Bucket seats (Semi and Full), Replica or 2nd hand original

TSalcatrez
post Feb 5 2011, 05:45 PM, updated 15y ago

543 posts

guys,

i'm planning on changing my car seat with either one of the above.

I just want to know in your opinion, which is the best value for money?

i'm planning on either getting a replica or 2nd hand. Are replica as good as the original?

My main criteria are comfort and design.

The brand which i am considering are Bride and Sparco (you can suggest others which fit the criteria).

My waist size is 35 (important factor for bucket seat)

My budget is RM1k +- for seat only. not inclusive of installation.

Anyone has any opinion/suggestion or experience to share? I've searched for this topic but none cover what i want to know.

aegis`-
post Feb 5 2011, 05:53 PM

1,480 posts

second hand isnt that bad because you could rewrap em?
just an idea.
TSalcatrez
post Feb 5 2011, 05:58 PM

543 posts

QUOTE(aegis`- @ Feb 5 2011, 05:53 PM)
second hand isnt that bad because you could rewrap em?
just an idea.
How much is the rewrap?

i'm fine with the rewrap.

thanks.

GEFORCEXTREME
post Feb 5 2011, 05:59 PM

60 posts

How about SSCUS? I heard they're quite good.

Added on February 5, 2011, 6:00 pmRM 1k for seat only, is that 1 piece or 1 set?

If you can increase your budget little, you can find Recaro SR3 in the range of 1400-1800.

This post has been edited by GEFORCEXTREME: Feb 5 2011, 06:01 PM
aegis`-
post Feb 5 2011, 06:01 PM

1,480 posts

QUOTE(alcatrez @ Feb 5 2011, 05:58 PM)
How much is the rewrap?

i'm fine with the rewrap.

thanks.
really not sure.
you have to go to the shop and let them evaluate and depend on the material they use?
you just need the original shell thats important.

sscus doesnt look that bad either.
GEFORCEXTREME
post Feb 5 2011, 06:02 PM

60 posts

Rewrap could cost like 500-600+ depending on material and work done. Look for Putra282, he does rewrapping, maybe you can search for him in this forum.
TSalcatrez
post Feb 5 2011, 06:32 PM

543 posts

QUOTE(GEFORCEXTREME @ Feb 5 2011, 05:59 PM)
How about SSCUS? I heard they're quite good.

Added on February 5, 2011, 6:00 pmRM 1k for seat only, is that 1 piece or 1 set?

If you can increase your budget little, you can find Recaro SR3 in the range of 1400-1800.
RM 1k / seat

Added on February 5, 2011, 6:33 pm
QUOTE(GEFORCEXTREME @ Feb 5 2011, 06:02 PM)
Rewrap could cost like 500-600+ depending on material and work done. Look for Putra282, he does rewrapping, maybe you can search for him in this forum.

Will consider....

Added on February 5, 2011, 6:36 pmHas anyone used SSCUS or does anyone have experience with SSCUS?

How are their full bucket seats?

I intend to use them long distance. At most in 1 month, almost 1k km of traveling. Can they fit the criteria?

This post has been edited by alcatrez: Feb 5 2011, 06:36 PM
mADmAN
post Feb 5 2011, 07:06 PM

10,530 posts

Comfort? Forget full buckets. Get reclinable buckets luke the recaro sr3 instead.

Ive used sscus nsi reclinable buckets in my old kelisa and they were really good. Very comfortable even for long distance drives. Best bang for buck at rm@1.4k thereabouts for a brand new pair siap pasang. My wife who has back issues is comfortable in those seats.

But with ur budget of rm1k per seat, i think u should consider the recaro sr3 from the type r. Comfy, holds well and priced in ur budget.
Shanashi
post Feb 5 2011, 07:22 PM

55 posts

Buy second hand n rewrap cuz replica sponge n material is like rubbish
TSalcatrez
post Feb 5 2011, 07:43 PM

543 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Feb 5 2011, 07:06 PM)
Comfort? Forget full buckets. Get reclinable buckets luke the recaro sr3 instead.

Ive used sscus nsi reclinable buckets in my old kelisa and they were really good. Very comfortable even for long distance drives. Best bang for buck at rm@1.4k thereabouts for a brand new pair siap pasang. My wife who has back issues is comfortable in those seats.

But with ur budget of rm1k per seat, i think u should consider the recaro sr3 from the type r. Comfy, holds well and priced in ur budget.

Currently i'm using Levin seats. I don't want to downgrade to sscus coz i'm scared not up to my current seat comfort.

I can live with Recaro. Thanks.

Anyone has opinions on other seats? I'm willing to expand my horizon.

So my current choices are:

1. Recaro SR3
2. SSCUS

pedro
post Feb 5 2011, 10:25 PM

Certified Broscientist
3,649 posts

SR3 all the way,no regrets!!
Zaypher
post Feb 5 2011, 10:42 PM

297 posts

QUOTE(alcatrez @ Feb 5 2011, 05:45 PM)
guys,

i'm planning on changing my car seat with either one of the above.

I just want to know in your opinion, which is the best value for money?

i'm planning on either getting a replica or 2nd hand. Are replica as good as the original?

My main criteria are comfort and design.

The brand which i am considering are Bride and Sparco (you can suggest others which fit the criteria).

My waist size is 35 (important factor for bucket seat)

My budget is RM1k +- for seat only. not inclusive of installation.

Anyone has any opinion/suggestion or experience to share? I've searched for this topic but none cover what i want to know.

Hi bro, if you are looking for comfort, i fully agree with madman, forget about full bucket seat coz that's not what they are for.
The best value for money is a very subjective thing, like for me, i'm using the sparco fighter replica. It's a full bucket, it looks nice and does its job.
Actually what are you looking for in a bucket seat?
As for me, my main reason is to release more headroom which was accomplished with my sparco fighter.
Sparco fighter fits your waist size very very well. Price is cheap too, around RM500 for one seat.

Again, replica is nowhere as good as the original. That's totally out of the question.

Budget 1k+, i strongly consider SSCUS. That's what i would get smile.gif
Lineage
post Feb 6 2011, 12:38 AM

the Chaotic Throne
4,524 posts

Guys, I'm looking for bucket seat to replace original seat..Personally, I prefer leather bucket seat..any brand or model recommend? budget RM1k for 1 pair.. drool.gif
Shawnzz
post Feb 6 2011, 01:12 AM

1,911 posts

bride gias replica goes for rm800-900. Quite comfy too, and its not so common
e30
post Feb 6 2011, 02:21 AM

JFT 96
1,189 posts

what car are you installing the seats in? For long distance comfort, you really should not consider full buckets.
alongN9
post Feb 6 2011, 02:36 AM

hi bro....
my opinion, go for 2nd recaro seat....
you will have no problem if you want to upgrade because the recaro has it's own value.

