12 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

VW Polo 1.2 VS Peugeot 308 Turbo, Please help

boynextdoor
post Oct 11 2011, 01:13 PM

19 posts

If i was you, i'd go for the polo. Its the current hype. Nevertheless you get supercharged. low fuel input good performance output smile.gif interior wise its not bad la.. put a slightly darker tinted and you will feel cozy inside!
zzuhairz
post Mar 7 2012, 06:09 AM

24 posts

same dilemma, torn between the 4 chicks:

1) Focus TDCi (RM 124 393; both sedan & hatchback) [5.8l/100km claimed] [6-speed]
2) Polo (RM 113 888) - 5 years warranty (unlimited mileage, but no free service) [5.9l/100km claimed] [7-speed DSG]
3) Polo GTI (RM 132 888 - 3 doors, RM135 888 - 5 doors) - *same as Polo [5.9l/100km claimed] [7-speed DSG]
4) 308 Turbo (RM 118 888) - 3 YEARS FREE SERVICE INCL. PARTS & LABOR [7.6l/100km claimed] [6-speed Porsche]

usage:
travels average 80km/day; urban 80%

main concerns:
1 fuel consumption
2 maintenance cost
3 reliability (on par with vios, city; don't want like proton!!!)
4 till death do us part-type of owner *not changing car till it's time to write off; my previous car all used >9years

now... I'd really love to get the Polo GTI 3-door (a bit selfish considering I have a family, but since I'll be using it to commute alone daily to work & the 5-door model is extra 3k, I guess this should be ok ha ha!) because it's SEXY, AWESOME, SUPER-FAST! tried polo 1.2 TSI & immediately fell in love with it, read reviews on polo GTI it's more awesome (also I read somewhere the 1.4 GTI FC is better than the 1.2 TSI.. please clarify on this) thus badly wants it but it it THE MOST EXPENSIVE of them all... but again, their service is only every 15k right? thus the need for further decision-making process.

then, checked up on 308 TURBO, the specs, extras, MORE-ROOMY, the 3-years free service which included parts&labor & the 1.88% DO TEMPTS ME BAD. the salesperson kept calling for me to test drive it, says I should test it & polo, both & then decide - he seems really confident with 308 TURBO. haven't tried yet, but going to soon but now a bit busy. the downside is i there're many bad reviews on NAZA, not to mention the common saying "what do you expect, it's French, not German" cool2.gif

finally the TDCi - it's the BIGGEST of them all, reliable & proven turbo-diesel & read about it's awesome FC etc. price also is between 308 TURBO & Polo GTI. but then, this is the oldest model in the market compared to the others.

in summary, I think my main concern returns to its FC & maintenance - which 1 should I get, & why? icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by zzuhairz: Mar 7 2012, 06:21 AM
Bliz
post Mar 7 2012, 08:57 AM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(zzuhairz @ Mar 7 2012, 06:09 AM)

1) Focus TDCi (RM 124 393; both sedan & hatchback) [5.8l/100km claimed] [6-speed]
2) Polo (RM 113 888)  - 5 years warranty (unlimited mileage, but no free service) [5.9l/100km claimed] [7-speed DSG]
3) Polo GTI (RM 132 888 - 3 doors, RM135 888 - 5 doors) - *same as Polo  [5.9l/100km claimed] [7-speed DSG]
4) 308 Turbo (RM 118 888) - 3 YEARS FREE SERVICE INCL. PARTS & LABOR [7.6l/100km claimed] [6-speed Porsche]

usage:

main concerns:
1 fuel consumption
2 maintenance cost
4 till death do us part-type of owner *not changing car till it's time to write off; my previous car all used >9years
now... I'd really love to get the Polo GTI 3-door (a bit selfish considering I have a family, but since I'll be using it to commute alone daily to work & the 5-door model is extra 3k, I guess this should be ok ha ha!) because it's SEXY, AWESOME, SUPER-FAST! tried polo 1.2 TSI & immediately fell in love with it, read reviews on polo GTI it's more awesome (also I read somewhere the 1.4 GTI FC is better than the 1.2 TSI.. please clarify on this) thus badly wants it but it it THE MOST EXPENSIVE of them all... but again, their service is only every 15k right? thus the need for further decision-making process.

