Nokia and Microsoft enter strategic alliance !, Symbian will be phased out, Meego stays

SUSgogo2
post Feb 12 2011, 09:41 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Feb 12 2011, 09:37 PM)
gogo2, I said the 'severity of a failed venture'. I did not say that the venture is a failed one.

Most of us who voiced our disappointment over Nokia choosing WP7 is because we see the adoption level of WP7 by USERS, which is disappointing to say the least. If this trend continues, the venture will fail to yield, which means Nokia going down.

Yes I butthurt coz Nokia did not choose android, or else Android will have good hardware. But even without Nokia, Android as a whole has been creeping up Nokia's @$$.

We're talking about brand survival here, and Android obviously offers a much better expansion and survival package. HTC will survive w/o WP7, so does Samsung, LG or Dell, because they all have Android.

But Nokia WILL, since they are all into this venture (like gamble 'Sai Lang'. Go watch God of Gamble if you dunno wat it means). If it fails, Nokia will be off the smartphone world. I don't even know the other possibility is because the chances of Nokia going #1 with WP7 is very very bleak.
I love your post. Finally you talk straight instead of bashing me left and right. smile.gif icon_rolleyes.gif thumbup.gif

QUOTE(randytsx @ Feb 12 2011, 09:39 PM)
If I continue to argue, the thread will get more and more irrelevant. Because you don't understand, and you refuse to understand, I need to go through a very complicated process, but even that doesn't guarantee that you'll learn.

First, I need to Google for links to all the websites that talk about Free & Open Source software, the concept of software freedom, then Linux, itself has many many different distros serving many many purposes, each distro with countless documents, tutorials and guides, before that you need to learn programming and scripting, which, consist of many many different languages, then talk about the various processors a particular Linux distro could run on, then before you could understand everything, you need to learn about mobile processors, then mobile platforms, what a mobile OS should be like, before you come to specific mobile OSes like WP7, iOS and Android.

And that's not all yet. *gasp*

So, you still insist that I continue to debate with you? That's why I told you, go learn before you say anything. Don't talk so much but all are pointless and makes you look like you don't know anything (which is, true?).
I'm not sure why we talking about open source now. Are you saying that open source is the best? sweat.gif
SUSgogo2
post Feb 12 2011, 09:45 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Feb 12 2011, 09:43 PM)
^WTH? You only started to read after I posted that? Or I did not make my point about 'brand survival' much more clearer in my previous posts?

I've been talking about brand survival since the start of the discussion. I would appreciate it more if you would've understood everything me and randy said in earlier posts.
anyway, I have not reply your post yet. wait ya...

This post has been edited by gogo2: Feb 12 2011, 09:51 PM
SUSgogo2
post Feb 12 2011, 09:55 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(randytsx @ Feb 12 2011, 09:45 PM)
Because you're insulting Android without knowing anything. Do you know Android uses a modified Linux kernel? Do you know what's Linux? sweat.gif

PLEASE MOTHERf***ING LEARN ABOUT THINGS THAT YOU DON'T KNOW BEFORE POSTING.

Yes, open source is the best. Do you know what OSes or platforms most websites are hosted on?

EDIT: I feel bad for TS, sorry.  gogo2 if you want to continue the debate, open a new thread and we can play there.
how the fffffffffffffuuuuuuuuu i dunno about that... i'm linux user also... waffak..

also oracle suing stuff also i know...

we debate later.. i got something to do.
SUSgogo2
post Feb 13 2011, 12:13 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(randytsx @ Feb 12 2011, 10:10 PM)
I bet, you supported oracle...but that has nothing to do with Linux....-.-
no la. I no support anyone. Some more, Androidfag are starting to rewriting that part of code already
SUSgogo2
post Feb 13 2011, 09:19 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(41LY45 @ Feb 13 2011, 01:26 AM)
doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif

gogo2, my advice go learn about the thing you want to bash about first. Experience it first hand IMO.

But still due to the lack of WP7 adoption. it's probably a NoWin (pun intended) for Nokia and Microsoft.
Learn what? I think you and another guy got problem with Nokia and Microsoft. Lack of WP7 is because
lackaidasical attitude of other manufacturer towards WP7.

Probably you should learn more about iOS and Android before debating with me. Adui.. you guys are weird.
Already lose argument but keep on asking people to learn.

