4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Travel South Korea V2

anechoic
post Nov 18 2011, 11:23 PM

TY
2,278 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Nov 18 2011, 10:04 PM)
Cheap leh ? Haha. Good to know you found it. Shop 1 has more people but Shop 2 is actually bigger (there have two shops located opposite to each other). Some albums are cheaper in Shop 1 and some are cheaper in Shop 2. I basically going back and forth between the two shops just to compare their prices  laugh.gif

By the way, i see that you only got one free poster ? No free poster for SNSD ?
got got..all album got poster except sistar. I didn't take the poster pics only. the background is actually SNSD calendar and some TV mag with SNSD pics..hehe

didn't spend much time find the second shop..hehe.
anechoic
post Nov 20 2011, 05:37 PM

TY
2,278 posts

QUOTE(chienx @ Nov 20 2011, 10:36 AM)
i going on 28th.first time. should we change lot of won thr or advice to bring US dollar? we only book flight and room. one week stay roughly need how much cash? itenary not book yet.
anythg else need to take note? plug over thr diffrent with ours? just get a universal plug will do or need special plug?
up to u...credit card well receive.. my fren said maybank CC has the best rate. USD can change in bank or myundong.. myundong normally give flat rate.. it was USD 1 = KRW 1100. bank of coz depends on exchange rate.

if ur devices is 3 pin, u need a universal plug to change.

QUOTE(senyii @ Nov 20 2011, 03:21 PM)
Coffee is not much of a different but there one above doota mall dun rmb name at 5th floor near dongdaemon taste good!

Their fried chicken n grill fish is a must try..
the guesthouse owner tapau fried chicken for supper, taste good, similiar to our KFC spicy..haha
as for coffee, our msians one more 'kau' even at starbucks tongue.gif

Didn't get to try grill fish. sad.gif

anechoic
post Nov 21 2011, 09:50 AM

TY
2,278 posts

QUOTE(davinci_maggie @ Nov 20 2011, 09:43 PM)
hi, i stayed at namsan II (d other brown building).. but saw namsan III located just beside namsan II.
very new. dunno inside. but can truly say namsan guesthouse not bad lor. (namsan I is further inside...very long walk from metro)
short walk from metro..opposite metro is myeongdong market...so very convinience.
d girl at d checkin counter can speak chinese ler..but all of their english are quite ok.
breakfast..simple bread+jam & coffee/tea + cup mee - very sufficient for morning.  nod.gif

got family mart nearby.
seriously should try kimbab from family mart. 1200won per roll. not bad ler. i even bought 2pcs back to msia. after 2 days my colle still said very yummy.  tongue.gif

Added on November 20, 2011, 10:05 pm

from airport to seoul..we used railway+metro to myeongdong. so 3700won+900won is consider the cheapest option.
me & hb - backpack. metro mah..already understood alot of staircase & longwalk between transfer.
d rest of gang..err especially d one with child trolley were really scare of d seeing staircase jor. lol

but when back time, me & hb too tired jor..since got extra carrying luggages..all d souvinier & extra clothes we bought..so hb dont bother & took airport bus from Itaewon to airport - 15,000won per person.. aiks. we even took taxi from our rented apartment to airport bus station. tongue.gif
after 2 weeks+ at S.korea. we too lazy to walk jor..so paid alot of taxi fee. hahaha (but short trip la)

honestly this is our first trip to s.korea. we never expected seoul could be so expensive. even d souvinier also very expensive ler.
those magnet & keychain. even postcard also cost 1000won per pc. 1 set of postcard is 4000won..but not really nice.
we dint buy any mineral water..since mostly guesthouse got d water dispenser or free mineral water from hotels.
but eat...hmm snack min 1000won. noodle 4000-5000won? coffee at cafe around 4000-5000won.
we dint even eat at fancy restaurant..but mostly our dinner cost us 20000-30000won for 2
BBQ min 20000won for 2. (beside sokcho - 9500won per person but is buffet!! meat + seafood ..very worth it)
haha but d cheapest thing in s.korea is cup mee!! from 700won to 1500won. way cheaper than msia.

