Travel South Korea V2

lexy
post Aug 2 2011, 07:43 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(miyoko @ Aug 2 2011, 04:43 PM)
Hi guys, is there a guide on how to reload money for T-money on the machines?

Additionally, is there a guide on how to go to the airport train station?
Hi Miyoko, tutorial on how to recharge t-money is written in here:
http://www.visitkorea.or.kr/enu/TR/TR_EN_5_4.jsp#tmoney

However, I prefer recharging t-money in convenient stores (GS25, 7-11, minostop...). Just tell the shop keeper you want to charge your t-money card. When you pronounce the word "charge" you need to pronounce it as " char-gy", then the shop keeper will understand smile.gif

You can reach airport by using subway or airport limo bus.

Check the interactive subway map here: http://www.seoulmetro.co.kr/station/eng/linemap.action

Subway will be cheaper, but if you have a lot luggages, take the airport bus is better. Subway cost about 3600 won, while airport bus is 10 000 won.

If you are travelling from Airport, you can use the airport limosine coupon. Print this: http://tourxpress.daum.net/cgi-bin/event/k...sine.cgi?step=2

Note that there is date printed on the coupon, it only valid for one month from the date you printed. Just give this coupon to the bus driver and pay him 9000 Won will do.

lexy
post Aug 3 2011, 06:53 AM

29 posts

hi Listiani, yeah, kind of cute, yes as "ye-su", bus as "bus-su".. rclxms.gif

hi miyoko, I tried to find GPS for South Korea also, but failed. Others know where to get?

This post has been edited by lexy: Aug 3 2011, 06:56 AM
lexy
post Aug 3 2011, 08:10 AM

29 posts

hi dauf87, how about the price for Jeju to Seoul?

lexy
post Aug 3 2011, 10:44 AM

29 posts

seems like you take plane is better...

I just came back from Korea last sunday, i bought Busan-Seoul KTX train for 48000 won (48*RM2.92=RM140).

I dont think it is RM125, unless you buy KR-Pass.
lexy
post Aug 5 2011, 12:28 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(limyusiong @ Aug 3 2011, 07:03 PM)
since busan is mentioned here...i also would like to find out more...plan to visit Busan..any interesting place to recommend? i knw fish market is interesting...how bout beach in busan? worth to go?

hw many night for Busan? 1 day enough?or 2 days?
Hi limyusiong, I visited the following place during my trip to Busan:

Gwangalli Beach ---> Night view of the Gwangan Bridge was awesome rclxms.gif

Taejongdae Cliff --> Nice view of the cliff but the water was rough due to storm =.=

Haeundae Beach --> Malaysia's beach beach better, haha

Nampodong (Pusan PITT Square, Jagalchi market, Yongdusan park) --> lots of shops for shopping and food

Travel from Seoul to Busan cost > RM100, so I think stay one night is kinda not worth it, 2 nights is better. Plus, the attractions in Busan are far away from each other, you will get very tired if you try to visit all places in one day. For example, from Busan stn/Nampodong to Gwangalli needs 45 mins.

This post has been edited by lexy: Aug 5 2011, 12:29 AM
lexy
post Aug 6 2011, 03:13 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(limyusiong @ Aug 5 2011, 11:56 AM)
thanks for ur recommendation....yst nite continue doing my research....and found out apparently Busan having international firework competition during my visit...at Gwangali beach!!! yeah, i gonna make a hotel booking to hav nice firework view man!!!

i also found out hw to go fr seoul to busan, KTX train, cost bout RM140 per pax per way....speed train...nt bad...gonna try it out...

hrm, in this case, i think i will spend 2 nites at busan and 4 nites at seoul....
Wow..so envy you, can watch fireworks at Gwangalli Beach rclxms.gif

Remember to learn some Korean phrases when u are in Busan, the ahjuma and ahjussi speak nothing in English except "thank you".

Remember phrases like:
1) Please give me... (learn some common food names)

2) Please give me water (the food in Korea is expensive, so normally we just order plain water, plain water is free smile.gif )

3) Please give me one set (the portion of food is huge, so normally we order one set)

4) How much?

I also went to Spaland in Centum City, good experience (though have to be naked in Jiljimbang >.<)

One more thing is, you have to charge-up your T-money before you go to Busan, because in Busan there use different card It is called HiMetro i think). But T-money card is still usable for bus and subway in Busan.

Added on August 6, 2011, 3:32 pm
QUOTE(pchan @ Aug 5 2011, 10:41 PM)
guys.. i'll be attending a concert at Kyung Hee Uni hall.Now thinking of where to stay..not necessary have to be in dongdaemun area(KHU is in this place,right?),since i read that its accessible by bus/train easily? Please advise where to stay best as i'll be traveling alone...haha..abit chicken out dy.My budget would be RM100-rm200 max per night,private room-personal toilet.

