4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Travel South Korea V2

rsralf
post Apr 14 2011, 02:16 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(fraulein @ Apr 14 2011, 12:55 PM)
When I got the iPhone, I downloaded facebook and photobucket. No problem. There's a map application in the iPhone but since it's all in Korean, I didn't use it. Another useful application that's already in the iPhone itself is the iSeoul Tour. My friend told me it's quite useful but I didn't use it much because you need to get into Wifi or 3G to access, and not every place have free Wifi. 3G charges is expensive. Remember to off the 3G setting once you got the iPhone. I kena charged 23,000 won for 3G. Only KT has iPhone, SK don't have.

You can go to this website and print the coupon for 50% discount on the rental. coupon service

If you're not planning to make calls, why not stick to your own iPhone? You can download the iSeoul Tour from website.  Just access Wifi once they're available. But this is according to my iPhone user friend who went to Korea in Feb la... I myself still couldn't afford to fork out an iPhone yet.  cry.gif

Wifi is available at Namsan Tower area, Insadong and most of the subway station. Jongno 3 ga has the best speed, I uploaded picture from there every day.
thanks for the tips.. the reason why i want to rent iphone there is because i want to use these 2 applications, which is hooked to the internet:
1) translator --> (in case i got blur talking with the locals)
2) map --> gps (in case get lost)

rsralf
post Apr 20 2011, 09:26 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(Listiani @ Apr 20 2011, 11:42 AM)
Rsalf, can u guide me to book Air Busan without become member?? so peninglah with their website.  rclxub.gif
Hi Listiani,
The trick is that
1) at the main page, you choose the type of flight, departure location, arrival location, departure & return date, and no of passengers, and you click search.
2) they will display the available flight & choose the flight that you want. Click next at the selected travel part.
3) you will be redirected to the log in page which contains:
i)login to Air Busan with ID
ii) login to Air Busan with membership no
iii) login to Air Busan for non members ---> choose this option, put in your email address & a temporary password. follow the next instruction.. from here it is quite straight forward..

Best of luck in booking.. biggrin.gif

Am currently in Jeju now.. freezing cold compared to seoul, especially at night..
this morning i went to Yeouido to KBS, Yeouido Park, National Assembly Building & Yeouido Hangang Park.. The sakura is blossoming now, but i think can't compare to the one earlier member posted in Jinhae & Jeju..

rsralf
post Apr 21 2011, 08:43 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(Listiani @ Apr 21 2011, 10:26 AM)
H!! Rralf,

Tks for your guide. This is what happen when website are not user friendly plus not so high tech person navigating it.  biggrin.gif  laugh.gif

Wah!! I am so jeaous ler!! You are having a good time, I guess. BTW, how to go to KBS station from Seoul?? u are saying KBS tv station right?? Must go and visit them. Who knows I'll bump to my favourite actor  rclxm9.gif
Haha.. while i was there, i did'nt see anyone.. if you come at night, and if Sukira is having viewable radio, you can perhaps see Lee Teuk & Yesung of Super Junior doing broadcast.. since i went in the morning, they weren't there, but at least i can capture their dj-ing room..

I think the easiest way to go to KBS station is through subway, if i'm not mistaken - line 9. Get off at National Assembly station and use exit to Yeouido Park. When you get off from the station, don't go to the direction of National Assembly building.. go to the opposite way.. walk straight till you find KBS IBC sign & turn right.. you'll meet another junction (landmark is Hollys Coffee), turn left here. then turn right at the next junction..