then, checked up on 308 TURBO, the specs, extras, MORE-ROOMY, the 3-years free service which included parts&labor & the 1.88% DO TEMPTS ME BAD. the salesperson kept calling for me to test drive it, says I should test it & polo, both & then decide - he seems really confident with 308 TURBO. haven't tried yet, but going to soon but now a bit busy. the downside is i there're many bad reviews on NAZA, not to mention the common saying "what do you expect, it's French, not German"  cool2.gif

finally the TDCi - it's the BIGGEST of them all, reliable & proven turbo-diesel & read about it's awesome FC etc. price also is between 308 TURBO & Polo GTI. but then, this is the oldest model in the market compared to the others.
in summary, I think my main concern returns to its FC & maintenance - which 1 should I get, & why? icon_question.gif
I have driven 3 of the cars above , only the GTI i have yet to drive.. I believe i can give u some ideas,

1) Comfort - definitely focus, followed by peugeot 308 and lastly Polo
2) Size - focus as well, followed by peugeot 308 and polo ( well if u dun mind the small size polo is fine for single driver)
3) High speed stability - i believe focus and 308 is pretty much neck on neck, can't say so for polo
4) FC - polo and focus first, p308 is pretty makan minyak ( city drive is around 9-10km for 1 litre of fuel, according to my friend who has it )
5) Service - Polo should be the cheapest since it's the smallest car and lowest capacity.. Ford an peogeot are quite similar
6) Engine noise - if u are very particular about engine noise then the focus is not for u, however good the diesel engine might be it still won't come anywhere close to petrol engine in terms of refinement but u do get the awesome kick in the back feeling once u press the throttle on focus tdci wub.gif
7) Handling and steering feel - Of all definitely the focus has the best steering feel ( not too heavy and not too light, just right ), handling is focus as well, 308 and polo is quite bumpy especially sitting at the back

In the end of the day, go and test drive each and every of the car to be sure. Myself chosen the focus tdci after test driving

turbocharged
post Mar 7 2012, 09:00 AM

250 posts

FC should be Diesel, maintenance is all the same, all has their fair share of problem.

but i must say that, if this is the first car in the family, and you dont have any problem sedan car, you might need to put priority on getting a bigger/roomier car. 2 years later when you are tired of speeding, and you kids grow bigger, and the car is so small.

so many times i saw ppl cramp 5 person in a polo. why not just use the money to buy an altis? 5 person in a polo is a joke. even 5 person in a golf is a joke. just my opinion though. its more than 100k car, it should at least be able to ferry everyone comfortably.

TDCI is bigger, torquey, best FC. but new version is coming, better wait. or wait for 308turbo sedan ( 408 ) polo gti, best as second car. but polo gti need to wait 1 year.

azbro
post Mar 7 2012, 12:00 PM

4,403 posts

then, checked up on 308 TURBO, the specs, extras, MORE-ROOMY, the 3-years free service which included parts&labor & the 1.88% DO TEMPTS ME BAD. the salesperson kept calling for me to test drive it, says I should test it & polo, both & then decide - he seems really confident with 308 TURBO.
He is confident and ask you to test drive the 308T because it is poison!

I test drive most of C segment cars, but nothing will prepare you for the 308T...damn torque...very addictive...I paid deposit straight away after the test drive.

But after I get the car, I tend to press the accelerator less....because the more you press....$$$ petrol gone...
kadajawi
post Mar 7 2012, 02:36 PM

544 posts

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Mar 7 2012, 09:00 AM)
FC should be Diesel, maintenance is all the same, all has their fair share of problem.

but i must say that, if this is the first car in the family, and you dont have any problem sedan car, you might need to put priority on getting a bigger/roomier car. 2 years later when you are tired of speeding, and you kids grow bigger, and the car is so small.

so many times i saw ppl cramp 5 person in a polo. why not just use the money to buy an altis? 5 person in a polo is a joke. even 5 person in a golf is a joke. just my opinion though. its more than 100k car, it should at least be able to ferry everyone comfortably.

TDCI is bigger, torquey, best FC. but new version is coming, better wait. or wait for 308turbo sedan ( 408 ) polo gti, best as second car. but polo gti need to wait 1 year.
The Altis is so good they don't even bother to offer it in Europe, cause they don't want to ruin their competitors. That, or no one would buy it. It seems like the Altis was specially meant for developing countries.

5 person in a Golf isn't an issue, I traveled with 6 in an early 90s Nissan March with lots of luggage. Actually it was quite nice laugh.gif Everything is possible.

Ford SCs don't have a good reputation, Naza doesn't either. VW does, but the car really is at most a 4 seater.
turbocharged
post Mar 7 2012, 02:42 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Mar 7 2012, 02:36 PM)
The Altis is so good they don't even bother to offer it in Europe, cause they don't want to ruin their competitors. That, or no one would buy it. It seems like the Altis was specially meant for developing countries.

