5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Lowyat.net Bird Park Outing 2011, we post our results here!

zhengyang89
post Feb 27 2011, 12:25 AM

521 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Feb 27 2011, 12:21 AM)
nice work there. need to be careful of background distractions.

i didn't post my stork pic cos compo i find too common, and that fella has mud on beak! bleh.

i got carried away with my parrot pic cos i love the colors. tongue.gif normally i'll just choose 1 of the subject cos not neccessary to repeat.
i still got lots of photos...lolz . Still got lots of thing to learn from you all tongue.gif
zhengyang89
post Feb 27 2011, 12:29 AM

521 posts

KL Bird Park by zhengyang89, on Flickr

Redcross
post Feb 27 2011, 12:57 AM

1,680 posts

Power of HSS/Strobing tongue.gif

OOF picture cuz wasn't fast enough to focus *blames DSLR Body* doh.gif

post more tomolo, tidur dulu smile.gif

This post has been edited by Redcross: Feb 27 2011, 12:58 AM
razuryza
post Feb 27 2011, 01:11 AM

\('o')/~fewwwiitttt~\("0")/
5,515 posts

QUOTE(Redcross @ Feb 27 2011, 12:57 AM)
Power of HSS/Strobing  tongue.gif

post more tomolo, tidur dulu smile.gif
what power?
nothing special leh.. yawn.gif
ComradeZ
post Feb 27 2011, 01:32 AM

Feelwayoveryourhead
1,460 posts

QUOTE(razuryza @ Feb 27 2011, 01:11 AM)
what power?
nothing special leh.. yawn.gif
give the guy a break le laugh.gif at least something different from others laugh.gif
-kytz-
post Feb 27 2011, 01:37 AM

12,573 posts

Eh gratz on all the posters for the wonderful pictures thumbup.gif

One Simple question here, focus,recompose and shoot? smile.gif
Tony Stark
post Feb 27 2011, 01:38 AM

Jarvis where are you?
1,883 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Feb 27 2011, 01:37 AM)
One Simple question here, focus,recompose and shoot? smile.gif
and the question is? how to do it ka?
vexus
post Feb 27 2011, 01:46 AM

Master of Eatery & Sleeping
6,660 posts

any flashgun using in the shot?
-kytz-
post Feb 27 2011, 01:46 AM

12,573 posts

Sorry for the misleading words.. What I meant is, how do you all shoot birds? Do you lock focus on the eye, recompose and shoot, or just straight focus and shoot at the eye?

Yea, question to all the forumers here who posted those wonderful pictures thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Feb 27 2011, 01:47 AM
ComradeZ
post Feb 27 2011, 01:53 AM

Feelwayoveryourhead
1,460 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Feb 27 2011, 01:46 AM)
Sorry for the misleading words.. What I meant is, how do you all shoot birds? Do you lock focus on the eye, recompose and shoot, or just straight focus and shoot at the eye?

Yea, question to all the forumers here who posted those wonderful pictures thumbup.gif
It depends on various situation. Whereas a subject that can sit still maybe lock focus on the eye, if the angle doesn't feel right then recompose and shoot but if it do or die decision whereas it is just 1 moment that only happen just 1 time and dont know when it will be ever happen again so straight focus and shoot at the eye.

Though usually these things are rather personal preference or usually it is the kind of ways that you are comfortable with

just my humble opinion smile.gif

This post has been edited by ComradeZ: Feb 27 2011, 01:55 AM
vikingw2k
post Feb 27 2011, 02:19 AM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

Here's a quick tips to improve your birdy shots. Try to shoot the birds while blending it naturally with the environment. It actually applies to shooting any wildlife animals. smile.gif

Here's a quick sample.
Birdy Shot by VK'z Gallery, on Flickr

This post has been edited by vikingw2k: Feb 27 2011, 02:20 AM
ianho
post Feb 27 2011, 02:27 AM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

Wah! viking's bird bird got a very long ***k
sniper on the roof
post Feb 27 2011, 03:24 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(vikingw2k @ Feb 27 2011, 02:19 AM)
Here's a quick tips to improve your birdy shots. Try to shoot the birds while blending it naturally with the environment. It actually applies to shooting any wildlife animals.  smile.gif

[

Can I also add (though the closest thing to birds I've shot are chickens.. cooked ones) that its nicer to see the whole bird instead of just bird face "portraits"?
unsure.gif unsure.gif

my noob cent.
-kytz-
post Feb 27 2011, 06:04 AM

12,573 posts

Spam some pictures..

IMG_6127-4 by -kytz-, on Flickr

IMG_6129resizd by -kytz-, on Flickr

IMG_6122 - Copy by -kytz-, on Flickr
alexlimco
post Feb 27 2011, 08:29 AM

2,021 posts

Goldfries,

Looked at the flying eagle shots again. I noticed that you were not seated in the auditorium when those shots are taken. If think you were somewhere near the waterfall railings overlooking the auditorium and the pond behind it, am I right?
TSgoldfries
post Feb 27 2011, 09:18 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(alexlimco @ Feb 27 2011, 08:29 AM)
Goldfries,

Looked at the flying eagle shots again. I noticed that you were not seated in the auditorium when those shots are taken. If think you were somewhere near the waterfall railings overlooking the auditorium and the pond behind it, am I right?
I'm seated at the stadium laaa. biggrin.gif we're all sitting together 1 row.
fruitie
post Feb 27 2011, 09:25 AM

Rise and Shine
72,863 posts

QUOTE(vikingw2k @ Feb 27 2011, 02:19 AM)
Here's a quick tips to improve your birdy shots. Try to shoot the birds while blending it naturally with the environment. It actually applies to shooting any wildlife animals.  smile.gif

Here's a quick sample.

Birdy Shot by VK'z Gallery, on Flickr
Nice shot there VK... Agreed with your tips, but then if only not all birds are caged... sad.gif
deodorant
post Feb 27 2011, 09:28 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Feb 27 2011, 01:46 AM)
Do you lock focus on the eye, recompose and shoot, or just straight focus and shoot at the eye?
For me, 60d can select focus point using the 'joystick' so it was surprising how much faster I can choose which point I want compared to 500d.

what annoyed me a bit was having One-shot vs AI servo on at the wrong time. seems like everytime a bird was flying I was on one-shot. and everytime I wanted to focus-recompose I was on servo.

Added on February 27, 2011, 9:29 am@redcross your two pics look a tad underexposed to me (I'm on iPhone tho. not on calibrated monitor)

Added on February 27, 2011, 9:32 am@Zhengyang one of your stork pic got camera strap hanging on the right side leh!

@kytz actually I kinda line the colors on your birds a lot. very natural looking. I think compared to the rest of us who've perhaps bumped up the saturation/vibrance a little too much on some pics smile.gif

This post has been edited by deodorant: Feb 27 2011, 09:32 AM
TSgoldfries
post Feb 27 2011, 09:33 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

kytz, lovely pics there. try to use the closest af point possible, focus recompose may not be the best.

in many cases, just shoot then crop later.
vexus
post Feb 27 2011, 10:02 AM

Master of Eatery & Sleeping
6,660 posts

all L lens woohoo

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0330sec    0.54    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 06:02 PM