So you're interested in ARCHITECTURE? Version 3, A guide to becoming an Architect
cloudy-person
Jun 15 2015, 10:49 PM

Hi, I'm doing my SPM this year, and I'm thinking of entering Architecture, but I really am unsure whether to do A-Levels or STPM. Which one would you recommend? I'm kind of deterring away from STPM since you have to take a few subjects more than A-Levels, like pengajian am etc. Ah, and also if I do take STPM, what subjects would you recommend taking? I'm clueless as what to take since I'm in private school ._. And also, if I didn't take SPM but did another equivalent [eg: IGCSE/O-level], can I practise as an architect in Malaysia? Is SPM a requirement to practise architecture in malaysia? [helping my friend ask  ] thanks!
cloudy-person
Jun 15 2015, 11:14 PM

QUOTE(azarimy @ Jun 15 2015, 10:59 PM) hi there, i. STPM or A-levels, basically boils down to where you want to study (where to practice doesn't matter). public unis (IPTAs) do not normally take A-levels students unless under special programmes. so if u plan to study in IPTA, STPM is ur ticket. if u're going private, then take A-levels as u please. ii. as for subjects, most unis PREFER science based, especially those with maths and physics. but to the rest, whatever that can get u the highest score. iii. O-levels dont have any bearing over practice. just it will affect the path (choices) that u make. so far in malaysia, SPM and STPM offer the widest variety of choices. Thanks for replying so quickly! I see I see, so it doesn't matter if you did take spm or not, just boils down to your skills. also, are local unis erm "biased" over one race in particular in this field? heard crazy stories about this issue.. since if I take STPM I want to enter UTM, not really sure how the unis are going to choose the applicants, but hopefully no racial profiling or anything lah.. I think this is also one of the reason why I kind of not want to take STPM haha
cloudy-person
Jun 15 2015, 11:37 PM

QUOTE(azarimy @ Jun 15 2015, 11:29 PM) IPTAs now take 50% from matrics and 50% from STPM. in UTM we've stopped racial quota for architecture in the early 2000s. most architecture schools no longer abide to the quota either and have opted on matrics-stpm intake instead. I see, that's good to know then!! Is it possible to know the actual chances of enrolling into UTM? Just want to have an idea of how many people I'm competing against to enter the school lol.
cloudy-person
Jul 12 2015, 05:16 PM

Hi if I do a Part I and II in the list of recognized UK universities by LAM, eg: Kingston University, , and I come back to Malaysia to practise, I don't need to take the Part I/II exams right? And is there an 'expiry date' for these universities? Since I saw local ones had an 'expiry date' for their programmes, but the ones abroad hadn't. Kind of confusing, thanks.
cloudy-person
Jul 12 2015, 10:29 PM

QUOTE(azarimy @ Jul 12 2015, 09:10 PM) The list u r currently looking at LAM website expires 2017. Well technically u are still covered as long as u enroll by 2017 (grad 2020). That is the expiry date. There will be a reaccreditation process (if the school wish it) just like the local schools every 5 years. This is to standardize both local and overseas schools. So to answer ur first question, no u dont have to take the exam. U just need to register, thats all. so if the universities want to reaccredit themselves, how long does it normally take? One year? Since I don't know if I'll be doing my degree yet by then >_> Or do they reaccredit themselves again before 2017? I don't want to end up in a unacreddited school lol, too much trouble.
cloudy-person
Sep 19 2015, 09:52 PM

Hi Mr. Azza,
I'm looking to study diploma in ungku omar polytechnic for architecture, then hopefully going to a local university like UM or UTM. This is, if I manage to enter ungku omar, anyways.
But I heard that it's hard for poly students to enter, is this still true?
cloudy-person
Mar 8 2016, 06:16 PM

Hi, can I ask if I do a diploma programme, let's just say UTM space's diploma in architecture, am I still applicable to go abroad for my degree?
Thanks!!
cloudy-person
Mar 8 2016, 10:47 PM