Which part of my comment you dun understand pls ask la. Dun make yourself look like fool.

Added on February 13, 2011, 9:28 am
QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Feb 12 2011, 09:37 PM)
gogo2, I said the 'severity of a failed venture'. I did not say that the venture is a failed one.

Most of us who voiced our disappointment over Nokia choosing WP7 is because we see the adoption level of WP7 by USERS, which is disappointing to say the least. If this trend continues, the venture will fail to yield, which means Nokia going down.

Yes I butthurt coz Nokia did not choose android, or else Android will have good hardware. But even without Nokia, Android as a whole has been creeping up Nokia's @$$.

We're talking about brand survival here, and Android obviously offers a much better expansion and survival package. HTC will survive w/o WP7, so does Samsung, LG or Dell, because they all have Android.

But Nokia WILL, since they are all into this venture (like gamble 'Sai Lang'. Go watch God of Gamble if you dunno wat it means). If it fails, Nokia will be off the smartphone world. I don't even know what the other possibility is because the chances of Nokia going #1 with WP7 is very very bleak. Stock prices don't stay there constant to wait for the release of Nokia WP7.
Adoption level of user now does not mean that it will be the same when Nokia come out with WP7. The reason WP7 is low because
current handphone manufacture do their best for Android. Nothing much being done for WP7. That's why when Nokia come out with
WP7 device, it'll be so awesome that WP7 uptake will be like iOS.

Severity of failed venture means failed venture la. You already put past tense in it.

Yeah, I know you guys butthurt. But that does not means you have the right to bash the marriage.

Brand survival? If Nokia went for pasar malam OS like Android, there won't be differentiation. It'll become another Android
phone. Nokia brand will not be associated with Android and thus the brand will not survive.

Nokia know that WP7 offer the best survival smile.gif

This post has been edited by gogo2: Feb 13 2011, 09:28 AM
SUSgogo2
post Feb 13 2011, 10:04 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Feb 13 2011, 09:41 AM)

plan A:nokia+android plan B:nokia+microsoft what about plan C or even plan D?
plan A is definitely not a smart move coz there are plenty of player in the market.plan B,yeah,nokia probably will dominant the pizza(WP7) market but look at 10 devices launched at past few months ago,total 2million sales.its even lower than a single phone powered by symbian 3,N8.
y not plan C?since symbian is very mature OS,why not continue their investment by modifying it to be more user friendly,fix some bugs and it just need a little bit improvement.symbian major problem is UI.their UI is very not user friendly compared to android,iOS and WP7.second problem,default browser,nokia/symbian have noticed the problem of browser and they promise will launch an update on the future for new browser.
look at symbian pros and cons compared to the other OS.(i point out the major factor only)
Pros
1.bluetooth is easiest to use
2.Ovi Maps and Garmin support which is the best gps software
3.plug and play,connect to pc,laptop,other electronic device is easy,fast and no need any software to sync(i feel annoying when i use sgs,iphone)

Cons
1.lousy UI which is not suitable for finger use.very not user friendly
2.internet browser is problematic,old,not user friendly as well.browser crash always happen
3.a lot of bugs waiting to fix..

so now they are adopting WP7 and abandoning symbian 3?such a giant like Nokia never keep their word?updates?besides that,i don't understand y they burning so much money in investing symbian,meego,qt in the past and now they just abandoned it by switching to another platform.it doesn't make sense.
The symbian pro will be adopted in WP7. I guess you never read much eh?

They realise they are wrong to burn money. Now they are going to Microsoft and no need to pay for WP7 and they
get engineering support for free.

WP7 and Nokia will be a great phone. It's gonna be a great combination since Iphone.
SUSgogo2
post Feb 13 2011, 10:29 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(piscesguy @ Feb 13 2011, 10:10 AM)
Perhaps Nokia can create phones that can triple boot - Symbian,Android and WP7.  icon_idea.gif

I know this is impossible  sweat.gif , however I think sales going to be good if able to do so. tongue.gif
iPhone actually no need to multiboot also can sell.

Not everyone is techy like us....
SUSgogo2
post Feb 13 2011, 03:35 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Feb 13 2011, 02:19 PM)
i dont think microsoft will allow nokia modify their os so much to be nokia alike phone..since microsoft so strict to wp7.
You're wrong. Nokia is actually owning half of WP7. And WP7 will include Ovi and Symbian port. So means Nokia can change
anything they want with WP7.