Also how is nightlife in seoul? i don't mean the pubs and all the happening places.i'm thinking if i can roam freely without worrying too much on safety at night there,say maybe visit han river  biggrin.gif .....alone.

Any rec ? thanks !!
Kyunghee university is at Hoegi Stn (dark blue line Line 1). So it is better to stay in Hotel near Line 1. There are lots of hotel in Dongdaemun, and Jungno 3-ga. So you can search.
Kara Motel is a popular motel in Jungno 3-ga. But I never stayed there before, mayb other forummers can comment smile.gif

You mean safety at night in Korea? We were still walking on the streets at 12am, it is okay, just be careful will do.

This post has been edited by lexy: Aug 6 2011, 03:32 PM
lexy
post Aug 8 2011, 09:03 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(pchan @ Aug 7 2011, 02:54 PM)
soraksan for elderly at the age of 60..hmm..sound tiring for them lor.Maybe Jeju better.

@Lexy thanks for the rec.

Btw,can u guys help me with budget planning..sorry.first time travel alone bit anxious.

for 5nights/6days enough in Seoul area only.

Foods = RM600
Transportation = RM600 ( planning to take subway and bus if possible,except maybe on return might be boarding airport shuttle since with heavy luggage)
Others = RM600 ( not sure.maybe entrance fees to museum or something.Phone rental etc)
shopping = RM1K ? haha..mulayo~
Accommodation = RM600-700 ?

also, is the subway convenient for heavy luggage traveler?Well just in case if certain subways have no escalators.I just need confirmation as i hv to change hotels in between trip.Cab would be pricey so my alt would be buss or subway only tongue.gif  blush.gif

Please advise.Kamsamida ~
Hi pchan, transportation RM600 is a lot if you are going to be only in Seoul. Subway each trip takes about RM3, so let's say one day you take 10 times subway, it is RM30*6 days=RM180. If you take airport limosine then it is 10 000 KRW (RM30) per trip, so RM180+ RM30+RM30 = RM240, you get more money for shopping rclxms.gif

Food wise, one decent meal will cost you 15000KRW (RM45), plus some coffee time/ dessert moment (one coffee is about 4000-5000 KRW), you might need to put more budget on food, if you dont skip any meal and not sharing with anyone.

In Hongdae area, you can get cheap accomodation of about RM100 per night, however in Myeongdong, Dongdaemun area, you need at least RM160, I would say.Since now is summer time, everything will be expensive including accomodation. I stayed in Sakuranbo Guesthouse, one night is 36 000 won (`RM100), the guesthouse is not luxury, but the owner is a Hong Kong girl, she can speak Cantonese and Mandarin, she is very helpful.

lexy
post Aug 9 2011, 09:52 PM

29 posts

FOOD ar...If want to talk about food, whole thread also not enough..

Here i will recommend two famous restaurants.

1) Tosochon Samgyetang (Ginseng Chicken Soup)
Near Gyeongbukgong area, very yummy ginseng soup. 15 000 won per bowl.

user posted image (Photo stolen from YeinJee.com)

Direction: Exit 2, Gyeongbukgong stn. Walk straight for 120m and turn left when you see the convenient store "GS25"

2) Myeongdong Korean Restaurant (全州中央会馆)
Very nice bimbimbap

user posted image(photo stolen from Seoul Navi)

bimbimbap @ 10 000 won
user posted image (photo stolen from Seoul Navi)

Direction:
Myeongdong stn, exit 6, turn left at first junction, walk until you see SPAO (clothing store). The restaurant is between SPAO and SMOOTHIE KING.

This post has been edited by lexy: Aug 9 2011, 10:00 PM
lexy
post Aug 12 2011, 10:46 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(mie_sa @ Aug 10 2011, 08:55 AM)
Lexy, ur recommend is owesome with price & map! Will go and try both!!  thumbup.gif
Anymore ? How bout Busan & Jeju? Any recommend?
zstan, those picture from ur blog? will place u visit  thumbup.gif
Busan food recommendations

1) 18 Wonton (dumpling soup) Info: pusannavi, blog

user posted image (Photo stolen from pusan navi)

user posted image (Photo sotlen from pusan navi)

Direction:
Jagalchi stn, exit 7. Go straight along the main road until you see Lotteria (fast food restaurant). Make a left turn. Go straight, and make a left turn when you are at PITT square. The restaurant is opposite McDonalds and it is underground.