This post has been edited by alongN9: Feb 6 2011, 02:44 AM
the_catacombs
post Feb 6 2011, 02:50 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

semi bucket... seats better dun buy second hand la unless its rewrapped or really good condition... u'll never know what stain the previous owner left on the seat... hahahaha....

imitation one is equally ok... if u really look for comfort, dont go for performance seat (full bucket or semi bucket)... these offer less comfort compare to oem seat as they have less cushion...
looseand
post Feb 6 2011, 03:09 AM

28 posts

RM1k Budget is considered good bro , I would suggest

For a replica Bride seat or SSCUS , I feel that the SSCUS comfort would be better than your levin seat bro . Your levin seat is stock right ?

Worse seat that I have tried = FTO seat , Subaru Seat
Lineage
post Feb 6 2011, 10:46 AM

the Chaotic Throne
4,524 posts

QUOTE(e30 @ Feb 6 2011, 02:21 AM)
what car are you installing the seats in? For long distance comfort, you really should not consider full buckets.
Wira drool.gif

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Feb 6 2011, 02:50 AM)
semi bucket... seats better dun buy second hand la unless its rewrapped or really good condition... u'll never know what stain the previous owner left on the seat... hahahaha....

imitation one is equally ok... if u really look for comfort, dont go for performance seat (full bucket or semi bucket)... these offer less comfort compare to oem seat as they have less cushion...
My current stock seat is not comfort..lol..
I wanted to re-wrap to leather seat..but the price is around RM500 for front pair..don't know it worth or not? because one of my bro's friend wanted to let go his bucket seat which I see quite nice for RM800 but I dont know what brand is that(see through pic, haven't see the real seat yet)..personally prefer leather instead of fabric..

QUOTE(looseand @ Feb 6 2011, 03:09 AM)

For a replica Bride seat or SSCUS , I feel that the SSCUS comfort would be better than your levin seat bro . Your levin seat is stock right ?

RM1k for front pair consider good? seriously I don't know the market price range for bucket seat..what I want is comfort, hold me tight when high speed cornering, , design look exclusive and leather.. wink.gif

This post has been edited by Lineage: Feb 6 2011, 10:46 AM
BigSaver
post Feb 6 2011, 11:16 AM

v(^_^)V
1,029 posts

Guys i also want to change my seat but for myvi SE front seats.In my mind, got sscus myvi editon reclinable buckets
Picture :

Any idea on how comfort this seat compare to SE seats?
Price for this seats i believe around RM650.So my budget will be not more than RM800. icon_rolleyes.gif
TSalcatrez
post Feb 6 2011, 11:18 AM

543 posts

QUOTE(Zaypher @ Feb 5 2011, 10:42 PM)
Hi bro, if you are looking for comfort, i fully agree with madman, forget about full bucket seat coz that's not what they are for.
The best value for money is a very subjective thing, like for me, i'm using the sparco fighter replica. It's a full bucket, it looks nice and does its job.
Actually what are you looking for in a bucket seat?
As for me, my main reason is to release more headroom which was accomplished with my sparco fighter.
Sparco fighter fits your waist size very very well. Price is cheap too, around RM500 for one seat.

Again, replica is nowhere as good as the original. That's totally out of the question.

Budget 1k+, i strongly consider SSCUS. That's what i would get smile.gif

For me, long distance comfort is the main priority. Then comes the design.

I have 2 cars that i'm planning on changing the seats. My Wira (with the Levin) and Corolla '89 (stock seats). Both still reliable.

Added on February 6, 2011, 11:19 am
QUOTE(Lineage @ Feb 6 2011, 12:38 AM)
Guys, I'm looking for bucket seat to replace original seat..Personally, I prefer leather bucket seat..any brand or model recommend? budget RM1k for 1 pair..   drool.gif
I find leather seats stings after being out in the sun.

Added on February 6, 2011, 11:21 am
QUOTE(looseand @ Feb 6 2011, 03:09 AM)

How come you didn't like the FTO and Subaru?

This post has been edited by alcatrez: Feb 6 2011, 11:21 AM
Lineage
post Feb 6 2011, 11:21 AM

the Chaotic Throne
4,524 posts

QUOTE(alcatrez @ Feb 6 2011, 11:18 AM)

I have 2 cars that i'm planning on changing the seats. My Wira (with the Levin) and Corolla '89 (stock seats). Both still reliable.

Maybe it can be solve by using good tinted? by the way, my car doesn't expose under the sun for long time..mostly I park in the covered parking.. icon_rolleyes.gif
Actually what the Levin? biggrin.gif
TSalcatrez
post Feb 6 2011, 11:22 AM

543 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Feb 6 2011, 11:21 AM)
Maybe it can be solve by using good tinted? by the way, my car doesn't expose under the sun for long time..mostly I park in the covered parking..  icon_rolleyes.gif
Actually what the Levin?  biggrin.gif
Levin seats.

Lineage
post Feb 6 2011, 11:24 AM

the Chaotic Throne
4,524 posts

QUOTE(alcatrez @ Feb 6 2011, 11:22 AM)
Levin seats.
is it this type?

TSalcatrez
post Feb 6 2011, 11:29 AM

543 posts

http://www.mudah.my/Seat+levin+ae92+GT+apex+rare-8335449.htm

this type....

I've used it from 2002 until today...

The car clocks almost 300k km
looseand
post Feb 6 2011, 05:14 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Feb 6 2011, 10:46 AM)
Wira  drool.gif
My current stock seat is not comfort..lol..
I wanted to re-wrap to leather seat..but the price is around RM500 for front pair..don't know it worth or not? because one of my bro's friend wanted to let go his bucket seat which I see quite nice for RM800 but I dont know what brand is that(see through pic, haven't see the real seat yet)..personally prefer leather instead of fabric..
RM1k for front pair consider good? seriously I don't know the market price range for bucket seat..what I want is comfort, hold me tight when high speed cornering, , design look exclusive and leather..  wink.gif
I remember seeing RM800 for a pair of SSCUS seats ( Non Leather ) , RM650 for a Bride Low Max Seat ( Replica ) ..

As for the Bride Low Max , your ass would be rest well inside and tight + comfort ( But I am not sure wheather your waist could fit inside )

However , are there leather SSCUS below RM1k in the market ?
Lineage
post Feb 6 2011, 05:34 PM

the Chaotic Throne
4,524 posts

QUOTE(looseand @ Feb 6 2011, 05:14 PM)
I remember seeing RM800 for a pair of SSCUS seats ( Non Leather ) , RM650 for a Bride Low Max Seat ( Replica ) ..

As for the Bride Low Max , your ass would be rest well inside and tight + comfort ( But I am not sure wheather your waist could fit inside )

However , are there leather SSCUS below RM1k in the market ?
I'm sure my size can fit any of bucket seat..because I'm small icon_rolleyes.gif
looseand
post Feb 6 2011, 05:40 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(alcatrez @ Feb 6 2011, 11:18 AM)

Added on February 6, 2011, 11:21 am

How come you didn't like the FTO and Subaru?
As for the FTO and Subaru seat , many seller define them as a bucket seat . However , when I sat on the seat , I was not rest well and I my body position were higher compared to Satria & Gen2 seats .

