post Nov 24 2008, 06:07 PM

SUBHANALLAH
1,016 posts

wow,good explaination there.. u can become a dr.. tongue.gif
klifex
post Nov 24 2008, 07:31 PM

847 posts

3. If pap smear should given to girl who already have sex before, then how a virgin can test for uterus cancer ?

it's commonly seen in post menopausal women, also in peri menopausal women...predisposing factors as mentioned, nulliparous, polycystic ovarian syndrome, obesity, hypertension, diabetes.

to diagnose carcinoma of endometrium, need a good history..
usually they present with irregular per vaginal bleeding, spotting.
in pre-menopausal women, what is significant is that they have intermenstrual bleeding...
weight lost and lose of appetite is also one of the symptoms, but it can apply to most of the malignancies or chronic disease.

usually, vaginal examination finding is unremarkable...
in later stage, you might find a growth at the cervix, in the sense if the tunour spread to cervix.
bimanual examination will reveal a large uterus.
if disease spread to the ovaries and tubes, mass can be felt either one side or both.

to confirm the diagnosis, we need to take a proper biopsy by formal dilatation and curettage or a pippele sampling.
another method is to use hysteroscope to look into the endometrium.

then follow by a CT scan to see the extension of spread and staging.

YuNGSeNG
post Nov 24 2008, 08:14 PM

1,382 posts

QUOTE(sandboxz @ Nov 24 2008, 05:55 PM)

However, in http://www.wrongdiagnosis.com/u/uterine_cancer/intro.htm show that uterine cancer can be test by pap smear. So any comments ? (Sorry not to offend you but I just want to clear my confuse only)

What you saw was this izit?
"Diagnostic Tests for Uterine Cancer
# Physical exam
# Pelvic exam
# Pap smear "

hmm.gif
Personally, I'm surprised to see that stated there!
Why?

1. It has been studied that pap smear's "diagnostic sensitivity is
highest (BEST) for (detecting cervical cancer) invasive endocervical adenocarcinoma and
lowest (not reliable) for diagnosis of (uterine cancer) endometrial adenocarcinoma."
- taken from a research paper published in 2000 Diagnostic Cytopathology.

So this means that, it is not the screening tool of choice because chances to miss uterine cancer is HIGH.
Since it chances to miss it is HIGH, doctors do not use it on uterine cancer at all -

2. Uterine cancer (endometrial cancer) means that the endometrium (cells) is the lining of the uterus is cancerous.
This sits far above the cervix.
Logically,
a Pap smear doesn't test it
It was designed to look for the cervical cells.
Unless like i said in the previous post, it is a large huge cancer bulk that is shedding its cells into the cervical canal! Then at this time the cancer which would be very very advanced, and it would be very obvious to the doctor that you are having uterine cancer.
This time around, the doctor would have used the ultrasound ( which is less invasive) to look into your abdomen instead of sticking a wooden spatula into your private parts.

The doctor will check for it only when he is suspicious of you developing it.

How to check ? By what exam / test ?

1. Ultrasound of the uterus and the surrounding area

Another questions :
1. Will virgin get uterine cancer ?

Research have shown that people who are obese, smokes, single, never got pregnant before has a higher chance.

2. Will virgin get cervical cancer ?

The risk is lower because they are not exposed to HPV which causes 80-90% of cervical cancers.
Research have shown that people who are obese, smokes, single, never got pregnant before has a higher chance.

Are "single" = virgin ?
klifex
post Nov 24 2008, 11:08 PM

847 posts

single doesn't means virgin.
that's why the doctor always ask whether she's sexually active or not..
sandboxz
post Nov 25 2008, 01:14 AM

169 posts

yes.. i meant virgin. :")

Hmm..
another thing to add..
endometrial cancer mostly occurs in the postmenopausal age..
alip5225
post Nov 26 2008, 01:11 AM

SUBHANALLAH
1,016 posts

usually at that age all they do is total hysterectomy..
Fireball9
post Nov 26 2008, 01:58 AM

