10 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Technical PS3 Yellow Light of Death Discussion Thread, PS3 YLOD Discussion Thread

TScloudstrifes
post Feb 12 2011, 11:59 AM, updated 11y ago

464 posts

Hi to every users of PS3. I'm one of the consumer who experience problem in YLOD. As this problem is getting more and more common to Phat PS3 and it also happened to quite an amount of Slim PS3 user. YLOD happened because PS3 running high graphics so it produce a lot of heat and the heat will cause crack in the soldering of the PS3. PS3 is using lead free soldering, compare lead and lead free, lead is much more better and I believe that YLOD problems will be lesser if using leaded soldering. Based on the research I made, I also found out that Sony apply thermal poorly in the RSX the graphic processor in the ps3 and using poor quality thermal as well. Besides that, the air ventilation or ps3 is not good enough that is also another reason that cause YLOD.

To prolong your PS3 lifespan
1. Make it stand vertically
2. If possible let it cool as much as possible. Example like play with open you air-conditional
3. Give your PS3 some space, especially behind. Don't let the PS3 blew the air straightly to the wall it might cause some air trap around outside PS3.
4. Maintain your PS3 after warranty. Example clean the inner part of PS3 from dust and if possible reapply thermal.

Hope these can help user increase some knowledge about the most critical problem of PS3 and guides to take care your PS3.

This post has been edited by cloudstrifes: Nov 12 2012, 11:05 AM
TScloudstrifes
post Feb 12 2011, 12:10 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(heavyarm @ Feb 12 2011, 12:10 PM)
urs is ps3 fat?
yup exactly somemore limited edtion... T_T
TScloudstrifes
post Feb 12 2011, 03:02 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(heavyarm @ Feb 12 2011, 12:16 PM)
tot ps3 slim is correct ylod problem d.
btw hope sony gv 3 year warranty on every ylod ps3 due to their design mistake tongue.gif
yeah they shuld do that...

QUOTE(gundamalpha @ Feb 12 2011, 12:19 PM)
Sony got their ass saved because RROD was getting more attention at the time. At least MS willing to admit their mistakes while Sony still robbing consumers for their own mistakes.
That's why i'm doing this to show Sony.

QUOTE(alpha0201 @ Feb 12 2011, 12:19 PM)
Even though fat PS3 YLOD issue is extremly common, the slim model cannot escape this problem as well.
will it be lesser chance to affect YLOD?

QUOTE(Rezuan78 @ Feb 12 2011, 12:38 PM)
up untill today there is 62 PS3 YLOD users has voted on the other thread. maybe u can combine it togehter...

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1216645&hl=
i dont think it can combine, coz both different, this 1 is to complain Sony about YLOD problems not the other problem, and that topic is to show what problem will occur on their PS3

QUOTE(raffie092 @ Feb 12 2011, 12:56 PM)
yes,but the point is that is still can YLOD.why don't they detect the problem,get it fix then release the slim.damn it sony,from the sales of the ps3,at least you guys can invest into RnD of the stupid YLOD thing vmad.gif
yeah... exactly...

QUOTE(baroness @ Feb 12 2011, 01:36 PM)
slim version pun kena ylod?
Yeah u can watch some slim ylod on youtube.

QUOTE(Omochao @ Feb 12 2011, 02:13 PM)
I believe this is a marketing conspiracy...

knowing that the Old models PS3 are expensive to produce, they came up with this idea of setting a dateline for your PS3 lifespan.

I.E Hardcore players- 2-3 years the most
Usual players- 4-5 years

And they would also turn a blind eye if at YLOD happens and blame it on you players for not giving the machine a good rest after gaming while Knowing that is actually their design flaw.

Thus, promoting existing customers to buy their new design PS3 which is cheaper to produce and also selling almost the same cost.

In the end, who earns? Sony earns.
Exactly, thats y we as consumer shuld take action on them... This is consumer rights.

