just unlock...no need to lock.
Its the immobilizer activated after the car not started since unlock.
Press unlock and the immobilizer is inactivated.
LYN Official Toyota Vios Owners Thread V2, Thread for all LYN's Toyota Vios owners!
Jun 27 2011, 05:36 PM
456 posts Joined: Sep 2009 |
just unlock...no need to lock.
Its the immobilizer activated after the car not started since unlock. Press unlock and the immobilizer is inactivated. |
Jul 22 2011, 10:32 AM
QUOTE(vios2002 @ Jul 22 2011, 10:03 AM) me currently running on beware though, 30 is abit low for the weather in Msia. Our temperature here can easily pass that 30 degree celcius mark, and it will damage your engine after that.Amsoil SSO 0w30 Amsoil R30 10w30 Transmission oil AMSOIL MTG Gear Lube 75W-90 so far so good. normal drive the oil is so smooth FC drop too..... now even my gf is running on Amsoil Signature series SSO .... her car engine like to sing too.... You won't realize it yet, until your engine starts giving in after years. Which is why i always stick to 5w40. This post has been edited by dtna7: Jul 22 2011, 10:33 AM |
Jul 22 2011, 01:37 PM
QUOTE(vios2002 @ Jul 22 2011, 11:17 AM) yes service outside, friends workshop. SA will not use anythings we buy from outside and request them to install. I've always eager to try a thinner engine oil but my ignorant stopped me.been outside service since 5k of mileage, our toyota full syn is on but after long hour drive outstation most of the time notice respond is abit slow. Understand your concern, if you say 30 is low then 20 will kill the engine right? Yes our Msia is hot but for normal driving our weather is still OK even to use 0w20 grade (normal use)... if you like to rev 0w30 or 10w30 better. recently our weather is getting hotter but this is still not as hot as we do track driving..will notice water and oil temp will climb higher and higher ....this is where i switch to Racing oil from Amsoil R30 10w30. every engine will have some wear and tear after some years of using but if using good engine oil it able to reduce the amount. 5w40 is good but abit heavy need long time to warm up and respond is abit slow in my previous experince. my current mileage is 35k for 8 month old car. my colleague vios is 250k plus for 5 year old car and have not been overhaul he only use normal oil still running strong. is the 0w30 you referring this? Mind to tell me the price? Been trying to research on it just now, though now i doubt it can't be used in our vios, I am still not certain that I should go for it. QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Jul 22 2011, 11:47 AM) w20 is definitely very thin. Im pretty sure there will be consequences.Revving the engine would be great though This post has been edited by dtna7: Jul 22 2011, 01:39 PM |
Jul 22 2011, 02:34 PM
QUOTE(vios2002 @ Jul 22 2011, 02:10 PM) yes, 0w20 from Idemitsu have been launch some time a go in japan. May i ask more on AMSOIL SSO 0w30 that you used?during the testing result was good. Yes, this Signature is their best grade for everyday use some time can push push too. last time my mindset also like u but after use few time looking at result getting was on the good side. Price: local & internet got few supplier this oil 0w20 oil is never too thin, im still finding 0w20 racing oil there is few maker offer 0w10 oil this is much thinner. how much did you pour into your vios? Everytime when i bought those 4L Full Syn 5w40, there will always be leftovers is 3qt enough? Or you poured more than that? Interval change? 10k like other full syn? or more? I plan to try it out for my next oil change |
Jul 25 2011, 02:21 PM
QUOTE(SimonsayZ @ Jul 25 2011, 12:39 PM) Yea matrix is right about the viscocity rating. And where did you get the assumption that I do not know its the viscosity rating?LOL. Unbelievable people think viscosity is the temperature mark lol. 0-30w is ok with vios in tropical weather like ours. I use 10-40w for my car since engine is getting old. Lololol. Sorry cant help loling. The link provided by matrix i read about it long ago. So dun try to be a smart @ss here saying QUOTE(SimonsayZ @ Jul 25 2011, 12:39 PM) the reason why i thought 0w-30 is too thin is all due to my vios manual stating Xw-40.Btw, QUOTE(SimonsayZ @ Jul 25 2011, 12:39 PM) its 10w-40 so much for lol-ing |
Jul 26 2011, 08:50 AM