since me & hb not really keen on pub or nite life..so hb said next round..no more seoul. we planning 2nd trip back to busan.
way cheaper. (imho)
The BBQ its cheaper than malaysia korean restaurants..haha tongue.gif. I had mine in Sinchon, popular college students place, and a single plate of meat cause around 5k -6k won. Each person had 2 plate so it was around 11-12k won. I had bulgolgi in a nice restaurant in gangnam and it was 30k won per plate..but very nice biggrin.gif

Those who like seafood should go Noryangjin Fish Market, fresh sashimi on the fly. If you worry about the price, can get those already cut for 10k won, more than enough for 1 person. Its still fresh biggrin.gif

QUOTE(davinci_maggie @ Nov 20 2011, 10:33 PM)
ya. i do agree..tat y at d same time i was wondering how much is a uni grad's pay. tongue.gif

but beside seoul..d rest of d s.korea is so much cheaper. we ate d same dish (bibimbap) at a same cafe (d yellow signboard 24hrs korean rest), d price diff 1000won.
I ask the guesthouse workers cuz we are watching a korean popstar reality show final where the group won 500 mil won..

they told me maybe lawyer,doctor can get 500 mil won per month, 10-20 mil won per month for office workers. Can confirm if I remember correctly or not..haha. but they tell me 1 mil won per month is definitely not enuff..haha

anechoic
post Nov 21 2011, 07:01 PM

TY
2,278 posts

QUOTE(iman_210 @ Nov 21 2011, 11:48 AM)
yup just checked with best rate...2.88...only wish i cn get info on the current rate between USD and WON at KEB...then work out the real savings
its 2.90 at MV the money changer beside wawasan.. just checked it 1 hr ago..

QUOTE(eksk86 @ Nov 21 2011, 02:59 PM)
Hmm..why is that? Are they both affiliates of what?
So, in general, where can I get the best exchange rate in Korea? Airport? Banks? When u say Namdaemun/Dongdaemun, are u referring to the roadside money changers?

Doota is a shopping complex rite? So I guess I shd avoid money changers there.

Namdaemun/Dongdaemun/Myeondong are money changers like we have in shopping malls. I scouted around myeondong when I was there and all is same rate.. flat USD 1 = KRW 1100. Change there twice also same rate.

Banks is based on market exchange rate..could be higher or lower. I brought USD there purely because I don't wan to carry so many won...imagine 30x 10k won...wallet also wanna burst liao..haha.
I got USD pretty cheap too.. USD 1 = RM 3.10. The most I got in Korea bank IBK was USD 1 = KRW 1113 and low of USD 1 = KRW 1097. My exchange rate for won using RM was KRW 1000 = RM 2.85.

I asked Hana bank in seoul airport..much less than I what I will get in myeondong.

ps: all my exchange rates were on different day.

anyway, i am sure you know USD fluctuates more..haha. so u have to get the right time.. biggrin.gif

anechoic
post Nov 22 2011, 10:17 AM

TY
2,278 posts

QUOTE(chienx @ Nov 22 2011, 09:58 AM)
how tick should i wear now? one long john, one shirt , one l\fleece, one normal winter cloth enough?

do we need to get local prepaid thr? or maxis roaming will do?
guess you need long john liao cause reach -3 degree.

as i know, you can't buy local prepaid as u need a korean ID. You can rent a phone or use roaming lor. Just don't use data roaming. IF you want data 24x7 better rent a phone.

QUOTE(stimix @ Nov 22 2011, 10:07 AM)
Weather getting colder. Right now, is 7C and probably avg ~ 10C. If you wear long john, yes another layer of fleece will do or just one Down jacket will do. If temperature drop below 5C, better get a down jacket ready and another layer of long john + down incase falling below minus 5C
my friend there now say reach -3 degree..
anechoic
post Nov 22 2011, 11:30 AM

TY
2,278 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Nov 22 2011, 10:30 AM)
The minus 3C only happened past midnite till sunrise lor.. unless you wanna wake up that time & jog around haha  biggrin.gif . When I was there last year, temperature even hit minus 15C but I just wear down jacket + a sweater. Yes it was cold & my stupid glove do no justice  biggrin.gif  But the down jacket somehow or rather save me from xtreme temperature. Avg day temp right now 8C Ok-liao.. not xtreme if you just wear a down & cover your hand. below 5C glove & scarf wth a sweather and long John OK.
for me, need long john+ sweater + jacket and gloves liao.