I don't understand why you guys don't understand how big changes WP7 will be made by Nokia. I find it weird.
SUSgogo2
post Feb 13 2011, 04:06 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(41LY45 @ Feb 13 2011, 03:45 PM)
We're just skeptical of the degree of changes that nokia is allowed to make on WP7.

As we all saw on HTC's line of WP7, the did not Sense the thing up. (Like they did with everything else.)

icon_idea.gif

So yeah, that's my concern right there.
How can you compare HTC a handphone maker to alliance of Nokia and Microsoft? doh.gif that's so wrong.

U see such announcement between HTC and Microsoft when they come out with WP7? No. Because its just normal deal between software and hardware maker.

This is alliance between Nokia and Microsoft. This is gang up. This is SPPARRTAAAAAAA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Added on February 13, 2011, 4:12 pm
QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Feb 13 2011, 04:04 PM)
ok.final product not yet release and we have no point to argue bout it.
what about their promises to symbian user?such a giant company keep cheating their customer and their promise never come true.
What to do? After going with Symbian so long and not making an inroad, Nokia need to do something
drastic. You go around ask people what they think of Symbian. Bad impression. N8 symbian might be
good. But unfortunately, it is a dead OS as far as market is concern.

The promise to Symbian developer is during when market still good for Symbian (although both iOS and
Android around). But end of last year until now, the Android gain so much market share that Nokia
need to jump off the burning platform like MeeGo and Symbian.

This is because WP7 is proven OS. Its good OS. Some said better than iOS and defintely better than
Android.

Sometimes, you have to break some promise if you're in dire state. When you're dying, you don't cling
to dying platform. You have to jump. You have to so something drastic.

This post has been edited by gogo2: Feb 13 2011, 04:12 PM
SUSgogo2
post Feb 13 2011, 04:45 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(41LY45 @ Feb 13 2011, 04:28 PM)
We'll see how that goes.  tongue.gif

MeeGo ain't a buring platform mang!!! Symbian is!!!  whistling.gif

It's just "slow" as Elop said.
MeeGo haven't come out yet... and iOS and Android keep on grabbing shares... surely MeeGo is part of burning platform...
slow means burning liao...

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Feb 13 2011, 04:30 PM)
@gogo2,  lol everything they do now is justifiable to you. Like literally, every action. Even what you call 'androidfags' also got tons of dissatisfaction towards Android and Google, but obviously reasonable ones.
Of course its justifiable. Its all based on market and timing bro. If Nokia keep on with what they are doing, can die man. Can die.

QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Feb 13 2011, 04:33 PM)
proven microfag.tongue.gif
RUN!
Dun run la. I won't eat u all.

QUOTE(41LY45 @ Feb 13 2011, 04:37 PM)
ph34r.gif

*ninja out*
cop out... =.=||
SUSgogo2
post Feb 14 2011, 01:05 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(iipohbee @ Feb 13 2011, 09:48 PM)
Meego is kind of good. I've tried it on my netbook before.

It lacked apps though. So few you can count them with your fingers.Other than that if it picks up with speed, fluidity and had more apps on the same level as Android/iOS it could be a good challenger.

Since when Nokia is owning half of WP7?
It was only Nokia's exclusivity to Symbian with very few other brands using Symbian that made them distinctive.
Going with WP7 doesn't make them this way. LG, HTC, Acer, Dell compete directly with them. In fact there are some other brands such as HTC which makes phone with higher built quality than Nokia when it comes to speaker phone quality, screens & etc.
Nokia owning half of the WP7 in the agreement. OMG, if you never read stuff, pls dun post here lah.

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Feb 13 2011, 09:53 PM)
WP 7 is strictly metro UI only, they don allow ANY customized UI from manufacturers... why u think HTC's WP7 doesnt have Sens UI in it?
yeah, but Nokia can do anything they want yo

QUOTE(mfitri77 @ Feb 13 2011, 10:31 PM)
Not in the case of Nokia apparently, as Elop has confirmed that the agreement between the two isn't your standard OEM agreement, with technologies going both ways. To be honest too, Microsoft don't really care of Nokia be given leeway to customize the OS, mainly because Nokia has clearly stated that Wp7 is the primary OS, and they won't be dabbling with Android.

