Studying in US V1

spunkberry
post Apr 21 2011, 09:56 AM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

internships are hard to get because they mean that the company trains you with no guarantee that you will work for them in the future, so they don't like to invest that sort of time, unfortunately. Full-time is more likely, and actually .. I recently accepted a full-time job offer smile.gif

The trade-off is this:
Large companies can afford to pay for the H1B for you, but they're more difficult to get a job offer from.
Small companies are more likely to offer you a job, but more likely don't have enough clout to pay for the H1B.

Added on April 21, 2011, 10:23 am
QUOTE(EducationABC @ Apr 20 2011, 05:47 AM)
Actually, I didn't mean that I will only apply to these 3 universities. Cambridge and Oxford top my list, followed by Imperial, then these 3 universities. The reason I am applying to these 3 unis is that I want to increase my chance of getting admitted to top unis. I am not naive enough to think I will definitely get a place in any of these unis, so my full list consist of
1. Cambridge or Oxford
2. Imperial College London
3. MIT or UCB or Stanford
4. NUS or Melbourne or McGill
5. Monash or Nanyang(SG)
6. Nottingham (Malaysia)

As you can see, If I don't even try to apply for the top unis I can find, the chances of entering any prestigious uni would be slim. And if you are wondering, Stanford ranks No. 5 in QS world university rankings by chemical engineering.

http://www.topuniversities.com/university-...cal-engineering

I know that rankings do not always reflect the the truth, but what I am looking towards to is not only the academics, but the what employers like as well. Besides, attending top unis also enable you to gain transferable skills ( particularly US ones) which are deemed critical as not all chemical engineers managed to find a job in a chemical plant.
that's reasonable then, I thought you were just another one of those "I'm gonna apply to all these impressive universities and act like I'm gonna get in for sure!" smile.gif
Chemical Engineering was my second choice, but I was obviously more interested in my first.

This post has been edited by spunkberry: Apr 21 2011, 10:23 AM
spunkberry
post Apr 21 2011, 08:42 PM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

QUOTE(maru&box @ Apr 21 2011, 03:29 AM)
Did you aim for smaller companies then or was it through connections or internships?I'm worried that small companies won't even consider me once they see that I'm a foreigner...
it's a large company and it was done completely on my own smile.gif
I think you shouldn't worry about whether they would consider you or not and just go for it.
spunkberry
post Apr 23 2011, 10:34 PM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

don't forget Illinois Urbana-Champaign
spunkberry
post Apr 24 2011, 05:50 AM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

QUOTE(latias93 @ Apr 23 2011, 03:27 PM)
Guys,I have something to ask. Can the F-1 Student Visa be used to enter multiple schools? I'm rather confused about it. I'm about to receive my I-20 form from Academy of Art University (AAU). What I want to know is, when I get interviewed at the US Embassy to apply for the Student Visa, will the Student Visa be valid only for AAU?

My application for San Diego State University (SDSU) will take a long time to process and I intend to go there and ditch AAU should I get accepted into that school. If I already have a F-1 Student Visa through an I-20 which states my course in AAU, do I have to apply for another F-1 Student Visa?

I'm unclear about this, so I would appreciate it if anyone could clarify this matter for me. I'd rather apply for an F-1 Visa for AAU first so as to not waste time. I don't intend to wait so long for SDSU to reply me (they're holding my application at the moment as my transcripts arrived late) and I don't even know for sure where I'll be accepted in or not.
I recommend you wait for all your offers to come in before you start applying for visas. Like mentioned, the F-1 has the name of your university on it and your I-20 is issued by the university that is sponsoring your stay in the USA. Accepting an offer because you were impatient about other offers is just giving yourself a massive headache, and I see that coming now since you're already getting an I-20 from AAU.
spunkberry
post Apr 25 2011, 12:23 AM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

US Immigration is NOT fun
spunkberry
post Apr 26 2011, 01:02 AM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