QUOTE(Duckies @ Feb 12 2011, 02:36 PM)
This is totally their fault.Wat do they mean by "blame it on you players for not giving the machine a good rest after gaming"?We bought the damn thing to game,not for it to lie and rest on the table.Even Microsoft is willing to admit the RROD,then Intel is admitting their Sandy Bridge flaw,but Sony did no shit to fix this thing.They dont even bother to try to giv a damn solutions for it.

So in the end,we consumers r the one to suffer.Pay more than 1k juz to get worried that one day u will get YLOD.And now they r planning to release Xperia Play and PSP2 (NGP).For god sake,before releasing something new,y dont they clean up their old mess first?
I totally agree that they cant fix the problem i bet there will be smtg happened on their NGP and their Xperia... If we juz leave it as it, the more problem will occur on the nxt generation consoles as nobody cares, and Sony take advantage on us as a consumer. They are taking advantage while we are taking the disadvantages.
TScloudstrifes
post Feb 12 2011, 03:52 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(Omochao @ Feb 12 2011, 03:46 PM)
For us to go against a big international company is kind off impossible but not fully impossible.

Unless we can get the whole world's petition. Then maybe yes, we can turn the tables against Sony for this issue.

but until you get the whole world's petition, we just have to live with it at the moment.
thats what I'm planning to do and of course I need every consumer help as well, I cannot do this by myself.
TScloudstrifes
post Feb 12 2011, 08:08 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(goskype @ Feb 12 2011, 03:55 PM)
I recently got YLOD also after the Update 3.55 , I support
actually ylod r not causes by update.

QUOTE(darkskies @ Feb 12 2011, 04:02 PM)
Actually putting this on facebook is enough to attract enough attention. Just keep it big and spread it around. Very soon the news will reach them right under their nose.

Companies these days are irresponsible unlike like time before the year 2000. Due to cheap production and also fearing that having a long lifespan hardware might crippled their income. Most companies purposely design the lifespan to last only 1-3yrs for extensive use and depends on luck where some could hit 5yrs top and find their hardware with more and more problems surfacing.

This is their strategy to make sure consumers will return to them again.
yeah i can c tat, tats y i'm doing it big...

QUOTE(PhoenixByte @ Feb 12 2011, 04:08 PM)
Sony: MAKE BELIEVE tongue.gif

That alone says it all biggrin.gif
says my a double s man...

TScloudstrifes
post Feb 12 2011, 08:12 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(Gahleon @ Feb 12 2011, 08:08 PM)
My fat 60gb still work fine
lucky 4 u, even my fren fat ps3 white colour dunno how many gb bought earlier than me 1 year also working fine for now, while mine 160GB fat ps3 gone...
TScloudstrifes
post Feb 12 2011, 11:23 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(Gaia34 @ Feb 12 2011, 09:58 PM)
My 40gb is still working fine but the fan becomes very loud(like vacuum) after about 20 minutes.. sweat.gif
mine will juz become loud after I started game awhile...

QUOTE(baroness @ Feb 12 2011, 10:05 PM)
im a hardcore gamer...
been playing my ps3 almost 24-7
since 6 month back
my room dun even have air cond
normal fan only
i put my slim ps3 vertically so it will have better cooling that put it horizontally

can u blame a car manufacturer if ur gearbox spoilt after u use 3-5 years?
i din use 3-5 years it juz around 2 years and i didn't play often as well, i juz played a lot during free times only well i dont hav a lot free times as well is juz like 2 days available in 1 week or less than tat...

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Feb 12 2011, 10:34 PM)
out of 23 who voted, 5 are from slim users

this is bad,real bad.i thought slim is extremely rare to kena ylod?
no it still exist on slim, but i guess it shuld be less problem to slims..