when i queuing for M countdown outside the building from 645am to 8am, even though not minus yet, already feel quite cold. cover my head and put hand in jacket liao...how I wish that time got a cup of hot mocha..

once after going to bar, walking around hongade at 3.30 am I also beh tahan...fast fast find taxi go back guesthouse.. laugh.gif
anechoic
post Nov 22 2011, 05:01 PM

TY
2,278 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Nov 22 2011, 02:24 PM)
Best area to fins souvenir is at Namdaemun but you need to negotiate. U can find more in Insadong but those in Insadong very hard to nego bcos of the status as souvenir street!

As u said I bought key chains, Fridge magnets, Korean dolls & even T-shirt (low quality ~ RM15 after hard bargaining)

Added on November 22, 2011, 2:27 pmUniglo now got sales. the sweater pretty cheap now (RM68), But I think u need a down right now haha. BTW, Seoul uniglo and even those in China & SG also almost similar pricing or slightly cheaper.

But if still want to buy cheap, goto Dongdaemun fashion city opposite Doota/cheongyecheong river. Otherwise, nego kaw-kaw in Namdaemun - cheap here.
Agreed.. I tot Namdaemun has more shops?? I only walk till Samszegill in Insadong.. One of the shopkeeper can say 'Apa Khabar?' as well..hehe

shop around..some shop sell same items different price. Many kpop items as well like photo calendar, pictorials, keychain etc..

anechoic
post Nov 23 2011, 11:56 AM

TY
2,278 posts

you can try check at yeongsan(?) electronics market? but galaxy S2 is almost 900k won in samsung mobile shop.. tongue.gif

sign phone plan is much more cheaper for koreans over there biggrin.gif

well, kpop CDs are cheaper than msia if you like kpop..haha
anechoic
post Nov 23 2011, 03:08 PM

TY
2,278 posts

Hi Stimix,

Maybe you should update this as well to 1st page.

I used these 2 Android Apps which I believe available for Iphone as well. Really help me during my trip.

Jihachul.

Korea subway on your phone, good for checking subway routes, distance and time taken. Not only Seoul, but Busan and other Korea cities as well.

I Tour Seoul

Basically an informative app which contains lots of info about Seoul, shows you how which subway station to reach a particular place.

Another app called Trip It, basically a travel app that allows you key in your itenary so you can easily refer on the phone. Sync with your flight itenaries as well. No need to carry so many papers to refer for flight info. biggrin.gif

Trip It

This post has been edited by anechoic: Nov 23 2011, 03:08 PM
anechoic
post Nov 24 2011, 11:35 AM

TY
2,278 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Nov 24 2011, 10:32 AM)
This one is not airline fault liao.. Those Airport workers tidur liao...I also kena in Seoul. AAX very puntual but I also got stuck waiting so long for my luggage..Otherwise, I should hv made it to the last MRT in Gimpo that time..wasted on cut-throat taxi dunwan to use meter!!

Added on November 24, 2011, 10:34 amChange the USD at Namdaemun roadside stalls can liao..good rate there comparing to Incheon.. But those going there on Saturday nite wth US$.. not recommended bcos on Sunday Morning - you can't find roadside money changers!!  cry.gif
but i'll still be pissed need to wait so long... especially if u need to change flight and didn't do straight transfer for luggage.

anyway, I used China Eastern Airline to Seoul..transit at Pudong. I didn't know this airline is so bad.. always delay between pudong-KL and KL-pudong but on time from ICN-Pudong and Pudong-ICN doh.gif

Not going to take them next time definitely..

QUOTE(durrrr @ Nov 24 2011, 11:22 AM)
I'll be going to seoul for 1 week. Food(3 meals) and accommodation all covered and quite sure I wont be doing any shopping. Most probably will buy little things like key chains or fridge magnets as souvenirs.

How much money would you guys suggest to change for souvenirs and some emergency money(food/snacks, soju, in-case-i-get-lost money, etc)?