QUOTE(latias93 @ Apr 25 2011, 12:31 PM)
Alright, thanks to everyone for your elaborate and insightful responses! I really appreciate that. I guess I'll just wait for a little while longer until SDSU finally got around to replying me (and accepting me into their school, for that matter). Also, are you guys sure that the visa processing takes only 1 week? I've always thought it took about.. more than a month? Care to share a little more detail, please? smile.gif
Ha.. that'll be the last resort. But thanks anyway!
I would suppose so. :/
no it doesn't take that long. I remember I was running through the train stations from Yokohama to Tokyo to make the visa application interview and I know about a week or so later, they had the visa to me. As long as you're not a criminal or anything, just bank on them getting it to you in two weeks smile.gif

as for my comment about US immigration not being fun, trust me it isn't. I'm dealing with work status issues now and the paperwork is *facepalm*

This post has been edited by spunkberry: Apr 26 2011, 01:02 AM
spunkberry
post Apr 26 2011, 02:18 PM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

I didn't know if I had my visa on the spot, and this is the US embassy in Tokyo.
spunkberry
post Apr 27 2011, 01:16 AM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

QUOTE(latias93 @ Apr 26 2011, 06:47 AM)
Wow, that's fast! I guess I shouldn't be THAT worried about the time taking too long. Thanks! Also, a forumer from Japan/Malaysian from Japan. blink.gif  It must be awesome to have lived in so many places! biggrin.gif
yeah it's pretty quick. I'm just saying give it two weeks JUST IN CASE shit happens, but if you fulfill everything you need with no issues, you'll get it fast. lol I'm Malaysian and I lived in Japan for five years and have been in the US for almost four years now. graduating in May and going to start a new job.

Added on April 27, 2011, 1:16 am
QUOTE(tonnect91 @ Apr 26 2011, 11:40 AM)
Hey anyone going U-Wisconsin Madison?
what do you want to know?

This post has been edited by spunkberry: Apr 27 2011, 01:16 AM
spunkberry
post Apr 27 2011, 10:33 AM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

QUOTE(latias93 @ Apr 26 2011, 02:49 PM)
That's nice! Oh, I assume you've got the green light for the OPT. Congratulations! I'm getting rather nervous about me, four years from now. I'm pretty sure that it's not that hard to get an OPT, but it would probably be hard to get an employer to sponsor for my H1-B Visa (and subsequently, a green card). I don't intend on returning to Malaysia and working here.
no I haven't gotten my OPT approval yet, since I just mailed the packet off today. it's not hard to get OPT, no, but it allows you only 3 months of unemployment. if you have no job, you have to leave after those 3 months. H1-B visa you'll have to go for a large company (which is very difficult to get more so than a small company, but a small company might not be able to sponsor the kind of money for H1-B) ... and the green card/us citizenship takes five years on a work visa. Your student years do not count.
spunkberry
post Apr 28 2011, 05:44 AM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

QUOTE(latias93 @ Apr 27 2011, 12:27 PM)
Looks like I won't be seeing myself as a certified American (on paper) until at least 10 years or so from now!

If I'm not mistaken, F-1 visa holders are required to return to their home country within 60 days upon graduation. Unless, of course, I pursue a graduate program or I get approved for OPT. It seems that in the game design/animation industry (which I'm pursuing), there are more employment options from startup companies than big companies (which, as you pointed out, is much more difficult to get). Hopefully the job market clears by the time I graduate. LOL!
Yes that is correct.
It's definitely easier to get jobs with startup companies ... but the risk is that they cannot sponsor your work status. MORE difficult (borderline impossible) to get jobs with big companies, but they would definitely be able to sponsor your work status. Oh such is life.