QUOTE(raffie092 @ Feb 12 2011, 10:48 PM)
yeah?well,tell that to sony....all they care is profit,but no quality.do we have any problems like this with the great ol' psONE?no i think....i have mine for 5 years,played it for 6-7 hours a day(was a kid back then,so play games until there's no tomorrow),and the only thing broke is the disc holder,which broke a little piece,but can still put in the cd,load it,and play it.no need of good ventilation or anything like that,just plug it into the tv and play.and the day that my ps1 died is bcos of the big floods in kedah in 2005,if not bcos of the floods,i bet it would still kick the ps3's ass lifespan
QUOTE(shahreza2000 @ Feb 12 2011, 10:50 PM)
wanna compare ps1 tech with ps3 tech...  doh.gif
QUOTE(raffie092 @ Feb 12 2011, 10:56 PM)
i dont want to compare the tech....i just want to compare the lifespan.why can't technology nowadays cant even pass 3 years....if more than that,something is surely go wrong.even the small things...like it wont read the disc la,got power supply problem,things like that sweat.gif

as in other words,all big companies today think like this---> more quantity,less quality
yes i totally agree wit this i understand that ps3 have better hardwares compares to the old playstation 1 and playstation 2, but still they should do smtg that can last as long as the old 1, i didn't ask them for even longer than the old machine juz hope that it can last as long as b4. I can understand if it happened to SOME of them only, but it isn't it happened to A LOT USERS, u wouldn't understand if it didn't happened on u, once it happened to u, and u will straightly understand.
TScloudstrifes
post Feb 12 2011, 11:37 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Feb 12 2011, 11:32 PM)
jz my 2 cents  icon_rolleyes.gif i feel this is jz another wasted effort....ps 3 had been released for 5 years now.if the complaint for ylod wasn't many enough we probably wouldn't even know bout it, and sony, if they really wan to solve the prob, they would've did it

anyway kudos ts for ur effort, hope u keep it up.something might jz work out of it
i think that consumer didn't put much effort on it, tats y i'm trying 2 make it big.
TScloudstrifes
post Feb 13 2011, 09:40 AM

464 posts

QUOTE(tanseehua @ Feb 13 2011, 12:09 AM)
support u...........................
2 of my fren phat ps3 ylod.
1 of my fren slim 120GB ps3 ylod also
tqtq

QUOTE(snipersnake @ Feb 13 2011, 12:23 AM)
sony uses that thermal paste because the better ones contains lead. which is a no no for a  toy. i was  hit once. then i bought a new    one. problem solved.
u hav enugh financial to get a brand new 1, while others dont hav... but anyway good news to u...

QUOTE(Duckies @ Feb 13 2011, 01:36 AM)
Yes,tis statistic figure is very bad.As someone mentioned juz now,my PS1 life span is much more better.In fact,it's still running after 13 years.I do not expect Sony to do any major improvement or wat,i juz wanted them to try and come up with some solutions.But they do not even bother.How sad.
I support Sony all the way starts from PS1, I hav PS1, PS2 and PSP and all working fine from the day I bought until now, juz slighty problem that I've overuse it, but still playable. PS3 everything working fine and in juz 1 day, poof unplayable.

QUOTE(nwk @ Feb 13 2011, 01:41 AM)
i was in the same situation. got ylod on my fat ps3. bought a new slim ps3 with local warranty. learned a hard lesson that buying anything without local warranty will burn a hole in your wallet.
I dont think so, c if u buy local warranty, maximum 1 year warranty, u send back to sony they giv back u a refurbish, if after warranty i heard someone on the net said u nid 2 pay $150 to fix it, i not sure wats the price for Malaysia. While 3rd party u can send to reballing it, means resoldering it, i heard this method is good, but expensive and I not sure this method hold for long.

QUOTE(raffie092 @ Feb 13 2011, 09:31 AM)
sony are too cheap too waste a few hundred or million dollars on funding to find the solution,that's why they didn't bother solve the problem....look at microsoft and thier RROD.they admit their mistake,solve it and now do you see any new xbox with RROD?no i think.. doh.gif
yeah... they 1 profit wat.... I not sure bout it coz I didn't research much about RROD, but if reli slim doesnt hav RROD i think its time to complain PS3 and ask them to fix YLOD.
TScloudstrifes
post Feb 13 2011, 06:58 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(nobody#2 @ Feb 13 2011, 11:00 AM)
chances of repair the YLOD?
yes there is chances to repair, but it is not permanently repaired.

