Bucket seats (Semi and Full), Replica or 2nd hand original

Quazacolt
post Jan 14 2013, 03:12 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(Xcaliber @ Jan 14 2013, 01:38 PM)
i need comfort.. long distance driving my inspira..

SSCUS ?
BRIDE ?
any suggestion ?
if you want comfort, stick with stock.

semi/full bucket seats are mainly for performance, where the side bucket encloses the driver so upon high g levels during cornering, you won't get thrown all the way to the door's side panels (yeah i've experienced it myself, that was when i put down my foot for my semi bucket seats)

i'm currently using brand new SSCUS E8 pair for my 14 years old iswara. another reason to change aside from cornering woes is that my seats are so old refoaming/refurbishing isn't cheap anyways, might as well get something that fits my aggressive driving more.

costs around rm1.1-1.3k for a pair of E8.

comfort wise, ive driven over 4-5 hours in these seats, very comfy, however compared to previous stock seats, these will get a little bit hot around the lower back/butt side after 2-3 hours smile.gif
Quazacolt
post Jan 14 2013, 06:22 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jan 14 2013, 05:47 PM)
totally disagree... alot of stock seats pretty much sucks.. and buckets have good proper comfort especially when it comes to lumbar support....
take my wife for example... she has back pains... and with the stock kelisa seats, she would get pains after about 1 or 2 hours. after i changed to SSCUS NSI she couldnt stop complimenting those seats on how nice and comfortable they are. sitting long distance she barely got any pains at all... and this is with stiff adjustable suspension.

i even asked her to compare the NSI with my father's ex- Merc SLK.. n she said she liked the NSI better (minus the fact that the merc had leather la)

same case with my current EG6....stock EG6 seats are pretty good though i hated them... even my butt would get aches during long distance.. but once fitted with the EK9 recaros... long distance is no issue... even my wife absolutely loves the recaros... she even emphasized on how comfortable her back feels due to the lumbar support..the recaros are her absolute favourite (even more than the SR4 fitted in DC5s)...

and this EG6 case is with even stiffer adjustable suspension...
most (if not all, at least from my experience ) of the modern cars stock seats felt pretty comfy for me. definitely don't have heat issues after long hours and they have pretty good lumbar/lower back support as well.

so it is pretty subjective what kinda seats we're comparing here.
take the latest ford focus seats for example, the way they are designed they come PRETTY CLOSE to being a semi bucket seat as it hugs the occupant quite tightly.

granted, if you back issues (eg: your wife that you mentioned), perhaps better/stiffer support over the lower back/lumbar is highly preferred. that isn't the case for everyone obviously.
Quazacolt
post Jan 14 2013, 06:23 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(Xcaliber @ Jan 14 2013, 05:00 PM)
thanks.. coz i am looking at SSCUS EURO PU... nice looking .. but i dun no about comfort coz .. i drive long distance
ask around if you got friends having the same/similar seat and try sitting in it yourself. that would be the best before making the purchase.

for me it is a no brainer as my ass were sticking almost to the window glass during a very very hard corner one day and that was it.
Quazacolt
post Dec 3 2014, 10:19 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(PedangGila @ Dec 3 2014, 07:39 AM)
Is this for real? Very cheap. Not promoting but it might end up in my car.

RM990 sscus?
my iswara got SSCUS and yes it's about that pricing.
Quazacolt
post Dec 3 2014, 10:48 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(PedangGila @ Dec 3 2014, 10:44 AM)
I see. Got quite a number used in mudah.my and makes me wonder if they're selling because it felt nothing better than stock seat.
if your area got shop/showroom, can consider visit and test sitting in them.
Quazacolt
post Dec 10 2014, 10:48 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Dec 4 2014, 12:26 PM)
u can get ori used full buckets for cheap these days... tonnes of them in mudah...an old SPG oso can be as cheap as 6-700 nowadays.

as for SSCUS... i own the NSI... used it daily for about 2-3 years... ok only... grips well etc... love those seats... love them so much that i refuse to sell them and they have been sitting in storage for about 4 years now hahahaha.... cant comment on the other models though

but ive heard good comments about the SSCUS full buckets though... the Sparco Spec V design from SSCUS also seems to be quite good and comfy according to madman20

a friend also commented that the SSCUS full bucket (dunno which model) held up pretty well in a rather bad accident... where the rear wheel was pushing onto the back of the seat already

im currently on the recaro SPG-N iinm... with a very low rail....love it... comfortable, holds well, looks good etc
i'm on the sscus e8 semi bucket.

been with me through few accidents with one really terrible one which caused the railing to be slightly bent/deformed laugh.gif

still, good stuff, still using it although mainly my sister drives/uses it now.

0.0191sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 02:13 AM