Travel South Korea V2

rsralf
post Jul 5 2011, 09:11 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(shazwina89 @ Jul 4 2011, 08:08 PM)
assalam kak! Jumpa jgk kt ye hehehe.. Seronok btl kat sini masyaAllah!!!! Serious nk pindah sini haha XD

Hi forumers! ^^ to those who havent went yet.. Palli ka!!!! XD me n my travelmates spent the whole saturday visiting places we planned to cover in 2,3days haha.. XD I've never walked so much in my life!!! We stayed at my korean friend's house in Gwangmyeong, on the outskirts of seoul.. The subway fare is dirt cheap yo haha.. Man I'm so happy its like im on a drug or something haha.. I personally feel that the best way to get to know a person's culture is by interacting with them, not just going shopping hehe.. It really broadens ur mind..

Well, enough rambling hehe XD We went to gyeongbukgung, bukchon, insadong, cheonggyecheon n myeongdong.. ALL by walking lol.. We just rode the subway from the house to anguk station and the rest is walking lol.. And lastly we rode the subway home from myeongdong.. God i love seoul!!!

We went to hongdae today.. Going back there another time at nite hehe.. Went to hello kitty cafe n took pictures at coffee prince cafe. Didnt watch that drama tho lol.. Went there with my omoni's friend's daughter happy.gif totally girls day today hehe.. AND THE SHOES ARE CHEEEEAAAAAPPPPP!!!!! Sale that is lol..

Plan to make a blog when I get back XD

To much to tell, penat dh type lol~ cant wait to go to busan this thursday!!!

till then!
haha shazwina on super happy mood.. icon_rolleyes.gif
busan is different from seoul but it's still pleasant.. don't forget to buy strawberries there --> super cheap & super sweet thumbup.gif

ah.. i really want to go to Korea again.. If only my boss will allow me to take 1 month leave so I can really enjoy kekekeke
rsralf
post Jul 21 2011, 09:04 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(NSMLady @ Jul 21 2011, 12:36 AM)
I see. Looks like Halal food is scarce in Korea, wanting to bring Maggi or sth..haha~ Thanks smile.gif
I think Maggi should be ok.. I brought 3 (packs of 5s) of Maggi in my luggage (check-in) ..
I also brought instant soup (non-canned) & instant ice lemon tea in my check-in luggage.. now to think of it, lucky they didn't ransack my baggage suspecting its drugs (it's in powder form) .. otherwise it would be chaos..
rsralf
post Jul 21 2011, 01:58 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(divasweet_77 @ Jul 21 2011, 09:20 AM)
korean airport not as strict as Aussie.. i bring maggi but didn't open and left at the guesthouse.. didn't bring serunding as I'm not much of a serunding person.. Usually only bring energy bars..

can't wait for sept.. miss the sweet pancake, sweet potatoes..

My 7th trip will be in January 2012.. yehaaa!! It will be damn sweat.gif  cold
ahah! i too left the unopened one at the guesthouse tongue.gif

january will be cold.. my friend went in february & it's still freezing..
as for me, i will definitely avoid winter.. i'm eyeing the tix for my 2nd trip --> should be in Autumn 2012
hopefully my korean will have a lot of improvement by that time..

This post has been edited by rsralf: Jul 21 2011, 02:00 PM
rsralf
post Jul 22 2011, 08:45 AM

25 posts

last year autumn was late, towards end oct. the red colours in mid nov were the most beautiful, I heard.

as for me, i'm eyeing early nov for the 2012 tix..
rsralf
post Jul 25 2011, 08:53 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(jess08 @ Jul 24 2011, 12:24 AM)
Has anyone ever stored their luggages in backpacker/ guest house in Seoul? I intend to leave my luggage for min 3 days in Seoul to visit Jeju. I have sent email to a few backpacker customer service, but none has replied. sad.gif
Normally the guesthouse would offer such services. There are some guesthouse who offer the service FOC, while some guesthouse charge for it.
I did left my luggage at the guesthouse in Seoul for a fee (3000 won per day) as I was travelling outside Seoul for 4 days..