Added on February 6, 2011, 5:42 pm
QUOTE(Lineage @ Feb 6 2011, 05:34 PM)
I'm sure my size can fit any of bucket seat..because I'm small  icon_rolleyes.gif
It would be an advantage then .. Haha rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by looseand: Feb 6 2011, 05:42 PM
TSalcatrez
post Feb 7 2011, 12:11 PM

543 posts

QUOTE(looseand @ Feb 6 2011, 05:40 PM)
As for the FTO and Subaru seat , many seller define them as a bucket seat . However , when I sat on the seat , I was not rest well and I my body position were higher compared to Satria & Gen2 seats .

Anymore opinions?

iXora.ix
post Feb 7 2011, 03:59 PM

scoot scoot
1,682 posts

SSCUS EURO PU . RM 1300 pair include installation. at kakimotor and vip seating. smile.gif

feel so good..
mADmAN
post Feb 7 2011, 04:16 PM

10,530 posts

u wanna install in the wira?? then get the recaros from evo 2 or 3...direct plug n play....

but i do love the recaro evo1... its the same as the Recaro N-Joy from the Satria GTi but the suede like material makes the seat so nice and so comfy.
TSalcatrez
post Feb 7 2011, 09:36 PM

543 posts

http://www.rx7club.com/showthread.php?t=422312

some info that i've found about replicas and ori....
the_catacombs
post Feb 8 2011, 01:51 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

original and imitation seats perform almost the same... if u care about comfort so much, dont change to bucket seat... stick to oem seat good enough....
chaf
post Feb 8 2011, 03:50 AM

836 posts

sscus viper110 fits me well.... RM1300 including railing....
feels like full bucket but can adjust.....
previous set is sscus Euro PU... it fits my back well but not on my butt....
as for ur waist size i would say Euro PU suit u...

This post has been edited by chaf: Feb 8 2011, 03:57 AM
JLean
post Feb 8 2011, 04:03 AM

74 posts

@ Bro alcatrez: Hey Bro, are you still interested in installing the bucket seat?

To Everyone: Hey guys, If you're interested in getting a bucket Seat, I got one for you ere.

This is a Replica Recaro Bucket Seat with New Railing and the Seat has been Refurbish and the Price for it is RM650 Negotiable ( 1 Unit Inclusive Railing ). It is perfectly fitted to Proton Wira, Satria and Putra.

Check out this @ UnderCoverProjecthttp://undercoverproject.blogspot.com/

The Picture is shown at the most Right column and it's below the Proton Satria Pic. =).

Cheers guys
Lineage
post Feb 8 2011, 07:17 AM

the Chaotic Throne
4,524 posts

QUOTE(chaf @ Feb 8 2011, 03:50 AM)
sscus viper110 fits me well.... RM1300 including railing....
feels like full bucket but can adjust.....
previous set is sscus Euro PU... it fits my back well but not on my butt....
as for ur waist size i would say Euro PU suit u...
Hi chaf, mind to explain to me what is railing? is it the bar at the bottom of the seat that hold the seat? hmm.gif
the_catacombs
post Feb 8 2011, 10:02 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Feb 8 2011, 07:17 AM)
Hi chaf, mind to explain to me what is railing? is it the bar at the bottom of the seat that hold the seat?  hmm.gif
AceCombat
post Feb 8 2011, 10:06 AM

5,434 posts

For me, full bucket for long distance is not that bad, i've been using Full Bucket all the times, if possible, dont get Japanese full bucket, they are really thin and torture your a$$ but they are light enough brows.gif

Personally i'm using european bucket, slightly heavier than japanese one but no problem for long distance thumbup.gif
TSalcatrez
post Feb 8 2011, 12:10 PM

543 posts

QUOTE(AceCombat @ Feb 8 2011, 10:06 AM)
For me, full bucket for long distance is not that bad, i've been using Full Bucket all the times, if possible, dont get Japanese full bucket, they are really thin and torture your a$$ but they are light enough brows.gif

Personally i'm using european bucket, slightly heavier than japanese one but no problem for long distance thumbup.gif
Which brand? and how much?

Original or replica?

the_catacombs
post Feb 8 2011, 12:44 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

recaro spg quite comfortable... as its not too bucket style... allows more shoulder movement.... but with ur butt restrained...

bride low max is abit more uncomfortable due to its very bucket style, causing u to hunchback into the seat.... not much shoulder movement, makes it not very recommended for those who have broad shoulder....
AceCombat
post Feb 8 2011, 02:11 PM

5,434 posts

QUOTE(alcatrez @ Feb 8 2011, 12:10 PM)
Which brand? and how much?

Original or replica?

Mine is Kingdragon tongue.gif
Original from Italy with FIA certified

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Feb 8 2011, 12:44 PM)
recaro spg quite comfortable... as its not too bucket style... allows more shoulder movement.... but with ur butt restrained...

bride low max is abit more uncomfortable due to its very bucket style, causing u to hunchback into the seat.... not much shoulder movement, makes it not very recommended for those who have broad shoulder....
Yup, SPG is nice, i tried it once before and really like it, but the Low Max is not nice, the backbone area is rclxub.gif for me.
D.K.Prince
post Feb 8 2011, 03:58 PM

455 posts

How much for a 2nd hand SPG?
overfloe
post Feb 8 2011, 04:57 PM

Ain't nothing but a thang..
2,207 posts

low max very narrow for me.. not comfy..

i would buy a recond seat and rewrap.. much better than replicas.
the_catacombs
post Feb 8 2011, 05:25 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(D.K.Prince @ Feb 8 2011, 03:58 PM)
close to 1k.... good condition ones can fetch approx 1.3k....

but this one can assure u till now dun have replica yet for SPG....
TSalcatrez
post Feb 8 2011, 08:49 PM

543 posts

QUOTE(D.K.Prince @ Feb 8 2011, 03:58 PM)
http://www.mudah.my/Recaro+SPG+full+bucket-8246654.htm

http://www.mudah.my/Full+bucket+seat+recar...6971.htm?last=1

http://www.mudah.my/Recaro+SPG+Full+Bucket...NEW-7122857.htm

Added on February 8, 2011, 8:50 pmi think i'm going for semi bucket seats......

i am very particular about my seating position.

This post has been edited by alcatrez: Feb 8 2011, 08:50 PM
mADmAN
post Feb 8 2011, 09:16 PM

10,530 posts

SPG got replica already ler... look at the last link alcatrez posted....

ive even seen mun lee advertising another different SPG for less than RM500 in mudah...brand new somemore.

Added on February 8, 2011, 9:27 pmspeaking of replicas... anyone tried the Bride Exas replicas yet??

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Feb 8 2011, 09:27 PM
myboo_1988
post Feb 8 2011, 09:56 PM

Love The Way U Lie
754 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Feb 8 2011, 09:16 PM)
SPG got replica already ler... look at the last link alcatrez posted....

ive even seen mun lee advertising another different SPG for less than RM500 in mudah...brand new somemore.