5 person in a Golf isn't an issue, I traveled with 6 in an early 90s Nissan March with lots of luggage. Actually it was quite nice laugh.gif Everything is possible.

Ford SCs don't have a good reputation, Naza doesn't either. VW does, but the car really is at most a 4 seater.
come on mate, i was sitting in the rear seat of a golf tsi to lunch, and...no, it sucks. lol. so small and cramped.

to ferry ppl as a family car, altis or focus is better than golf and polo. but.....thats just me smile.gif

as second car, yes, a polo gti would be even better biggrin.gif for wife to go to work, and for husband to blast around in the weekend.

golf and polo is ok for small family. 2 adult sitting in front is fine for both car biggrin.gif

mate, in 90s, you and I both are smaller than now.

kadajawi
post Mar 7 2012, 02:59 PM

544 posts

Haha, I'm still small, so I didn't think the Golf is too small in the rear. There shouldn't be a big difference between a Golf and a Focus... hm, weird. It is also the most popular car in Germany, also being used as a family car, so it can't be that small, with Caucasians generally being a bit taller/wider than Asians.

Maybe the passenger/driver pushed the seat waaay back in the Golf, and in the Focus they didn't?

The March (Micra) was quite old at that time (I think it was 2006), although it soldiered on for a few more years. All adults in the car, with one of the European XL type (taking one half of the rear bench...). It must have looked like a well played game of Tetris laugh.gif

This post has been edited by kadajawi: Mar 7 2012, 02:59 PM
turbocharged
post Mar 7 2012, 03:00 PM

250 posts

just like how we wonder how can the original mini seat 4 ppl biggrin.gif
JC999
post Mar 7 2012, 03:02 PM

659 posts

to note focus road tax is the most expensive also
zzuhairz
post Mar 8 2012, 11:47 AM

24 posts

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Mar 7 2012, 09:00 AM)

i already have honda crv & kia spectra, this new car is purely for me to commute to work since d crv consumes too much fuel & d spectra is getting more unreliable of late. funny how my 11-years old crv is still more reliable, less break down then my 8 3/4-years old spectra :-p

maybe i'll wait for the new TDCi? any insider knowledge of when it's coming out? :-)

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Mar 7 2012, 02:42 PM)
come on mate, i was sitting in the rear seat of a golf tsi to lunch, and...no, it sucks. lol. so small and cramped.

to ferry ppl as a family car, altis or focus is better than golf and polo. but.....thats just me smile.gif

as second car, yes, a polo gti would be even better biggrin.gif for wife to go to work, and for husband to blast around in the weekend.

golf and polo is ok for small family. 2 adult sitting in front is  fine for both car biggrin.gif

mate, in 90s, you and I both are smaller than now.
it's ok, my family incl. me all are but small-sized persons. i'm 160cm 46 kg, my wife's 162cm 45kg. i doubt our children will get significantly larger than the 2 of us :-p

thanks all for the info, whatever it is I'll wait till near election; hopefully najib will throw out some more gula2 ;-)
fr0sti3
post Mar 8 2012, 06:31 PM

F0NZz1e
1,095 posts

main concerns:
1 fuel consumption
TDCI would definitely be the best in FC follow by 1.2 turbo
my polo tsi on full tank (40litres) in city driving around 530km, on highway around 600km (penang to kl at 120kph, uses half tank)

2 maintenance cost
they should be similar, it's the service centre u have to worry about.
naza i have no experience, fords are stuck with sime darby
vw have a number sc of choices in KL/selangor
last year's polo gti batch have piston ring recall issue

TDCI is good, but a bit dated on interior.
Polo TSI so far i only have minor issues (aircon piping rattling, easy fix)
308t no experience but some forum mention electronics issue (change battery solves it i think)

so far vw is offering 5 year unlimited milage warranty for all their range
i'm happy with my polo tsi interior, i'm around 170cm 60kg. so it's ok

polo gti booking is a major pile up all the way to next year it seems,
space wise, tdci & 308t wins. been in my friends TDCI driving to singapore b4, it's comfortable
if u can still manage to get 2011 unreg golf tsi, it has a big chunk of discount (10k+)

new focus probably won't have turbo diesel only petrol (speculations)
320nm torque from TDCI is yummy drool.gif

This post has been edited by fr0sti3: Mar 8 2012, 06:35 PM
turbocharged
post Mar 8 2012, 07:12 PM