RM 300? RM 500? Enough?
how about transport? RM 300 probably enough if u really don't buy much. But entrance fee to palaces and some other sight seeing place still need to pay..
anechoic
post Nov 24 2011, 01:25 PM

TY
2,278 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Nov 24 2011, 12:41 PM)
How much did you pay for the China Eastern Airlines ticket to Seoul ? Mainland China carriers always offer a very tempting fare to USA.

Oh yeah, China Eastern Airlines is using just a small plane between Kuala Lumpur and Shanghai    doh.gif
About RM 1558 to be exact. I booked 2 weeks before my trip searching via Kayak. Air Asia was offering about RM 1100 or less if I play more with the dates..
Bought on Orbitz..should be USD 499 but in CC the charge was only USD 488.xx. Maybe they match travelocity price..as it was offering about that amount.

small plane is ok for me..it was a airbus A321 or B 737..easier to land and take off.. laugh.gif

the delay cause me to miss the connecting flight to Seoul in Pudong..and took me quite sometime to get them change a new flight time for me at Pudong.
anechoic
post Nov 24 2011, 03:32 PM

TY
2,278 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Nov 24 2011, 01:55 PM)
That is real cheap for a last minute ticket. You probably can get it even cheaper should you have bought it early  biggrin.gif    Korean Air or MAS would have asked you for RM2500+ for such a last minute ticket.
LOL. Not really. Big aircraft has far more powerful engines and that makes it easier to lift the aircraft.

Anyway, MAS has two daily flights to Shanghai and it's all big plane. I personally prefer big aircraft  drool.gif
Sorry to hear that. But your trip to Korea was fun right ?  biggrin.gif
think I check MAS, it was 3k or more..haha.

well, engine power is proportional to aircraft size..the bigger one need longer runaway..haha

yah, it was a very fun trip, my guesthouse, JK guesthouse was super nice. biggrin.gif
anechoic
post Nov 25 2011, 09:23 AM

TY
2,278 posts

QUOTE(longlongzai @ Nov 25 2011, 01:46 AM)
anybody can give me some info about jeju island?
any special activity over there?
how much normally flight from incheon/gimpo airport to jeju island?
you can take budget airlines from gimpo to jeju.. like eastar, jeju air or t-way.
I used eastar cuz their site was in english and round trip was about RM 280..book just 2 week plus before the travel date.

in jeju, u can go to seongsan ilchubong aka sunrise peak, manjanggul cave, jungmun resort, got beach, cliff etc..

or hike up hallasan..but i think most trees botak liao this time.. laugh.gif
anechoic
post Nov 28 2011, 10:11 AM

TY
2,278 posts

QUOTE(J_Vansen_S @ Nov 28 2011, 01:06 AM)
hi guys, i am going to Busan for 4 days during the chinese new year.
Guess it will be freezing cold.

Id like to know if its worth to go to Jeju for a 1 day trip? As my days are limited

Monday: Arrive Busan 8:40pm
Tues:
Wed:
Thurs: Fly to jeju early morning, back next day afternoon?
Fri: Depart Busan 9:40pm

Practically i have only 2 days in Busan(Tues,Wed)
Thursday to Jeju. Back Friday from Jeju and leave Busan in the evening.

Its a really short break.
Please advise; if i shud just stay in Busan or make the round trip to Jeju.
Checked the flights: return will cost me about 400+rm
Its doable, but you already plan the place to go in Jeju? Most will visit seongsan illchubong about 1+ hrs away from Jeju city..

most sight seeing location is almost an hour away or more from jeju city..think it will quite tiring for such short trip. if u are not driving, then u gotta take bus or taxi.

anechoic
post Nov 30 2011, 11:57 AM

TY
2,278 posts

QUOTE(chienx @ Nov 30 2011, 11:18 AM)
i in Seoul since Monday. VisiTed some palace and lotte world themepark. nandemg. Namsan folk village. Now dunno where to go. Any suggestion? Raing today and yesterday. Quite cool. Pls give some advice. Will be stayin til sat nite
if raining can try War Memorial Museum, not bad..haha. Free administration. Or Gwanghwamun Plaza. smile.gif

can try go Suwon Hwaseong fortress also, but the padalmun gate is under construction.
anechoic
post Dec 1 2011, 04:51 PM