Added on February 8, 2011, 9:27 pmspeaking of replicas... anyone tried the Bride Exas replicas yet??
say hi to my bucket..not bad...i think this is bride First...now planning to let it go...after my car already turn to daily drive car..=(
this was fitted nicely on nissan latio impul

This post has been edited by myboo_1988: Feb 8 2011, 10:00 PM
the_catacombs
post Feb 9 2011, 01:53 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Feb 8 2011, 09:16 PM)
speaking of replicas... anyone tried the Bride Exas replicas yet??
bride exas very similar in design compare to bride low max... but the it is abit less bucket compare to low max... cushion is quite thick compare to low max... more comfy....

This post has been edited by the_catacombs: Feb 9 2011, 01:55 AM
mADmAN
post Feb 9 2011, 01:58 AM

10,530 posts

wat about bride exas vs recaro spg?

both replicas

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Feb 9 2011, 02:03 AM
TSalcatrez
post Feb 10 2011, 02:50 PM

543 posts

how u know which is replica and ori?

AceCombat
post Feb 10 2011, 03:21 PM

5,434 posts

Yup, the SPG is replica, comes with universal railing, seriously, no idea how to know find out whether it's genuine or not, as look from the pic, it has labels as well laugh.gif
overfloe
post Feb 10 2011, 03:51 PM

Ain't nothing but a thang..
2,207 posts

looks can be deceiving.. u need to try and sit to find out whether ori or replica.. usually replica seats cushion is a bit soft..
Jason
post Feb 10 2011, 04:11 PM

6,355 posts

QUOTE(pedro @ Feb 5 2011, 10:25 PM)
SR3 all the way,no regrets!!
simple, practical, elegant.
i bought a pair of SR3 before i got my car. and up till today it is the best modification i made to my car.
the seat is firm yet comfortable, and i can drive long distances (KL->Penang) with no backache.

for those who buy replica, sure, the seat looks like the real thing, but its not, its like fondling with silicone enhanced breasts versus the real thing.
the_catacombs
post Feb 10 2011, 06:15 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Feb 9 2011, 01:58 AM)
wat about bride exas vs recaro spg?

both replicas
comfort wise, spg design better...
performance wise, exas better as it "enclose" u into the seat more...
amad108
post Feb 11 2011, 01:43 PM

too much of something is bad enough
1,008 posts

somehow i felt not comfortable with recaro SR3, but with recaro n-joy(like satria gti n from lancer gsr) felt damn comfort n grip.. but of course full-bucket n semi bucket more grip.. b4 this use r32 ori seat quite comfort n grip but the mounting alwz crack huhu..

most ori got sticker with FIA approve if i not mistaken, not sure if any ori come w/o FIA approve..
TSalcatrez
post Feb 12 2011, 01:09 PM

543 posts

QUOTE(AceCombat @ Feb 10 2011, 03:21 PM)
Yup, the SPG is replica, comes with universal railing, seriously, no idea how to know find out whether it's genuine or not, as look from the pic, it has labels as well laugh.gif
Yup.

Scary.

I remember one case when a guy tried to sell a Recaro on the net which he purcahsed from someone else.

Everyone said that it was not a Recaro. And the seller was so pissed that he got cheated.

Be careful when you buy.

amad108
post Feb 12 2011, 01:54 PM

too much of something is bad enough
1,008 posts

for me i go with quality, so for recaro for sure quality wise, but still got other "cap ayam/itik" that hv good quality.. so as long i feel comfortable n it has nice built quality i can accept it..
jay
post Feb 12 2011, 05:23 PM

Legendary
904 posts

where to get original Recaro SR-3 ?? and how do you tell the difference?
Xcaliber
post Jan 14 2013, 01:38 PM

630 posts

i need comfort.. long distance driving my inspira..

SSCUS ?
BRIDE ?
any suggestion ?

mADmAN
post Jan 14 2013, 02:31 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(Xcaliber @ Jan 14 2013, 01:38 PM)

SSCUS ?
BRIDE ?
any suggestion ?
depends on ur budget...u wan EK9/DC2/DC5 type r seats oso i can point u to a seller...

but again...depends on ur budget
Quazacolt
post Jan 14 2013, 03:12 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(Xcaliber @ Jan 14 2013, 01:38 PM)

SSCUS ?
BRIDE ?
any suggestion ?
if you want comfort, stick with stock.

semi/full bucket seats are mainly for performance, where the side bucket encloses the driver so upon high g levels during cornering, you won't get thrown all the way to the door's side panels (yeah i've experienced it myself, that was when i put down my foot for my semi bucket seats)

i'm currently using brand new SSCUS E8 pair for my 14 years old iswara. another reason to change aside from cornering woes is that my seats are so old refoaming/refurbishing isn't cheap anyways, might as well get something that fits my aggressive driving more.

costs around rm1.1-1.3k for a pair of E8.

comfort wise, ive driven over 4-5 hours in these seats, very comfy, however compared to previous stock seats, these will get a little bit hot around the lower back/butt side after 2-3 hours smile.gif
Xcaliber
post Jan 14 2013, 05:00 PM

630 posts

thanks.. coz i am looking at SSCUS EURO PU... nice looking .. but i dun no about comfort coz .. i drive long distance

Xcaliber
post Jan 14 2013, 05:05 PM

630 posts

thanks.. coz i am looking at SSCUS EURO PU... nice looking .. but i dun no about comfort coz .. i drive long distance

mADmAN
post Jan 14 2013, 05:47 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jan 14 2013, 03:12 PM)
if you want comfort, stick with stock.
totally disagree... alot of stock seats pretty much sucks.. and buckets have good proper comfort especially when it comes to lumbar support....

take my wife for example... she has back pains... and with the stock kelisa seats, she would get pains after about 1 or 2 hours. after i changed to SSCUS NSI she couldnt stop complimenting those seats on how nice and comfortable they are. sitting long distance she barely got any pains at all... and this is with stiff adjustable suspension.

i even asked her to compare the NSI with my father's ex- Merc SLK.. n she said she liked the NSI better (minus the fact that the merc had leather la)

same case with my current EG6....stock EG6 seats are pretty good though i hated them... even my butt would get aches during long distance.. but once fitted with the EK9 recaros... long distance is no issue... even my wife absolutely loves the recaros... she even emphasized on how comfortable her back feels due to the lumbar support..the recaros are her absolute favourite (even more than the SR4 fitted in DC5s)...

and this EG6 case is with even stiffer adjustable suspension...
Quazacolt
post Jan 14 2013, 06:22 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jan 14 2013, 05:47 PM)
totally disagree... alot of stock seats pretty much sucks.. and buckets have good proper comfort especially when it comes to lumbar support....
take my wife for example... she has back pains... and with the stock kelisa seats, she would get pains after about 1 or 2 hours. after i changed to SSCUS NSI she couldnt stop complimenting those seats on how nice and comfortable they are. sitting long distance she barely got any pains at all... and this is with stiff adjustable suspension.

i even asked her to compare the NSI with my father's ex- Merc SLK.. n she said she liked the NSI better (minus the fact that the merc had leather la)

same case with my current EG6....stock EG6 seats are pretty good though i hated them... even my butt would get aches during long distance.. but once fitted with the EK9 recaros... long distance is no issue... even my wife absolutely loves the recaros... she even emphasized on how comfortable her back feels due to the lumbar support..the recaros are her absolute favourite (even more than the SR4 fitted in DC5s)...