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Feb 13 2011, 01:44 PM)
for YLOD i heard the way they repair it is to jz replace the thermal paste
some is replace and reheat the stuff inside

QUOTE(raffie092 @ Feb 13 2011, 03:16 PM)
yes but it will come back in a few days or month.depend on ur luck bro sad.gif
exactly tats y, if can be fixed permanently i dont blame on Sony, but it is juz temporary. U can say that ur PS3 is hurted adi

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Feb 13 2011, 03:24 PM)
tht's nt the main concern....the thing is,sony is charging about RM450 for a simple procedure that even a geek at home can DIY?and there's no guarantee whether the problem would occur again or not
i not sure whether Sony charge the price for fix the problem or change the prob, i heard they said it still will come back even after they sent to Sony to fix it...
TScloudstrifes
post Feb 13 2011, 09:43 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(lilko @ Feb 13 2011, 07:01 PM)
dah 3 pages and 30 voters in lyn?? bro.. got so many ylod victims ma? oh gawd have to becarefull dy... but la... truth is... high tech things are memang fragile... look at auto cars these days their life span are shorter than the 80s car... not long after use the gear box rosak la.. that rosak la... all problem come.. have to change the whole thing.. and super expensive..

Beside, PS3 is a powerful machine of course la kenot tahan the heat... PS1 different you know.. It focus only on one thing.. PS3 vs PS1 and PS2 Its like comparing stone age thing, the 18 century to the modern IT stuff.. which is a little bit well, you know.. to me if they can tahan 3 years.. then i am content... fix it, collect it and buy new one.. Of course can't say that Sony is not trying to earn money.. If not how many millions of console to sell per year if all tahan lama?

Still if they cant tahan more than 2 years.. well, maybe we should do something.. But why not many people complain in oversea de? Is it their weather are cold so can heat sink it fast? Or they dun mind buying new consoles?
i understand wat u mean, but this is not because of their hardware powerful, is due to poor quality of the material, anyway there is a lot users who r the victims not only in Malaysia, foreign consumer also experience this, i did some research adi, so u can check out urself if u dont believe me. I also understand that some of the machine will experience some problem, but this happened to quite a lot ppl not seldom of them.

TScloudstrifes
post Feb 13 2011, 10:42 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(PhoenixByte @ Feb 13 2011, 09:59 PM)
i don't know..but i think there is a reason why most pc, notebook, handphones and such gadgets only give one year + warranty for their product...some if not all will tend to spoil one way or another.

my ps3 was struck by lightning and it still runs smoothly minus the internet capability...and it continues to do so for over a year (yes, i'm playing on it even though only offline)...heck, still lives on now without ylod...and this is after lightning struck. biggrin.gif

only this year when my funds is enough i bought another new unit for the online interaction smile.gif
is good that u hav enugh funds to get 1, but i dont... tat is the sad case...

QUOTE(lilko @ Feb 13 2011, 10:01 PM)
ooo.. ok.. din check other sites... paiseh.. blush.gif

so sony quality drop? haiz...

Added on February 13, 2011, 10:04 pm

yea true oso.. i support you bro .. biggrin.gif
so sry bro not to offend u, but juz wanna share wit u. I always support sony all along, although it is pricy, but still I hope they fixed the problem for me and for everyone, and also for the better machine in the future.

QUOTE(raffie092 @ Feb 13 2011, 10:10 PM)
i think not only sony,all big companies now do the same thing....all in the name of profit cool2.gif
exactly...
TScloudstrifes
post Feb 14 2011, 01:31 AM

464 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Feb 14 2011, 12:50 AM)
i do encounter lifetime warranty for some RAMs and pendrives
those r cheap stuff and seldom occur problems tats y they giv lifetime warranty.

