Pap Smear Test *for GIRLS*, all that u need to know

Fireball9
post Nov 18 2008, 09:14 PM

God is great!
718 posts

But it expensive. I have to disagree with the statement that in sexually active women there's no point taking the vaccine.

It is useful! Even in sexually active women because that's when they have highest risk of getting HPV. So happen IF they already have HPV, it does not cause cancer straight away. Before it does, the vaccine will help prevent the cancer formation. Simple terms, it prevents cancer in sexually active and inactive.

In fact the statement should be.. HPV vaccine is NOT necessary in virgins, but once they are sexually active they should take the vaccine to prevent Cervical cancer because they're now exposed to HPV smile.gif
Fireball9
post Nov 22 2008, 01:45 AM

God is great!
718 posts

Too tired to give any more explanations as each people have their own views. When you go out there and actually give people the vaccine or read about them, the conclusion is basically give the vaccine when she's a virgin or even when she's not a virgin. It helps both ways. Only way it doesnt help is when she already has cancer or the virus is already mutating her cells causing her to get cancer smile.gif
Fireball9
post Nov 26 2008, 01:58 AM

God is great!
718 posts

Wah liao... you aspect people of decent intelligence to understand all your medical talk? Hmm.. should learn to start talking in layman terms, definitely helpful for your future practice! Cheerios! smile.gif
Fireball9
post Nov 27 2008, 01:31 AM

God is great!
718 posts

QUOTE(sandboxz @ Nov 26 2008, 12:57 PM)
I know it's a little sign0006.gif but.. oh well..

hmm.gif we respond looking at the level of education of the given situation.
If a nurse coming as a patient and starts using jargon, you'll sure to follow suit.
Here, if some of us starts using jargon, you can ask to what he/she means.
Well, this is a forum, aka 2 way thing. Nobody'll make fun of you! and we would be happy to help.
And, i'm sure at this Google Age, you can type in "define hysterectomy"  " hysterectomy" and pop, your answer is there.

Hence, fireball,
All of us are human beings trying to be the better man. We are constantly learning. We make mistakes. We rectify them. We change.
Anyway, just my 2 cents, please do suggest things a nicer way.. others might be offended easily.
We are trying our best to help, and hope you do the same too.  icon_rolleyes.gif smile.gif
I believe my suggestion was quite polite, and I'm glad you're not offended, because it would be foolish for a person of high standards to be affected by a simple statement, hence you gain my respect there smile.gif

In regards to your nurse story, it's very simple. There's no nurses here, not a hospital or clinical scenario, it's a forum where all kinds of people medically inclined and non-medically inclined come to read. So the fact is, the situation here is a PUBLIC forum smile.gif Hence I believe it would be to the advantage of everyone if medically related people spead words which we can comprehend.

To be honest, there's so many jargons in the posts above that it is almost impossible to search the meaning of each and every word!

Simple conclusion, speak simple, to be heard and understood by everyone. Impressing with jargons shows lack of attention and experience. Dont take it to heart, it's just my 2 cents worth as well smile.gif
Fireball9
post Nov 28 2008, 01:40 AM

God is great!
718 posts

Surely peace.. we have been peaceful all these while, and will continue to maintain peace! smile.gif We all get excited, very true. I guess after that we should all do pap smear! Yay, cant wait to get my pap smear done soon!
Fireball9
post Nov 28 2008, 08:08 AM

God is great!
718 posts

QUOTE(sandboxz @ Nov 28 2008, 02:25 AM)
thumbup.gif

Added on November 28, 2008, 2:26 amoh yah...
forgot to add,
when doing pap smear, preferable time is to do it at the end of your period ( like day 4 / 5 if yours is a 5 day cycle) smile.gif
Cool, what's the reason for that? Please explain and let us all know! smile.gif
Fireball9
post Nov 28 2008, 01:36 PM

