Volkswagen Cars Discussion V2..Golf,Polo,Scirocco, ..Eos/Passat/Tiguan etc. Das Auto!
futobuta
Mar 4 2011, 11:49 AM
QUOTE(gladfly @ Mar 4 2011, 11:00 AM) Hi Guys.. Just to keep you guys in the loop. I just went to SC for get them to rectify the rattling sounds near the B pillars for my wife's Golf TSI. They told me VGM has found a solution and they can start rectifying the problem next week onwards. I am also made to understand that this problem is quite common. So anyone of you guys having this problems go to the SC and get it sorted. And to update you guys on the DRL. Grats to the 2011 TSI buyers, the car comes with DRL. Only TSI gets DRL, GTI dont have it.Looks very nice. But damn painful for 2010 buyers, feel like kena conned. Should we start a petition for 2010 buyers to get VGM to subsidised retrofiting the car with DRL at minimal cost? I think we should cause the TSI was lunched only 6 months ago and now they update the car with new stuffs. Any input will be great.. The TSI owners who bought in 2010 knew what they were getting when they bought it. Cannot really blame VW for that. If they are kind enough to offer some subsidy for u guys to retrofit the lights, then VW is indeed very kind, because they are not obligated to do so. They are not cheating the 2010 owners lah. Cars always get updated mah. Just like ppl who buy iPad in Malaysia. Within a few months, now iPad 2 is out. So how? Apple subsidize old owners to get the new one?!
gladfly
Mar 4 2011, 12:14 PM
QUOTE(futobuta @ Mar 4 2011, 11:49 AM) The TSI owners who bought in 2010 knew what they were getting when they bought it. Cannot really blame VW for that. If they are kind enough to offer some subsidy for u guys to retrofit the lights, then VW is indeed very kind, because they are not obligated to do so. They are not cheating the 2010 owners lah. Cars always get updated mah. Just like ppl who buy iPad in Malaysia. Within a few months, now iPad 2 is out. So how? Apple subsidize old owners to get the new one?!  Of course cars get updated. Facelifting is very common. But you see the car was only officially lunched in September 2010. People took delivery in Oct/Nov. So imagine those buyers who now reliased..err...4 months down the road ..the same car gets updated. While I understand your point, its the buyers choice. Me..I knew what I am getting at when I paid 156k for the car. I dont expect VW to tell buyers wait for the 2011 model got DRL. But all things being equal, the 2010 owners have the right to feel pissed. Its like you buy a new car but 4 months on...ooppss you get less for the same money. It does not bode well in marketing strategy. Its like the person who bought the passat cc with normal auto box only to reliase 6 months later the DSG was vailable at the same price. p.s Your example of Ipad2. At least apple cut the price for Ipad1. Secondly, the Ipad2 wont hit the shore in malaysia for sometime maybe until like end of the year. In our case we paid same money wor and TSI owners only get to enjoy the 'new' feeling for 4 months nia..so the example is not quite right. This post has been edited by gladfly: Mar 4 2011, 12:18 PM
SotongBin
Mar 4 2011, 04:20 PM
went to check out the Golf 1.4 today. The SA told me this new tech gearbox you dont have to change the gear oil? don't have to drain the old oil at all? seriously?
I check VW website I can't find such claim. can someone advise me a link pls. Thank you.
shinjun
Mar 4 2011, 04:39 PM
QUOTE(Mavik @ Mar 3 2011, 01:30 PM) It's a silver TSI.
