5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Sony Xperia Neo and Pro, Another Xperia brothers

jeopardise
post Jan 1 2012, 05:35 PM

tidak memberi seketul tahi!
1,767 posts

SiuYi : pmed u already. rootxperia is for unlocked only.

root voids warranty. but u can unroot. if u unlock bootloader, u can relock.

If you read more, it is very quite safe to do and there's lots of possibilities or capabilities waiting to be discovered.
jeopardise
post Jan 1 2012, 10:48 PM

1,767 posts

yeah ... seriously can do it. some even can lock/unlock so many times.

i can only advice you to read because our phone model is different and there are problems and can be solved in different ways.

I think the TPU casing also being sold in lelong/
jeopardise
post Jan 3 2012, 11:14 AM

1,767 posts

AP is also original la hehe

wahlao i got credit from SiuYi rclxms.gif Thanks ... enjoy ur rootbir

This post has been edited by jeopardise: Jan 3 2012, 11:17 AM
jeopardise
post Jan 3 2012, 06:52 PM

1,767 posts

QUOTE(terryforever @ Jan 3 2012, 01:17 PM)
may i ask, wat so good for ROOTing?
Just to name a few with my own word,

Install/uninstall apps as I want - Free some space and RAM, better performance or battery life. Remove junk apps

Access to hardware control - Key re-mapping, CPU overclocking

Unlocks new features - install drivers, supports extra capabilities such as USB-OTG, AP mode, enhance camera etc

Accessibilities - For Neo/Arc no need widget to enable/disable BT/Wifi. Just slide statusbar and press shortcut you want. There's reboot option too with recovery! Using widget for shortcut just waste of RAM.

Change UI - Transparent status bar?

... a bit more like i can create the phone like i want tongue.gif

... and much much more
jeopardise
post Jan 4 2012, 01:32 AM

1,767 posts

QUOTE(SiuYi @ Jan 3 2012, 09:30 PM)
jeopardise
Accessibilities - For Neo/Arc no need widget to enable/disable BT/Wifi. Just slide statusbar and press shortcut you want. There's reboot option too with recovery! Using widget for shortcut just waste of RAM. <-----uih? HOW??
brows.gif

BTW, I've change my boot animation to Bluehavoc ... thumbup.gif

Warning: Read proper instructions to properly mod.

Poison drool.gif

This post has been edited by jeopardise: Jan 4 2012, 01:36 AM
jeopardise
post Jan 4 2012, 11:19 AM

1,767 posts

QUOTE(terryforever @ Jan 4 2012, 11:01 AM)
Can i remove tat McAfee Security also?
bcoz i try remove it, it will LOCK my phone ==
so good i still remember the pin i register wit it
definitely yes. I've removed Mcafee in .62 firmware without problem
jeopardise
post Jan 4 2012, 11:44 AM

1,767 posts

QUOTE(terryforever @ Jan 4 2012, 11:39 AM)
I know this is stupid question,
but is a PRO question for me ==

"Does tis means i can't update next time with SONY PC Companion?"
If answer is YES, then where n how i update next time?
Bcoz now in my mind, i just want ROOT my phone,
dun want ROM.

SiuYi, dun mad on me~ i still a NOOB. cry.gif

(yesterday i read a book in Kinokuniya about Android phone, I understand a bit of ROOT n ROM, bcoz i try understand it with Xbox mod thing (JTAG n FBT). So i understand a bit)
After you unlocked your phone, you can't update your phone using SEUS (SE update service) because it'll say your phone has been modified. Unsuccessful update may brick you phone however. If you brick your phone thru this method, there are ways to resurrect it.

You can update using Flashtool software which can be found in the Internet for free. The firmware also provided by Wotanserver, and update is up to your choice.
jeopardise
post Jan 5 2012, 10:06 AM

1,767 posts

QUOTE(SiuYi @ Jan 4 2012, 09:34 PM)
jeopardise
got question ask u:

currently my ROM is stock-based kernal with recovery, but no shortcut to recovery mode. and i wanna flash it to stock-based kernel with recovery and with shortcut to recovery mode.

do i need to revert back to the stock kernel or just extract the .zip in recovery mode to unload the .img? <--will it brick my hp? hmm.gif

-----

bla bla bla
i am unclear about "with shortcut to recovery mode".

Do you mean you want to have shortcut like Reboot menu to recovery mode OR when you start your phone, to enter recovery mode you have to press 'shortcut' key like Volume down like Xperia neo.

I am not sure about reverting back to stock kernel using .zip file because I do not know the .zip file purpose. If you do this, the worst thing could happen could be boot loop. I don't think will brick it. IF you got bootloop, reflash but do not clear data.

Perhaps the method to revert back safely is available here (I haven't tested it) by DoomLord : http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1116970

I've managed to install CWM recovery for Neo which available from this link http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1364509

I used the Run install-cwm?.cmd method to successfully boot into recovery but using pressing Vol - after turning on the phone.

I had bootloop after installing Recovery using RootExplorer. I can only enter Recovery but couldn't pass SE bootanimation.

You said you can enter Recovery and you managed to navigate using Pro keys? A few said the key mapping is different or can't navigate at all.

Hope this helps

This post has been edited by jeopardise: Jan 5 2012, 10:09 AM
jeopardise
post Jan 5 2012, 10:41 PM

1,767 posts

QUOTE(SiuYi @ Jan 5 2012, 07:50 PM)
jeopardise
shortcut during startup to recovery mode. u tried with cm? before? now no more? i plan to use cm7 ler.

I haven't tried CM yet. I am quite happy with stock SE rom. If not mistaken there still under development, such as HDMI doesn't work.

Now with stock Gingerbread 2.3, I can enter recovery with shortcut key when booting.