Today, in Jeju, I went to Jongbang Waterfall, Trick Art Museum, a mini folk village (forgot the name coz it's unscheduled stop here), Seopjikoji, Seongsan Ilchubung Peak and Manjanggul Cave. It was tiring to walk up to Seongsan Ilchubung Peak, but those who've been to Bukit Broga should be able to 'walk' breezely unlike me.. hahaa.. Takes me 1 hour to walk up, but only 10 minutes to go down.. pitiful girl.. felt like rclxm9.gif at the peak.. Manjanggul Cave is a so-so for me, not really that great.. It was very very cold inside the cave.. In the mini folk village, there is a guide who cannot speak English but she tried to explain things to us in Korean anyway.. It was funny coz it's like duck & chicken talking to each other.. wahaha.. She was very enthusiastic, so with some actions from her we manage to understand a bit of what she wants to convey.. rclxms.gif kudos to her..
rsralf
post Apr 25 2011, 11:46 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(shanshan87 @ Apr 25 2011, 03:41 AM)
Is end of  28 April to 9 May cold? bckpacker le, duwan to bring too much heavy thing...==
i had planned to go around korea about 2 weeks. I'll be gonig to seoul (1 day)--> Auraji rail bike, samcheock sea train(2 day 1 night)--> jeju (4 days 3 night) --> busan (2 day 1 night) --> daejeon (3 day 2 night) --> seoul (3 day 2 night).
Just come back from the Auraji railbike today!! It was awesome! Best ever experience!! Plus there are some cherry blossoms around.. Yeoryang town is very beautiful with the white cherry blossoms! Glad i went during spring!!

On a side note: the road from Gangneung - Yeoryang - Jeongseon is full of corners.. Those who have weak stomach is advisable to eat the travel sickness pill before proceeding the journey..
rsralf
post Apr 26 2011, 06:39 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(shanshan87 @ Apr 26 2011, 01:17 AM)
The auraji rail bike is so special thus i include in my trip for my 1st stop.hehee..Is still cold when the time u when? By the way thank you your advice,i think i might taking pills for this jouney..^^.
It's still about 13 Celcius here.. For a malaysian female who have never being exposed to cold, it's quite cold.. I wore 2 layers of clothes & 1 sweater.. The wind when railbiking is cold but very refreshing.. The day is quite bearable compared to the nights, really freezing at night in Jeju & Busan.. Brrr.. However, Gyeongju was worse.. We nearly died because of the cold wind.. Even the locals are not used to the cold in Gyeongju..

I saw you're going for the sea train too.. I like that ride though even we only went from Gangneung to Jeongdojin. (it's all because we're rushing to mt sorak on the same day)..

Added on April 26, 2011, 6:33 pmJust came back from Nami Island today.. Thanks for the guide thru subway, it was very informative.. However, the 1 hour plus ride was quite tiring coz we didn't manage to get a seat on the way back.. ㅠㅠ

Shanshan87 - In the subway today, i saw an advert of Samcheok ocean railbike. Looks pretty similar to Auraji railbike, except that this railbike is along the beach.. Do check it out since u will be in that area..

This post has been edited by rsralf: Apr 26 2011, 06:35 PM
rsralf
post Apr 29 2011, 11:06 AM

25 posts

I have just come back from Korea today.. a mixed feeling..
Anyhow, for your info, the cherry blossoms is in full bloom in Namsan Park.. Went there yesterday, & the view is awesome! I advise to travel to Namsan Tower (N Seoul Tower) via bus instead of cable car in order to enjoy this beautiful view. Take bus no 02 or 05 from Chungmuro station (accessible by line 3 or line 4)..

I was able to see cherry blossoms around Yeouido Hangang Park, Yeoryang, Nami Island and Namsan Park.. Love it so much..

In addition, while we was at Mt Sorak, small white particles came down with the raindrop.. Yeah, it's snow.. Many people was surprised even the Koreans there.. But the snow quickly melt down, couldn't capture it with camera.. There were lots of Malaysians and Thais there - with gleeful expressions on our face (some of us do not have any experience with snow in view of our country's nature).. I was really blessed in this trip..
rsralf
post May 1 2011, 09:44 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(sfwong1 @ Apr 29 2011, 09:36 PM)
lol zstan,the end is near,repent. eh rsralf post some pics up man,make us feel jealous abit,i can imagine how nice is it in nami island when the whole line of trees all with colourful leaves.  rclxm9.gif
eh? spring don't have colourful leaves, only have flowers.. hahaa.. colourful leaves are in autumn..
by the way i'm still in the midst of organising my photos.. rclxub.gif too many photos taken but the quality are not so good unfortunately.. doh.gif
once sorted out, i will upload it.. don't worry..
rsralf
post May 4 2011, 02:01 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(Future @ May 4 2011, 08:35 AM)
hey guys..think i need some help here..does anyone have any motels that is off the list from those travel website that u could rec?
coz right now we are in myeongdong and of all the motels we called,its all fully booked..my friend is quite particular and doesnt want to stay in those dormitory type..
thank you...really appreciate your help notworthy.gif
which area are you looking for?
If you are able to read Hangul, u can just search at googlemap..
Note that: The motels' operator which is not listed in the travel website most likely cannot speak English..