Mavik
Mar 4 2011, 04:56 PM
Patience is a virtue
QUOTE(gladfly @ Mar 4 2011, 12:14 PM) Of course cars get updated. Facelifting is very common. But you see the car was only officially lunched in September 2010. People took delivery in Oct/Nov. So imagine those buyers who now reliased..err...4 months down the road ..the same car gets updated. While I understand your point, its the buyers choice. Me..I knew what I am getting at when I paid 156k for the car. I dont expect VW to tell buyers wait for the 2011 model got DRL. But all things being equal, the 2010 owners have the right to feel pissed. Its like you buy a new car but 4 months on...ooppss you get less for the same money. It does not bode well in marketing strategy. Its like the person who bought the passat cc with normal auto box only to reliase 6 months later the DSG was vailable at the same price. p.s Your example of Ipad2. At least apple cut the price for Ipad1. Secondly, the Ipad2 wont hit the shore in malaysia for sometime maybe until like end of the year. In our case we paid same money wor and TSI owners only get to enjoy the 'new' feeling for 4 months nia..so the example is not quite right. Just the normal course of items, they get updated every now and then. But personally, I think the DRL's make the car look a little girly
pinolam
Mar 4 2011, 08:13 PM

QUOTE(SotongBin @ Mar 4 2011, 04:20 PM) went to check out the Golf 1.4 today. The SA told me this new tech gearbox you dont have to change the gear oil? don't have to drain the old oil at all? seriously? I check VW website I can't find such claim. can someone advise me a link pls. Thank you. yes DSG is a dry gearbox. they claim that got lubricant la but not oil. so dont need change gear oil.
JAL811
Mar 4 2011, 08:33 PM

QUOTE(Mavik @ Mar 4 2011, 04:56 PM) Just the normal course of items, they get updated every now and then. But personally, I think the DRL's make the car look a little girly  How much would it cost to fit the DRL headlights ?
Mavik
Mar 4 2011, 09:38 PM
Patience is a virtue
QUOTE(JAL811 @ Mar 4 2011, 08:33 PM) How much would it cost to fit the DRL headlights ? No idea, if you go through the approved VGW group, it might cost around the 5k region I think.
crocky
Mar 4 2011, 10:18 PM
QUOTE(JAL811 @ Mar 4 2011, 08:33 PM) How much would it cost to fit the DRL headlights ? this one for POLO 6R http://cgi.ebay.com.my/OEM-Bi-Xenon-Headli...=item19c3326f3a
pelvin
Mar 4 2011, 10:20 PM
QUOTE(crocky @ Mar 4 2011, 10:18 PM) worth 5k? our Service centre in malaysia can handle and install it? haha
Yan
Mar 5 2011, 10:05 AM
QUOTE(gladfly @ Mar 4 2011, 11:00 AM) Hi Guys.. Just to keep you guys in the loop. I just went to SC for get them to rectify the rattling sounds near the B pillars for my wife's Golf TSI. They told me VGM has found a solution and they can start rectifying the problem next week onwards. I am also made to understand that this problem is quite common. So anyone of you guys having this problems go to the SC and get it sorted. And to update you guys on the DRL. Grats to the 2011 TSI buyers, the car comes with DRL. Only TSI gets DRL, GTI dont have it.Looks very nice. But damn painful for 2010 buyers, feel like kena conned. Should we start a petition for 2010 buyers to get VGM to subsidised retrofiting the car with DRL at minimal cost? I think we should cause the TSI was lunched only 6 months ago and now they update the car with new stuffs. Any input will be great.. which SC you went to bro ? mmi ght wanna bring my car there since the usual SC i went is incompetent.
kikikukiki
Mar 5 2011, 10:58 AM
QUOTE(gladfly @ Mar 4 2011, 12:14 PM) Of course cars get updated. Facelifting is very common. But you see the car was only officially lunched in September 2010. People took delivery in Oct/Nov. So imagine those buyers who now reliased..err...4 months down the road ..the same car gets updated. While I understand your point, its the buyers choice. Me..I knew what I am getting at when I paid 156k for the car. I dont expect VW to tell buyers wait for the 2011 model got DRL. But all things being equal, the 2010 owners have the right to feel pissed. Its like you buy a new car but 4 months on...ooppss you get less for the same money. It does not bode well in marketing strategy. Its like the person who bought the passat cc with normal auto box only to reliase 6 months later the DSG was vailable at the same price. p.s Your example of Ipad2. At least apple cut the price for Ipad1. Secondly, the Ipad2 wont hit the shore in malaysia for sometime maybe until like end of the year. In our case we paid same money wor and TSI owners only get to enjoy the 'new' feeling for 4 months nia..so the example is not quite right. well... if u bought an ipad1 in the last two weeks u get a $100 rebate from apple... and u can even opt for an upgrade!
ultimax5
Mar 5 2011, 03:02 PM
Has anyone sent their Polo TSI for service or for engine oil top up yet? What oil did they use? I called the dealer the other day and they said that they sell the oil in liters but I'll have to bring my own container!