Abit confused now I'm going to be taking a levels and going abroad after. But the whole list of oversea accreditted universities will be renewed in 2017, and I know some universities in the UK are kinda picky on what subject they prefer, some needing art+science+math and a good art portfolio, but problem here is most colleges dont offer Art as a subject in Malaysia. so I'm really paranoid on what subject i should take.
My question is 1.will most of the universities be removed from the list? 2. Also noted that most Australian and new zealand degrees only offer lam part 2, will there be a chance for their part 1 degrees to be included in the new list? Or will I have to wait till 2017 to know the list @.@ 3. Or would it be better to do a part 1 here first then go abroad for part 2? Is the Acceptance rate high this way?
Sorry for so much weird question I'm hella paranoid since I'll be the first to go abroad in my family if I follow this path Thanks!!
cloudy-person
Mar 22 2016, 06:12 PM

Hi there,
I applied to UTMspace's diploma in architecture, if I manage to enter, is there a higher chance for me to enter UTM for my part 1 degree, compared if I went to a premier polytechnic?
cloudy-person
Mar 22 2016, 08:53 PM

QUOTE(azarimy @ Mar 22 2016, 06:22 PM) I forgot where I read it, but I saw that if you studied your diploma in archi there you'd have a higher chance to enter UTM,, or is that outdated info? I remember reading something along the lines as this.
cloudy-person
Apr 17 2016, 05:17 PM

Hi there sir!
I applied for utm's diploma in architecture and got into the interview round I think. Waiting for the confirmation email/letter to be sent after the 24th
My dilemma is I'm a bit confused on what to do after graduating from the diploma course, I know it's still a long way ahead but I have the habit of calculating what step I'll do next.
After this diploma course, I'll be able to apply to foreign universities for my part 1 degree, right? I'm hoping to apply to UCL or something similar, will that be possible? My family is financially capable and can afford it. Since I really dont want to take alevels or stpm im thinking of this route.
Will I be able to apply to most foreign unis with my diploma or just a select few? I'm really confused about this. Most schools I see onlylist stpm etc as the entry requirement
Also as there is an interview session, I will have to prepare my portfolio as well?
Thank you!
cloudy-person
Apr 17 2016, 06:17 PM

QUOTE(azarimy @ Apr 17 2016, 06:04 PM) UTM dip arch is quite well known. U can use it to apply to any school that subscribes to RIBA format. Its just the matter of which year will they allow u to start in (be it 1st or 2nd year). Please be aware that LAM will no longer automatically accredits overseas universities by 2017. Meaning by the time u graduate, there will be a new list of accredited schools provided, and u should stick to that list if u ever wanna practice in malaysia. Yes I am fully aware of that, my fallback if I can't do it abroad is to do it in Taylor's uni or a public uni if I can. Sorry Just realized I wrote utm's diploma I applied to UTMspace's*** diploma programme. **** Are we still on the same page ~.~?
cloudy-person
Apr 17 2016, 06:45 PM

QUOTE(azarimy @ Apr 17 2016, 06:27 PM) it's the same. the entire UTM diploma programme have been moved under UTM SPACE for better management  . u still graduate with Diploma Senibina from UTM. All right, thank you, sir! I think I'll most likely go for utm's diploma course then if I get accepted. It's top on my priority schools for now
cloudy-person
Apr 22 2016, 10:59 PM

just reaalized I havent wrote my CV yet oh my god. Can anyone elaborate what a CV should have?
edit whoops wrong post
This post has been edited by cloudy-person: Apr 22 2016, 11:00 PM
cloudy-person
May 16 2018, 02:02 PM

Hi Mr. Azari. I'm a dip in architecture student in UTM KL, will be graduating in a year. Am planning to continue overseas for my degree and masters. Though I was wondering what would the procedure be like if I studied in an unaccredited overseas school? was planning to try to apply to those 'branded' school like ucl or AA which are currently unaccredited, any comments? Also, was wondering how is the part 1 exam like? Thanks!