most (if not all, at least from my experience ) of the modern cars stock seats felt pretty comfy for me. definitely don't have heat issues after long hours and they have pretty good lumbar/lower back support as well.

so it is pretty subjective what kinda seats we're comparing here.
take the latest ford focus seats for example, the way they are designed they come PRETTY CLOSE to being a semi bucket seat as it hugs the occupant quite tightly.

granted, if you back issues (eg: your wife that you mentioned), perhaps better/stiffer support over the lower back/lumbar is highly preferred. that isn't the case for everyone obviously.
Quazacolt
post Jan 14 2013, 06:23 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(Xcaliber @ Jan 14 2013, 05:00 PM)
ask around if you got friends having the same/similar seat and try sitting in it yourself. that would be the best before making the purchase.

for me it is a no brainer as my ass were sticking almost to the window glass during a very very hard corner one day and that was it.
fix24311
post Oct 30 2014, 12:55 AM

139 posts

Hi. I want to ask all the sifu in semi bucket seats here.

Does or can semi bucket seat protect from whiplash effect? (meaning anti whiplash).
I haven't think about this issue until a friend mentioned it to me.
jackjiajun
post Oct 30 2014, 05:35 AM

43 posts

i bought mine few years back. it was replica, no brand. but look nice, 80% red and 20% black. comfortable semi bucket. price = less than 600 1 pair + labor no bracket
Mavik
post Oct 30 2014, 10:47 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(fix24311 @ Oct 30 2014, 12:55 AM)

Does or can semi bucket seat protect from whiplash effect? (meaning anti whiplash).
No the semi bucket seat doesn't protect you from whiplash alone. There are a lot of other factors.

http://www.spineuniverse.com/conditions/wh...lash-prevention
http://www.whiplashprevention.org/Consumer...es/Default.aspx
SUSnm7
post Oct 30 2014, 11:10 AM

192 posts

QUOTE(fix24311 @ Oct 30 2014, 12:55 AM)

it's not related at all...
fix24311
post Oct 30 2014, 12:02 PM

139 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Oct 30 2014, 10:47 AM)
No the semi bucket seat doesn't protect you from whiplash alone. There are a lot of other factors.

http://www.spineuniverse.com/conditions/wh...lash-prevention
http://www.whiplashprevention.org/Consumer...es/Default.aspx
QUOTE(nm7 @ Oct 30 2014, 11:10 AM)
it's not related at all...
well, it's because as you've already know by now, Preve stock seat is equipped with anti-whiplash protection. looking at the safety test video, they say that even seatbelts can't protect us from whiplash, but seats equipped with the system can support the neck from whiplash.

i'm actually not very comfortable with my stock seat. but whiplash is a very serious concern hmm.gif
Mavik
post Oct 30 2014, 12:07 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(fix24311 @ Oct 30 2014, 12:02 PM)
well, it's because as you've already know by now, Preve stock seat is equipped with anti-whiplash protection. looking at the safety test video, they say that even seatbelts can't protect us from whiplash, but seats equipped with the system can support the neck from whiplash.

i'm actually not very comfortable with my stock seat. but whiplash is a very serious concern hmm.gif
Sure, are you willing to fork out $$$ for a good semi bucket seats? A used 2nd hand one such as those from Recaro can go up from RM3k onwards. Brand new ones with side airbags can cost up to RM9k.

Best for you to search for international manufacturer of semi bucket and full bucket seats with the anti-whiplash protection.
fix24311
post Oct 30 2014, 12:34 PM

139 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Oct 30 2014, 12:07 PM)
Sure, are you willing to fork out $$$ for a good semi bucket seats? A used 2nd hand one such as those from Recaro can go up from RM3k onwards. Brand new ones with side airbags can cost up to RM9k.

Best for you to search for international manufacturer of semi bucket and full bucket seats with the anti-whiplash protection.
i hate full bucket too sweat.gif

just looking for semi bucket. and if u said they do have anti whiplash protection, then i'll go find one. i'm definitely not into replica as the danger it presented.
netmatrix
post Oct 30 2014, 01:44 PM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,733 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jan 14 2013, 05:47 PM)

I heard the 1st Gen CRX are the best stock seats available. I saw a few and the owners doe not want to sell them. sweat.gif
SUSnm7
post Oct 30 2014, 02:53 PM

192 posts

you are going to get rear ended on a daily basis?

anti-whiplash is just trickery they built into the seat so that the seat moves instead of stay rigid when heavy forces are introduced into the passenger cabin in order to support the passenger itself..

and it can be undone by some people who likes to recline their seats so far back down that they are practically not leaning into the backrest itself let alone having the headrest to support anything when shit happens...

i am not sure if any reputable sports seat makers introduced any seats with whiplash protection??

why would you look at semi buckets for comfort anyways... if those seats are good at anything at all ... is to introduce discomfort into any car not to count harder to get in and out of the car...

are the stock seats not cushy enough or because the fabric is not giving you the comfort you desire... you can go to upholstery shops and see if they can add more foam or even leather the thing if comfort is what you are looking for...
fix24311
post Oct 30 2014, 03:07 PM

139 posts

QUOTE(nm7 @ Oct 30 2014, 02:53 PM)
you are going to get rear ended on a daily basis?
anti-whiplash is just trickery they built into the seat so that the seat moves instead of stay rigid when heavy forces are introduced into the passenger cabin in order to support the passenger itself..

and it can be undone by some people who likes to recline their seats so far back down that they are practically not leaning into the backrest itself let alone having the headrest to support anything when shit happens...

i am not sure if any reputable sports seat makers introduced any seats with whiplash protection??

why would you look at semi buckets for comfort anyways... if those seats are good at anything at all ... is to introduce discomfort into any car not to count harder to get in and out of the car...

are the stock seats not cushy enough or because the fabric is not giving you the comfort you desire... you can go to upholstery shops and see if they can add more foam or even leather the thing if comfort is what you are looking for...
i've sat on GTi semi bucket, WRX STi semi bucket, and Neo semi bucket. My conclusion semi bucket gives more comfort to me nod.gif

full bucket is full on discomfort sweat.gif
SUSnm7
post Oct 30 2014, 03:07 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(fix24311 @ Oct 30 2014, 12:34 PM)
just looking for semi bucket. and if u said they do have anti whiplash protection, then i'll go find one. i'm definitely not into replica as the danger it presented.
i don't see why a replica is any danger unless you are talking about a replica of a FIA homologated seat... than that presents a danger if you were take that into racing as it does not adhere to the requirements stipulated by FIA on the seat safety ratings...

QUOTE(fix24311 @ Oct 30 2014, 12:34 PM)
i hate full bucket too sweat.gif
no one likes full buckets because it's not meant to be used for daily driving unless you own a supercar or something like that...

they serve no purpose to most people and it offer next to zero adjustability...

that being said... it's the defacto type of seats to have if you are really into sports driving... semi buckets in that sense is like neither here nor there...

it feels uncomfortable because all full buckets have very little padding... that is why it has to fit your body like a glove and once that is achieved... it actually feels quite OK minus the direct impacts from the road forces if you have a hardly sprung car...

