Old skool shaving, Best and closest shave ever

veron208
post Jan 19 2015, 11:43 AM

702 posts

Any recommendation for a startup kit ? I don't mind to mix and match.

Was looking at EJ DE89 with Van Der Hagen Set.

Ebony Stand

Van Der Hagen Set

veron208
post Mar 23 2016, 03:09 PM

702 posts

Any good after shave lotion or cream ?
Still getting a few nicks from DE
veron208
post Apr 16 2016, 08:50 AM

702 posts

QUOTE(daijoubu @ Apr 16 2016, 01:29 AM)
Would like to share with you guys my Shaving Collection smile.gif.

Shaver: Edwin Jagger DE89 Knurled

Brush: Semogue 620 Excelsior Boar Bristle (main), Semogue 1305 Boar Bristle (unused), Omega S10065 Boar Bristle (retired)

Hard Soap: Mitchell's Wool Fat, Tabac Original

Italian Croap: Cella Crema Da Babra (almond scented), Virgilio Valobra (unscented)

Razor: Wilkinson Sword

So far my fav soaps are the Mitchell's and Cella. I've started off with shaving creams but once I've started using these two, never touched the shaving creams anymore.
I have plenty of mediocre razors but my fav so far is the Wilkinson. Haven't had the chance to try other good ones.

I have plenty of unused shaving creams and 1 Tabac hard soap refill. Anyone interested to take them off me? PM me to offer smile.gif.
Which shaving creams you planned to let go ?
veron208
post Apr 20 2016, 12:34 PM

702 posts

I am using this shaving cream.

This post has been edited by veron208: Apr 20 2016, 12:34 PM
veron208
post Jun 30 2016, 03:14 PM

702 posts

QUOTE(GaryLBV @ Jun 30 2016, 12:56 PM)
Are there any straight razor users here? I'm using one. Would love to share experience.
Not for me since I got shaky hands
veron208
post Jul 14 2016, 09:15 AM

702 posts

QUOTE(imran85 @ Jul 12 2016, 10:56 AM)
Hi Guys,

Where do you get your razors from? I bought two from a mamak and i am getting mixed results and one broke and the other seems to rust quite fast which scares me to use it. I did however fall in love with how close the shave was with the double edge razor but I think I need a replacement with a slight bit more quality to avoid the rust.

Got the Persona 100pcs / box from Amazon
veron208
post Apr 25 2017, 04:07 PM

702 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Apr 23 2017, 08:26 PM)
Well after buying the AS-D2, I needed a shaving cream and brush, so I'm planning on getting the following:

1. Taylor of Old Bond Street Shaving Cream - Avocado (GBP 7.50)
http://connaughtshaving.com/tayscb.html

2. Edwin Jagger EJ28 synthetic brush (GBP 27.50)
http://connaughtshaving.com/3ej282synst.html

Any thoughts or comments before I commit? Thanks.
You can get a brush stand to hang and dry the brush. How are you going to mix the cream ? You can use a small cup like me smile.gif
I have tested Taylor of Old Bond Street Shaving Cream - Sandalwood and it smells refreshing.
veron208
post Apr 25 2017, 05:29 PM

702 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Apr 25 2017, 04:37 PM)
Damn, a shavette. That's as bad as a straight razor to someone like me at this stage. Can't imagine me ever using one...
I ordered a cheapo (supposedly stainless steel) bowl from eBay. But I prefer the rustic look of a wooden bowl though, so I may get one in the future (saw one for RM 30 in muji). I heard the avocado lathers the most and has most lubrication. And it has less scent compared to the rest. All of which should bode well for someone with acne prone skin like me.
You can get an aftershave from Loccitane.
veron208
post Nov 10 2017, 09:40 AM

702 posts

anyone here have tried out the mingshi 2000 ? planning to get one since it is adjustable to try out a few settings

veron208
post Nov 26 2017, 10:23 PM

702 posts

I got my ming shi 2000s last week ... put the setting at 2.5 ... nice shave and not that aggressive compared to my EJ
veron208
post Jan 1 2018, 09:47 AM

702 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Dec 9 2017, 03:25 PM)
Just received this earlier this week. Ming Shi with stand from Aliexpress that I bought on 11.11 for USD9.87.
[attachmentid=9417955]

Read up on a few different ways to use an adjustable, in the end I'm just sticking to the mildest setting. It takes a lot more passes, but I can get a smooth shave with no skin irritation at all. Zero.

The end result is almost as smooth as my shavette, close enough that probably only I can tell the difference.

Will use it on those mornings when I'm too brain-dead to operate my shavette properly.  biggrin.gif
nice stand u have there ... which setting you used for your ming shi ? I am using 2.5 now and I definitely need more passes compared to my EJ
veron208
post Jan 1 2018, 10:53 PM

702 posts

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ Jan 1 2018, 10:02 PM)
Hi there, I have been using cheapo Gillette vector and now looking for cleaner shave.
After seeing your post I thought of getting this Ming Shi as well.

Just want to know, where do you get the brush and what kind of shaving foam you use? I plan to buy from taobao or aliexpress for the mingshi, just wondering is the brush and special foam necessary (I am using those standard gillette foam now).

And usually how many weeks/months does one blade last? Does the replaceable blade's brand matter?
Pardon for many questions smile.gif
if you are getting the bundle from the same seller for ming shi ... u can get their stand and also their blades.
i have their blades but i am still using my old persona blades.
Dont bother to get their cheapo foam and try getting better soap to lather
veron208
post Jan 2 2018, 12:47 AM

702 posts

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ Jan 1 2018, 11:00 PM)
I found the bundle, most likely will get it... any recommended place/website to buy better soap/foam?
As for the brush.. I only found synthetic brush but not badger hair brushes (mostly costs a lot and overseas only). Will it be fine?
i got my badger and soap from US .. no idea on how the synthetic brush will work but i think it will be just fine.

veron208
post Jan 17 2018, 11:57 AM

702 posts

Any recommendation for shaving soap and where to get them ?
veron208
post Aug 27 2018, 04:30 PM

702 posts

QUOTE(biloxee @ Aug 22 2018, 12:18 PM)
The Body Shop For Men Maca Root anyone?
Any review on the cream ?
veron208
post Nov 18 2018, 11:20 PM

702 posts

QUOTE(mujinkun @ Nov 17 2018, 06:40 PM)
Do you all shave and wet the face using warm water? Or just normal tap water also enough?
usually have a warm shower first then only start the shaving

0.0237sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 02:40 PM