Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadbrand Thread V9, save RM200 from 16 February - 31 March !

cherroy
post Mar 7 2011, 04:41 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(dimenxion @ Mar 7 2011, 03:45 PM)
the best choice normally to do the wiring inside your house. instead wired outside and going inside when near the TV area, they normally suggest to do wiring inside your house. of course minimal drilling required.

if you willing to pay more, they will charge RM50 for 15 meter i think. for cabling only
Standard pricing for every 5M - Rm50.

The installer told me, there was once (since the area is all Biz, company/industrial area), there is one company use until 100m.
cherroy
post Mar 8 2011, 04:16 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Aim@n @ Mar 8 2011, 02:25 PM)
IIRC the the password for the router is at the back site rite?
Yes, they do stick it behind.

Confirmation slip also got stated inside.

Added on March 8, 2011, 4:17 pm
QUOTE(Mikeshake @ Mar 8 2011, 03:14 PM)
Hey guys , I subscribed to unifi a month ago with someone, installation and everything was fine but I don't have my service ID to log into the unifi website and pay my bills.
I don't have a registration confirmation slip either, only the unifi acceptance form they gave me during the installation.
Do I have to go to a TM point ? It's kinda far so I'm trying to avoid this option.
There should be another confirmation slip given about your Unifi details.

Added on March 8, 2011, 4:20 pm
QUOTE(doremon @ Mar 8 2011, 10:01 AM)
You all to busy for wireless improvements while im busy to disconnect the wireless 101% LOL. Yesterday got a call from my neighbor he said he still able to access my unifi. Really give up on this matter. I simply shut the modem and router the whole night yesterday just because of that incident. Bummer. How the hell he can get/crack my wireless after I shut everything down. Really puzzle me here huhuhu
Just disable Wireless function in your router.

Use wired.

For wireless, the right way to go, hide SSD, strong WPA password.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Mar 8 2011, 04:20 PM
cherroy
post Mar 9 2011, 03:40 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(nairud @ Mar 9 2011, 03:35 PM)
at least you have it done after 2 hours. my drilling and cabling starts from 1030 and finished at 3, then the contractor was trying to get connected up until 4+pm only he called TM... so god knows when TM will go and have a look and get back to the technicians to set up another appointment with me. sad.gif

my reading at the distribution point was 16.4, then at the end of the fiber b4 the modem it was 16.8.. damn shiok at first but cannot get connected doh.gif
It is good reading.
Mine only get 18-19.

At first, it showed 50-60, shocking.gif
After clean the fibre with alcohol, and make a new connector (Fibre end), reading was 18-19.
cherroy
post Mar 9 2011, 04:04 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(chinkw1 @ Mar 9 2011, 03:58 PM)
1. If during thunderstorm and lightning, do we need to off power to BTU, router and deck phone??
2. Will lightning fry them??
3. Do we need to unplug the fiber optic wire going into the BTU ??
When using streamyx last time, we used to unplug telephone line entering into modem.

Fibre is not a electric conductor, so chance of strike become low as compared with copper (a good electric conductor)

3. Not a good idea, for constantly plug and unplug, in the long run may result in loose connection, due to wear and tear.

cherroy
post Mar 9 2011, 05:40 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(wdarke @ Mar 9 2011, 05:00 PM)
I wonder if it's possible to access the BTU and get the reading, like how we could do it with ADSL modems.
Fyi,
they got the reading through a handheld machine/tablet, not from BTU.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Mar 9 2011, 05:40 PM
cherroy
post Mar 9 2011, 10:59 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Mar 9 2011, 09:52 PM)
I saw some houses have PVC plastic conduit n some don't have. So I called the sales n they said it's provided. Is it correct ? I don't want to argue later with the contractor later as cheat if they said it's chargeable.

Added on March 9, 2011, 10:12 pmI thought 1m is rm 50? My neighbor contractor told me this quote. How come different?
Ya, if you installed 1M also Rm50.
2m - RM50.
3M - Rm50
5M - Rm50
6M - Rm100

They count by 5m per block, as far as I was told.
cherroy
post Mar 10 2011, 04:24 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Mar 10 2011, 11:53 AM)
anyone getting the PVC white pipe for Free from TM or you guys paid extra for it (internal and external )? According to the Sales person , it was provided as free for the 15 m , is it true? Than how come certain houses their wire seems to be naked..? [SIZE=7]
PVC pipe is not provided.

If you want to conceal the fibre cable into PVC pipe, you need to pay for it.

15m is the fibre length given free to you, from DP until your BTU.
cherroy
post Mar 11 2011, 03:14 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Mar 11 2011, 03:10 PM)
When the contractors visited the house, what will be the most important thing to look out for before signing the paper after they had install everything and leave the place for another rush job? As you know, contractors are contractors who are quite linear in their work when comes to rush work.

I can name a few thing here but perhaps there are other thing that i miss.

1) Ask them what's the password and changing the password without screwing the configuration for newbie like me.

2) Confirm there's no extra charges before signing
3) IPTV password and everything in good order .
4) Make sure that they setup the security to WPA .
5) Disable Remote Management
6) Telephone Check
7) Wireless Area Check with own laptop
8) Get the person name and contact number in case we need him back or report to Telekom for whatsoever reason.. hell knows
9) Check cable installation for any shoddy work like few wall plugs etc
10) Remote Control Functioning

Anything else...?
1) they do give a a few piece of papers that contain all your details.
5) remote management is disable in newer firmware 7.09.

cherroy
post Mar 19 2011, 04:21 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(sohlican @ Mar 19 2011, 04:01 PM)
Bill is not out probably the address is not in correct format, especially if you are staying in high rise.

Register your Unifi portal and view/pay your bill.

You do not want to receive a bomb legal letter from Telekom asking you to clear the whole amount though.

It happens to me. I wasn't receiving my bills too.  Lucky it was too late, I registered the at the portal and paid my bills. tongue.gif
Unifi charges Rm8 for paper bill.

There is an option in the application form for you to tick whether to receive the paper bill or not.
cherroy
post Mar 23 2011, 04:30 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(blindbox @ Mar 23 2011, 03:36 PM)
First of all, Gateway IP is usually obtained from the PPPoE server or the DHCP server. For those behind the network, the Gateway IP is the router that has a direct link to the internet (again, given by the DHCP server). For a computer (or a router) with the direct link to the internet, the one from PPPoE would be your gateway IP. I gave you the rough outline, could you tell me what do you mean by the Gateway IP that you set? How did you set it? By PPPoE? At the DHCP server?

AFAIK, just plug the network switch to a lan port on the DIR-615 and you're good to go, without changing anything at all. Once you change something, be prepared dude, you need some skills and understanding.
Ain't DIR become the DHCP server, and assign each computer behind the router with individual IP and everyone can online already?

Sorry, still novice in networking.
cherroy
post Mar 26 2011, 03:56 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(janson_kaniaz @ Mar 26 2011, 02:18 PM)
wat does xtra here mean?
do they have standard length tats considered free?
if any case, if xtra length is indeed required, how much is the rate we are talking about here, per meter?
and we sort of need to pay no matter wat right, since they r the only one doing it...?
15M.

RM50 for 5M.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Mar 26 2011, 03:57 PM
cherroy
post Apr 7 2011, 12:54 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(nickchai1313 @ Apr 6 2011, 10:32 PM)
new mini fan for modem ~ LOL ~
I wonder this kind of fan can be used for long hours continously or not? sweat.gif

0.0483sec    0.48    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:28 PM