Other than that, you can store it at Seoul Station's lockers as per naadianaa's suggestion. But if you have a large luggage, there is a possibility that it would not fit the locker. In addition, the big size compartment are a bit limited..

Added on July 25, 2011, 11:02 am
QUOTE(NSMLady @ Jul 23 2011, 08:15 PM)
Has anyone been to the TrickEye Museum? Any comments on that place?
Do you mean the TrickArt Museum in Jeju? I can provide opinion if it's the same one in Jeju.

This post has been edited by rsralf: Jul 25 2011, 11:02 AM
rsralf
post Jul 26 2011, 08:54 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(NSMLady @ Jul 25 2011, 05:02 PM)
To rsralf, I think its the same concept. This one is in Hongdae I suppose. (Sorry, I don't really know how to tag other people replies or posts. sad.gif
Hmm.. I've never been to the one in Hongdae. If I knew, I would have visited it since I stayed in Hongdae area. But looking at the pics on the Internet, it's quite interesting. The one in Jeju is small (about 40 - 60 arts), nevertheless we enjoyed our travel there cos we are always interested with this type of art..

rsralf
post Jul 27 2011, 09:02 AM

25 posts

Kyaa.. There's flood in several locations in Seoul yesterday because of the heavy rain. I saw pics of Hongdae's area being affected.. Hongdae's subway exit 8 can't be used.. and Cheonggyecheon Stream nearly overflows.. It's pretty serious.. There are landslides in Chuncheon which has already killed several people.. 23 roads in Seoul are closed..

Anyone visiting Seoul this week & next week, do be careful as the weather forecast says that it will continue raining..

This post has been edited by rsralf: Jul 27 2011, 04:31 PM
rsralf
post Aug 1 2011, 08:54 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(ae8za @ Jul 31 2011, 09:17 PM)
2) Still in Seoul now. My Samsung Galaxy Tab and HTC HD2 can roam automatically with my postpaid Celcom sim cards.
Sadly, both my Wife's and my iPhone 4 with Celcom sim cards can't detect the network... A bit bodoh I might say... sad.gif
So, only using our iPhones' to surf using free Wifi network at the hotel and some cafes or malls... wink.gif
3) Any universal adapter would do. No converter needed... smile.gif
Did your wife activate the international roaming with Celcom prior leaving? If not, that might be the reason she can't roam there.
My friend has to activate international roaming with Digi prior leaving, her iphone 4 has no problem there..

This post has been edited by rsralf: Aug 1 2011, 08:58 AM
rsralf
post Aug 2 2011, 09:11 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(dauf87 @ Aug 2 2011, 06:21 AM)
Salam & Hello!

Just wanna get ur opinion on my 'summer' trip to Korea on 9th-23th August, 2011. I'm gonna go with 3 of my friends, backpacking & just gamble all long the way wink.gif But still i hope can hear some of ur opinion about my plan:

Duration: 15 days
Places & days:

Day 1: Malaysia --> Seoul (AirAsia)
Day 2-4: Seoul
Day 5: Seoul --> Busan (via KTX)
Day 6, 7: Busan
Day 8: Busan-Jeju Island(Asiana Air)
Day 9-11: Jeju Island
Day 12: Jeju --> Busan --> Seoul
Day 13 & 14: Seoul
Day 15: Seoul --> Malaysia

