Sager : Mobile Gaming @ Its Best v2, NP5160, NP5165, NP5175 w/ GT500 series

SonicSpyro
post Mar 22 2011, 07:15 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(kahjye @ Mar 22 2011, 07:14 PM)
Oh ya , wanna ask also , the battery given is 6 cells battery?
Its an 8 cell battery.

Refer here: http://www.xoticpc.com/sager-np8130-clevo-...rch-p-2973.html
SonicSpyro
post Mar 22 2011, 07:36 PM

500 posts

kahjye is just over excited and very worried about getting a lemon. I think Mucro has a policy of not charging you if you return a faulty unit (major fault) within 7 days of your delivery. Not too sure tho. Ask them.

The dead pixel warranty, just forget it. I didn't have any dead pixel when receive my unit. biggrin.gif Don't worry so much. Trust us.... These laptops are very worth the money you're spending on them. smile.gif
SonicSpyro
post Mar 22 2011, 07:42 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(kahjye @ Mar 22 2011, 07:38 PM)
hahaha ...kinda excited smile.gif

im getting two lemons  brows.gif  brows.gif

okay sir , then i shall proceed to sager by mucro asia then , thanks for all the contribution which clears my dillemma and confusion about this brand compared to others  icon_rolleyes.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
Don't say something you do not wish to happen. biggrin.gif

Good luck with your order and hope that you will get it as soon as possible without much hiccups.
SonicSpyro
post Mar 26 2011, 03:09 PM

500 posts

About the OS thing, when I got my unit, it was installed with Win7 and had a user account that they used during testing. It was activated and everything. I forgot which version but I deleted that and installed my own. :| Looking back, it was a dumb move. Would've saved me a lot of time and money but I was too hyped about getting such a powerful machine. laugh.gif
SonicSpyro
post Mar 26 2011, 09:50 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(carbonytte @ Mar 26 2011, 09:13 PM)
finally done installing everything i needed, and transferring game files from my previous lappy.

for those who wanted to see how lpc-digital packed the laptops (SonicSypro might want to see this):

QUOTE(carbonytte @ Mar 26 2011, 09:38 PM)
yep, not only that they didn't opened up the USPS seal, they were also the one who sent me directly this item.

(i was out having my dinner when the item arrived to my house, thus my housemate took it instead and said the person wasn't from POS Malaysia, his dress was something like Kastam, and mentioned something bout Logistics unit)
Awesome! biggrin.gif Congrats on getting your unit. biggrin.gif From the first picture, it seems that the box is a bit small. Who cares as long as there's no damage on the laptop, right? tongue.gif Maybe its because the courier from US stops after the laptop enters Malaysia and its up to the Kastam/whoever to deliver it to you. Now for review and benchmarks. biggrin.gif
SonicSpyro
post Mar 26 2011, 10:42 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(Keenxlimit @ Mar 26 2011, 10:23 PM)
@Carbon : @_@ You feel safe using such a powerful laptop on a bus?...
I would since the laptop looks so plain and big that thieves would think this laptop was older than 10 years or something. tongue.gif

@carbonytte

Wow.... 30 mins of use and the battery dropped to those levels. Awesome. The newer batteries have certainly improved. Again, enjoy the beast!
SonicSpyro
post Mar 26 2011, 11:51 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(Keenxlimit @ Mar 26 2011, 11:44 PM)
Hmm, notebookreview seems to have something against the stock screen for 8170. Is it really that bad, and will changing it void my warranty?
Changing it yourself? No. I don't think anything that you do to your laptop would really void their warranty. See the screen on your unit first before you decide.
SonicSpyro
post Mar 27 2011, 01:35 AM

500 posts

QUOTE(Keenxlimit @ Mar 26 2011, 11:44 PM)
Hmm, notebookreview seems to have something against the stock screen for 8170. Is it really that bad, and will changing it void my warranty?
QUOTE(kahjye @ Mar 27 2011, 01:13 AM)
o mai...which model?
SonicSpyro
post Mar 27 2011, 10:33 PM

500 posts

From your Sager/Clevo reseller @ from Ebay. Anywhere else, I'm not so sure.
SonicSpyro
post Mar 31 2011, 12:50 AM

500 posts

I think there should be a FAQ in the first post... So that people don't ask repeated questions. Not trying to discourage people from asking but there has been a lot of the same questions going around...

E.g. Warranty (How to claim, How it works, Who has the best, etc.)
Tax (Customs Tax, Delivery Tax, etc.)
Payment (Who accepts what, How to pay, Bank Account Number(s), etc.)
Discounts (Who are entitled, How much of a discount, What type of discount, etc.)
Resellers (List of resellers, Contact info, "Review" of the resellers)
Shipping (Price, Who has the "lowest" charges, etc.)

Again, I am not trying to discourage people from asking questions but there should be a FAQ section in the first post and hopefully it would be implemented.

I'm quite busy so I can't really help much in finding the needed info. sad.gif Scream at me in PM if you want. laugh.gif
SonicSpyro
post Apr 5 2011, 01:54 AM

500 posts

QUOTE(kahjye @ Apr 5 2011, 01:40 AM)
5.5kg........o mai...that is so not portable man...where`d u get the info? laugh.gif

wanna know my future laptop weight also hehehe

6.83 LBs (3.09KG) with Battery Pack

The detail is in the page where you configured your machine on Mucro's website. Near the bottom of the page. wink.gif
SonicSpyro
post Apr 6 2011, 12:03 PM

500 posts

Awesome.... The HD6970M is released. biggrin.gif Thank god I'm patient this time around. biggrin.gif Let's see the initial user reviews before I actually take the leap. I've seen the Anandtech and Tom's Hardware reviews but I still wanna see user reviews from NBR.

