JohnL77
post Jul 1 2024, 11:50 AM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Jan 29 2023, 10:59 PM)
So this happened after a few years.
[attachmentid=11407732]
I'm wondering if the sifus here can enlighten me, is this because it's a cheap copy, or because I didn't wipe dry after every use?
Maybe it's made of copper and it started rusting.

Congratulations, you have a patinated razor now lol.
JohnL77
post Jul 1 2024, 02:53 PM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Jul 1 2024, 02:50 PM)
Lol a touch of wabi-sabi eh?

I doubt it is copper or brass though. Even the original Merkur is just die cast zinc and I believe copper and brass are more expensive.

I'm no metallurgist but I don't know of any other metals that patinate green.
You never know the magic of China... They can sell expensive things at insanely low prices. Who knows, they might have mixed a little bit of copper into their zamak?

Looks like there's some brown rust too?

This post has been edited by JohnL77: Jul 1 2024, 02:55 PM
JohnL77
post Jul 1 2024, 03:16 PM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Jul 1 2024, 03:07 PM)
Entirely possible.

The brown is on the blade edge? Probably coz I use my blades way longer than most people recommend. Something like 2 months or more.
Aren't you worried the rust will get into your bloodstream if you cut yourself?
JohnL77
post Jul 1 2024, 03:45 PM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Jul 1 2024, 03:25 PM)
I probably should be...

But the GSB is so mild, combined with the mildest setting on the Futur clone, I've yet to cut myself with it.
Where to buy GSB?
JohnL77
post Jul 1 2024, 08:50 PM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Jul 1 2024, 04:16 PM)
Connaught shaving:
https://www.connaughtshaving.com/gilsbs.html

I got 10 boxes many years ago. Only used up about half so far.
Is it the same as Gillette Platinum sold by Charmwise?

JohnL77
post Jul 13 2024, 10:55 AM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Jul 2 2024, 10:53 AM)
Different. I don’t remember if I have tried it before though. I bought a tester pack of various blades many many years ago and that's when I fell in love with the GSB.

Anyway, I did a search and found this:
https://www.badgerandblade.com/forum/thread...google_vignette
Nice find.

Hmm GSB very expensive. I'll KIV.

A lot of people in the thread also said Gillette 7OC Super Platinum are good. But also expensive.

If I ever order from Connaught, I'll grab the Russian Nacets too. The made in China Super Nacet didn't impress me.

0.0161sec    1.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 08:19 AM