Lowyat.net Bird Park Outing 2011, we post our results here!

TSgoldfries
post Feb 26 2011, 05:48 PM, updated 15y ago

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

sorry I have no pictures yet, wait for the attendees to come post.

I'll post mine later.
TSgoldfries
post Feb 26 2011, 06:57 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

aiyah let people today wan share la. You go other day wan come share here is off topic already. Later others come post their other day visit pic then how? smile.gif
TSgoldfries
post Feb 26 2011, 09:09 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

people, try not to quote photos ahhhh. smile.gif you quote photos mean page drag long long no nice see.

Outing at KL Bird Park by goldfries, on Flickr

TSgoldfries
post Feb 26 2011, 09:19 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

-------- AND HERE COMES THE PREDATOR! biggrin.gif --------

TSgoldfries
post Feb 26 2011, 09:48 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(Boomeraangkid @ Feb 26 2011, 09:36 PM)
goldie, what lens u used?
70-200 F4 L USM
100 F2.8 macro USM

QUOTE(SoulPower @ Feb 26 2011, 09:39 PM)
Brian nice pics  smile.gif
thank you.

QUOTE(alexlimco @ Feb 26 2011, 09:42 PM)
Nice shots Brian. Are the shots of the flying eagle taken using TV mode and RAW?
I used Av mode. Actually intended to use Tv mode but then weather change and other thoughts come to mind, in the end I go back to Av mode but I made sure the shutter speed is really fast.

yes, RAW.

TSgoldfries
post Feb 26 2011, 10:19 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

father using Canon EF 180mm Macro f3.5 L. son using 70-200 F4L, not sure IS or not.
TSgoldfries
post Feb 26 2011, 10:25 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

ehh your kite shot looks nice leh.

btw that long yellow beak fella is hornbill also ah?
TSgoldfries
post Feb 26 2011, 10:34 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Feb 26 2011, 10:30 PM)
nono, the hornbill comment was referring to the red beak one that was eating the meat. think it was camera shake cos it was 'rush job' to grab sad.gif

yeah just noticed that.

QUOTE(deodorant @ Feb 26 2011, 10:30 PM)
btw Brian, your pictures damn sharp leh. Did you do any additional sharpening in PP?

yes a bit. the original one was sharp enough already, like the close up for the parrot. after resize, i just enhance it with Photoshop's Smart Sharpen. Just very slightly.

after resize smaller, sure loss a bit of sharpness so i think slight sharpening is justified. smile.gif

Added on February 26, 2011, 10:34 pm
QUOTE(wadever @ Feb 26 2011, 10:33 PM)
That's a Painted Stork
ok. biggrin.gif thanks.

TSgoldfries
post Feb 26 2011, 11:16 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

the one fruitie has i only took the back feather cos specimen don't look good, if i'm not mistaken.
TSgoldfries
post Feb 27 2011, 12:21 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

nice work there. need to be careful of background distractions.

i didn't post my stork pic cos compo i find too common, and that fella has mud on beak! bleh.

i got carried away with my parrot pic cos i love the colors. tongue.gif normally i'll just choose 1 of the subject cos not neccessary to repeat.
TSgoldfries
post Feb 27 2011, 09:18 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(alexlimco @ Feb 27 2011, 08:29 AM)
Goldfries,

Looked at the flying eagle shots again. I noticed that you were not seated in the auditorium when those shots are taken. If think you were somewhere near the waterfall railings overlooking the auditorium and the pond behind it, am I right?
I'm seated at the stadium laaa. biggrin.gif we're all sitting together 1 row.
TSgoldfries
post Feb 27 2011, 09:33 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

kytz, lovely pics there. try to use the closest af point possible, focus recompose may not be the best.

in many cases, just shoot then crop later.
TSgoldfries
post Feb 27 2011, 02:29 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

guys you old bird park pics you can post on your own thread. This thread is specifically for the recent outing. Fine if you're posting example to give tips like what Viking did.
TSgoldfries
post Feb 27 2011, 06:40 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

yeah higher point but not too high up. you know the center there's railings? it's that row, there's a small path there.
TSgoldfries
post Feb 27 2011, 08:36 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

i been there before but even so i was uncertain of the flight path. i'm seated on the right side of the arena.

if you go, here's a few pointers.....

1) the raptors will do a few tricks, always take note of where they stop cos for next trick, the flight path will start from that point.

2) i used AI servo

3) i used high ISO, above 1000. for 550d and such, try 800 and shoot under-exposed a bit. make sure shutter speed is high, maybe 1/800? i used higher than that. aperture up to you, i have f4 but i stick at 4.5 to hopefully get a little better IQ. was using Av mode.

4) i shot using RAW. the exposure can be tricky cos when it's bright sunny day then the shaded area in the arena is dark while the outer area is really bright...... but msia weather is funny so it could suddenly be cloudy then you'll have to adapt to the change.

good luck! smile.gif
TSgoldfries
post Feb 27 2011, 08:57 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

oh yeah and just to add - i didn't zoom to 200 cos it'll be too difficult to focus on the high speed subject.

my focal length is around 70 - 100 range, center focus point. maximize the 18mp and crop the eagle out later.

no choice, better crop a less sharp shot than missing completely.

FYI this is my first time shootting a high speed bird in flight in a really really really long time. tongue.gif my previous bird park outing was in early 08' newbie with 18-200 OS and no guidance which i don't consider it as a first time.

i just applied all the tips, techniques and theories together.

btw for those who came that day, i had no pointers to give that day cos i'm totally blank that time as well. just agak agak flight path, then choose location, preset everything and hope for the best only.

the results aren't great success as well as the raptor (kite) wasn't sharp but decent to use whe resized and applied a little sharpening. still need practice. smile.gif
TSgoldfries
post Feb 28 2011, 02:50 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

believe it or not - many of them actually did try! smile.gif we were on the bridge waiting for subject(s) to shoot but just couldn't get decent shots.

myself, kytz, zhengyang, deodorant and a few others were on the bridge there just waiting for birds to come. tongue.gif

btw viking, that shot is actually nice also mah. didn't freeze the wing but it gives a different feel with the motion blur which I think is nice in it's own way. where was that taken? Jurong Bird Park ah?
TSgoldfries
post Feb 28 2011, 11:57 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

aiyah keong kor using Imageshack, I see all frogs only.

0.0209sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 08:11 AM