I'm not sure what specification they use as well, it's probably Castrol, but does it have to be compliant to VW505 00, VW502 00 or VW504 00??? Or does VW507 00 cover all these?? Anyone actually topped up their engine oil yet?
Mavik
Mar 5 2011, 05:32 PM
Patience is a virtue
Prices for the DRL's at FA Glenmarie was quoted around RM7k+  Uploaded with ImageShack.usThis post has been edited by Mavik: Mar 5 2011, 05:35 PM
D-Zire
Mar 5 2011, 05:53 PM
QUOTE(Mavik @ Mar 5 2011, 05:32 PM) Prices for the DRL's at FA Glenmarie was quoted around RM7k+  Uploaded with ImageShack.uswent to Glenmarie today as well to test the GTI. SA said not sure if 2011 GTI comes with DRL but 1.4 TSI definitely has DRL. I think the DRL is pretty cool looking. SA also said that if take GTI 2010, he will free Golf R Tail lamp.
wira1979
Mar 5 2011, 06:09 PM
Any discount for the 2010 model? Went to Cergaz (the one near TTDI) and they're giving 2% (around RM4k) discount and some really low interest rates on the 2010 GTI. So tempted to angkat and be damned with the 2011 model! Anyone here knows of a dealer who can offer 5% discount i.e. RM10k? QUOTE(D-Zire @ Mar 5 2011, 05:53 PM) went to Glenmarie today as well to test the GTI. SA said not sure if 2011 GTI comes with DRL but 1.4 TSI definitely has DRL. I think the DRL is pretty cool looking. SA also said that if take GTI 2010, he will free Golf R Tail lamp.
weddinpalmerston
Mar 5 2011, 06:43 PM
QUOTE(wira1979 @ Mar 5 2011, 06:09 PM) Any discount for the 2010 model? Went to Cergaz (the one near TTDI) and they're giving 2% (around RM4k) discount and some really low interest rates on the 2010 GTI. So tempted to angkat and be damned with the 2011 model! Anyone here knows of a dealer who can offer 5% discount i.e. RM10k? I booked mine in Wearnes. The offer I got for GTI 2010 is 2% discount, 1.57% interest rate for 7y loan and free Vkool tinting. Paid the balance this morning, the car should be ready in 1 week. My SA told me that the car is actually 2011 production. She knows this based on the chasis number of the car. However, the Malaysian custom did not recognize this as 2011 car, so VW Malaysia declares them as 2010 car. I do not know how far this is true. According to the SA, there are 300 units available.
ben83
Mar 5 2011, 06:52 PM
Any news on the Eos facelift coming? By the way how much discount for the 2010 Eos?
lifeless_creature
Mar 5 2011, 07:11 PM
top up 7k+ ?? can we choose not to have these DRLs ar?
wira1979
Mar 5 2011, 08:18 PM
Hmmmmm ... thanks for the update and info. What colour you getting? Mind telling me which Wearnes is this? I'll pay them a visit soon ... if can't get 5% discount at least I'll get free Vkool tinting. QUOTE(weddinpalmerston @ Mar 5 2011, 06:43 PM) I booked mine in Wearnes. The offer I got for GTI 2010 is 2% discount, 1.57% interest rate for 7y loan and free Vkool tinting. Paid the balance this morning, the car should be ready in 1 week. My SA told me that the car is actually 2011 production. She knows this based on the chasis number of the car. However, the Malaysian custom did not recognize this as 2011 car, so VW Malaysia declares them as 2010 car. I do not know how far this is true. According to the SA, there are 300 units available.