personally, if u can get the bird in action (flying, eating, playing etc), u will have more unique poses rather then the bird is stationary.
Lowyat.net Bird Park Outing 2011, we post our results here!
Feb 27 2011, 10:35 AM
835 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
personally, if u can get the bird in action (flying, eating, playing etc), u will have more unique poses rather then the bird is stationary.
Feb 27 2011, 11:24 AM
1,680 posts Joined: Mar 2006 From: Subang |
Feb 27 2011, 11:29 AM
6,660 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Palace of sexology |
use what lens?
Feb 27 2011, 11:39 AM
2,448 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
Feb 27 2011, 11:55 AM
51 posts Joined: Feb 2011 From: KL |
QUOTE use what lens? I think you can go to his Flickr page and look up his photos' exif info. |
Feb 27 2011, 02:00 PM
381 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Feb 27 2011, 02:29 PM
835 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
QUOTE(Redcross @ Feb 27 2011, 11:24 AM) Close Up since it is out of focus, i try to recompose your pic. Din focus the eyes » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « dun angry ya. ![]() |
Feb 27 2011, 02:29 PM
Forum Admin
44,415 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
guys you old bird park pics you can post on your own thread. This thread is specifically for the recent outing. Fine if you're posting example to give tips like what Viking did.
Feb 27 2011, 02:35 PM
2,725 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
QUOTE(onijoseph @ Feb 27 2011, 02:29 PM) since it is out of focus, i try to recompose your pic. I thought it was some alien at first glance lolz.dun angry ya. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « They look weird without the eyes, but that doesn't mean it's wrong. Here's mine. Very average... still not used to it + lazy lolz. ![]() ![]() ![]() Although technically I didn't shoot with you guys... but I was there at the same place/time as you all are. So not considered off-topic right? LOLz This post has been edited by LegendLee: Feb 27 2011, 02:43 PM |
Feb 27 2011, 02:39 PM
3,065 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Feb 27 2011, 05:30 PM
2,696 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: forum.lowyat.net |
kytz, nice pictures, im guessing its not 70-200 right? nifty fifty or kitlens?
This post has been edited by Boomeraangkid: Feb 27 2011, 05:31 PM |
Feb 27 2011, 06:33 PM
2,021 posts Joined: Oct 2010 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(goldfries @ Feb 27 2011, 09:18 AM) Ooopss... okay. Sorry for being so mah farn but you were seated along the top or at a higher vantage point? At mmy previous visit there, I was sitting on the top bench of the lower rows of benches and seems like I'm taking the shot from the bottom while yours are taken from the top.Thanks in advance. This post has been edited by alexlimco: Feb 27 2011, 06:34 PM |
Feb 27 2011, 06:40 PM
Forum Admin
yeah higher point but not too high up. you know the center there's railings? it's that row, there's a small path there.
Feb 27 2011, 06:43 PM
QUOTE(goldfries @ Feb 27 2011, 06:40 PM) yeah higher point but not too high up. you know the center there's railings? it's that row, there's a small path there. Okie, okie. Thanks a lot. I will make time to go back next week someday and try to shoot at a higher point. I was not ready for the show the previous time and did not know how to take full advantage of the vantage point available. |
Feb 27 2011, 08:36 PM
Forum Admin
i been there before but even so i was uncertain of the flight path. i'm seated on the right side of the arena.
if you go, here's a few pointers..... 1) the raptors will do a few tricks, always take note of where they stop cos for next trick, the flight path will start from that point. 2) i used AI servo 3) i used high ISO, above 1000. for 550d and such, try 800 and shoot under-exposed a bit. make sure shutter speed is high, maybe 1/800? i used higher than that. aperture up to you, i have f4 but i stick at 4.5 to hopefully get a little better IQ. was using Av mode. 4) i shot using RAW. the exposure can be tricky cos when it's bright sunny day then the shaded area in the arena is dark while the outer area is really bright...... but msia weather is funny so it could suddenly be cloudy then you'll have to adapt to the change. good luck! |
Feb 27 2011, 08:48 PM
Wow... this is worth a thousand times more than it's length in gold. Thank you very much for the detailed explaination on what you did. I think it will help a lot of peeps in this forum.
Feb 27 2011, 08:57 PM
Forum Admin
oh yeah and just to add - i didn't zoom to 200 cos it'll be too difficult to focus on the high speed subject.
my focal length is around 70 - 100 range, center focus point. maximize the 18mp and crop the eagle out later. no choice, better crop a less sharp shot than missing completely. FYI this is my first time shootting a high speed bird in flight in a really really really long time. i just applied all the tips, techniques and theories together. btw for those who came that day, i had no pointers to give that day cos i'm totally blank that time as well. just agak agak flight path, then choose location, preset everything and hope for the best only. the results aren't great success as well as the raptor (kite) wasn't sharp but decent to use whe resized and applied a little sharpening. still need practice. |
Feb 28 2011, 02:39 AM
9,778 posts Joined: Jun 2005 From: KL(Wangsa Maju) , Seremban 2 |
QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Feb 27 2011, 03:24 AM) Can I also add (though the closest thing to birds I've shot are chickens.. cooked ones) that its nicer to see the whole bird instead of just bird face "portraits"? Second that, too many repetitive close up shots will make your shots boring. Try to take some whole bird shots. my noob cent. QUOTE(fruitie @ Feb 27 2011, 09:25 AM) Thanks. Walk around and hunt for those not inside the cage one then. QUOTE(onijoseph @ Feb 27 2011, 10:35 AM) personally, if u can get the bird in action (flying, eating, playing etc), u will have more unique poses rather then the bird is stationary. Good point. Try panning flying birds rather than boring stationary pose shot. Here's a sample of my very first bird panning shot though not that successful. ![]() Untitled by VK'z Gallery, on Flickr This post has been edited by vikingw2k: Feb 28 2011, 02:42 AM |
Feb 28 2011, 02:50 AM
Forum Admin
believe it or not - many of them actually did try!
myself, kytz, zhengyang, deodorant and a few others were on the bridge there just waiting for birds to come. btw viking, that shot is actually nice also mah. didn't freeze the wing but it gives a different feel with the motion blur which I think is nice in it's own way. where was that taken? Jurong Bird Park ah? |
Feb 28 2011, 03:00 AM
9,778 posts Joined: Jun 2005 From: KL(Wangsa Maju) , Seremban 2 |
QUOTE(goldfries @ Feb 28 2011, 02:50 AM) believe it or not - many of them actually did try! Shooting wildlife needs lotsa patience. I'm lack of it myself, kytz, zhengyang, deodorant and a few others were on the bridge there just waiting for birds to come. QUOTE(goldfries @ Feb 28 2011, 02:50 AM) btw viking, that shot is actually nice also mah. didn't freeze the wing but it gives a different feel with the motion blur which I think is nice in it's own way. where was that taken? Jurong Bird Park ah? Taken at our lauya National Zoo 2 years ago. |
| Change to: | 0.0244sec
5 queries
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 09:08 PM |