MENU:
완당 / 餛飩湯/ Wonton Soup 5,500W
완당+면 / 餛飩麵/ Wonton Noodle 5,500W
18번면 / 18號麵/ 18 Wonton 5,500W
완당우동 / 餛飩烏龍麵/ Wonton Udon 5,500W
세트1 / 套餐 1 餛飩、豆皮壽司3個、卷壽司2個/ Set 1 7,500W
세트2 / 套餐 2 餛飩湯、牛丼(小)/ Set 2 7,500W
세트3 / 套餐 3餛飩湯、沾醬蕎麥麵(小)、豆皮壽司3個、卷壽司2個/ Set 3 13,000W
김초밥 / 卷壽司(條)/ Kimbap (rolled sushi) 3,000W
유부초밥 / 豆皮壽司(份)/Tofu skin sushi roll 3,000W
김치초밥 / 泡菜卷壽司/ Kimchi Sushi roll 3,000W
소고기덮밥 /牛丼/beef rice 6,000W
모밀국수 / 沾醬蕎麥麵/ buckwheat noodle 5,500W
쟁반모밀 / 涼拌蕎麥麵 cold buckwheat noodle 11,000W

2) Breeze Burn Burger @ Gwangalli Beach
user posted image (Photo stolen from the one four)

Yummy and huge burgers and awesome Gwangalli Bridge View wub.gif

Direction:
Gwangan station, exit 5 for Gwangalli Beach, turn left, walk down the road until you get to the beach and turn left. Breeze Burn's is beside Cafe Pascucci.

Burger price from 9000 won to 15 000 won, the burger's portion is big , can share with two persons. (But I ordered one set for myself biggrin.gif )
user posted image (Photo stolen from city awesome)

Tips: Busan people speak very little English, to order one set "Igo han-na juseyo"

lexy
post Aug 22 2011, 09:59 PM

29 posts

Direction to Petite France (Info from this blog (It's in Chinese))

1) Go to Gapyeong stn: (refer subway map )

2) take the city tour bus from Gapyeong stn (5000 won):

This post has been edited by lexy: Aug 22 2011, 11:55 PM
lexy
post Aug 25 2011, 01:25 PM

29 posts

How to apply for K-Pop Music Shows
http://english.visitkorea.or.kr/enu/CU/CU_EN_8_7_2_1.jsp
lexy
post Sep 6 2011, 01:59 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(ashcrimson @ Sep 6 2011, 10:36 AM)
you will need to waste few hours of your life to get a pass into KBS, MBC, SBS concert hall. better go in groups so that you can alternate when standing in the line. but people behind u won't approve it. the uncles will surely rage if u change people as u like
LOL, ahjusshi also go watch Music Core/Inkigayo/ Mnet Countdown ar?
lexy
post Sep 8 2011, 03:58 PM

29 posts

Apparently you need to take quiz for 5 days to win hallyu dream concert tickets:

http://www.facebook.com/?flyingspaghettimonster=home#!/no...191394914263317
lexy
post Sep 11 2011, 02:34 PM

29 posts

No need round one also can, just go to Giant/Jusco or Electrical shop to buy universal adapter..

something like this:

Or:

Just it will be a bit loose..

lexy
post Sep 16 2011, 03:10 PM

29 posts

Dude, just choose "Others" then you can see "Malaysia" when another window pop-up.

lexy
post Sep 21 2011, 09:38 AM

29 posts

A passenger shared his/her experience during a 10-hr delay flight to Incheon:

http://www.facebook.com/?flyingspaghettimonster=home#!/no...150322678509658

sweat.gif

lexy
post Sep 29 2011, 11:46 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(maru @ Sep 29 2011, 10:37 PM)
Anyone know what cheap to buy in Seoul?
Korean brand Skin care and cosmetics, dried seaweed.
lexy
post Oct 2 2011, 12:52 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(fashionado @ Oct 1 2011, 09:37 PM)
Thanks for reply guys smile.gif . I got some more question. If for example i am from myeongdong(line4) going to yeouido(line5), i will need to transfer line at Dongdaemun History culture park station to Line 5 right. So does it mean at myeongdong i need to buy ticket to Dongdaemun history culture park or straight buy ticket to yeouido?
Hi fashiondo,

You dont need to buy ticket at Dongdaemun History Culture Park station. Korea subway system is not like Malaysia's LRT. In Malaysia, if you change line, you need to buy a new ticket.

When you reach Dongdaemun History Culture Park station, dont scan out. Follow the sign boards and walk to Line 5. Board on line 5 to Yeouido. When you reach Yeouido, scan out and exit the station.

lexy
post Oct 4 2011, 08:14 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(TianJian @ Oct 4 2011, 12:30 AM)
hi ! i will traveling to korea next mth ! but i saw this website say

"Starting from August 2010, all foreigners aged 17 or above are required to register fingerprints and photo upon entering Republic of Korea. Those who refuse to cooperate may be denied access to the country. "

from this website

Minisrty of foreign

what should i do when i reach there ?
Hi TianJian, I dont recall having my fingerprints and photo taken during my visit to South Korea...

Are you going to North Korea or South Korea? I think Republic of Korea = North Korea??
lexy
post Oct 7 2011, 09:13 PM

29 posts

Gimhae is Busan

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0251sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 02:25 AM