And some question:
1) What do you think about my plan?
2) Can i just know how much(roughly) will the food cost at Seoul, Busan & Jeju?
3) In Busan, there are famous Island(i cant remember the name), but do you think it'll be worth it to visit it?
4) Are there any places that'll not be open on summer?
5) In Jeju, what do you think the must-go places?
6) Is it enough to round Seoul in 5-6 days?
Salam..
1) The plan looks good, plenty of time to walk about & enjoy. I just wonder on Day 12, why do you need to go back to Busan instead of going straight away to Seoul via plane? It will cost you more money..
2) Food costs varies ranging from 4000won to 10,000 won per dish. Street food normally cheaper. (Note - if you go to Itaewon for Nasi Beriyani etc price mostly from 8000won - 12,000 won).
3) Won't be able to answer as I only explore Busan market area.. I suggest you go there & share your experience with us tongue.gif
4) The places in Jeju that I like & would like to recommend
i) Seongsan Ilchubong Peak - A bit tiring for me to climb but love the view from top (lots of stairs)
ii) Seopjikaji
iii) The waterfalls : Jeongbang, Cheonjiyeon
I like scenary based location hence the above recommendation. Someone suggested to go to Jungmun Resort, but I have not enough time to go there.
5) It should be okay.

rsralf
post Aug 3 2011, 08:32 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(dauf87 @ Aug 2 2011, 04:09 PM)
Thanks!

About the Day 12, what do you mean by that? Do u mean one-way ticket is cheaper than return?  Bcos i;m gonna take a plane from Busan - Jeju(return ticket)..

Or do you have any better idea + cheaper cost..

Again, thanks for the tips & info! =)
You have to compare the price this way:

1) (Return flight ticket Busan-Jeju-Busan) RM352 + (KTX Busan-Seoul) RM152 = RM504
(I use your earlier given figure)

WITH

2) One way flight (Busan - Jeju) + One way flight (Jeju - Seoul)
Since I don't know what date you are going, I use my previous figure: RM228 + RM111 = RM339
(But please check the ticket price according to your date, ok)

Then, you will see which option is cheaper. Do surf and compare airlines price. Normally to / fro Seoul, Eastar is a cheap option.

This post has been edited by rsralf: Aug 3 2011, 08:53 AM
rsralf
post Aug 3 2011, 12:00 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(dauf87 @ Aug 3 2011, 10:19 AM)
Ok here's the plan & price.

If One-way ticket:

1) Busan Jeju (16/8) = RM176
2) Jeju - Gimpo Int'l Airport (20/8) = RM329 (Asiana Airlines)

Total = RM505

If Round ticket + KTX Train:

1) Busan - Jeju Round ticket = RM352 (Asiana Airlines)
2) Busan - Seoul via KTX Train = RM125

Total = RM 450

----------------------------

Not that much difference, but if i consider time, energy etc. The one-way trip is better right??
And what is EAStar? There's no flight from EAStar if i search from KAYAK.com.. And do you think it'll be cheaper than Asiana Airlines?
And if so, how can i contact them & from where can i buy it?
Hi dauf87, not only for money, the one-way trip is better because it save travelling time as well.
Compare:
Jeju - Busan: 1 hour + Busan - Seoul: 2 hours ==> Total 3 hours
with:
Jeju - Seoul: 1 hour

Eastar Jet is one of the cheap flights available in Korea, like Air Asia (but they provide drinks & free checked-in baggage up to 15 kg unlike our Air Asia haha). Normally Eastar Jet is cheaper than Korean Air or Asiana, but the price differs according to the departing time.

Go here to check the price & for booking: Eastar Jet (English Site)
You can buy using credit card.

I checked on 20/8, the cheapest tix is about RM210 per person, and the highest one is RM294.

This post has been edited by rsralf: Aug 3 2011, 12:23 PM
rsralf
post Aug 15 2011, 09:01 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(NSMLady @ Aug 15 2011, 06:34 AM)
Hello again. Is it possible to go to Mt Sorak in one day? Anyone had done it before? Without the travel guide of course.
Yes, it's possible if you only want to view from the top using the cable car, but if you want to hike, it will depend on the hiking trail length.

The earliest bus from Seoul Express Bus Station to Sokcho is at 06.30am. A direct express bus from Seoul Express Bus Station to Sokcho takes about 3 hours, and cost 17,000 won. There is one bus for every 30 - 40 minutes.