God is great!
718 posts

QUOTE(sandboxz @ Nov 28 2008, 01:11 PM)
from what i understand,
at the end of menstruation, your external os ( opening of the cervix) will be more exposed, easier to get samples from there - hence lower chance of specimen collection failure smile.gif
I c... but how about period mixing with the specimen? Wouldnt that show RBC which would lead to failure as well?
Fireball9
post Nov 29 2008, 12:57 AM

God is great!
718 posts

QUOTE(sandboxz @ Nov 28 2008, 05:03 PM)
hmm... good point..
that's why you have to be "dry" when you go to do pap smear.
I got to rectify my statement then tongue.gif
It'll be, say you have a 5 day cycle ( meaning it finishes at 5th day),
ideal timing would be on the 6th day up to 1 week after.

Similarly, for uterine device ( thing you put in your uterus to prevent pregnancy), great timing would be at end of your menstruation.
Why? to make sure she is not pregnant, and because the opening is softer - less pain and injury smile.gif

Q & A on Pap Smear
Ah.. your first statement sounds better now, with solid reasons! smile.gif

Your second statement is something everyone should know, spot on! rclxms.gif

QUOTE(ah liew @ Nov 28 2008, 11:02 PM)
i think the malu part is when the doctor question the girl before Pap Smear

r u sexually active?
Well, sexual history of a patient is very common. Plus, it's her doctor! Come on, no need to malu with him right?! tongue.gif LOL!!
Fireball9
post Dec 1 2008, 02:10 AM

God is great!
718 posts

QUOTE(sandboxz @ Nov 30 2008, 03:40 PM)
If you are not comfortable discussing this with a male doctor,
it is always possible for you to request for a female doctor.
At the end of the day, he/she's still a doctor. Of course, choose whichever sex you're comfortable with... dont matter...
Fireball9
post Dec 8 2008, 07:35 PM

God is great!
718 posts

QUOTE(alip5225 @ Dec 8 2008, 05:49 PM)
usually in klinik kesihatan the dr in charge in maternal and child health is female, so dont worry.. tongue.gif
Serious meh? I've seen so many make Drs there too! smile.gif Nvm la, still Dr.. can already!
Fireball9
post Dec 9 2008, 06:37 PM

God is great!
718 posts

QUOTE(alip5225 @ Dec 9 2008, 03:40 PM)
yup, i have seen some government clinic only have 1 female dr, and the rest are female nurse in charge in maternal and child health clinic.. tongue.gif
I know there's tons of female nurses, but it really doesnt have to be a female Dr around. To me, it's random! No bias about having male/female there! smile.gif
Fireball9
post Dec 10 2008, 06:16 PM

God is great!
718 posts

QUOTE(leongal @ Dec 10 2008, 08:44 AM)
i went for my first paps smear test; it is not as horrifying as described by some.....maybe the doctor was gentle.....the doctor is a male, with a nurse guarding....and he has alot of patience in calming down, and asked me to relax.....

i went to klinik sekeluarga ipoh, damansara utama - it replaced the damansara women's fertility centre, and the doctor who attended to me was dr anil sharma...

after the test.....he dizzied me by talking to me about cervical cancer and its vacination.... =.='
So how does it feel being examined by a male Dr? Nothing really wrong right? smile.gif

Shouldnt expose Dr's name, but hey, it's a compliment to him so I doubt it'll be an issue.

So did you take the vaccination? Pricey, but worth it if you fit the criteria! Like your age, sexual history, partners, etc.. smile.gif
Fireball9
post Dec 11 2008, 02:05 AM

God is great!
718 posts

QUOTE(alip5225 @ Dec 10 2008, 07:32 PM)
how much the vaccine for HPV virus cost ya?
You need 3 doses, each cost about Rm 400.. so definitely breaking the 1k level. But considering the fact that it prevents you from one of the commonest female cancer, it is certainly worth it! smile.gif
Fireball9
post Dec 11 2008, 07:19 PM