TScloudstrifes
post Feb 14 2011, 02:03 AM

464 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Feb 14 2011, 01:50 AM)
I mean it's okay that they dont provide lifetime warranty.Even 1 year warranty is good to me.But the problem is,they knew the existence of this YLOD and yet they didnt fix it.It's like selling a going-to-be-YLOD PS3 to the customers.Okay,i understand that no electronic device can last 4ever,but then it wont be this short right?So is it like when i agree to buy PS3,i am bound to accept the fate that it's going to be gone case after 2-3 years of using it?

Btw,i am not pin pointing u.I am pointing at Sony.Sony,shame on u.
yeah i agree wit tat... i think nowadays most of the electronics like television, even better performance gaming machine like computer can last longer than tat...i tell u seriously i dont mind if they made a computer look of playstation machine as long as it can last.
TScloudstrifes
post Feb 14 2011, 10:02 AM

464 posts

QUOTE(darosha @ Feb 14 2011, 07:47 AM)
i ended up with null vote for this poll, need control group as a vote.
- who have ps3 not ylod
or:
- ps3 fat not ylod
- ps3 slim not ylod
so we know better how much percentage this ylod happen
sure no problem ^^
TScloudstrifes
post Feb 14 2011, 10:09 AM

464 posts

QUOTE(Joey Christensen @ Feb 14 2011, 10:05 AM)
My PS3 fat is still running smoothly after all these years. Almost 3 years...if I'm not mistaken.
tats great... take good care of it... dont end up like us.... T_T
TScloudstrifes
post Feb 14 2011, 10:11 AM

464 posts

QUOTE(PhoenixByte @ Feb 14 2011, 10:09 AM)
see..that's the thing, how many of the ps3 users are really affected by this after more than a year's use?
coz there is no ppl cares, tat is also y sony ignore the problem and leave it as it...
TScloudstrifes
post Feb 14 2011, 11:22 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(PhoenixByte @ Feb 14 2011, 10:18 AM)
why don't u add another option for ppl not affected by ylod (yet) to paint a more clearer pic of the situation? smile.gif
ok sure will do so...

QUOTE(sprix @ Feb 14 2011, 10:48 AM)
just my 2 cent.. what do u think.. if the percentage of ps3 kena ylod compare to witout problem one is very slim for the past 5 years.. do u think that sony will bother ur complain?

i agree n understand your feeling.. but, to sony, biz is biz.. profit is the most important things.. so, all ps3 users that kena ylod will be consider as "small" cases/problem.. so that is what sony is not taking the same measure as m$ did..

anyway.. best of luck to u..  wink.gif
actually ps3 didn't care coz there is not much ppl complain to and nowadays ppl hav enugh money to get a new 1... but how bout those poor country, we can't think bout ourself we also nid 2 think for them. Might be small case for them but it is quite BIG for us as a counsumer. Yeah correct business is business, but business also nid 2 do stuff that satisfy the customer, example a restaurant tat serve food that are not nice and they charge expensive prices, would u still go back there? same thing to the sony, if they keep on like tat more and more ppl will stop get their products.

QUOTE(PhoenixByte @ Feb 14 2011, 01:00 PM)
dun u think the solution is to just buy a wii?

the most non problem console of the three smile.gif
lol~ quite true, but let me ask u, can u play Metal Gear Sold on Wii? can u play Final Fantasy XIII or Wii? can u play those game that r in PS3 while Wii dont hav those game?

QUOTE(Duckies @ Feb 14 2011, 01:13 PM)
Haha true,but some games r exclusive to Ps3 like God of War.U cant play it in other console.
like wat he said...
TScloudstrifes
post Feb 15 2011, 08:41 AM

464 posts

QUOTE(do117 @ Feb 14 2011, 11:24 PM)
this is just ur assumption
yeah might be, but nowadays people juz ignore coz they don't 1 to cause trouble. Isn't? Don't u think so?
TScloudstrifes
post Feb 15 2011, 10:32 AM

464 posts

QUOTE(raffie092 @ Feb 15 2011, 10:08 AM)
the reason it's the most non problematic console is bcos nobody buys the wii rolleyes.gif lol,jk tongue.gif
lol~ actually wii is quite good... it is suitable for all age.

10 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0581sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 09:58 PM