This post has been edited by nm7: Oct 30 2014, 03:16 PM
SUSnm7
post Oct 30 2014, 03:14 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(fix24311 @ Oct 30 2014, 03:07 PM)
i've sat on GTi semi bucket, WRX STi semi bucket, and Neo semi bucket. My conclusion semi bucket gives more comfort to me nod.gif
then it's very simple since you prefer semi buckets... it's a case of whether you want comfort or safety? and if such a thing where both comfort and safety can co-exists... don't start complaining about the price pulak...
fix24311
post Oct 30 2014, 03:16 PM

139 posts

QUOTE(nm7 @ Oct 30 2014, 03:14 PM)
then it's very simple since you prefer semi buckets... it's a case of whether you want comfort or safety? and if such a thing where both comfort and safety can co-exists... don't start complaining about the price pulak...
i'm just asking knowledge whether a semi bucket seat can protect against whiplash.

This post has been edited by fix24311: Oct 30 2014, 03:18 PM
SUSnm7
post Oct 30 2014, 03:18 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(fix24311 @ Oct 30 2014, 03:16 PM)
when did i ever complaint about price? unsure.gif

where did u get the idea i'm complaining on price? rclxub.gif
because that is most probably the next thing that will come...

someone will recommend you some seats that costs 10k and you will then get a toothache..

we always look forward on questions asked and try to tackle it before it gets asked...
Edis0n
post Oct 30 2014, 10:02 PM

159 posts

sorry noob asking a out of topic question here... i personally feel that the stock seats from the FT86 is very nice and comfy... may i ask is it a semi-bucket seat?
PedangGila
post Dec 3 2014, 07:39 AM

918 posts

Is this for real? Very cheap. Not promoting but it might end up in my car.

RM990 sscus?
SUSnm7
post Dec 3 2014, 10:08 AM

192 posts

in kelantan wor. You want to drive there?

But, it's possible that Sscus has something that cheap. I remember the cheapest fabric ones only costs around RM1.2k and that is in Eneos many many moons ago.
Quazacolt
post Dec 3 2014, 10:19 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(PedangGila @ Dec 3 2014, 07:39 AM)

RM990 sscus?
my iswara got SSCUS and yes it's about that pricing.
PedangGila
post Dec 3 2014, 10:44 AM

918 posts

QUOTE(nm7 @ Dec 3 2014, 10:08 AM)
in kelantan wor. You want to drive there?

But, it's possible that Sscus has something that cheap. I remember the cheapest fabric ones only costs around RM1.2k and that is in Eneos many many moons ago.
I live in kelantan

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Dec 3 2014, 10:19 AM)
my iswara got SSCUS and yes it's about that pricing.
I see. Got quite a number used in mudah.my and makes me wonder if they're selling because it felt nothing better than stock seat.
Quazacolt
post Dec 3 2014, 10:48 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(PedangGila @ Dec 3 2014, 10:44 AM)
I see. Got quite a number used in mudah.my and makes me wonder if they're selling because it felt nothing better than stock seat.
if your area got shop/showroom, can consider visit and test sitting in them.
croydon
post Dec 3 2014, 12:57 PM

533 posts

my fren snap this pic, RM250 - RM3xx... in China

McFD2R
post Dec 3 2014, 04:28 PM

1,074 posts

Well, technically, you can get just about anything replicated in China. BMW X5 or even the Land Rover Evoque replicas are also available .. and I'm sure many more. Shameless if you ask me ..

This post has been edited by McFD2R: Dec 3 2014, 04:28 PM
PedangGila
post Dec 3 2014, 09:34 PM

918 posts

And one of thid replica user almost had an accident when the reclining lock snapped.

I was checking a lot rm800 Bride's until the Japan's catalog says i can have the cheapest for ¥92,000 = rm2700 yen minus tax+posyen. Brand and safety.
cannavaro
post Dec 3 2014, 11:18 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

QUOTE(PedangGila @ Dec 3 2014, 07:39 AM)

RM990 sscus?
SSCUS memang cheap. I bought SSCUS Viper (driver and front passenger) for RM1250 inclusive of railing and installation for my proton satria.
PedangGila
post Dec 3 2014, 11:41 PM

918 posts

QUOTE(cannavaro @ Dec 3 2014, 11:18 PM)
SSCUS memang cheap. I bought SSCUS Viper (driver and front passenger) for RM1250 inclusive of railing and installation for my proton satria.
Nice. Just check the viper pics, good looking. The leg bracers/support is hard and durable? I mean if you seat on it for a long time will it collapse and lose form?

Today I tried to sit in one of those Bride's illest replica low max full bucket and cannot fit well aa. My bum is too big. Gonna visit sscus dealer next payday.
AceCombat
post Dec 4 2014, 12:24 AM

5,434 posts

Owned more than 15 pairs of car seat.

Actually, for full bucket seat, IF YOU GET one with the right size, with the right height, and right angle, it is much better than a semi bucket seat. That's mean, you have to get a correct seat rail and adjust the seat height and leaning angle. Trust me, you can ask ktek regarding my statement. We both traveled with full bucket in long distance non stop for almost 300km without pain in the a$$ or waist ache.

While SSCUS? Good looking but bad sitting quality, no grip, no wrap to ur body, and one thing for SSCUS, you have to get a brand new one, those used one usually is not that good as the sponge quality is bad and wont last long.

While replica? Oh my.... Well it has exact shape but the sponge is so thin and u just like sitting on the shell of the seat, and the shell is made by using single layer of FRP, my friend broke the wing of a Bride Low Max, the shoulder part terus patah laugh.gif
But they do made good quality one, if you guys still can find, go for the carbon or Kevlar Low Max replica, those are better, just better.

Semi bucket is harder to maintain if you always fetch noob passenger, the thigh and waist support of the seat will be a goner if you don't know how to take care of them.

Seat that I owned before
Recaro Profi SPG
Recaro SR3 Type R, Evo 3, Evo 4 batik, Evo 5
Recaro Tomcat (my office chair)
Recaro SR4
Recaro N-Joy
Bride Zeta II
Bride Artis I
Bride Brix I
Sparco Rev (blue)
SSCUS Viper 611 Silver
SSCUS Viper 110 Red (modded to my gaming seat)
SSCUS Edition
AceCombat
post Dec 4 2014, 12:26 AM

5,434 posts

QUOTE(PedangGila @ Dec 3 2014, 11:41 PM)
Nice. Just check the viper pics, good looking. The leg bracers/support is hard and durable? I mean if you seat on it for a long time will it collapse and lose form?