God is great!
718 posts

Wah liao... you aspect people of decent intelligence to understand all your medical talk? Hmm.. should learn to start talking in layman terms, definitely helpful for your future practice! Cheerios! smile.gif
sandboxz
post Nov 26 2008, 12:57 PM

169 posts

I know it's a little sign0006.gif but.. oh well..

hmm.gif we respond looking at the level of education of the given situation.
If a nurse coming as a patient and starts using jargon, you'll sure to follow suit.
Here, if some of us starts using jargon, you can ask to what he/she means.
Well, this is a forum, aka 2 way thing. Nobody'll make fun of you! and we would be happy to help.
And, i'm sure at this Google Age, you can type in "define hysterectomy" " hysterectomy" and pop, your answer is there.

Hence, fireball,
All of us are human beings trying to be the better man. We are constantly learning. We make mistakes. We rectify them. We change.
Anyway, just my 2 cents, please do suggest things a nicer way.. others might be offended easily.
We are trying our best to help, and hope you do the same too. icon_rolleyes.gif smile.gif

This post has been edited by sandboxz: Nov 26 2008, 01:10 PM
klifex
post Nov 26 2008, 03:55 PM

847 posts

well, medical field is broad, a lot of things has to be taken into consideration before a decision is made.

website serve as a guidance only, human presentation can be very variable...that's why, in the end, we need doctor to get to the final diagnosis.

anyway, not all sources are correct. especially the wikipaedia one...haha ...
you should check on to medical journals, recognized health society, clinical practice guidelines which give the correct description.

about the hysterectomy, i couldn't really give you the answer, because there's no scenario given.

but if you refer to cancer of the uterus,
yes, no choice - you have to do totaly hysterectomy, in addition, both ovary also have to remove. even at stage 1a (the mildest stage).
age wont be a consideration in this case, because there's a high chance of spread(uterus got a lot of blood vessels)
Fireball9
post Nov 27 2008, 01:31 AM

God is great!
718 posts

QUOTE(sandboxz @ Nov 26 2008, 12:57 PM)
I know it's a little sign0006.gif but.. oh well..

hmm.gif we respond looking at the level of education of the given situation.
If a nurse coming as a patient and starts using jargon, you'll sure to follow suit.
Here, if some of us starts using jargon, you can ask to what he/she means.
Well, this is a forum, aka 2 way thing. Nobody'll make fun of you! and we would be happy to help.
And, i'm sure at this Google Age, you can type in "define hysterectomy"  " hysterectomy" and pop, your answer is there.

Hence, fireball,
All of us are human beings trying to be the better man. We are constantly learning. We make mistakes. We rectify them. We change.
Anyway, just my 2 cents, please do suggest things a nicer way.. others might be offended easily.
We are trying our best to help, and hope you do the same too.  icon_rolleyes.gif smile.gif
I believe my suggestion was quite polite, and I'm glad you're not offended, because it would be foolish for a person of high standards to be affected by a simple statement, hence you gain my respect there smile.gif

In regards to your nurse story, it's very simple. There's no nurses here, not a hospital or clinical scenario, it's a forum where all kinds of people medically inclined and non-medically inclined come to read. So the fact is, the situation here is a PUBLIC forum smile.gif Hence I believe it would be to the advantage of everyone if medically related people spead words which we can comprehend.

To be honest, there's so many jargons in the posts above that it is almost impossible to search the meaning of each and every word!

Simple conclusion, speak simple, to be heard and understood by everyone. Impressing with jargons shows lack of attention and experience. Dont take it to heart, it's just my 2 cents worth as well smile.gif
klifex
post Nov 27 2008, 05:26 AM

847 posts

inevitable...
if he's a real doctor/medical students...the medical terms just pop out from his head like that... tongue.gif
anyway, it's okie as long as you put a bracket there to define the medical terms you used...so that people like us can understand better.

