News Intel finds Sandy Bridge chipset design flaw

eugenechiuu
post Feb 25 2011, 10:16 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(Trance4eva @ Feb 25 2011, 10:07 AM)
I don't think they scew it up. Might be a scandal. What can't of dumba** does not know the details of its own creation. They should test it throughoutly before selling it. IMO, they made the fasle advertisment to attract more customer and change it after they sold off most of their stock.
mistake happens, u can never know... why would they do this purposely and have to sustain such a big a loss for having to refund them now, and at the same time defaming themselves like that?
eugenechiuu
post Feb 25 2011, 11:26 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(Trance4eva @ Feb 25 2011, 11:13 AM)
huh NV??? You mean the 8 series issue???
yup, *(#&@*($&# Nvidia, they never offered any refund or admitted their mistakes until recently, my last Asus laptop didnt last even 3 years because of their stupid 8000m series GPU...

QUOTE(This is a Lamp @ Feb 25 2011, 11:18 AM)
I wonder who was the person that got fired in Intel because of the pre-fix SB design. He must've been miserable right now.
reminds me of iPhone 4 antennae problem haha
eugenechiuu
post Feb 26 2011, 10:31 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Feb 26 2011, 10:05 PM)
Well, shipping alone requires time...
and don't forget we're in Bolehland haha  laugh.gif
Hopefully we'll have them around mid of March  thumbup.gif
China to Malaysia very near only haha.. they would opt to ship as fast as they could because competition is stiff since Apple also able to ship it in 1-2 business days now.. So the 8th march is a very possible date hopefully
eugenechiuu
post Feb 27 2011, 07:42 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Feb 27 2011, 07:34 PM)
The i7 is kind of overkill  laugh.gif
It's not really overkill when the prices are around the same nowadays and performance are much better...
In the past, the difference between a dual core and quad with the same GPU/Ram etc was like more than rm500+.. It's not the case now since Quad is pretty much in many mainstream budget laptops, like 5750G n Y560p are all within 3k price tag...
For the marginal differences, SB i7 quad is more of a value for money compared to i5/i7 Dual Cores.. Besides, more n more programs and games start utilising quad cores now, so it would be most beneficial for the next few years..

Unless you're just a basic user who just use ur computer to surf net, then even i5/i7 dual core is overkill lol

This post has been edited by eugenechiuu: Feb 27 2011, 07:46 PM
eugenechiuu
post Mar 4 2011, 11:52 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(blissd @ Mar 4 2011, 11:38 AM)
Does the refreshed HP DV6 have the replaced SB chipset? If it does, I'm gonna go buy it now... Thanks...
Yes it does, but it's more expensive @rm3999 with diff specs n new design now..
eugenechiuu
post Mar 4 2011, 12:02 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(blissd @ Mar 4 2011, 11:54 AM)
Thanks dear!  biggrin.gif
http://h20386.www2.hp.com/MalaysiaStore/Bu...pdetail=P177660

eugenechiuu
post Mar 4 2011, 09:45 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(kahjye @ Mar 4 2011, 01:01 PM)
the design damn nice.

btw , HD6770 is weaker than GT550M right?
I think Hd6770 is stronger since it's a ddr5 GPU..
eugenechiuu
post Mar 5 2011, 02:51 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(ThisIsBoletaria @ Mar 5 2011, 01:37 AM)
According to notebookcheck.net's notebook GPU comparison chart, GT550M is more powerful.
That one is not entirely true... There's a '*' beside HD6770 means that it's an approximate position.. Besides, there's DDR3 n DDR5 versions...

HD6570 DDR5 in the Hp-dv6 have 3D Mark 06 of 10k+ points but it's ranked quite low there...

This post has been edited by eugenechiuu: Mar 5 2011, 02:51 AM
eugenechiuu
post Apr 12 2011, 10:08 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(anucia @ Apr 12 2011, 10:02 AM)
IS new Acer 4830 TG affected by this?
NOPE

0.0290sec    0.91    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 06:16 AM