Assuming you are looking at Myeongdong area, some of ur choice extracted from Googlemap (I don't think they speak English):
1) 양지여관 (Yang Ji Yeogwan = Sun Inn)
Address: South Korea Seoul Jung-gu Hoehyeondong 3(sam)-ga 9-4
Phone No: +82 2-777-6554 ‎

2) 미림여관 (Milim Yeogwan = Mirim Inn)
Address: South Korea Seoul Jung-gu Hoehyeondong 2(i)-ga 9-9
Phone: +82 2-755-1516 ‎

3) 청운장 (Cheong Un Jang)
address: South Korea Seoul Jung-gu Hoehyeondong 2(i)-ga 10-13
phone: +82 2-319-2887

However, if you are looking for the convenience of English speaking motel / guesthouse operator, you can try the listed guesthouse in these area: Jongno, Itaewon coz it's quite nearby and u can go to myeongdong by subway.. You can also ask the tourist information centre if they can recommend any place for you..

Added on May 4, 2011, 2:10 pm
QUOTE(Future @ May 4 2011, 08:35 AM)
hey guys..think i need some help here..does anyone have any motels that is off the list from those travel website that u could rec?
coz right now we are in myeongdong and of all the motels we called,its all fully booked..my friend is quite particular and doesnt want to stay in those dormitory type..
thank you...really appreciate your help notworthy.gif
Not sure if you have contacted the following accommodation in Jung-gu (nearby Myeongdong). I just listed down in case you have one missing from your list..
1) Jin Guesthouse
2) Bangrang Hostel
3) Seoul Backpackers
4) Travelers A
5) Namsan Guesthouse
6) Seoul Tower Ville

This post has been edited by rsralf: May 4 2011, 02:10 PM
rsralf
post May 4 2011, 09:59 PM

25 posts

as promised, following are pics from my trip there..
pardon my pic quality which is not very good, & also the date which i forgot to change in the camera..

on the 1st day, we went to see KBS Building in Yeouido..

Around KBS Building, we were greeted by the sights of cherry blossoms at the roadside.

We also passed by the National Assemblyman Building on our way to Yeouido Hangang Park..

The cherry blossoms at Yeouido Hangang Park are at their full bloom and made me wish I can plant one in Malaysia

This post has been edited by rsralf: May 5 2011, 09:17 AM
rsralf
post May 5 2011, 08:58 AM

25 posts

Hi guys, i have tried to upload the pics, but there is nothing loaded..
i'm wondering what went wrong.. i think it's because the pic is more than 2MB..
anyone knows how to compress a pic?

In the mean time, I'll try to upload pics which is < 2MB, but the beautiful scenaries are all > 2MB..

This post has been edited by rsralf: May 5 2011, 09:03 AM
rsralf
post May 5 2011, 09:20 AM

25 posts

Then, we flew to Jeju. At night we went to Cheonjiyeon Waterfall which is quite near to our guesthouse..
Pardon the pic, my camera is not suitable for night filming.. so it's a bit blurry..

This post has been edited by rsralf: May 5 2011, 09:37 AM
rsralf
post May 5 2011, 09:35 AM

25 posts

In Jeju, we went to:

1) Jeongbang waterfall

2) Seopjikoji (All-In filming location)
Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

3) Seongsan Ilchulbung
The view is beautiful, but I nearly pass-out climbing this 180m height peak.. People who frequented Bukit Broga should easily breeze through this..

4) Manjanggul Cave
This place is over-rated in my opinion.. The cave is made beautiful with the wonderful lightings inside it.. But people who like geography & all about lava etc would love this place.. fyi, you have to walk 1km into the cave & it's very cold inside the cave..