From my reading of the releases a few days, Nokia did talk to Google, but there were several things Nokia didn't like.

1. Giving up control - Google allows you to customize everything, but as many have noticed, they want control over the more important bits, like location services (Google Maps, Location Sensing).

2. Opposition from telco companies - right now, it's either android or iOS. They would really like Wp7 to be an alternative (or more of a hammer to make sure Google and Apple understand that they have alternatives and can't be pushed around)

3. Differentiation - Heck, become another faceless android os phone?
yeah, only you is clear minded on this. The other are clouded with hatred for Microsoft. They think its cool to hate Microsoft.

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Feb 13 2011, 11:11 PM)
Wait. I don't get it. Everyone says variation is a problem in Android. For all I know Android offers the most variation possible to a phone manufacturer. It is WP7 that is faceless. Not one WP7 phone out there is significantly different from the other.

Seriously, someone explain that to me. I genuinely ask for someone to explain how Android is bland and monotonous versus how WP7 is offering more variation possibilities to manufacturers.

Please no fanboy replies. Sensible, reasonable, technical replies are most welcomed.

For all I know, make one good Android and you'll hit gold. Galaxy S selling 10 million units worldwide is a pretty huge statement.
What you talking about? Mostly replies are sensible. But because you're fanboy, you can't take different idea from what you can brain.

QUOTE(41LY45 @ Feb 14 2011, 05:35 AM)
True that, as a former symbian user, I find that Android cater it's users with the same former functionalities as a Symbian phone does. nod.gif  nod.gif
That's so wrong. After Nokia come out with WP7, you'll realise it looks like Symbian because it has Ovi maps and other feature from Symbian OS.

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Feb 14 2011, 08:55 AM)
You do realise HTC HD7 was available on the market (ours at least) loong before the Desire HD? What's up with nobody actively promoting WP7?

And you can choose to sync your data with Google or not in Androids. LOLLLLL got use the phone before?

Sry all I'm rushing for class. I apologise if my replies sound half-baked, coz they are. Hope I made my point.
because HTC and other manufacturer busy promoting android... so Microsoft angry and give all to Nokia.

QUOTE(Matrix @ Feb 14 2011, 09:33 AM)
doh.gif You know what you are talking or not? Android is totally customizable....it is the WP7 that looks like clone coming out from the same Shenzen factories!!! But i can understand why Nokia don't want to go with Android....Google has control of whole eco system....they control browser, maps service, location service, satellite service, and everything else you can think of.....in short they control the internet.

MS on the other hand does not have a dominating ecosystem like Google, they only control the OS....their search engine and other services is not up to mark yet and Nokia already have invested lots in a pretty mature OVI maps.

Added on February 14, 2011, 9:41 am

Yep, another point which why Android will dominate the market. Do not look down on the low-end market...it is the low-end market that makes Nokia still the No. 1 handphone seller in the world today...while their high-end and mid-end have all been busted by Apple and Android....their emerging market in third world countries that continues to give them the cash. But soon, this will change coz China and India are coming out with cheap hp for these markets...no way Nokia can be cheaper than them.

There are many evidence Android is already do respectively in the mid-end market....and companies in India making cheap Android phones (like the CSL rebadged models). Soon, even the lowest end of the cheap phones will be running on Android with a huge market place with tons of FREE apps, which will attract the low-end market even more. Who cares if half of these apps are crap. As long as it's free, it'll be a strong attractions for emerging markets.
That's so wrong. Android is clone from Senzhen la. You go see around. Those China phone are using Android. Its proven that Android
is pasar malam OS clone...I no support piracy...

SUSgogo2
post Feb 15 2011, 12:24 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(ViRaViRa @ Feb 15 2011, 12:14 AM)

Erm, who is your English teacher by the way? Which English school ever thought that way TOO LONG is actually JUST before?
The quote above did NOT mean the way you are currently explaining, seriously. Is that your fault or mine?
Here is where your English fails miserably, AGAIN. I never mention anything about PROMOTION.

YOU SAID that WP7 phones don't have significant difference and I REPLIED with "but if you are comparing 15 WP7 phones in total (and mostly from the same maker), you can't expect a significant difference YET. It is still early."