TY
2,278 posts

QUOTE(Nidz @ Dec 1 2011, 11:52 AM)
ok. thanks.
will do that.

anyway, is there any korean filming site that i can go visit?
my sisters are kdrama addicts.. haha sweat.gif
u want to go to current filming site or the past? jeju island have a few spot where Dae Janggeum(aka Jewel In the Place was film there.. like odolgae rock, mt songaksan.

for more info check this site:

http://asiaenglish.visitkorea.or.kr/ena/SI....jsp?sets=drama

QUOTE(D-Frog @ Dec 1 2011, 03:46 PM)
Not cheap ohmy.gif
cheap lar..compare to msia..SNSD album msia selling almost RM 70..there only around RM 38. kara step album also RM 38 or so..msia almost RM 75 leh doh.gif

This post has been edited by anechoic: Dec 1 2011, 04:53 PM
anechoic
post Dec 1 2011, 05:42 PM

TY
2,278 posts

haha...not so easy to find also...phone casing shops are more common.. tongue.gif

but lucky I read this thread alot..so got to know where to find..hehe. biggrin.gif

anechoic
post Dec 7 2011, 11:27 AM

TY
2,278 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Dec 6 2011, 11:57 PM)
Agreed. COEX is overrated. Our Mid-Valley Megamall is zillion times better  laugh.gif
QUOTE(michaelyii1988 @ Dec 7 2011, 12:08 AM)
+100  laugh.gif
63City is even thousand time worst than COEX..for real..but Noryangjing Fishmarket is a new experience.  rclxms.gif  we can juz snap a couple of 63City pic on the way to Noryangjing fishmarket..the view from far away is nice..golden~
Agreed, visited COEX and 63city for a short time, I was so tired trying to find 63city building.. doh.gif

Noryangjin is so nice...so many seafood.. drool.gif too bad can't afford to eat much..haha
anechoic
post Dec 8 2011, 10:10 AM

TY
2,278 posts

QUOTE(AiRseaL @ Dec 8 2011, 02:12 AM)
hi, i have 2 full days in seoul.. any suggestions for places i can go?
myeongdong, all the castles, dongdaemun, city places already went..

want to go outdoor so thought of either nami island 1 day and mount sorak 1 day..
izit posible to do day trip to this 2 places without rushing?
any better suggestions considering now so cold..
nami island can cuz 1 way trip only 2 hour..and island easy to explore. You can try go Everland or Lotte world too. Everland is further about 2hrs from seoul.
Actually, nearby seoul also got some mountains you can explore or Incheon but I not sure the exact location..

mt sorak from seoul around 4hr one way leh..too tiring imo..hehe.

but if the trees botak liao, not so nice to see. tongue.gif

QUOTE(michaelyii1988 @ Dec 7 2011, 09:21 PM)
i think they simply charge one..they charge 'PER HEAD' and then 'PER PLATE' if i remember correctly the restaurant we went charge 2000KRW per head then 7000KRW per plate..and becoz we got 10 person,they split the seafood we buy, 1 plate become 2 plate,therefore 7000KRW x 2 =14000KRW.. sleep.gif!!

so juz try 1 or 2 seafood is enuf..if wan to eat until full,might need to fork out some money..  sweat.gif

I one person only so harder..was walking back and forth in the market. One ahjunma(?) saw me, she speak very good mandarin, so suggest me buy those already cut fish..10k won. Ok for me, since got 3 type inside, if buy 1 fish cheapest also she say 20k won...haha. then she guide me to the nearby shop and I pay 3k won for the restaurant for the side dishes..
thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by anechoic: Dec 8 2011, 10:15 AM
anechoic
post Dec 8 2011, 11:06 AM

TY
2,278 posts

haha..i also went to nami island alone. good for photo taking. more feel if got partner lor..haha.

DMZ have half day and 1 day tour. About 40k won for halfday if i am not wrong and need to book at least 1 day earlier. Most hotel/guesthouse have this info i believe. Else, can go for ferry trip on Han River or Namsan park/N-tower.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0554sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 02:25 AM