Bucket seats (Semi and Full), Replica or 2nd hand original
Mavik
Oct 30 2014, 10:47 AM
Patience is a virtue
QUOTE(fix24311 @ Oct 30 2014, 12:55 AM) Hi. I want to ask all the sifu in semi bucket seats here. Does or can semi bucket seat protect from whiplash effect? (meaning anti whiplash). I haven't think about this issue until a friend mentioned it to me. No the semi bucket seat doesn't protect you from whiplash alone. There are a lot of other factors. http://www.spineuniverse.com/conditions/wh...lash-preventionhttp://www.whiplashprevention.org/Consumer...es/Default.aspx
Mavik
Oct 30 2014, 12:07 PM
Patience is a virtue
QUOTE(fix24311 @ Oct 30 2014, 12:02 PM) well, it's because as you've already know by now, Preve stock seat is equipped with anti-whiplash protection. looking at the safety test video, they say that even seatbelts can't protect us from whiplash, but seats equipped with the system can support the neck from whiplash. i'm actually not very comfortable with my stock seat. but whiplash is a very serious concern  Sure, are you willing to fork out $$$ for a good semi bucket seats? A used 2nd hand one such as those from Recaro can go up from RM3k onwards. Brand new ones with side airbags can cost up to RM9k. Best for you to search for international manufacturer of semi bucket and full bucket seats with the anti-whiplash protection.
Mavik
Dec 5 2014, 10:23 PM
Patience is a virtue
If you intend to use the car for racing or any type of motorsports, may it be open track days or even spirited drives through, I would advise against replica seats due to safety concerns. Get original ones or 2nd hand ones. Just my 2cents
Mavik
Dec 7 2014, 03:08 PM
Patience is a virtue
QUOTE(fix24311 @ Dec 6 2014, 10:40 PM) but for safety on daily usage it is acceptable to use replica?  In all honesty, we can only find out the real answer when we get into a crash. By that time, it might have already been too late.