So you're interested in ARCHITECTURE? Version 3, A guide to becoming an Architect

Ichighost
post Apr 9 2011, 08:28 PM

358 posts

QUOTE(raf93 @ Apr 9 2011, 03:05 PM)
okay..i gt A for maths but C+ for physics, bio, chemistry sad.gif

Is architecture hard to learn?
yes to get in...but then you must know how to apply those subject in design...usually in archiscience, structure and enviro subject...

not hard to learn..but really hard to apply the knowledge..to create architecture cuz you dealing with perspectives of different clients and lecturers all have a wide experiences and they all have their own school of thought ..architecture is not just simply wall and roof...it much more than that...

This post has been edited by Ichighost: Apr 10 2011, 04:16 AM
Ichighost
post Sep 21 2011, 04:45 AM

358 posts

do anyone have any idea about any scholarship for Postgraduate Architecture programme...if possible overseas..if yes..then what is the requirement for it?...thank you..

I am already in my last year of my Part 1...
Ichighost
post Jun 30 2012, 07:44 AM

358 posts

QUOTE(tehtmc @ Jun 29 2012, 01:17 AM)
If you have  gone through a proper architectural design course at degree level, you would not have asked this question.

criterion - singular, criteria - plural
where is the lines between a good design in term of the planning..spatial organization and other aspects of design..and a good 3d image..it seem so blur.. notworthy.gif nowadays it seem like if the student cant produce the good 3d images they usually will score low marks..even if we look closer to their design..it is way better than the person that score a good mark with the help of the 3d images...the REQUIREMENTS always halt the progress of a good designer just solely based on the 3d images..and yet they said that the course is practical with the real working experience..in real working experience there always 3d person..but now they grade highly the architecture student that can produce the excellent 3d graphic with low sense of architecture in their design..

laugh.gif i kept on thinking about this..for me i really dont mind..i always try my best to balance both..hmm trying to play by the rules... smile.gif
Ichighost
post Jul 12 2012, 02:44 AM

358 posts

QUOTE(cend @ Jul 11 2012, 03:20 PM)
I saw one of the post asking about what laptop should an Architecture student use.

And some said that a gaming laptop should do it. Do first year/ diploma student needs to use laptop for studying architecture?
It depend on the university/collage you attend..some of them allow students to stay up and work at studio..and most of them not allow student to stay at studio after midnight..if you can stay at studio better just buy a PC..better and faster with the same amount of cash..but if you cant stay at studio all night long better spend on a very powerful laptop..first 2 years not really require the rendering and 3d process..simply Photoshop.. in design and illustrator..simple cad and sketcup modeling...not really for any production yet..just to explore form and spaces..if you dont want to do study models..hehehehe
Ichighost
post Jul 29 2012, 01:50 PM

358 posts

@azarimy

I glanced through trough the masters of architecture at utm..they are listed under the research program..what are the differences between the research master program of utm and master program of uitm??

Ichighost
post Aug 1 2012, 04:21 PM

358 posts

QUOTE(SupremeLahh7 @ Aug 1 2012, 03:22 PM)
ya,and im really clueless right now,shud i go on with this course or not. i think it suits me, not too heavy on projects and not to heavy in academics subject.
i dont know about this.. laugh.gif hmmm for me i always focus on projects..the subjects always come second..overall still okay not as good as students that focus on both..if you score your projects then you already more than 3.00 pointers if all your subjects just average..if you score a few of them..you even can get 3.50..for me projects always important..
Ichighost
post Mar 28 2013, 01:43 PM

358 posts

Graduate UiTM..dpt offer Strathclyde..MArch..ad confusion..Strathclyde 2 tahun ke 3 tahun..? If 2 nk consider..if 3 lama sgt..
Ichighost
post Apr 1 2013, 02:41 PM

358 posts

QUOTE(Wesker @ Apr 1 2013, 03:23 PM)
1. Dissapointed with the salary in Malaysia,from my part 2 senior
2. Trying to leap away from pure architecture and task such as drafting and doing 2d drawing.
    Im sure when i have part 2 ,Ill be back to the same  atmosphere as part 1. probably wanted to try
    Building Services , Built Environment , Construction or more to Design Job

Your advice is pretty much welcomed Mr Azarimy
get ur part 2 and try Project Manager..or RA..no drafting and doing 2d drawing..

or learn 3d max modelling and rendering..go for 3d person with archi experience.
Ichighost
post Apr 1 2013, 03:11 PM

358 posts

QUOTE(Wesker @ Apr 1 2013, 04:05 PM)
Thanks for the insight. So basically it's encouraged to just continue to part 2 and not leaping to other type of Masters?