God is great!
718 posts

QUOTE(alip5225 @ Dec 11 2008, 02:48 AM)
wow, i think females prefer shopping.. tongue.gif
Haha, totally unrelated bro. Remember that money spent on this vaccine could save her life!
Fireball9
post Dec 13 2008, 02:28 AM

God is great!
718 posts

QUOTE(alip5225 @ Dec 12 2008, 07:30 AM)
ya, but my sister dont care to take vaccine when i ask her to.. tongue.gif
How old is your sis wor? She's probably a virgin who doesnt have sex? smile.gif
Fireball9
post Dec 14 2008, 02:00 AM

God is great!
718 posts

QUOTE(alip5225 @ Dec 13 2008, 06:26 AM)
no lar, 24 already married.. haha..tongue.gif
Aiyoh, married already no problem la. Single partner for life, she should be safe! smile.gif

QUOTE(7439926 @ Dec 14 2008, 12:50 AM)
is there anything equavalent test for guys to check testicle cancer...just wondering
Hehe, the basic test for testicular cancer is self examination of testis, similar to self breast examination smile.gif
Fireball9
post Dec 15 2008, 02:30 AM

God is great!
718 posts

QUOTE(klifex @ Dec 15 2008, 01:32 AM)
diagnosis of testicular cancer is a combination of history, examination, and also laboratory tests and imaging.
biopsy is not done usualy...why?
because if you want to do a needle biopsy inserting a needle into the testis just to take out some cancer sample, u may cause seeding of cancer cell along the needle track.
the result is that, you may make the cancer worse, you just upgraded the stage of cancer.

then why needle biopsy is okie in breast cancer? because they will mark down the needle track together with the surgical excision. means the whole track will be remove along with the cancer part.

if there's enough evidence on physical examination shows high suspicious of testic cancer, they will proceed to cancer marker such as alpha fetoprotein and B-HCG, which will usually raised in testis cancer.

if both are raised, no doubt, the next thing to plan is a surgery and adjuvant therapy.
Very well explained! Hope guys out there will read this and keep in mind! smile.gif
Just to add,
"u may cause seeding of cancer cell along the needle track." basically the skin of your b@lls may get the cancer cells and become cancerous!

In b@lls cancer, they dont remove the whole b@lls, only what's inside(testis), so any cancerous skin would be left behind. In breast cancer, you remove the whole breast + skin, so not dangerous to do biopsy! smile.gif
Fireball9
post Dec 15 2008, 07:22 PM

God is great!
718 posts

QUOTE(alip5225 @ Dec 15 2008, 07:13 PM)
so, if im not mistaken. to reduce the risk of seeding the cancer cell, we use fine needle aspiration biopsy instead of ordinary biopsy..
That is correct. But the problem is, it still causes seeding of cancer cells. So for the testis, or any other part of the body you're not removing in case of cancer, NO NO to any sort of biopsy which goes through the skin! smile.gif
Fireball9
post Dec 18 2008, 06:30 PM

God is great!
718 posts

QUOTE(alip5225 @ Dec 17 2008, 02:28 PM)
so how to investigate? takkan use excisional biopsy, im sure the males still sayang their testis.. tongue.gif
There's many ways to determine if it's cancer. Tumor markers would be high, USG would show some details, Chest X-ray may show metastases.. all in all, to confirm the cancer, biopsy is still required and the procedure is known as Chevasus procedure!

In simple terms, the process is by making a slit on the testis through a groin incision and taking a frozen section. If report come back as positive, remove testis. If report is negative, close up and put testis back! Done! smile.gif
Fireball9
post Dec 19 2008, 02:00 AM

God is great!
718 posts

QUOTE(alip5225 @ Dec 18 2008, 10:15 PM)
so  what are the tumor marker for testis? i never heard any? if prostat ada la, prostate specific antigen.. biggrin.gif
It depends on the type of testicular cancer.. AFP, HCG, CEA are a few.. check out in your books smile.gif

0.0238sec    0.80    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 04:45 PM