6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

iPhone 4 home button issues discussion thread, anyone able to claim from DiGi?

TSMyKy44
post Feb 23 2011, 09:33 AM, updated 14y ago

kaki bodek staff
2,821 posts

ok i used the search function for keyword home button liao and nothing related came up, so hence the thread to ask

Hey supp fellas, wan ask if any of u have this problem or not. My home button sometimes doesn't respond even when pressed on. but it's not failing all the time though :/
Now it's like u have to press it at a certain angle only can doh.gif
the button is not sunk in or anything like that.

<UPDATE>:
Went to DiGi centre at Pyramid to ask about how the warranty works.
Just as i guessed, as how things has always been in my whole life; bringing spoiled item to complain at shop recovers when tested by the salesperson.

Of 10 times pressing, it failed maybe 1 or 2 times in the hand of the salesperson.

anyhow, the guy told me in order to be able to claim for warranty, the button has to fail 100%. It'd then take 1~2 weeks to replace 1:1 depending on stock availability. :/

i HATE intermittent failures..... fark

Thanks andrew for sharing this info. It does help a bit, albeit rather temporary. but heck, it still works

QUOTE(Andrew Lim @ Mar 28 2011, 09:59 AM)
This morning my iPhone 4 Home button started acting wonky again. Apply pressure and massaged as shown in the picture below and it triggered the unlock screen even though I didn't actually press the Home button. After that the Home button started responding again.
Solution 2 (haven't try)
hi guise, found new solution, yet to try

creditz to http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1223292
Possible root cause
QUOTE(WimpyKid @ Apr 26 2011, 10:45 AM)
This is due to the pcb membrane located under the home button. For those under warranty send back for claim. Over warranty sets need to replace this and issue will be solved.
Alternative solution, for those who has jailbreak their ipon
QUOTE(figure8 @ May 1 2011, 11:30 PM)
it simple, activator can define a gesture/action/button to launch an apps/action. check this screen below. u might get an idea.

If u're Maxis subscriber and wan claim warranty, Maxis KLCC is fastest. Few forummers had their phones exchanged within hours

If u JB your ipon, before u claim warranty
U'll need to restore your phone to new iphone using iTunes. U can't directly reset all settings from the phone. These guys advised as such:

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Oct 3 2011, 08:15 AM)
Confirmed can not direct from phone. I just tried yesterday.
QUOTE(WimpyKid @ Oct 3 2011, 08:44 AM)
Many has use the "Erase All Content and Settings" from reset option and got stuck on apple logo. Best choice would be to restore it before sending it for claim or even selling your iphone. smile.gif
This post has been edited by MyKy44: Oct 3 2011, 10:25 PM
TSMyKy44
post Feb 23 2011, 10:09 AM

kaki bodek staff
2,821 posts

Off fon for ~5 minutes, now seem to fail less.
software or hardware issue leh like this?

edit: and yeah sometimes the screen also doesn't respond, at the 'slide to unlock' part. but this is few times nia.. maybe at tht time my finger got no charge kut..

This post has been edited by MyKy44: Feb 23 2011, 10:13 AM
TSMyKy44
post Feb 23 2011, 11:25 AM

kaki bodek staff
2,821 posts

QUOTE(g3n0c|d3 @ Feb 23 2011, 10:59 AM)
what u install lar? seems like lagging.... what iphone u using? what iOS u using now? it should give some basic idea at least to define ur nature of the problem
ipon4, iOS 4.1. i clean freak i always close my apps one.

QUOTE(ysc @ Feb 23 2011, 11:02 AM)
i dun think its related to software at all, should be hardware...

mine oso same... doesnt respond to 10-20% of my presses...
QUOTE(PB|Axcelis @ Feb 23 2011, 11:05 AM)
Agreed, surely hardware problem.
QUOTE(PB|Axcelis @ Feb 23 2011, 10:56 AM)
If the phone still under warranty, claim it. If no, send to phone shop to repair your home button. smile.gif Almost every iPhone has the same problem, when it used for a long time.
i supposed so la. well will visit digi centre see how. ady contacted digi via d'chat, was told to go digi centre to claim warranty.

anyway just wanna check if this problem is solely mine maybe cos face problem or other ppl also has. ok la at least i somewhat sure it's not face problem liao
TSMyKy44
post Feb 23 2011, 11:40 AM

kaki bodek staff
2,821 posts

i suppose so la D:
maybe 2moro i go see can claim warranty or not then update u olls la
TSMyKy44
post Feb 23 2011, 12:03 PM

kaki bodek staff
2,821 posts

QUOTE(deepan84 @ Feb 23 2011, 11:54 AM)
actually there is a thread quite similiar to ur problem. pls search harder. http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1729083&hl=

but yea, its 99% hardware problem. i have the same problem. single click registers as double click. single clicks dont register at all. double click takes u to home screen and not multitaskin bar. its very random and u need to press very hard right in d middle for it to function properly. really sux. im waiting for the home button to completely break and finally claim my waranty coz i doubt maxis wud change the fone coz d prob is very random n might not show up during the waranty claim.
i'm sorry for not searching harder don't worry i'll make sure i'll spend minimum 2 hours next time to search for thread before creating a new tered to ask

on the issue, due to the random occurrence i'm worried too if i can't replicate the problem not sure if still can claim warranty or not sad.gif

