43 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

iPhone 4 home button issues discussion thread, anyone able to claim from DiGi?

TSMyKy44
post Feb 23 2011, 09:33 AM, updated 14y ago

kaki bodek staff
2,821 posts

ok i used the search function for keyword home button liao and nothing related came up, so hence the thread to ask

Hey supp fellas, wan ask if any of u have this problem or not. My home button sometimes doesn't respond even when pressed on. but it's not failing all the time though :/
Now it's like u have to press it at a certain angle only can doh.gif
the button is not sunk in or anything like that.

<UPDATE>:
Went to DiGi centre at Pyramid to ask about how the warranty works.
Just as i guessed, as how things has always been in my whole life; bringing spoiled item to complain at shop recovers when tested by the salesperson.

Of 10 times pressing, it failed maybe 1 or 2 times in the hand of the salesperson.

anyhow, the guy told me in order to be able to claim for warranty, the button has to fail 100%. It'd then take 1~2 weeks to replace 1:1 depending on stock availability. :/

i HATE intermittent failures..... fark

Thanks andrew for sharing this info. It does help a bit, albeit rather temporary. but heck, it still works

QUOTE(Andrew Lim @ Mar 28 2011, 09:59 AM)
This morning my iPhone 4 Home button started acting wonky again. Apply pressure and massaged as shown in the picture below and it triggered the unlock screen even though I didn't actually press the Home button. After that the Home button started responding again.
Solution 2 (haven't try)
hi guise, found new solution, yet to try

creditz to http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1223292
Possible root cause
QUOTE(WimpyKid @ Apr 26 2011, 10:45 AM)
This is due to the pcb membrane located under the home button. For those under warranty send back for claim. Over warranty sets need to replace this and issue will be solved.
Alternative solution, for those who has jailbreak their ipon
QUOTE(figure8 @ May 1 2011, 11:30 PM)
it simple, activator can define a gesture/action/button to launch an apps/action. check this screen below. u might get an idea.

If u're Maxis subscriber and wan claim warranty, Maxis KLCC is fastest. Few forummers had their phones exchanged within hours

If u JB your ipon, before u claim warranty
U'll need to restore your phone to new iphone using iTunes. U can't directly reset all settings from the phone. These guys advised as such:

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Oct 3 2011, 08:15 AM)
Confirmed can not direct from phone. I just tried yesterday.
QUOTE(WimpyKid @ Oct 3 2011, 08:44 AM)
Many has use the "Erase All Content and Settings" from reset option and got stuck on apple logo. Best choice would be to restore it before sending it for claim or even selling your iphone. smile.gif
This post has been edited by MyKy44: Oct 3 2011, 10:25 PM
n3sta_n_roses
post Feb 23 2011, 09:45 AM

190 posts

Yup, me kena also. Can go to digi for RMA or not?
TSMyKy44
post Feb 23 2011, 10:09 AM

kaki bodek staff
2,821 posts

Off fon for ~5 minutes, now seem to fail less.
software or hardware issue leh like this?

edit: and yeah sometimes the screen also doesn't respond, at the 'slide to unlock' part. but this is few times nia.. maybe at tht time my finger got no charge kut..

This post has been edited by MyKy44: Feb 23 2011, 10:13 AM
PB|Axcelis
post Feb 23 2011, 10:56 AM

238 posts

If the phone still under warranty, claim it. If no, send to phone shop to repair your home button. smile.gif Almost every iPhone has the same problem, when it used for a long time.
g3n0c1d3
post Feb 23 2011, 10:59 AM

hai hai... kazuma dayo....
6,497 posts

what u install lar? seems like lagging.... what iphone u using? what iOS u using now? it should give some basic idea at least to define ur nature of the problem
ysc
post Feb 23 2011, 11:02 AM

860 posts

i dun think its related to software at all, should be hardware...

mine oso same... doesnt respond to 10-20% of my presses...
PB|Axcelis
post Feb 23 2011, 11:05 AM

238 posts

QUOTE(ysc @ Feb 23 2011, 12:02 PM)

Agreed, surely hardware problem.
xaw5126
post Feb 23 2011, 11:06 AM

3,488 posts

@ MyKy44 why you no claim warranty smile.gif
g3n0c1d3
post Feb 23 2011, 11:07 AM

hai hai... kazuma dayo....
6,497 posts

lol... sorry i didnt notice its iphone 4 TS....

just trying to make sure its not software problem 1st... because i know most of my friends using iphone n never clear their apps (double click the home button then u can see the apps that still running) because most of them complaining about their iphone lagging.... so ends up they didnt properly shut all the apps they're using...

if u sure its not the software problem then i guess its time to send for warranty loh...
celciuz
post Feb 23 2011, 11:15 AM

14,033 posts

Question, if send to shops to repair how much is the cost?