QUOTE(SimonsayZ @ Jul 26 2011, 12:29 AM) I already stated sorry i couldnt help it. Look at your answers you provided. Definitely i would lol. Forgive my smart assness. If you have read what matrix provided you wouldnt give that kind of reply. no worries. 10w-40 or 10-40w, does it make any difference? Its still viscosity rating to me and not temperature like you mentioned. A simple spelling mistake does not make me dumb. 30w is not too thin for vios for your info. I use to run it on my b16 vtec during track days and its fine. It just depends on your engine conditions really. Sorry if you are offended dude. Dont take it to seriously. will give it a try Amsoil SSO 0w-30 for my next oil change in a month. Then i shall drop by again to provide valuable information to those who is still ignorant like me |
Jul 26 2011, 04:54 PM
QUOTE(SimonsayZ @ Jul 26 2011, 01:40 PM) Sorry bro. Didnt mean that way. We are all ignorant at times but thats how we all learn new stuffs everyday. Anyway, is your vios new model? If yes then fully synthetic 5-30 is perfect. nope...mine is NCP42...already 4 years+My engine is already 5 yrs ++ so i need to use higher viscosity oil. but i have been using full syn all these years...5w-40 though i revv alot my engine, but i think my engine is still tip top condition. dun apologize anymore |
Sep 5 2011, 03:38 PM
QUOTE(vios2002 @ Sep 4 2011, 10:03 AM) Mind to share a bit more on how to DIY?i read the directions stated in Amsoil's website, but not fully understand yet. Thx Added on September 5, 2011, 3:38 pmGuys any of you using Amsoil Oil Filter for your Vios? Is it better than Toyota OEM Oil Filter? This post has been edited by dtna7: Sep 5 2011, 03:38 PM |
Sep 5 2011, 05:50 PM
QUOTE(vios2002 @ Sep 5 2011, 04:38 PM) very easy just need to loose the hose on the throttle body and near to your airbox.... not to forget try not to damage your MAF sensor. dont use any chemical this MAF sensor. thx bro you can check some video in youtube how to decab very easy.... alot of side gave a good review on this Amsoil filter but a bit costly, compare to toyota OE yes it is better ...for me i use this FilterMag the racing grade. |
Sep 5 2011, 09:35 PM
QUOTE(vios2002 @ Sep 5 2011, 04:38 PM) very easy just need to loose the hose on the throttle body and near to your airbox.... not to forget try not to damage your MAF sensor. dont use any chemical this MAF sensor. bro, i just noticed that AMSOIL Website stated that the Power Foam should not be used with vehicles with MAF Sensor is it safe to use on our Vios? |
Sep 5 2011, 10:32 PM
QUOTE(vios2002 @ Sep 5 2011, 09:58 PM) yes you cant spray at the MAF sensor... i only spray at throttle body and also unconnect the vacuum hose .... So you mean you just did what this guy did?some ppl say can use this or that to clean MAF ... tips dont listen to what that say ... you may risk damage your MAF sensor as the reading from this will not be accurate for your ECU http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GwF5spGNswQ I heard some forumers said the car will stop running if we disconnect the hose with MAF Sensor...dunno if its the same for Vios ok thx bro will check out my car tomorrow morning. |
Sep 12 2011, 12:55 AM
QUOTE(vios2002 @ Sep 6 2011, 08:40 AM) yes some thing like this but i let my engine running ... and continue running even during spray this Power foam another option is unplug the vacuum hose then spray in to this hose...it also ok... Would like to express my thanks to bro vios2002 I done this De carbon on 40k mileage engine that is less the a year old.... Done my de-carbon yesterday, engine feels even greater with the new AZO oil thx for the knowledge sharing, i learnt something new about taking care of my car from you This post has been edited by dtna7: Sep 12 2011, 12:55 AM |
Sep 14 2011, 12:39 AM
Oct 24 2011, 09:35 AM
my 2007 NCP42 Vios G Spec
is having problems with wiper jittering... Changed a lot of new wipers already, from cheap Rm10/ea to RM50-60/pair its running fine if its dry, but when its wet(rain), it started to jitter with every swipe Anyone cracked this problem with any solution? Would appreciate the help |
Oct 24 2011, 02:14 PM
Apr 6 2012, 02:41 PM
Anyone here installed an AUX in port to their stock player?
How much does it cost? As we all know Toyota has been very stingy on this part, as my TRD/2007(G) models don't even have a USB/Aux port. I am trying to avoid getting a new player as the current one served me well. Do enlighten me if you have done this before, thanks. |
Apr 26 2012, 09:34 PM
May 9 2012, 02:06 PM
QUOTE(Swatchboy @ May 5 2012, 08:19 PM) Guys, i going to change my tyres soon...so wanna get ur advise whether to stick on stock size or change to 195/55/15? for better ride 195/55/15Thx for economical stick to stock 185/55/15 (beware: rare dimension) for better ride + better looks go for 195/50/15. and the best choice of brand? Michelin PS3 ftw |
May 10 2012, 08:10 AM
May 10 2012, 01:31 PM