Today I tried to sit in one of those Bride's illest replica low max full bucket and cannot fit well aa. My bum is too big. Gonna visit sscus dealer next payday.
With the original railing from SSCUS, you womt feel the support of the thigh area. As the seat rail is quite low for ur thigh to feel that. It is hard if the sponge of the seat is still in good condition but if it is a daily, it gets soften quite fast, maybe in 2 years.
PedangGila
post Dec 4 2014, 01:37 AM

918 posts

QUOTE(AceCombat @ Dec 4 2014, 12:24 AM)

While SSCUS? Good looking but bad sitting quality, no grip, no wrap to ur body, and one thing for SSCUS, you have to get a brand new one, those used one usually is not that good as the sponge quality is bad and wont last long.

While replica? Oh my.... Well it has exact shape but the sponge is so thin and u just like sitting on the shell of the seat, and the shell is made by using single layer of FRP, my friend broke the wing of a Bride Low Max, the shoulder part terus patah laugh.gif
But they do made good quality one, if you guys still can find, go for the carbon or Kevlar Low Max replica, those are better, just better.

Semi bucket is harder to maintain if you always fetch noob passenger, the thigh and waist support of the seat will be a goner if you don't know how to take care of them.

I see. No wonder I see quite a lot of them reselling these sscus. Haiz.

You must talking about zeta, artis or spg full bucket. Cannot really afford any them la rm3k+ for one bakul while knowing they're worth an investment. Where did you get that ori bride?
AceCombat
post Dec 4 2014, 09:09 AM

5,434 posts

I didn't buy new, all from halfcut or used, some with ori fabric some rewrapped. Hehe....depend on condition but I prefer all original. Their sponge last for almost forever.
mADmAN
post Dec 4 2014, 12:26 PM

10,530 posts

u can get ori used full buckets for cheap these days... tonnes of them in mudah...an old SPG oso can be as cheap as 6-700 nowadays.

as for SSCUS... i own the NSI... used it daily for about 2-3 years... ok only... grips well etc... love those seats... love them so much that i refuse to sell them and they have been sitting in storage for about 4 years now hahahaha.... cant comment on the other models though

but ive heard good comments about the SSCUS full buckets though... the Sparco Spec V design from SSCUS also seems to be quite good and comfy according to madman20

a friend also commented that the SSCUS full bucket (dunno which model) held up pretty well in a rather bad accident... where the rear wheel was pushing onto the back of the seat already

im currently on the recaro SPG-N iinm... with a very low rail....love it... comfortable, holds well, looks good etc
AceCombat
post Dec 4 2014, 01:00 PM

5,434 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Dec 4 2014, 12:26 PM)
u can get ori used full buckets for cheap these days... tonnes of them in mudah...an old SPG oso can be as cheap as 6-700 nowadays.

as for SSCUS... i own the NSI... used it daily for about 2-3 years... ok only... grips well etc... love those seats... love them so much that i refuse to sell them and they have been sitting in storage for about 4 years now hahahaha.... cant comment on the other models though

but ive heard good comments about the SSCUS full buckets though... the Sparco Spec V design from SSCUS also seems to be quite good and comfy according to madman20

a friend also commented that the SSCUS full bucket (dunno which model) held up pretty well in a rather bad accident... where the rear wheel was pushing onto the back of the seat already

im currently on the recaro SPG-N iinm... with a very low rail....love it... comfortable, holds well, looks good etc
Yes, they do hold well, because all of them are replica of actual product biggrin.gif
Exactly the same!!!

SSCUS Corsa - Recaro SPG
SSCUS Eco - Bride Gardis
SSCUS GTR - Charge Speed Spiritz SS

While your SSCUS NSI is actually Sparco Star, we can feel it is good because it is a replica in shape but the sponge is no where near the original manufacturer, but of course la, we get what we paid for biggrin.gif

Anyway, you have a very nice seat, SPG-N is a light weight version, smaller and lower.
Recaro has slightly heavier weight compare to Bride and Sparco full bucket seat, because the sponge is much thicker laugh.gif Anyway, all Recaro full bucket seats are very comfortable!!! thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
mADmAN
post Dec 4 2014, 01:27 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(AceCombat @ Dec 4 2014, 01:00 PM)
While your SSCUS NSI is actually Sparco Star, we can feel it is good because it is a replica in shape but the sponge is no where near the original manufacturer, but of course la, we get what we paid for biggrin.gif
yeah i know the NSI is from which model.....but i kinda have to disagree with the sponge... near ori or not im not sure la... but theyre actually in damn good shape...and pretty damn firm n comfy

when i was buying the seat oso the SSCUS feller showed me the diff between the foam sscus uses vs the sponge most other seats uses... he did mention that its like a memory foam and wont lose shape so easily as opposed to the sponges in other seats. one of the reasons i bought it.
fix24311
post Dec 4 2014, 02:11 PM

139 posts

keep it coming guys. noobies love to read this stuff and information rclxms.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

*i still haven't changed my seat yet sweat.gif
fookie
post Dec 4 2014, 04:12 PM

What?
622 posts

Question here.

I'm driving an AE111. I'm planning to get a pair of bucket seat for my car as my stock seats are kinda torn. I saw some ads on Mudah where the bucket seats are for universal railing. Is the seat compatible to my AE111? Coz I've heard my friends said if the railing is not compatible, then you need to modify the railing.
mADmAN
post Dec 4 2014, 04:30 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(fookie @ Dec 4 2014, 04:12 PM)
Question here.

I'm driving an AE111. I'm planning to get a pair of bucket seat for my car as my stock seats are kinda torn. I saw some ads on Mudah where the bucket seats are for universal railing. Is the seat compatible to my AE111? Coz I've heard my friends said if the railing is not compatible, then you need to modify the railing.
universal railing is just the railing...

not the base mount... u still need to go to a seat shop and get the base mount done.

by base mount i mean the "legs" where the seat is screwed into ur car chassis
fookie
post Dec 4 2014, 04:55 PM

What?
622 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Dec 4 2014, 04:30 PM)
universal railing is just the railing...

not the base mount... u still need to go to a seat shop and get the base mount done.

by base mount i mean the "legs" where the seat is screwed into ur car chassis
I see. So roughly how much do I need to fork out on top of the seats for the base mount?
mADmAN
post Dec 4 2014, 05:03 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(fookie @ Dec 4 2014, 04:55 PM)
I see. So roughly how much do I need to fork out on top of the seats for the base mount?
RM100-150 per seat is pretty standard.

some places can get as low as RM80
fookie
post Dec 4 2014, 05:17 PM

What?
622 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Dec 4 2014, 05:03 PM)
RM100-150 per seat is pretty standard.

some places can get as low as RM80
Ohh.. I see I see. Thanks for the clarification buddy.
AceCombat
post Dec 4 2014, 07:26 PM

5,434 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Dec 4 2014, 01:27 PM)
yeah i know the NSI is from which model.....but i kinda have to disagree with the sponge... near ori or not im not sure la... but theyre actually in damn good shape...and pretty damn firm n comfy

when i was buying the seat oso the SSCUS feller showed me the diff between the foam sscus uses vs the sponge most other seats uses... he did mention that its like a memory foam and wont lose shape so easily as opposed to the sponges in other seats. one of the reasons i bought it.
Hmmm....yes, for new they are very great, firm and comfy, but if daily for few years, sure it is a goner liao.
Maybe last time my seats were all under extreme sunlight exposure sweat.gif

But SSCUS got memory foam? I see my seat all no my butt shape laugh.gif
PedangGila
post Dec 4 2014, 10:28 PM

918 posts

sscus website pun lama dah tak update. Ya for now has to settle for this brand and see how it goes.