plus, we learn new words everyday... tongue.gif good for us also. right?
sandboxz
post Nov 27 2008, 05:58 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(Fireball9 @ Nov 27 2008, 01:31 AM)
In regards to your nurse story, it's very simple. There's no nurses here, not a hospital or clinical scenario, it's a forum where all kinds of people medically inclined and non-medically inclined come to read. So the fact is, the situation here is a PUBLIC forum smile.gif Hence I believe it would be to the advantage of everyone if medically related people spead words which we can comprehend.
To be honest, there's so many jargons in the posts above that it is almost impossible to search the meaning of each and every word!
Simple conclusion, speak simple, to be heard and understood by everyone. Impressing with jargons shows lack of attention and experience. Dont take it to heart, it's just my 2 cents worth as well smile.gif
Fireball,
The nurse story was an illustration.
But,
laugh.gif sure, no problem.
i'm not taking it to heart.
We must be crystal clear in our aim - to help. not to impress and not to degrade
And yes, we sometimes get too carried away, excited maybe.. blush.gif
but, we'll be putting brackets beside the jargon we are using; like what klifex said, no harm in learning new words. thumbup.gif

Anyway..
I think we should get back to the original topic of pap smear. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by sandboxz: Nov 27 2008, 11:26 PM
YuNGSeNG
post Nov 27 2008, 06:54 PM

1,382 posts

From my point of view, actually you all are given opinion / suggestion with politely, so I hope you all don't have any conflict here. I believe all is willing to help people.

Actually given bombastic word (ie. medical word) is good to us to improve our knowledge provided there is no discrimination.
sandboxz
post Nov 27 2008, 11:22 PM

169 posts

smile.gif peace smile.gif
Fireball9
post Nov 28 2008, 01:40 AM

God is great!
718 posts

Surely peace.. we have been peaceful all these while, and will continue to maintain peace! smile.gif We all get excited, very true. I guess after that we should all do pap smear! Yay, cant wait to get my pap smear done soon!
sandboxz
post Nov 28 2008, 02:25 AM

169 posts

thumbup.gif

Added on November 28, 2008, 2:26 amoh yah...
forgot to add,
when doing pap smear, preferable time is to do it at the end of your period ( like day 4 / 5 if yours is a 5 day cycle) smile.gif

This post has been edited by sandboxz: Nov 28 2008, 02:26 AM
Fireball9
post Nov 28 2008, 08:08 AM

God is great!
718 posts

QUOTE(sandboxz @ Nov 28 2008, 02:25 AM)
thumbup.gif

Added on November 28, 2008, 2:26 amoh yah...
forgot to add,
when doing pap smear, preferable time is to do it at the end of your period ( like day 4 / 5 if yours is a 5 day cycle) smile.gif
Cool, what's the reason for that? Please explain and let us all know! smile.gif
sandboxz
post Nov 28 2008, 01:11 PM

169 posts

from what i understand,
at the end of menstruation, your external os ( opening of the cervix) will be more exposed, easier to get samples from there - hence lower chance of specimen collection failure smile.gif
Fireball9
post Nov 28 2008, 01:36 PM

God is great!
718 posts

QUOTE(sandboxz @ Nov 28 2008, 01:11 PM)
from what i understand,
at the end of menstruation, your external os ( opening of the cervix) will be more exposed, easier to get samples from there - hence lower chance of specimen collection failure smile.gif
I c... but how about period mixing with the specimen? Wouldnt that show RBC which would lead to failure as well?
sandboxz
post Nov 28 2008, 05:03 PM

169 posts

hmm... good point..
that's why you have to be "dry" when you go to do pap smear.
I got to rectify my statement then tongue.gif
It'll be, say you have a 5 day cycle ( meaning it finishes at 5th day),
ideal timing would be on the 6th day up to 1 week after.

Similarly, for uterine device ( thing you put in your uterus to prevent pregnancy), great timing would be at end of your menstruation.
Why? to make sure she is not pregnant, and because the opening is softer - less pain and injury smile.gif

Q & A on Pap Smear

This post has been edited by sandboxz: Nov 28 2008, 05:13 PM

22 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0286sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 10:48 PM