34 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Bottom

Technical PS3 Yellow Light of Death Discussion Thread, PS3 YLOD Discussion Thread

TScloudstrifes
post Oct 31 2011, 03:46 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(shin gouki @ Oct 30 2011, 09:42 PM)
Erm my fat ps3 cechk06 got rlod whn playing some game especially gta4.
So I decided to open it and put the arctic silver 5 thermal paste.
But after tht it seems getting worse.
Im getting rlod for games tht is ok b4.
Now I can play SF4 only.
Other intensive game like uncharted 2, gta4, RDR, la noire will get rlod.
So is my ps3 is as good as dead already?
Any sifu here got experience on applying thermal paste?
I still haven play uncharted 3 my ps3 cannot die now T_T
btw is YLOD not RLOD. yeah like wat other ppl said is the soldering problem... not the thermal problem... u will understand when u read my 1st post.

QUOTE(andrewcha @ Oct 30 2011, 10:00 PM)
if u apply thermal paste also liddat means is the soldering la. I also want to fix my slim. but dark soul keep attracting me ask me die many many time.
Usually wat i heard from slim is.. once it died forever it died...

QUOTE(Kimichi @ Oct 31 2011, 02:26 PM)
hey guys,

any of you try deyamato service before?
planning to send it to him.

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2021803&hl=
yeah sure do bring to him... it is worth ur time and money to send to him... friendly + fast service + honest + reasonable price + pro in repairing with a lot repairing knowledge. U can call him and ask suggestion 1st. He is a patient guy who can slowly explain to u and wat u nid to do.
shin gouki
post Oct 31 2011, 07:33 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(cloudstrifes @ Oct 31 2011, 03:46 PM)
btw is YLOD not RLOD. yeah like wat other ppl said is the soldering problem... not the thermal problem... u will understand when u read my 1st post
It is RLOD coz it doesn blink yellow light. I can do folding without auto-restart. My ps3 is 2 year n 3 months old only and I only play on weekend for average of four hours. Is my ps3 die too soon. I think the only solution for my problem is to get ps3 slim x_x Sony's ps3 is made to fail =_= otherwise they wont be selling tht many console ><
naziaf
post Oct 31 2011, 07:42 PM

244 posts

When I first got RLOD, it was actually YLOD. I just didn't notice the single flash of yellow when it shut down by itself.
qudeenz360
post Oct 31 2011, 07:45 PM

5,761 posts

Ps3 slim aku dah macam bunyi kipas kuat lepas setengah jam je... apakah itu tanda YLOD? sleep.gif
TScloudstrifes
post Oct 31 2011, 08:47 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(shin gouki @ Oct 31 2011, 07:33 PM)
It is RLOD coz it doesn blink yellow light. I can do folding without auto-restart. My ps3 is 2 year n 3 months old only and I only play on weekend for average of four hours. Is my ps3 die too soon. I think the only solution for my problem is to get ps3 slim x_x Sony's ps3 is made to fail =_= otherwise they wont be selling tht many console ><
QUOTE(naziaf @ Oct 31 2011, 07:42 PM)
When I first got RLOD, it was actually YLOD. I just didn't notice the single flash of yellow when it shut down by itself.
yeah exactly maybe u didn't noticed the yellow light coz is juz a flash...

QUOTE(qudeenz360 @ Oct 31 2011, 07:45 PM)
Ps3 slim aku dah macam bunyi kipas kuat lepas setengah jam je... apakah itu tanda YLOD? sleep.gif
ia sudah panas jadi ia akan cepatkan kipas itu untuk melegakan ps3 itu...
shin gouki
post Oct 31 2011, 09:13 PM

74 posts

Well at least I still able to do folding lol and can still copy my save files whn new slim arrives. Is ps3 YLOD reli inevitable one *sob sob* guess wat my first game on slim would be uncharted 3 ><
naziaf
post Oct 31 2011, 09:48 PM

244 posts

Some ppl used a fan speed controller to manually control the speed of the internal fan. So far, havent heard of the guy designing the circuit reporting YLOD on his 40GB launch PS3 yet. It's worth a try.

I have the module but too late since in my case the MOBO rosak dy.
prominen
post Oct 31 2011, 10:01 PM

290 posts

not sure I kena full YLOD or not bcoz yesterday I just open my PS3 fat after 6 month not open it...It just light yellow for a sec than red blinking light with a beep...
TScloudstrifes
post Oct 31 2011, 11:36 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(shin gouki @ Oct 31 2011, 09:13 PM)
Well at least I still able to do folding lol and can still copy my save files whn new slim arrives. Is ps3 YLOD reli inevitable one *sob sob* guess wat my first game on slim would be uncharted 3 ><
i think it can but u nid to handle ur ps3 very very well...

QUOTE(naziaf @ Oct 31 2011, 09:48 PM)
Some ppl used a fan speed controller to manually control the speed of the internal fan. So far, havent heard of the guy designing the circuit reporting YLOD on his 40GB launch PS3 yet. It's worth a try.

I have the module but too late since in my case the MOBO rosak dy.
where to get the speed controller u mentioned?