QUOTE(SiuYi @ Jan 5 2012, 07:50 PM)

from my POV and readings, i found out "PRO is near similar to NEO and ARC, in the same category with other Xperia 2011". if kernel or widget is suitable for NEO and ARC, it might work 90% on PRO, if it suits PLAY/ACTIVE/RAY or MINI PRO, then it might work 45%.

just my estimations.
You are right. they should work with Pro.

So far I haven't bricked it yet so ... nice and fun testing with it rclxms.gif
jeopardise
post Jan 6 2012, 12:01 AM

1,767 posts

QUOTE(SiuYi @ Jan 5 2012, 10:55 PM)
like tat i dun wanna go for cm7 1st. PRO got stock rom with recovery + shortcut. but unfortunately the 1 i flash in is without shortcut. so now im thinking of flashing it to the 1 with shortcut. hmm.gif
Post #711 - http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1364509

Why recovery so important to you hmm.gif

Once I rooted,
-I optimize the apps - remove dublicates in /data/apps to /system/apps
-remove junks/wallpapers/widgets/services that i didn't use
-mod the status bar/battery/power menu
-v6 supercharger HARD TO KILL! (I bet you'll love how responsive ur Pro upon installing this)

After all that, I still have almost 250MB free space with apps from market that i need. After games, still have 200MB free. (I play SFIV, Real Racing 2, Angry Birds, AirAttack and Genesis emulator only)

320MB of RAM quite limited. I hate when my game FC hmm.gif
jeopardise
post Jan 6 2012, 09:18 AM

1,767 posts

v6 supercharger is memory management using script.

By far its the best. It just works and no apps involved, just run sh script.

I've tried RAM Manager pro, Memory Manager etc but couldn't match supercharger script.

Now when i exited Opera, home icon doesn't reload, scrolling home screen so snappy smooth and I can open many tabs in Opera without significant lag.

Its free anyway
jeopardise
post Jan 6 2012, 12:03 PM

1,767 posts

Thanks. Got used to it tongue.gif
jeopardise
post Jan 6 2012, 03:51 PM

1,767 posts

QUOTE(SiuYi @ Jan 6 2012, 01:19 PM)
kasih link sikit. i wan read.
ini link kasi faham -> [TUTORIAL] How to instal V6 SuperCharger
jeopardise
post Jan 6 2012, 10:19 PM

1,767 posts

QUOTE(SiuYi @ Jan 6 2012, 04:50 PM)
i want to tanya, u use fastboot command prompt script or terminal emulator?
guna terminal emulator shj
jeopardise
post Jan 6 2012, 10:31 PM

1,767 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Jan 6 2012, 05:58 PM)
Can we install recovery options manually after that?
CWM Recovery 5.0.2.7-nAa-r2 for Stock Xperia Neo/Neo v [With Lock Bootloader] - http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1364509

QUOTE(SiuYi @ Jan 6 2012, 10:22 PM)

Added on January 6, 2012, 10:23 pm
ini macam i tak perlu install busybox liaw lor? coz terminal emulator will come along with busybox, right? or is it titanium backup which comes along ar? forget liaw lar..
doh.gif
Perlu install busybox lor ... titanium also will fully enabled with busybox and fast too. use busybox version as described in the guide. more root apps depends on busybox to work properly.

titanium doesnt come with busybox.

This post has been edited by jeopardise: Jan 6 2012, 10:35 PM
jeopardise
post Jan 7 2012, 11:36 AM

1,767 posts

the different between Neo-V and Neo is the camera. Go for Neo for the better 8.1MP camera.

Neo-V downgraded to 5MP because of the deadly Japan earthquake took lives and brought the local electronics industry to a halt. Sony was affected too and, with a shortage of 8 megapixel camera sensors looming, someone had to take the hit. That someone was the Xperia neo. This is the story told by a company insider, who we have no reason to doubt.

V means 5, or value?
jeopardise
post Jan 7 2012, 12:55 PM

1,767 posts

If you haven NOT unlocked the bootloader then you can use pc companion.

If you have unlocked the bootloader, pc companion will not work. It'll say you phone has been modified.
1. you can flash to original Pro rom using wotanserver
2. you download pro firmware (if you can find and download it) and flash using Flash utility
3. Relock the bootloader, and use PC companion.

Added on January 7, 2012, 12:59 pmIt is safer to use stock kernel for Pro.

Wotan server link for pro: http://www.wotanserver.com/en/sony-ericsso...ebranding-flash

I did use this to update my NEO because i've unlocked bootloader and pc companion rejected my update.

So far no problem. I think you should too.

This post has been edited by jeopardise: Jan 7 2012, 01:02 PM
jeopardise
post Jan 7 2012, 02:06 PM

1,767 posts

you download the driver and use the client to flash.

it will flash ur firmware to stock.
jeopardise
post Jan 7 2012, 06:14 PM

1,767 posts

QUOTE(SiuYi @ Jan 7 2012, 02:59 PM)
guess what, im trying to use the classic method now. pc companion > phone software update > repair ...hope it will jump back to stock.

i tried flashing directly from the stock-based kernel A (without shortcut) to stock-based kernel B (with shortcut) but the installation failed. duno why. maybe is because the unit should be without root...so i try flash it back to stock and try reflash it again with kernel B. *fingercrossed*

i really wanna do the scriptings for v6 supercharger and widget merge..

ps: the driver in wotanserver error loading page..so game over.
try neo driver. i think it is generic driver.

i'll notify u if i found rom for pro

jeopardise
post Jan 7 2012, 09:44 PM

1,767 posts

nevermind ... no pain no gain :-P

if u relock bootloader, pc companion might not work also because it can check modifiied system in ur phone after u rooted it. however it might work too eventhough phone is rooted.

better to flash offline. u can re-use it anytime.

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0399sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 06:21 AM