Thanks. I do have that 3D,rendering skills unfortunately my job letting me sit doing 2D.
Honestly I like to do 3D more like sketch up,rendering etc. Having my current workload now putting line from x to y with black background makes me feel like part 1 is useless or nonetheless getting me nowhere sad.gif
yes.. part 2 and then you decide..

if you want to go 3d..then my advice that you learn the best software for 3d..sketch up too simple..ask the 3d person in ur office or ur friends office..what software that they are using..try and learn that one..

Ichighost
post Jun 5 2013, 05:46 PM

358 posts

anyone here know or from University of Strathcylde..at Glasgow, Scotland?

I want to know about the Master of Architecture program there..do they divide based on units for specific topic or normal design project class?
Ichighost
post Jun 19 2013, 09:35 PM

358 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Jun 17 2013, 12:18 AM)
chief architect, a corrupt arrogant one or? whistling.gif

msia when come to designs and appreciation, really poor. include the detail graps. Copy only lah attitude icon_idea.gif
always down to cost constraint..most of the time..and the climate constraint..if the detail is the same..then it will be just a waste of time to do it again..copy paste edit..hehe for me lack of research and collaboration with architecture school in malaysia that limit the new exploration of design..and materials..students mind is wild and adventurous..plus with the architects understanding on the technical aspects of construction..they can create something 'New' or at least.. 'Fresh' nod.gif
Ichighost
post Jun 22 2013, 09:59 PM

358 posts

QUOTE(konakona @ Jun 20 2013, 11:21 AM)
I remembered during a meeting the Government client, some big shot Datuk was complaining here and there because of the budget. The architect at that time was trying to validate that it is needed for the project. But the Datuk still reject the cost and ask to remove some crucial points.

Then when the big meeting comes another Datuk comes but that new Datuk got Ir. so he knows about the structural stuff. The old Datuk kena marah baik punya.

"Kenapa tak dengar cakap Architect!? Bayar depa semua ni buat apa? Hang tahu apa!?" was some of the words.
there are clients who want create something..for specific reason..and they willing to spend more..but there are clients that want the project to be done as cheap and as soon as they can..we need to 1st client to make mark and as our icon in the architectural world...but for business purpose..we need the 2nd client..we need to survive first..it just a reflection of your achievement..if u already established and well known..you can demand and work with clients that you like..but for most of the firm..we need to survive first.. smile.gif

we..architects..never a decision maker..we just make suggestion..and proposed solution..
Ichighost
post Feb 28 2016, 10:14 AM

358 posts

hi mr azarimy

im finishing my masters soon, do you have any information or thoughts about the implementation of BIM in construction industry especially from architecture firms in malaysia? should i get into it now..or it will be a waste of time because i dont really need it..?

thank you in advance. smile.gif
Ichighost
post Feb 28 2016, 05:57 PM

358 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Feb 28 2016, 03:36 PM)
BIM is already in place and have started to be implemented in major developments in malaysia. i think people in this industry are quickly learning how BIM adoption can save time and money from singapore. so it's a matter of time before the everyone uses it. but be aware that many firms are still very comfortable of doing things the old way. they would say they dont need it now, but im certain the time will come when they realize they can cut costs staggeringly (up to 30%!) by adopting them.

one way or another, i'm pretty certain schools in malaysia have introduced BIM particularly in construction and project management subjects. so u have been learning it anyways. u should get urself familiarized with BIM authoring tools (such as Revit), because as architects, u will need these to get into BIM.

(just in case, BIM is not just about tools like revit. BIM is a system of doing work. i hope u know that wink.gif )
yap, im aware of BIM is a system..and Revit is a tool..smile.gif

yes, ive learned the basic of BIM during my undergrad and a little bit more now..but i dont think it is enough for real world industry..the reason why i asked because when i did my year out for two years..i never used it..and the firm is quite big..that is why i just wondering about that haha

Ichighost
post Feb 28 2016, 06:58 PM

358 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Feb 28 2016, 07:24 PM)
I reckon thats 2-3 years ago? Back then most local authorities and JKR were training their staffs and upgrading their system to be BIM ready. So its normal for firms not to be involved in it one bit.

But as they move on to new projects, particularly with current economic uncertainty, i imagine people cutting measures here and there. BIM would cut the long term cost. Hence people with BIM capability would be highly desired.
yes 2012-2014..well it look like we are moving into that direction and it just a matter of time..i guess no harm for me to pay a little more attention to BIM and familiarize myself with it now..so that once it coming in full gear..i will be prepared..hehe

0.0613sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 10:07 PM