QUOTE(latias93 @ Oct 10 2014, 06:13 AM)
That is a LOT of questions.. damn, I'm not sure how to answer all of it. Haha. I'll try. I love being in (some parts of) the US! I've never faced discrimination before, a couple of incidents did come close, though. You can just look up how those cities look like on Google, but San Antonio has a beautiful historical downtown river walk and there's a couple of nice spots in Houston. But otherwise, they're just plain suburbs - boring, grid-like and consistent. Just like Damansara/PJ, I guess. There are a million reasons, big and small; on why I don't want to return to Malaysia, but I can go on and on about it that will span the length of several mamak hangout sessions. Most of them are purely materialistic and superficial, and this includes but are not limited to: the ability to own a bunch of kickass cars and such low prices, the fact that I have 2-day free Amazon Prime shipping, Netflix, cheap stuff, Netflix, beautiful national parks, great food, the Second Amendment, and did I mention Netflix?
If you really want to know, we can chat privately about the other reasons, because I don't want to spew out too much irrelevant stuff in an Education Essentials subforum.
Yup, Houston is definitely the mecca of the energy industry here in the Western hemisphere. My dad's here, in the oil and gas industry. So is my aunt, who lives a mile away from our house. I've met a Malaysian girl who's also working in the oil and gas industry here. And I found out that a Malaysian Boilermaker I met earlier this year at the Malaysian Midwest Games at IUB lived in Houston up until recently, as his mother was working in, you guessed it, the oil and gas industry.
I know how those cities look like, I mean like, how does it feel like, every city has its own feel. I know that river walk! It's really nice and it looks pretty walkable with a decent amount of retail. I just hate suburbs, they stretch forever and it is the reason why everything in Malaysia is so spread out and you NEED car to get to things. If you really want to know, we can chat privately about the other reasons, because I don't want to spew out too much irrelevant stuff in an Education Essentials subforum.
Yup, Houston is definitely the mecca of the energy industry here in the Western hemisphere. My dad's here, in the oil and gas industry. So is my aunt, who lives a mile away from our house. I've met a Malaysian girl who's also working in the oil and gas industry here. And I found out that a Malaysian Boilermaker I met earlier this year at the Malaysian Midwest Games at IUB lived in Houston up until recently, as his mother was working in, you guessed it, the oil and gas industry.
The car thing I understand very much. Cars are so impossibly cheap there!!! Even luxury cars are less than $100,000 there
I totally understand, they ALWAYS get the coolest new stuff! ALWAYS!
I so totally will
Wow, your father must be really high paid then! So is everyone else you know
By the time I get to San Antonio and Houston, you're gonna be my personal tour guide
Oct 10 2014, 11:13 PM

0.0149sec