From Sokcho to Mt Sorak entrance, you can ride a bus from Sokcho Intercity Bus Terminal for about 1,000 won (approx. 30 minutes). But if you travel with a lot of people, you can just ride a taxi - much more convenient and faster.

The cable car ride takes about 10 minutes. I forgot how much it costs, i think approx. 10,000 won.

Last bus from Sokcho to Seoul Express Bus Station is at 23.30. The second last bus is at 22.30.

rsralf
post Aug 15 2011, 04:29 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(shortleg88 @ Aug 15 2011, 04:20 PM)
Why? Expensive? Haven't include luggage yet thought. Just ticket price and airport tax
It's very cheap.. Is it august next year's date?
rsralf
post Aug 15 2011, 05:08 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(shortleg88 @ Aug 15 2011, 04:31 PM)
Yup, but basically it's that price if you choose the discount price. My friend book for June next year same price as well.

How much you bought your ticket? Too bad I still think it's slightly expensive, haha.

How much you got yours?
Oh previously I bought AAX flight during the promo for 1st launch, so manage to get a return fare of RM444 (exclude baggage n food)... of course, that is different scenario.

Nowadays, the normal fare for AAX would be about RM700 - RM1,000.. Below RM700, can consider cheap already.. But yes, in order to get the cheap one has to buy 1 year in advance..

This post has been edited by rsralf: Aug 15 2011, 05:17 PM
rsralf
post Sep 5 2011, 09:00 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(anechoic @ Aug 25 2011, 10:22 AM)
do u guys know if there is any kpop concerts during october and november?

tot of going korea for vacation and see got chance to attend any concerts or not..hehe
Super Junior's Super Show 4 will be held on 19 & 20 November at the Seoul Olympics Stadium..
But I would imagine that it would be very difficult to get the ticket.. unless you have some contacts there..

Other than that:
2 Oct: Busan Power Concert -> Busan
16 Oct: Autumnal Music Festival -> Yeouido Park Square

This post has been edited by rsralf: Sep 6 2011, 08:47 AM
rsralf
post Sep 22 2011, 08:57 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(Listiani @ Sep 21 2011, 06:29 PM)
I booked with MAS. RM1700 for return KUL/Incheon/KUL.
eh? that was cheap! i was surveying the ticket fee and the return ticket for MAS came up to RM3,000 huhuhuu
rsralf
post Sep 23 2011, 12:12 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(Listiani @ Sep 22 2011, 10:38 AM)
Yeah!! I booked during MAS promo somwhere in June or July,  I think.  rclxms.gif
ah no wonder.. a good buy for you.. i just settled for Korean Air for my next trip end Oct.. RM2200 for return ticket..
rsralf
post Oct 21 2011, 02:07 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(pchan @ Oct 21 2011, 12:26 PM)
What about march - april ? can i get to see flowers dy? Still cold and snowing? Last year according to my friend,March still snowing .....
hmm
went there last april - spring is definitely there.
viewed the cherry blossoms in mid april in the peninsular, but in jeju it was not blooming anymore.. however the canola flowers is still there.

nowadays very hard to predict when the new season will start..
if you want to buy AA ticket early, then you will have to just pick a date and hope for the best luck..
otherwise buy the ticket a bit late to see predictions of when the season will start..
rsralf
post Oct 30 2011, 03:54 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(michaelyii1988 @ Oct 25 2011, 08:26 AM)
unpredictable weather..last 3 days hot,yesterday drop as low as 6C..
ahpaul82,let us noe if the leaves are turning yellow. haha
leaves are definitely turning yellow now in Seoul..
beautiful red maple leaves in Nami now..
but looking at the remaining leaves on top of the tree i estimated it will be gone quite soon, perhaps in a week..

unable to enjoy that type of view in Mt Sorak when I went there 3 days ago as most of it already fell.. it's almost 'botak' there sad.gif luckily i am able to enjoy it in Nami yesterday..

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0280sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 04:45 AM