And, I threw in some pics of the canola flowers in Jeju.. we stopped by at the roadside to take this picture..

Nice isn't it? During this time, the cherry blossoms in Jeju already gone.. But i can throw in this pic taken at the Oedolgae Rock..

This post has been edited by rsralf: May 5 2011, 09:49 AM
rsralf
post May 5 2011, 10:09 AM

25 posts

Next is Busan..

We went to the PIFF square.. I couldn't find the star's handprints, maybe at the other corner.. haha..

Book Street (made famous by 1N2D)

and Jagalchi Market..

I find Busan cheaper compared to Seoul, if you wanna go shopping, that is.. My friend bought a leather jacket, normally in Malaysia will priced around RM700 - RM800, here can get it for RM300.. wow.. I still remember their strawberry, quite large & sweet. For RM20, you can get a lot here compared to in Malaysia..

Afterwards we went to Gyeongju for a night tour, this scenary is captured in Singyeongju station..

Oh, by the way, it was scary to hop on to a taxi in Korea.. They're quite "fast", we nearly had an accident in Gyeongju.. gosh..

Gyeongju at night is very beautiful.. the lightings does play a factor.. However, my camera failed big time & below is the only clear picture in Gyeongju. This is the Cheongsomdae Observatory at night..

During our visit to Gyeongju, we experienced the coldest ever temp + the most windy situation ever.. Shivering like mad that night.. Brrr.. even remembering it makes me shiver.. I get frostbite because of this..
rsralf
post May 5 2011, 10:24 AM

25 posts

we took the ride on the seatrain (Gangneung - Jeongdojin only, the full course is Gangneung - Samcheok). The following picture is taken at the Jeongdojin beach. The air here feels very fresh.. Jeongdojin is famous for it's railway station which is just next to the beach..

Then, off we go to Mt Sorak..

Following is the pic of Gangneung & the beach in the morning (taken at my guesthouse).. what a nice morning to wake up to this scenary..

we then went to the Auraji railbike.. This is really a nice experience.. I would recommend to everyone who's going to Korea to try this.. But bear in mind the road from Gangneung to Jeongseon is very windy..

Ah.. i wish i can upload the pics, there are lots of beautiful pics I can't upload of these 3 places.. The cherry blossoms are quite beautiful at the railbike..
rsralf
post May 5 2011, 10:30 AM

25 posts

Nami Island..

anyone up to go to Nami by flying fox?

Nah, i better ride a boat.. and was later surprised to see the Malaysian flag on the boat..

Scenaries in Nami Island
Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

I just wish I can upload more for you guys..
rsralf
post May 5 2011, 10:38 AM

25 posts

I went to N Seoul Tower at night..

the padlocks..

While I was on the way to N Seoul Tower by bus, I saw whites.. but cannot see it clearly coz it was night time.. I knew it was cherry blossoms, and I had to go again to Namsan Park the next morning for it..

oh why do my pics are > 2MB, the view here was very beautiful!!
rsralf
post May 5 2011, 10:43 AM

25 posts

Am uploading pics taken at Everland.. The cherry blossoms & tulips here are very beautiful..
Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

This post has been edited by rsralf: May 5 2011, 10:46 AM
rsralf
post May 5 2011, 10:56 AM

25 posts

around Seoul, I went to:

Bukchon Hanok Village

pass by Daehangno..

see the guard changing procession at the Deoksugung Palace

walk at Gwanghwamun Square

visit Gyeongbokgung Palace & the National Museum behind it
Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

go to Insadong..
Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

Actually all these places are quite near to each other, you can just walk to these places from Gwanghwamun Subway..

This post has been edited by rsralf: May 5 2011, 11:04 AM
rsralf
post May 5 2011, 11:05 AM

25 posts

That's all I have for less than 2MB pictures.. unfortunately most of my pics are bigger than that size & can't be uploaded here.. huhu
if anyone knows how to compress, do let me know eh?
rsralf
post May 6 2011, 09:24 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(mkaz @ May 5 2011, 11:49 AM)
@rsralf: care to pm me ur full initenary ??
i've pmed you already.. hope it helps..

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0500sec    0.90    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 08:48 PM