QUOTE(prominen @ Oct 31 2011, 10:01 PM)
not sure I kena full YLOD or not bcoz yesterday I just open my PS3 fat after 6 month not open it...It just light yellow for a sec than red blinking light with a beep...
and still it works?
nairud
post Nov 3 2011, 09:20 AM

One Leg Kick Ultra
7,529 posts

Looks like it happened to my phat yesterday after i insert UC3 disc inside.

light sequence is green-yellow-blinking red. what does it mean?

coz i heard some ppl immediately get solid red light
blah2blah
post Nov 3 2011, 11:00 AM

748 posts

afaik blinking red means hardware failure.
ok I decided to give up my dark soul and put some effort on my died slim. if I got any breakthrough will inform u all. might make a tutorial as well if success.

This post has been edited by andrewcha: Nov 3 2011, 11:02 AM
TScloudstrifes
post Nov 4 2011, 09:50 AM

464 posts

QUOTE(nairud @ Nov 3 2011, 09:20 AM)
Looks like it happened to my phat yesterday after i insert UC3 disc inside.

light sequence is green-yellow-blinking red. what does it mean?

coz i heard some ppl immediately get solid red light
usually ylod means overheating...

QUOTE(andrewcha @ Nov 3 2011, 11:00 AM)
afaik blinking red means hardware failure.
ok I decided to give up my dark soul and put some effort on my died slim. if I got any breakthrough will inform u all. might make a tutorial as well if success.
died slim? how it died? usually wat i noe is slim unable to recovered from ylod...
prominen
post Nov 4 2011, 10:56 AM

290 posts

QUOTE(cloudstrifes @ Oct 31 2011, 11:36 PM)
i think it can but u nid to handle ur ps3 very very well...
where to get the speed controller u mentioned?
and still it works?
not working...haiya...just great when UC3 just come out...huhuhu
but not yet tested hair dryer method...
naziaf
post Nov 4 2011, 12:27 PM

244 posts

I've tried the hair dryer method with circuit board stripped out from the console. Didn't work as I think the heat wasn't high enuf.

I believe the one that works is where you wrap the console in a towel or enclose it in the retail box and blow the hair dryer into the back grille? I'm too scared to try that method. Not until I xfer all my data into a new unit.
TScloudstrifes
post Nov 4 2011, 09:07 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(prominen @ Nov 4 2011, 10:56 AM)
not working...haiya...just great when UC3 just come out...huhuhu
but not yet tested hair dryer method...
do not ever try the stupid hair dryer method... it spoil ur component...

QUOTE(naziaf @ Nov 4 2011, 12:27 PM)
I've tried the hair dryer method with circuit board stripped out from the console. Didn't work as I think the heat wasn't high enuf.

I believe the one that works is where you wrap the console in a towel or enclose it in the retail box and blow the hair dryer into the back grille? I'm too scared to try that method. Not until I xfer all my data into a new unit.
no do not try it... u will regret to try it... it spoil ur ps3 component, it might works for awhile, but it will gone ylod anytime... if lucky it can last, but USUALLY it wont last... so do not ever try this cheap method... juz send to someone to fix it...
jgamer
post Nov 9 2011, 12:14 AM

25 posts

hi everyone, i planning to get ps3 but which one i should get?
my set or sg set
i know that my set is the best but since i looked over
this thread, i dunno which should i get already ( my budget quite tight)
so, i need everyone's honest opinion
tq

TScloudstrifes
post Nov 9 2011, 12:59 AM

464 posts

QUOTE(jgamer @ Nov 9 2011, 12:14 AM)
hi everyone, i planning to get ps3 but which one i should get?
my set or sg set
i know that my set is the best but since i looked over
this thread, i dunno which should i get already ( my budget quite tight)
so, i need everyone's honest opinion
tq
ok if u get MY set make sure u can from sony centre, of course u can get somewhere else wit SONY warrany... like i mention is SONY warranty not ordinary shop provided warranty... and of course if u get from sony my u hav to pay slightly more like 100 bucks i guess? i din survey the price now... i would advise to get SG set, because it is cheaper 100-200 bucks if i'm not mistaken + they provide Sony Singapore warranty, as long as the warranty provided by sony then it doesnt matter, but the only prob is u have to send back to singapore and required like around 50 bucks to send back. So overall sg set is more worth, but more procedure and more time u have to spend. Either u can pay more to save all the problems or spend less to get the same thing but u hav to wait and proceed more stuff... So i've explained everything. Others is up to u to decide.
naziaf
post Nov 9 2011, 10:05 AM

244 posts

Just to add on top of what cloudstrifes said, all the hassle is involved ONLY IF you need to claim warranty. Otherwise, relax and enjoy the PS3 during the warranty period biggrin.gif
TScloudstrifes
post Nov 10 2011, 01:23 AM

464 posts

QUOTE(naziaf @ Nov 9 2011, 10:05 AM)
Just to add on top of what cloudstrifes said, all the hassle is involved ONLY IF you need to claim warranty. Otherwise, relax and enjoy the PS3 during the warranty period biggrin.gif
yes... exactly... actually u can do smtg like tat, I've heard someone suggest such suggestion. Use the ps3 until the warranty over, sell it out and get a new 1... LOL~
Godai Yusuke
post Nov 10 2011, 02:17 AM

QUOTE(cloudstrifes @ Nov 10 2011, 01:23 AM)
yes... exactly... actually u can do smtg like tat, I've heard someone suggest such suggestion. Use the ps3 until the warranty over, sell it out and get a new 1... LOL~
for phat version then change,for slim first time repair ylod still can tahan at least 1 year. smile.gif

34 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Top

0.0544sec    0.76    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 09:02 PM