I gave the industry two years to clear up and it didn't. I'm lucky as hell to have even landed the job
spunkberry
post Apr 28 2011, 01:24 PM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

well why do you need to know if anybody's going there? to start up a new kampung, izzit?
spunkberry
post Apr 29 2011, 02:12 PM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

lol I suggest you get there and make them.
spunkberry
post May 1 2011, 10:36 PM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

yes it is smile.gif
spunkberry
post Nov 7 2011, 09:05 AM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

QUOTE(chew1991 @ Nov 6 2011, 11:57 AM)
Not dead yet. I guess all the US students busy studying now...midterms and finals coming up soon d. jialat.
lol how goes it for you?
so glad I'm outta college xD
spunkberry
post Feb 29 2012, 08:57 PM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

I resent that! I do NOT spend all my time writing Yelp reviews! tongue.gif
spunkberry
post Mar 8 2012, 09:21 AM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

QUOTE(latias93 @ Mar 7 2012, 10:34 PM)
LOL! I was just wondering, is there an American forum that is similar to LowYat.Net? It seems like every little thing has their own forum as opposed to LowYat.Net which has everything under its subforums, thus making it much more convenient.. I had to sign up to more than ten forums that cater to specific topics (e.g. BMW cars, paintball, frisbee..).
I don't think so sad.gif
spunkberry
post Mar 8 2012, 09:54 PM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

I don't quite consider that a forum, especially since you would agree with me that reddit != lyn.
maybe to me, the difference is the level of intelligence.

This post has been edited by spunkberry: Mar 12 2012, 07:25 AM
spunkberry
post Mar 31 2012, 12:38 AM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

QUOTE(magicfinger @ Mar 30 2012, 09:33 AM)
hi there going to graduate soon in mechanical engineering and would like to do master in mechanical engineering in US...cgpa lower that 3.0 do you think i would have difficulty in getting admission or it doesnt really matter?
you might have some difficulty. ME is a relatively popular major. I know at my alma mater, the required GPA to enter ME is higher than all the other engineering disciplines.
spunkberry
post Apr 5 2012, 07:59 AM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

QUOTE(magicfinger @ Apr 2 2012, 02:40 AM)
hi spunkberry. may I know if ur answer is based on experience or just general assumption? thanks
my answer was actually based on the undergraduate program at my alma mater.

BUT

QUOTE(iceypain @ Apr 2 2012, 07:45 AM)
no respectable graduate program here will admit a 3.0 GPA unless you have something else that is amazing (work experience etc.) and even then it's a stretch. if you're aiming for a third-rate program then you're better off saving the money and going to a local school. truth hurts but you should still try if that's what you really want.
iceypain here is correct. Most people who intend to enter graduate school in the USA maintain a 3.5 or higher - most of my friends who had such intentions maintained a 3.7 and higher, some even 4.0. So yes, I stand by what I said, you will have difficulty.
spunkberry
post Jun 6 2012, 10:52 PM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

QUOTE(rokai88 @ May 30 2012, 01:46 PM)
hi spunkberry, any opinions on chances of working in states after graduating? from your experience.
with the current recession should i still keep up hope?
what can we do to boost our chances?

thanks! rclxms.gif
QUOTE(mumeichan @ Jun 1 2012, 09:36 PM)
Generally it's very low. I don't think the recession has that big of an impact on the the employment of foreigners because the employers of foreigners are normally very big companies and there is an annual cap on the number of work visas that will be given out by the government. So really, the limit is being placed by the visa cap even with the bad economy (which isn't very bad anyway)
as much as mumeichan is correct that the rate of employment is low ... it is not limited by the H1B visa cap. with American unemployment at an all time high, it is seen as unpatriotic for companies to hire foreigners over their own citizens. no it's not just America that does this, any country does this, even Malaysia (rampantly).

my F-1 foreign visa status was the brick wall to my employment opportunities, not my qualifications nor the H1B visa cap. even at job fairs, some companies just paste up a sign that says US CITIZENS/PRs ONLY. Defense contractors are also out of the question because those are US citizen only positions - foreigners are spies, basically.

get internships, make sure you actually learn something in your classes and on your internships and stand out above the rest. your GPA is definitely the first step - when companies go through the stack, they remove anything under 3.0 for engineering, higher for others. making connections definitely helps, but don't expect them to basically open the door to you .. they can only expedite the process.

This post has been edited by spunkberry: Jun 6 2012, 10:53 PM

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0410sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 09:54 PM