TSMyKy44
post Feb 23 2011, 12:10 PM

kaki bodek staff
2,821 posts

QUOTE(csk3984 @ Feb 23 2011, 12:05 PM)
my sometime got incoming call when wan slide to answer suddenly cant slide to receive call
YEEEEAAAAHHH i got this issue too, though less occurrence
TSMyKy44
post Feb 23 2011, 08:13 PM

kaki bodek staff
2,821 posts

QUOTE(deepan84 @ Feb 23 2011, 04:16 PM)
sorry to spread the bad news. but ip4 home button problem is quite an issue. try googling it and ull see countless complains. from a more personal experience, i restored the fone as new fone and the problem still persists. i need to press spot-on in d middle of the middle with pressure. its kinda annoyin but i got used to it overtime. lucky im on a 2yr warranty. so if it gets worse, ill send it over to maxis.

in a nutshell, this problem is quite big among ip4 users. blame it on the low quality home button i guess.
gakh... didn't know it's such big issue. D:

QUOTE(gurus @ Feb 23 2011, 04:42 PM)
i have the same problem, very random. sometimes can sometimes cant sad.gif
i think those who have the same problem should just send it over for warranty just before your warranty expires or if it really starts to irritates u  nod.gif
ya ya i should send back for warranty claiming liao D:
TSMyKy44
post Feb 23 2011, 08:54 PM

kaki bodek staff
2,821 posts

just sked if next time even press firm also kenot detect. sad.gif
TSMyKy44
post Mar 22 2011, 05:07 PM

kaki bodek staff
2,821 posts

mine's getting worse..
i scared to claim warranty cos previously got JB attempt, though failed :/
TSMyKy44
post Mar 24 2011, 07:47 AM

kaki bodek staff
2,821 posts

QUOTE(yetieater @ Mar 23 2011, 01:52 PM)
The cure all for this issue is to replace the home button flex.

You can see the flex in this picture, removed from the phone:

http://guide-images.ifixit.net/igi/XUTOo2NVRjC2lVZX.huge

It's a cheap part, just requires a lot of work to get down to it.
doesn't seem easy though, looks like gotta remove a lot of parts to get there.
TSMyKy44
post Mar 27 2011, 11:36 PM

kaki bodek staff
2,821 posts

<UPDATE>:
Went to DiGi centre at Pyramid to ask about how the warranty works.
Just as i guessed, as how things has always been in my whole life; bringing spoiled item to complain at shop recovers when tested by the salesperson.

Of 10 times pressing, it failed maybe 1 or 2 times in the hand of the salesperson.

anyhow, the guy told me in order to be able to claim for warranty, the button has to fail 100%. It'd then take 1~2 weeks to replace 1:1 depending on stock availability. :/

i HATE intermittent failures..... fark
TSMyKy44
post Mar 28 2011, 09:27 AM

kaki bodek staff
2,821 posts

QUOTE(Darren_7144 @ Mar 28 2011, 01:26 AM)
100% failure then can claim? omg... if the home button got failure then press more time until it 100% failure then go claim tongue.gif
i can understand la.. i work in failure line also, intermittent failures very hard for us to proceed with our work. :/

QUOTE(Andrew Lim @ Mar 28 2011, 01:57 AM)
Just want to clarify that I meant pressing the screen near the button. 2cm top-left from the Home button.
tried, doesn't work. maybe u can show a pic of the location to press?
TSMyKy44
post Mar 28 2011, 01:46 PM

kaki bodek staff
2,821 posts

^WOW! it works! hahaha wtf. it does help to increase the response ady.

but doesn't seem to be permanent. but hey, thanks for the guide. Updating first post with this. thanks andrew notworthy.gif
TSMyKy44
post Apr 26 2011, 11:57 AM

kaki bodek staff
2,821 posts

has anyone managed to claim for warranty?

i went to digi centre once, they say must wait till 100% faulty. blergh...
TSMyKy44
post Apr 28 2011, 12:16 PM

kaki bodek staff
2,821 posts

QUOTE(WimpyKid @ Apr 26 2011, 10:45 AM)
This is due to the pcb membrane located under the home button. For those under warranty send back for claim. Over warranty sets need to replace this and issue will be solved.
thanks. i'll update in first post for possible root cause of failure.

QUOTE(frankietorda @ Apr 26 2011, 12:00 PM)
tell them if display is 100% faulty would then only they will change?
just bought a car, used for a few months then brake sometimes faulty,
no warranty?
i malas argue with them la. cos i just ask in pyramid digi centre. if wan claim also i'll go claim from penang centre. when free only i go over there and ask.

anyway, for those who success to claim, pls post here so we can have an idea how it's done and time taken biggrin.gif
TSMyKy44
post Apr 28 2011, 02:38 PM

kaki bodek staff
2,821 posts

but only temporary
TSMyKy44
post May 1 2011, 10:43 PM

kaki bodek staff
2,821 posts

Yes pls share the app here, it's ok to discuss jailbreak stuffs now, as long as not cracked/pirated apps
TSMyKy44
post May 1 2011, 11:04 PM

kaki bodek staff
2,821 posts

I haven't jailbreak my phone. If u have more details, like snapshots and how togs activator works, do share it here smile.gif
TSMyKy44
post May 3 2011, 12:13 AM

kaki bodek staff
2,821 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ May 2 2011, 09:39 AM)
I wonder, is there a application that emulates the home button and no need to jailbreak? I'm sure with the thousands of legal app out there, sure there are a few?
same thoughts here. if anyone found it, pls share it here biggrin.gif

updated 1st post smile.gif
TSMyKy44
post May 3 2011, 03:59 PM

kaki bodek staff
2,821 posts

QUOTE(s3an_looi @ May 3 2011, 03:21 PM)
HELP!!! My Home BUtton is not working at all!
I tried reboot, reset, respring, etc.. CANNOT!
What to do??

Last resort is to restore.. sad.gif
maybe your button hardware failure kot...
i doubt restore would work. u try press power button got response or not. if got, then yeah most likely is hardware liao.
tried the massage technique?

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0191sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:37 AM