How the HECK did PROMOTION came into the picture? Brother, you drunk ar?  sweat.gif
No point telling. You still won't realise because you don't understand English. Otherwise you would have realised by now.
Haha, you are a big joker lar bro. As if now you are a PhD holder from Cambridge University and you have to come "down" to my level  doh.gif
the problem with this Androidfag is that they think they are good in English, IT, Linux and what shit. But actually they don't know that
we are better than them. And I saw some of their post saying they just finish class. OMG...we're already have >10 years developing
linux product and what's not. And this 2" want to challenge us. What the hell.

QUOTE(tetsu @ Feb 15 2011, 12:20 AM)
lol this thread has fallen way out of topic...

Unfortunately for Android fans, it'll be quite doubtful to see Android on Nokia hardware anytime soon.
That's why all the butthurt yo.
SUSgogo2
post Feb 15 2011, 11:43 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(ViRaViRa @ Feb 15 2011, 11:30 AM)
lol even now you don't understand. When did I ever PREDICTED Nokia+WP7's future? It is you Androidfags who are saying that Nokia will NOT succeed JUST BECAUSE they did not use Android.

When somebody says something good about Nokia + WP7, you Androidfags couldn't accept it and either :
1) start attacking the person or;
2) call the person MicroKia fag and asking for someone else to give a more constructive opinion, which I am sure that you are still not going to accept.

That is when I came in to say why is Nokia + WP7 better than Nokia + Android. Immediately, one bugger said my analogy is wrong and replied that Nokia will not succeed like Shakeys pizza. I asked him the reason and he kept quiet. That is what you call constructive?

Others said my reason was not acceptable but nobody is saying why. All going back to square one, saying that Android is God sent, has the most users, high end and low end, bla bla bla. Was that constructive?
I am already very active in Android forum (but I am not an Androidfag). I don't need to be welcomed again. smile.gif

I hope that those who bash Nokia+WP7 stop using your emotions to think. It doesn't work that way. There is something which is called the brain and it does the thinking job much much better than your emotions.
I already feel this in the first few post and this makes me feel its my duty to correct what's wrong in this society. Thanks for making it
even clearer.

I hope people don't hate Microsoft anymore. Just because Microsoft old business system is a bully, and some people too cheapo to support closed system like Windows, it does not means that WP7 is bad.

SUSgogo2
post Feb 15 2011, 06:10 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(mfitri77 @ Feb 15 2011, 12:11 PM)
Yes, why all the hurt from Android fans whichever way Nokia goes. The thing that a lot of people missed is the fact that Nokia is doing what Nokia thinks it's best for Nokia. And going android wasn't in their opinion in the best interest of Nokia.

But then again, it's the norm for anyone supporting open source acting like juvenile jerks. I mean, in discussing Nokia, Microsoft, Symbian and WP7, why does the Android contigent need to come here and make noise because Nokia didn't go the Android route. Not just that, hoping the partnership would fail?

Symbian supporters have every right to question the move, because they are the most affected ones concerning this decision. But whatever Nokia chooses doesn't really affect Android as it is right now. Heck, you have HTC, Samsung, LG, a bunch of Chinese OEM, Toshiba, Acer, a bunch of Chinese Tablet OEM, CSL, Spice, a bunch of Indian Operater, Google, etc etc that is producing Android phones. You still want Nokia? Why? So Google can know the exact moment and exact time you pick your nose, and try and sell you a nose picker? What? You didn't know that there's no such thing as free?

Everyone in the open source world hated the fact that Microsoft still rules the OS world, despite all their attempts otherwise. Problem is, they are not coming up with a decent alternative to Windows. They had a chance with all the Vista brouhaha, but they didn't even manage to take advantage of that. Why?

Over sized Ego, and a Self-Serving Ethnocentric view. To them, Nokia not using Android, is an Affront to the Best Operating System for Mobile there is, and should be dealt by putting the other platform down as often and as frequent as they can. Never mind the weaknesses of Android, whoever points that out is a Traitor to the movement.

Take it in that context next time an Android fan comes here and start spouting the Android gospel.

Competition is good.
You totally hit all the right points regarding open source and hatred towards Microsoft Windows. sweat.gif

0.0224sec    0.22    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:37 PM