I know eventually will get this on my phone depending on my usage of the home button (trying to minimize usage of the home button).
TSMyKy44
post Feb 23 2011, 11:25 AM

kaki bodek staff
2,821 posts

QUOTE(g3n0c|d3 @ Feb 23 2011, 10:59 AM)
what u install lar? seems like lagging.... what iphone u using? what iOS u using now? it should give some basic idea at least to define ur nature of the problem
ipon4, iOS 4.1. i clean freak i always close my apps one.

QUOTE(ysc @ Feb 23 2011, 11:02 AM)

QUOTE(PB|Axcelis @ Feb 23 2011, 11:05 AM)
Agreed, surely hardware problem.
QUOTE(PB|Axcelis @ Feb 23 2011, 10:56 AM)
If the phone still under warranty, claim it. If no, send to phone shop to repair your home button. smile.gif Almost every iPhone has the same problem, when it used for a long time.
i supposed so la. well will visit digi centre see how. ady contacted digi via d'chat, was told to go digi centre to claim warranty.

anyway just wanna check if this problem is solely mine maybe cos face problem or other ppl also has. ok la at least i somewhat sure it's not face problem liao
LeChuCk
post Feb 23 2011, 11:34 AM

SQ Aficionado
724 posts

yeah..i faced this problem too!and it's not software related, or so i think, coz i rebooted the phone and the problem still exists...quite irritating at times bcoz rush and keep on pressing home button but no response...so it's a hardware issue?
TSMyKy44
post Feb 23 2011, 11:40 AM

kaki bodek staff
2,821 posts

i suppose so la D:
maybe 2moro i go see can claim warranty or not then update u olls la
LeChuCk
post Feb 23 2011, 11:44 AM

SQ Aficionado
724 posts

QUOTE(MyKy44 @ Feb 23 2011, 11:40 AM)
i suppose so la D:
maybe 2moro i go see can claim warranty or not then update u olls la
cool thanks..i am on digi chat and see what the dude over at DG says
deepan84
post Feb 23 2011, 11:54 AM

White Rider
2,199 posts

actually there is a thread quite similiar to ur problem. pls search harder. http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1729083&hl=

but yea, its 99% hardware problem. i have the same problem. single click registers as double click. single clicks dont register at all. double click takes u to home screen and not multitaskin bar. its very random and u need to press very hard right in d middle for it to function properly. really sux. im waiting for the home button to completely break and finally claim my waranty coz i doubt maxis wud change the fone coz d prob is very random n might not show up during the waranty claim.
TSMyKy44
post Feb 23 2011, 12:03 PM

kaki bodek staff
2,821 posts

QUOTE(deepan84 @ Feb 23 2011, 11:54 AM)
actually there is a thread quite similiar to ur problem. pls search harder. http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1729083&hl=

but yea, its 99% hardware problem. i have the same problem. single click registers as double click. single clicks dont register at all. double click takes u to home screen and not multitaskin bar. its very random and u need to press very hard right in d middle for it to function properly. really sux. im waiting for the home button to completely break and finally claim my waranty coz i doubt maxis wud change the fone coz d prob is very random n might not show up during the waranty claim.
i'm sorry for not searching harder don't worry i'll make sure i'll spend minimum 2 hours next time to search for thread before creating a new tered to ask

on the issue, due to the random occurrence i'm worried too if i can't replicate the problem not sure if still can claim warranty or not sad.gif

csk3984
post Feb 23 2011, 12:05 PM

321 posts

my sometime got incoming call when wan slide to answer suddenly cant slide to receive call
TSMyKy44
post Feb 23 2011, 12:10 PM

kaki bodek staff
2,821 posts

QUOTE(csk3984 @ Feb 23 2011, 12:05 PM)
my sometime got incoming call when wan slide to answer suddenly cant slide to receive call
YEEEEAAAAHHH i got this issue too, though less occurrence
DE.si.MON
post Feb 23 2011, 12:14 PM

771 posts

The multitasking is really killing the button. Lucky I have jailbroken OS with kill process button if I need to kill all the background apps.
nwwy
post Feb 23 2011, 12:27 PM

167 posts

i got problem with my digi set too...
i send it to digi,digi will change me a refrubish unit which with 5000 series number...but NOT a new one...
so that i reject their offer and looking for a service shop to replace it...

This post has been edited by nwwy: Feb 23 2011, 12:28 PM

43 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.3274sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:39 PM