The more I look into it, semi now is just for the look while comfort may be not far from stock seat.

And thanks guys for the input. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by PedangGila: Dec 4 2014, 10:29 PM
mADmAN
post Dec 5 2014, 12:03 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(AceCombat @ Dec 4 2014, 07:26 PM)
Hmmm....yes, for new they are very great, firm and comfy, but if daily for few years, sure it is a goner liao.
Maybe last time my seats were all under extreme sunlight exposure sweat.gif

But SSCUS got memory foam? I see my seat all no my butt shape laugh.gif
dunno if its memory foam or not la...but my NSI the foam always goes back to ori... no lembik or goner even after 3 years of daily use
fix24311
post Dec 5 2014, 03:27 PM

139 posts

QUOTE(PedangGila @ Dec 4 2014, 10:28 PM)
sscus website pun lama dah tak update. Ya for now has to settle for this brand and see how it goes.

The more I look into it, semi now is just for the look while comfort may be not far from stock seat.

And thanks guys for the input.  thumbup.gif
u try sit in preve seat and come back again semi bucket or stock seat more comfort? dry.gif

semi bucket is the way to go.. the Recaro proton use on GTi i love it very much. damn hated preve stock seat
PedangGila
post Dec 5 2014, 07:11 PM

918 posts

QUOTE(fix24311 @ Dec 5 2014, 03:27 PM)
u try sit in preve seat and come back again semi bucket or stock seat more comfort? dry.gif

semi bucket is the way to go.. the Recaro proton use on GTi i love it very much. damn hated preve stock seat
Actually, the main reason i thought about bucket seat is that there were times i had to press my knees against the door or anything tht can hold my posture because i overspeed into and cornering too hard. Comfort i dunno la, it's just a myvi.
starker_01
post Dec 5 2014, 07:21 PM

94 posts

Hi to all Sifu,
I'm trying to look for a pair of Sparco Bucket Seat with railing to fit into my FD2(2.0), but not sure where to get a better pricing, can prefer used or replica.
Hope can get some advised from here and SORRY if i'm asking a same "Q" as others members does before this.

PedangGila
post Dec 5 2014, 08:25 PM

918 posts

QUOTE(starker_01 @ Dec 5 2014, 07:21 PM)
Hi to all Sifu,
I'm trying to look for a pair of Sparco Bucket Seat with railing to fit into my FD2(2.0), but not sure where to get a better pricing, can prefer used or replica.
Hope can get some advised from here and SORRY if i'm asking a same "Q" as others members does before this.

There's a yellow sparco full bucket in mudah, very good used condition.

Also a used bride zeta iii, also full bucket with dc2 railing. here. The rest maybe sifu here know better.
starker_01
post Dec 5 2014, 08:38 PM

94 posts

QUOTE(PedangGila @ Dec 5 2014, 08:25 PM)

Also a used bride zeta iii, also full bucket with dc2 railing. here. The rest maybe sifu here know better.
TQ so much for your info ' PedangGila '..
I will check it out. smile.gif
starker_01
post Dec 5 2014, 08:40 PM

94 posts

QUOTE(PedangGila @ Dec 5 2014, 08:25 PM)

TQ so much for your info ' PedangGila '..
I will check it out. smile.gif
Mavik
post Dec 5 2014, 10:23 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

If you intend to use the car for racing or any type of motorsports, may it be open track days or even spirited drives through, I would advise against replica seats due to safety concerns. Get original ones or 2nd hand ones. Just my 2cents
fix24311
post Dec 6 2014, 10:40 PM

139 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Dec 5 2014, 10:23 PM)
If you intend to use the car for racing or any type of motorsports, may it be open track days or even spirited drives through, I would advise against replica seats due to safety concerns. Get original ones or 2nd hand ones. Just my 2cents
but for safety on daily usage it is acceptable to use replica? unsure.gif
PedangGila
post Dec 7 2014, 11:43 AM

918 posts

QUOTE(fix24311 @ Dec 6 2014, 10:40 PM)
It's like te37 replica, a quick glance you know already it's fake and you're worried about the safety until you asked th owner how well these wheels are doing and getting 'no problem la many years edi'. Makes you wanna try while knowing there's a higher risk than the real ones. Beli ori, makan maggi.
Mavik
post Dec 7 2014, 03:08 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

In all honesty, we can only find out the real answer when we get into a crash. By that time, it might have already been too late.
fix24311
post Dec 7 2014, 06:10 PM

139 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Dec 7 2014, 03:08 PM)
In all honesty, we can only find out the real answer when we get into a crash. By that time, it might have already been too late.
ok..
xemoboyx
post Dec 8 2014, 03:58 AM

109 posts

Daily usage more prone to accident. You say le?
Nightstalker1993
post Dec 8 2014, 01:22 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

For me I'd rather get 2nd hand original seats. I'm using 2nd hand Subaru original seats which costs around RM500 or so market price for a pair and it's comfortable and definitely safe and strong provided the custom mouting brackets done are proper.
Quazacolt
post Dec 10 2014, 10:48 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

i'm on the sscus e8 semi bucket.

been with me through few accidents with one really terrible one which caused the railing to be slightly bent/deformed laugh.gif

still, good stuff, still using it although mainly my sister drives/uses it now.
fix24311
post Dec 11 2014, 08:47 AM

139 posts

hmm...i find that Recaro SR-11 from Evo X, the second hand price is 3k per seat hmm.gif
PedangGila
post Dec 14 2014, 05:51 PM

918 posts

Railing cost rm300? For myvi from previous page yea it sounds rational for a new sscus evo+base =rm1300

This post has been edited by PedangGila: Dec 14 2014, 08:27 PM
madman20
post Dec 24 2014, 10:40 AM

The S.PIG
2,775 posts

Super late reply cause was away from the forum for abit

I was using the SSCUS full bucket..Uh..can't remember the model name though..this was the model I had

http://s668.photobucket.com/user/Blackmana...201102.jpg.html

It was a good budget and especially good for big sized guy like me (I weigh 115kg with size 40 pants..so you get the idea) as most bucket (replicas) like Bride and Sparco was a super uncomfortable tight fit

The seat served me well my entire 2013 motorsports participations..I decided to sell it off as I use my car for daily drive

It gets uncomfortable for a super long drive..I drove on the seat to Dato Sagor circuit last year and it hurt my back..thus selling it

Prior to that I was using the SSCUS Viper..and now I'm back using Viper after selling off the full bucket..

Viper is nice because it has the look and feel of full bucket but with the advantage of being a recliner

It came to a point where I'm curious how was the stock seats that I swap back in and felt super uncomfortable with my stock seats laugh.gif

0.0492sec    0.50    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 04:28 AM