121 Pages « < 105 106 107 108 109 > » Bottom

Buying Gold As Investment V2, 2011 Gold Rush From Oil Hype

chengcheng
post Aug 22 2011, 09:03 PM

294 posts

QUOTE(TruthHurts @ Aug 22 2011, 07:31 PM)
Gold is a kind of protection against inflation and currency value drops.

Lets say you have cash value worth rm 100 and gold value worth of rm100. After a year inflasiton and currency value effected, your cash value is worth rm50 which was value 100 a year back, but your gold retain that rm100 value. Since gold have its own value, your rm100 gold worth rm200 in international market. Know this, If economic drop so does the currency worth, but gold will ALWAYS retain its value through out time. See your history, everything traded is in GOLD ! Cash value is acctually backed up by GOLD.
Consider GOLD is the basic pure form of money.

Added on August 22, 2011, 7:33 pm

Me thinks you should learn more about GOLD value/ GOLD market and stop thinking about profit for a while. After your knowledge has gain much then you can think about profit making using GOLD.
Thank you.. Thank u.

But there was an earlier post that gold value is based in fiat money. So if fiat money gone.. Gold is also worthless??

Plus it also says gold is just a metal that ppl put value on... I think this is true oso?

What's ur thought on this?

notworthy.gif

monsta2011
post Aug 22 2011, 10:17 PM

432 posts

Good to see greens in US market biggrin.gif .
keii-kun
post Aug 22 2011, 11:03 PM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(jian5481 @ Aug 22 2011, 04:13 PM)
As mentioned before, Maybank and CIMB are using percentage to calculate the spread. So it's obvious that the gap between selling and buying will be higher as the price increases. It's the same as goldsmiths. They use 6-8% spread for bullion, 20-25% for jewelries.
correct! for everyone's reference

gold passbook
maybank - 4.1% spread buy back (that's about right since last year)
uob - 1.1% spread
cimb - 2.94%

physical
public gold 20gm - 6%
uob aus nugget/maple - 3.1%

goldsmiths i.e tomei (someone mentioned before) give 8% spread buyback, but i'm sure you can't even open the case to enjoy the 8% spread.
arrsoo
post Aug 23 2011, 12:19 AM

600 posts

QUOTE(keii-kun @ Aug 22 2011, 11:03 PM)
correct! for everyone's reference

gold passbook
maybank - 4.1% spread buy back (that's about right since last year)
uob - 1.1% spread
cimb - 2.94%

physical
public gold 20gm - 6%
uob aus nugget/maple - 3.1%

goldsmiths i.e tomei (someone mentioned before) give 8% spread buyback, but i'm sure you can't even open the case to enjoy the 8% spread.
jewellery shop will only buy back their own gold bars at 10-12% spreads, the 8% spread buy back is only for trade in with their jewellery products. other gold bars which were not bought from them, the will only take in at a 25-40% off their listing price depending on brands, certifications, conditions and most important the ori receipts. No matter how, it is not worth it getting from them IMO

This post has been edited by arrsoo: Aug 23 2011, 12:29 AM
TruthHurts
post Aug 23 2011, 12:36 AM

654 posts

QUOTE(chengcheng @ Aug 22 2011, 09:03 PM)
Thank you.. Thank u.

But there was an earlier post that gold value is based in fiat money. So if fiat money gone.. Gold is also worthless??

Plus it also says gold is just a metal that ppl put value on... I think this is true oso?

What's ur thought on this?

notworthy.gif
What is FIAT Money ..
"Fiat money is money that has value only because of government regulation or law. The term derives from the Latin fiat, meaning "let it be done", as such money is established by government decree. Where fiat money is used as currency, the term fiat currency is used."
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fiat_money

Meaning Gold is the still BASE of all. Think this, if goverment fall, the currency fall cause different goverment place its own value on its own currency.
Ringgit Malaysia is value ONLY in Malaysia but not other country because Malaysian govement said so. And we trade everything within Malaysia is Ringgit Malaysia. PERIOD !! Not in USD, not in SGD but in RM !!
GOLD how ever is a type of Global Currency. If you can travel back to time, only and ONLY Gold has worth. Imagine you have today's RM and go back in time say 1960. Your cash is worthless, good enough to be toilet paper because Malaysian goverment back then never decree your cash has value. So you return from 1960 bring the old cash back here and your 1960 cash is still worthless since the goverment decree the latest vesion of cash has value.
If you bring a bar of Gold to 1960, it will worth an amount of cash value market back then and if you return to 2011, your gold will still have the amount worth today.

