahh 3k for part 1 grads from oversea? fat chance dude

overseas graduate may have better confidence at work and presentation but i dont think their salary will be twice as local grads
Honestly ive seen something close to that and the person is only a diploma holder with few years experience. This person with part 1 has 2 years as well. This is coming from a state that earns less than what u see in kl btw..So 3k is slightly high but something close to that i think mayybe..

This post has been edited by metaloid: Mar 30 2012, 01:56 PM
metaloid
post Mar 30 2012, 02:49 PM

konpeko~
1,972 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Mar 30 2012, 02:11 PM)
if u're talking about perlis, there's only ONE registered architect for the entire state, and u can safely assume where ALL the projects in that state went to. it's about supply and demand.

why take one untested overseas graduate when u can get two reliable local graduates for the same price? u can argue that the overseas graduate might be able to do what the two local grads can, but unless they've mastered temporal duality, they cant exist in two places at the same time wink.gif.
No im talking about Sarawak and its well known that the salaries there are lower west Malaysia's. The thing is its hard to find reliable graduates there let alone 2. So imho it depends on the company, ive seen one hire a diploma UTM graduate with few years of experience for more than 2k. So if Sarawak can do it, i bet the west can do better smile.gif
metaloid
post Apr 2 2012, 09:22 AM

konpeko~
1,972 posts

QUOTE(indahjaya @ Apr 2 2012, 02:01 AM)
U can apply ptptn loan to cover part of ur tuition fee
For Taylor's even PTPTN wont be enough to cover...plus u get the money slow...u need to pay about half first. But try to discuss this with the office. Btw, Taylors is only accredited for those graduating in 2011/12, after that is still undecided.
metaloid
post Jun 11 2012, 11:02 AM

konpeko~
1,972 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Jun 10 2012, 11:46 PM)
RM1k is quite on the high side if u're talking about per semester. normally it should be around RM500. but sometimes it does go up to RM1k, especially when u do 3Dprinting, laser sculpting and so on. or just plain kiasu by printing 30 A0-sized drawings...
mr azarimy, kinda surprised for a lecturer u sure know whats currently going on for architecture students even details like what they are using and spending.
metaloid
post Jun 26 2012, 06:29 PM

konpeko~
1,972 posts

My friend finished his architecture diploma in some local private institute here, i forgot the name and has been working in a firm for a year. Is it possible for him to apply to usm to continue his degree studies?
Also, is it possible to apply to usm if u have a part 1 degree from taylors?
metaloid
post Jun 26 2012, 10:13 PM

konpeko~
1,972 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Jun 26 2012, 08:37 PM)
Yes and yes.
Ok...is there a good chance of getting accepted for both scenarios? What about for utm?
metaloid
post Jul 15 2012, 09:00 PM

konpeko~
1,972 posts

My friend got accepted into USM to obtain his architectural degree. Before this he was from collage pertama as well as a year of working experience. I'm quite surprised someone from an ipts got accepted into a ipta. So is there a chance for someone from limkokwing to apply and get accepted as well?
metaloid
post Jul 15 2012, 10:05 PM

konpeko~
1,972 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Jul 15 2012, 09:52 PM)
did he apply using STPM? is he starting 1st year?
No stpm just a diploma in architecture from institute pertama. But there's still an interview session right? not sure where he's starting from.

This post has been edited by metaloid: Jul 15 2012, 10:07 PM
metaloid
post Jul 18 2012, 09:22 AM

konpeko~
1,972 posts

I just asked and confirm that my friend did get accepted into USM using her diploma from Linton college with cgpa above 3.30 and passing the interview. No pre u/ stpm prior to that. She will be starting from the first year of the part 1 degree program.
metaloid
post Jul 18 2012, 01:52 PM

konpeko~
1,972 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Jul 18 2012, 09:56 AM)
starting from scratch, right?
Dunno if theres any exemptions but yea doing all 3 years of part 1. But its better than nothing cause if she cant get into an ipta she wont be able to afford further studies.
Theres another case where this senior person who has been working as a drafter for over 20 years can get into 2nd or 3rd year in USM for a degree smile.gif

0.0212sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:35 AM