250 posts

those cars that you listed are fun with good handling , either one wont be wrong wink.gif

This post has been edited by turbocharged: Mar 8 2012, 07:13 PM
Madgeiser
post Mar 8 2012, 07:40 PM

433 posts

2) Polo (RM 113 888)  - 5 years warranty (unlimited mileage, but no free service) [5.9l/100km claimed] [7-speed DSG]
3) Polo GTI (RM 132 888 - 3 doors, RM135 888 - 5 doors) - *same as Polo  [5.9l/100km claimed] [7-speed DSG]

usage:

main concerns:
1 fuel consumption
2 maintenance cost

then, checked up on 308 TURBO, the specs, extras, MORE-ROOMY, the 3-years free service which included parts&labor & the 1.88% DO TEMPTS ME BAD. the salesperson kept calling for me to test drive it, says I should test it & polo, both & then decide - he seems really confident with 308 TURBO. haven't tried yet, but going to soon but now a bit busy. the downside is i there're many bad reviews on NAZA, not to mention the common saying "what do you expect, it's French, not German"  cool2.gif

LOL! I went thru the same list also.... finally decided on TDCi. The torque is just pure joy!

1. Polo TSI is a good car, small and zippy. Should be very economical in fuel consumption. The downside is the space, a tad too small for ferrying family.

2. Peugeot 308THP, didn't test this one. I just didn't like the design, it looks a bit funny to me.

3. Polo GTI, definitely the fastest among all the four. It is a twincharger after all. Long long waiting period thought, about 1 year. Same problem with the TSI, a bit too small for ferrying family.

4. Focus TDCi, it is a really very fun to drive this car. The moment you step on the accelerator, and you will know what i meant. The sedan would be a perfect choice for ferrying member. Downside is, it is a diesel car.
zzuhairz
post Mar 18 2012, 11:45 PM

24 posts

damn it. they just put another chick 4 me to choose: Prius C. only RM 97000. dayyymmmmm! 2 months delivery. too bad no test drive vehicle yet. have 2 wait a bit. display unit @ kg baru showroom. VERY nice specs for sub 100k car. polo gti waiting delivery next year so already outta d question. no news on latest TDCi. 308T my wife don't like the butt. says everything is nice but d back area is not really nice. girls; only care 4 d looks like d time she wanted a netbook: i want a pink netbook. LOL sweat.gif
chris_tco
post Mar 19 2012, 12:07 AM

47 posts

308turbo, of coz.
value for money!!
post Mar 19 2012, 12:10 AM

25 posts

hmm....
my polo tsi can only reach 350km on a full tank...also city driving....was it like this when you first bought it?

QUOTE(fr0sti3 @ Mar 8 2012, 06:31 PM)
main concerns:
1 fuel consumption
TDCI would definitely be the best in FC follow by 1.2 turbo
my polo tsi on full tank (40litres) in city driving around 530km, on highway around 600km (penang to kl at 120kph, uses half tank)

2 maintenance cost
they should be similar, it's the service centre u have to worry about.
naza i have no experience, fords are stuck with sime darby
vw have a number sc of choices in KL/selangor
last year's polo gti batch have piston ring recall issue

TDCI is good, but a bit dated on interior.
Polo TSI so far i only have minor issues (aircon piping rattling, easy fix)
308t no experience but some forum mention electronics issue (change battery solves it i think)

so far vw is offering 5 year unlimited milage warranty for all their range
i'm happy with my polo tsi interior, i'm around 170cm 60kg. so it's ok

polo gti booking is a major pile up all the way to next year it seems,
space wise, tdci & 308t wins. been in my friends TDCI driving to singapore b4, it's comfortable
if u can still manage to get 2011 unreg golf tsi, it has a big chunk of discount (10k+)

new focus probably won't have turbo diesel only petrol (speculations)
320nm torque from TDCI is yummy  drool.gif
fr0sti3
post Mar 19 2012, 03:32 PM

F0NZz1e
1,095 posts

My polo does at least 500km on full tank, since day 1
350km for full tank is very low... floor pedal a lot? if no go check sc
Glau
post Mar 19 2012, 05:46 PM

418 posts

my polo does 520km for 38 liters...not even full tank as full tank is 45liters.
mugenz
post Mar 19 2012, 05:52 PM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

mine also 500km++ for full tank of 97.

Normal cruise in city. Still only 12k mileage after 8months of use. Gonna do my 1st service soon! hahahaa

12 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0221sec    1.17    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 08:26 AM