QUOTE(chengcheng @ Aug 22 2011, 09:03 PM)
The story was, last time people use BARTER system. I trade my chicken for your goat but given that you agreed on it. If you dont want my chicken then we dont trade, but i still want your goat so how to settle this ? You may want Cow for your Goat. So in term of Cow size vs Goat size I will most likely ask me to add another goat to go with it which you only have one goat. So how to settle this?
Gold is use, hard to find, last forever as cash throughout time. So we put gold as value to counteract the barter exchange. So now, i buy your goat for 2 gold coins and you buy my cow for 4 gold coins. We have a trade, so everyone value gold as currency so i can buy anything i want without the hassle of what the other guy want.

This post has been edited by TruthHurts: Aug 23 2011, 12:40 AM
SUSsoundsyst64
post Aug 23 2011, 05:18 AM

I'm No-Longer-Noobs
3,725 posts

gold will reach $1900 in the morning today biggrin.gif
lustman
post Aug 23 2011, 05:47 AM

256 posts

a million dollar question for you.....

the price touched $1900. is it a good time to buy?????
Asus W3V
post Aug 23 2011, 06:13 AM

166 posts

omg above 1900!
SUSsoundsyst64
post Aug 23 2011, 06:32 AM

I'm No-Longer-Noobs
3,725 posts

QUOTE(lustman @ Aug 23 2011, 05:47 AM)
a million dollar question for you.....

the price touched $1900. is it a good time to buy?????
perfect answer - better buy before you regret biggrin.gif
prophetjul
post Aug 23 2011, 07:54 AM

12,279 posts

chengcheng
post Aug 23 2011, 08:01 AM

294 posts

Wow! USD$ 1910.

Gotta go top up more... Sigh .. The queue at the bank will be long.

But earn a bit Liao..

rclxms.gif tongue.gif rclxms.gif

prophetjul
post Aug 23 2011, 08:04 AM

12,279 posts

Be very careful oh............emotions can casue you mucho

ITs very very overbought................
DM3
post Aug 23 2011, 08:22 AM

INSPIRATOR
6,620 posts

wah like tht will sell off gold frm maybank n get frm UOB
GoldChan
post Aug 23 2011, 09:18 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Aug 23 2011, 08:04 AM)
Be very careful oh............emotions can casue you mucho

ITs very very overbought................
agreed! manipulator is drawing the crowd for a kill. drool.gif
for buyer if U scare U miss the boat, just buy with your spare-spare cash
correction can be painful.

Added on August 23, 2011, 9:21 am
QUOTE(Asus W3V @ Aug 23 2011, 06:13 AM)
omg above 1900!
http://www.zerohedge.com/news/battle-libya...s-144-tons-gold

correction may be coming soon.

This post has been edited by GoldChan: Aug 23 2011, 09:21 AM
prophetjul
post Aug 23 2011, 09:31 AM

12,279 posts

QUOTE(GoldChan @ Aug 23 2011, 09:18 AM)
agreed! manipulator is drawing the crowd for a kill.  drool.gif
for buyer if U scare U miss the boat, just buy with your spare-spare cash
correction can be painful.

Added on August 23, 2011, 9:21 am

http://www.zerohedge.com/news/battle-libya...s-144-tons-gold

correction may be coming soon.
One person has modelled gold prices aginast its 200DMA.
EVERYTIME gold price has gone past 25% of its 200DMA, beware!
It is now 28% above its 200DMA...............beware

Those who has ears to hear, let them hear
yacanni
post Aug 23 2011, 09:39 AM

29 posts

wah ... feel wan to sell all my paper gold today...

any advice from expert? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by yacanni: Aug 23 2011, 09:44 AM
vandetta
post Aug 23 2011, 10:09 AM

658 posts

QUOTE(soundsyst64 @ Aug 23 2011, 06:32 AM)
perfect answer - better buy before you regret biggrin.gif
Will the price increase a lot more? I am afraid the current price is already too high and if we buy now, it will drop back to around 1,700 after USD bounce back.
Alexdino
post Aug 23 2011, 10:24 AM

2,006 posts

QUOTE(vandetta @ Aug 23 2011, 10:09 AM)
Will the price increase a lot more? I am afraid the current price is already too high and if we buy now, it will drop back to around 1,700 after USD bounce back.
no 1 know now.. the price change so fast.

Buy some now, and pump in again at 1700

This post has been edited by Alexdino: Aug 23 2011, 10:31 AM
chengcheng
post Aug 23 2011, 10:35 AM

294 posts

EErrr... I read that Gold is a different asset class from stock bonds etc.

If i remember, DMA all this is use to measure stock market??

Will it be the same??

What does DMA says before the DJ crash??

hmm.gif hmm.gif
lustman
post Aug 23 2011, 11:00 AM

256 posts

correction I totally agree, but 1700..... cum on

when i bought in january this year, i think around 138/g, everyone says too expensive, correction will be soon, so i waited. believe it or not i've been waiting till today. go figure.

off course, anything can happen at anytime anyday

121 Pages « < 105 106 107 108 109 > » Top

0.0332sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 06:01 AM