$245 upgrade is CHEAP! rclxm9.gif
SonicSpyro
post Apr 8 2011, 11:12 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(cryogenist @ Apr 8 2011, 09:08 PM)
Guys guys, can I clarify something?

The 8150-S1 model, it has a matte option now. Is it always been there or it has been just added recently?
Which Matte option are you referring to? On Xotic's page, there are 2. The first is the matte FINISH while the second is the matte TYPE with 95% NTSC Color Gamut. As far as I've been "stalking" their pages, I've not seen the first matte option before. The matte TYPE on the other hand, if I'm not mistaken, has always been there.

Here's a thread on NBR for updates/news from Sager. There's a mention about the random freezing issue. Take a look if any of you haven't.

http://forum.notebookreview.com/sager-clev...ed-apr-7-a.html
SonicSpyro
post Apr 9 2011, 03:14 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(kahjye @ Apr 9 2011, 12:44 PM)
hmm i already paid them the deposit lol..cant claim it back right? :S
kinda regret buying from mucro .

abit ignorant to me.
@kahjye, be patient. You've already paid your deposit. Just wait for the laptop to arrive already. :| You move to another reseller, you would have to fork out more money. Plus, like someone said, Prince J is like buying from Mucro and selling it back to others. No difference in terms of warranty. Any major fixes, still need to send back to the Sager factory. I would suggest not to spam them so much. I usually send them an email during the day and they would reply either in the evening or at night, even at 3am in the morning.

QUOTE(Amal @ Apr 9 2011, 01:34 PM)
let say if you already bought an 8150 with gtx460... how do you upgrade the gpu in the future? buy the gpu only and fix it your self? or need to send the laptop?
I did a GPU upgrade before. From GTX 280M to the HD5870M. I sent the whole laptop back to Mucro at that time because I didn't know how to do it myself. But when I got it back, the laptop came with a smaller box that had my GTX 280M. So, you can take a slightly more expensive route (send laptop back to reseller and have them upgrade for you and pay the shipping fee to them) or learn how to do it yourself (not recommended if you don't know what you're doing but your reseller will send you the part).
SonicSpyro
post Apr 14 2011, 06:45 PM

500 posts

@kahjye, Why don't you email Sager instead of Mucro. Since they're the ones making your laptop. XD No point spamming a reseller cause they're not the ones who are physically making your laptop. And again, as others have said, be patient and it will arrive when it does. Besides, you already have a desktop to play games right now. Fill your time with it. :|

Looking back at my order last year, it took only 2 weeks to reach me. 12th Feb Order, 14th Status change to Confirmed and Paid. 22nd Shipped. 25th Arrived. I couldn't describe how I felt while waiting. Each email I got from Mucro made me damn happy. XD I didn't even once emailed them about my order, except to inform them about the payment I've made.

I think I'd make a change to the newer model near the end of the year. Already got a good offer from LPC-Digital so I'm gonna go with them when I order. Congrats to those who've received their units. Enjoy the power and performance of your unit. biggrin.gif
SonicSpyro
post Apr 18 2011, 04:42 PM

500 posts

Confirmed and Paid doesn't mean its shipped. Take a chill pill and go out and enjoy life. It'll probably ship out tomorrow or something. ~_~
SonicSpyro
post Apr 22 2011, 02:47 AM

500 posts

@kahjye
Your laptops got thrown into the sea. lulz.... Just chillax and it will be with you when its time. Spamming here or them doesn't help in the least bit.

@Topic:
Soo.... the new model is out. Probably for those who don't really game and more towards those whom are into photoshop/video editing and stuff I suppose. GT 555M doesn't have anywhere near the performance of the GTX 460M/470M but it does have Optimus which is a plus since it helps to increase the time for the battery.
SonicSpyro
post Apr 22 2011, 02:53 AM

500 posts

Have some faith in them. The laptops are already with them. Let them test and make sure everything is well. You want to find a lemon when it arrives and you have to fork out money to send it back or you want them to find a lemon and have them send it back to Sager to fix without charging you anything? Go play games on your already powerful desktop or even get to sleep. You spamming them would only annoy them.
SonicSpyro
post Apr 22 2011, 02:59 AM

500 posts

QUOTE(kahjye @ Apr 22 2011, 02:54 AM)
i think i already did cry.gif
That probably happened since you made payment?

QUOTE(sweeann @ Apr 22 2011, 02:55 AM)
Yeah .. I am quite certain of the following config ...

except for the follwing:

(if I am taking from Mucro lar .. tongue.gif)

Graphics Card: AMD Radeon HD 6970 w/2GB GDDR5
vs
Graphics Card: nVIDIA GeForce GTX 485M w/2GB GDDR5 (+ MYR872.17)

and

Addon Local Mucro Warranty | labour: All costs during warranty paid in full by user(not recommended) (- MYR240.60)
vs
Addon Local Mucro Warranty | labour: 1 year Regional carryin (labour)

Any comments?
If you have the money, go with the GTX. If not, ATi performs nearly as well. Only losing by a few FPS. Look at the reviews posted on the first post or search the thread. The warranty, I'd recommend getting it. Again, search the thread for explanation why. Btw, do you really need to buy the OS?

EDIT: Driver issues are easily fixable. The 11.4 Catalyst seems to be a great performer based on the Preview releases. When you make/receive your order, there would probably drivers with even better support. So there's not much to worry about.

This post has been edited by SonicSpyro: Apr 22 2011, 03:02 AM
SonicSpyro
post Apr 22 2011, 08:15 PM

500 posts

Finally, huh? Congrats.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0410sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:27 AM